Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

therain01
post Jun 6 2017, 01:03 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(Kesh1018 @ Jun 5 2017, 02:59 PM)
Any recommended tar removal product?
Go Mr DIY and look for aeropak bugs and tar remover. Does not contain chlorine and acetone. Good stuff. Cost about rm 10 for the whole big can.
therain01
post Jul 15 2017, 12:08 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(N33d @ Jul 14 2017, 02:58 PM)
ya lo
but still considered affordable
at least those things last looooooooong.. provided if I not getting poisoned and keep on looking for new product la  laugh.gif

finally all arrived
too bad the hd speed cap popped open and leak all over the box. I think around 30-50g of product lost. i am shocked to see that happened, that autogeek team dont know how to ship their product meh? No taping or whatever to secure the filmsy cap!

From my experience American and British are really bad in packing. You are lucky they fill up the empty space in the box.

Korean are indeed very good in packing a to be shipped item. China are good too unless it was shipped from their dropship partner from Singapore.
therain01
post Aug 2 2017, 12:02 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Aug 1 2017, 08:46 PM)
3-4 months once. And I use tar remover after the first wash.

BTW here is my new baby, bought on March/April

[attachmentid=9009451]
I'm using that too after my China orbital decided to die.

Handy rotary. Mine looks a bit beat up as I use it for wet and dry sanding as well as polish cut kitchen counter top too. Just wish that it can be lighter when dealing with side panel. Maybe should invest in the side panel rotary too.
therain01
post Aug 12 2017, 11:48 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(CAL V @ Aug 12 2017, 11:12 PM)
Thanks for the compliment  biggrin.gif
One more note, it is a must to use a foam interface pad to help the sanding disc contour better and not to destroy your backing plate.

I got them from Taobao, actually most of the stuff that I can't find online in Malaysia too.
1500 and 3000 grit one is 18yuan and the 5000 grit one is 25yuan.
It comes in 6" and I cut into two 3" discs myself(will waste a bit la). Same goes to the meg's mf cutting disc, but those are super expensive.  sweat.gif

Any clue of getting them or other mf cutting disc like Lake country or Buff and shine locally? I think I prefer them much better than the rules blue foam. The blue foam pad just disintegrate too fast (small blue bits coming off) and not to mention they are not cheap too.  doh.gif
I normally buy sanding disc from eBay and aliexpress since they are way alot cheaper. 10 pcs of 4" 2000 grit cost rm4.i just ordered some 2", 4", and 5" sanding disc lately for restock. Cost me about RM12 for total of 25 pcs. I use them for bondo surface and orange peel too as I sometimes DIY spray paint on my cars. Orange peel happens on my clear coat when I under estimate the distance of spray paint nozzle and surface.

I never look at 5000 grit though. I normally just use 1000 and 2000 grit.
therain01
post Aug 14 2017, 01:05 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(CAL V @ Aug 13 2017, 12:46 AM)
Can tell is which brand of sanding disc? And how long they last smile.gif

3M trizact is quite expensive, even in the states sweat.gif
They are basically generic or some people call it OEM. It does not show any brand wiyhon. The hook backing only show grit value and image lable.

I never really look into how long do they last because they comes very cheap. At least it does not tear when performing wet sanding.

This post has been edited by therain01: Aug 14 2017, 01:06 AM
therain01
post Aug 17 2017, 12:06 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(CAL V @ Aug 13 2017, 12:46 AM)
Can tell is which brand of sanding disc? And how long they last smile.gif

3M trizact is quite expensive, even in the states sweat.gif
Alright I did some sanding on my old myvi before touch-up spaying the car. So basically the sanding disc could last for 3 parts until the velcro part detached. The sanding disc is still useable as hand sanding paper. Working great in removing oxidize clear coat and base color. Not sure if you would call to see durable.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
therain01
post Aug 17 2017, 12:11 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Aug 16 2017, 08:11 PM)
Problem here , bought a car wash http://www.lazada.com.my/magic-101-wash-am...re-1429640.html from tesco but after washing the surface is more rough almost like sand paper ?

Did I did anything wrong? using normal yellow sponge .

Is this brand magic101 need to wash more than few times to get smoother ?
Not necessary. It's silky smooth on each washes.

I'm wondering was the car left unwashed for too long?
therain01
post Aug 18 2017, 06:35 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(CAL V @ Aug 18 2017, 02:10 AM)
Sure not full panel respray?  laugh.gif

Seems pretty good to me, but I've not tested the trizact disc to that extent only one panel clear coat sanding.
Btw, I also found some ppl suggest Mirka abralon discs, and it's also sold on Kevin Brown's website(can get on taobao at affordable prices too). But I'm not sure how good they are and whether they will suit sanding fillers and epoxy or not.  hmm.gif

And I see that rotary, are you sanding with rotary? sweat.gif I'm sure it cuts really fast, but seems like no issue for you  notworthy.gif
Nope. Not going for full body respray. I will leave those panel with original paint as it.

Well frankly speaking I never really look into Brand name. I browse through aliexpress as long as no one is complaining that should be a good seller with decent product.

Yes I'm sanding it with rotary. Basically I use it on big surface with deep imperfection. There are some "pimples" starting to pop up due to lousy paint job from a spray/insurance claim shop named city alignment. I need to perform a deep cut before primer and finish coat. I also use the rotary to feather out the bondo/filler to silky smooth. Btw, see that slipper beside the rotary? It is use as a base for hand sanding with the detached sanding disc.

Rotary does not seems as scary as many thought. It sure cut really fast. All you need is 88steady hand with care and light pressure. Most important is remember to spray water on panel from time to time and avoid corners.
therain01
post Aug 25 2017, 12:11 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Aug 24 2017, 11:45 PM)
Yep , was about months unwash.

