5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

therain01
post Oct 10 2016, 06:58 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Oct 10 2016, 09:09 AM)
i see, i see =(

i'm already very light handed already when applying the wax, just a