How to post the paint condition ? btw , after I wash , there is a white dot on the surface below the paint.
And it getting larger weekly.I wonder what is the reason on it ? It's doesn't look like from the surface , more on below the paint.
Was it original factory paint btw?
therain01
post Aug 28 2017, 01:50 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Aug 28 2017, 01:19 PM)
Tumpang hijack.

Yes to all biggrin.gif. I'm going to drop by Osren this Saturday to grab my "starter pack". Was communicating with them but guess if I could see the stuffs can directly grab it.

Got my wife's car with lots of scratches and dents (works at a bank and the amount of idiots opening the doors is shit load) which I need to "restore". Also the watermarks on the glass is damn horrible sad.gif tried the soft99 glass refresh but like need to do multiple pass to reduce it...
Another way to remove water mark from glass is to use works ( see attached) or Clr. Cost around rm 30 to 50 from ace hardwares. Spray some of those on the glass then paste and soak with kitchen paper towel for 10 mins. wipe off to clean. Hope that help.

therain01
post Aug 28 2017, 11:13 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Aug 28 2017, 02:27 PM)
I bought 3M glass cleaner, didn't work sad.gif But the car is 3 years now and I guess the watermark is pretty bad.
Unlike 3M glass cleaner, The works and Clr are not glass cleaner. It works by soften soap and hardwater deposits.
therain01
post Aug 29 2017, 03:17 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Aug 29 2017, 03:56 AM)
this is one of the most interesting thing i've come across..
haven't seen anyone spoke of it in forum....
acid based?
Well I can't really say if those are acidic base but since it soften the mineral deposits and remove surface rust then I guess it is. However, it does not cause irritation to skin. The smell is kinda stink though if used in closed area.
therain01
post Sep 4 2017, 11:18 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(jyane @ Sep 4 2017, 10:48 PM)
Ok i try to get a clay and re-do. but how to make it shine again? the paint look like without any glossy look. no crack or anything. just look like plain white without any glossy look.
Sounds like you overpolished and removed the clearcoat. A second thought told me that if the clearcoat is lost the base paint is even easier to be removed so this might not be the case.

Maybe straight go for fine polishing compund to check if it will bring back the gloss.
therain01
post Sep 4 2017, 11:50 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Sep 4 2017, 11:32 PM)
Theoretically agreed on possibility of overpolishing, but to come from an AIO polish is something I have not heard of before. The amount of cut produced by AIO polishes are not as aggressive as most other typical compounding creams, and to some extent it is not even supposed to be as aggressive as most polishing creams. If not mistaken AIO is positioned to be fine polish and cleaner wax bracket.

The only way to know for sure is if after rubbing the cream on the car, the pad becomes the car colour (example if car colour red, ur pad colour become red after rubbing), then confirm clearcoat gone.
Indeed. AIO is nearly no cutting ability I believe. The possible cut is from the pad in case if he did removed the clear coat. For some reason the paint on accessories for example spoiler and skirt is easier to be removed by machine mishandling most of the time.

Clear coat is very easy to repair though. A simple clear 2k in a can would solve the issue.
therain01
post Sep 5 2017, 08:29 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Sep 5 2017, 12:47 AM)
I've always wondered where to get 2k clear coat in a can...
i've told need to use it within 4 hours once they fill it for you.
You can get Samurai clar 2k in a can from lazada. To get full range of colors 2k paint you may refer to their Facebook for their distributor address. I get mine from a hardware shop off Jalan Sungai buloh in Shah Alam.

For 2k in a can, you don't need others to mix hardener for you. It comes with mechanism where you can mix it by yourself by just shaking the can. I personally never left the mixed paint for more than 2 hours so I'm not sure how long it would last until it gets dry in a can after mixing. The 2k paint however takes 48 hours to get very hard. Wet sanding is rather easy when done within 48 hours
therain01
post Sep 6 2017, 11:33 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(jyane @ Sep 6 2017, 03:43 PM)
I hope can see from the picture.
Clear coat is still there. Just use fine polishing to bring back the luster.

Forget about removing the scratches. Seems like too deep to be removed. Chances are caused by dirty pad. Btw seems like your car paint need a good fine polishing work. Apply the all in one only after fine polishing.

This post has been edited by therain01: Sep 6 2017, 11:36 PM
therain01
post Sep 8 2017, 02:41 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Sep 8 2017, 01:03 PM)
Going to finally detail my car this weekend with DA machine  rclxm9.gif I know we have to mask the plastic and rubber panels, what about chrome finishing, head lamp and tail lamp?
Tape your headlamp. The rest is fine as no permanent damage will be done.
therain01
post Sep 10 2017, 11:16 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(GuyM @ Sep 10 2017, 03:05 PM)
Did polish with osren Crystal cut 3.0 and wax from Zymol, how? Photo not edited, taken with Huawei P9
Can't judge. It's easier to know if you put the car under a bright direct sunlight.
therain01
post Sep 11 2017, 08:34 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(GuyM @ Sep 11 2017, 07:38 AM)
Not a pro, got minor swirl here there, ok la...
For me I will ignore minor swirl. Just wondering how's the hologram with your dark paint. For me I always have some issue with it when I'm too lazy to end polishing with soft pad.
therain01
post Sep 15 2017, 08:19 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Sep 15 2017, 08:04 AM)
Will be using Osren Restorer 51 then Synergized wax, these need to tape up?

When you mentioned "can be taped" means... is it better to tape?
What sort of "damage" you referring to? ohmy.gif
Factory UV coating

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.1448sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:18 AM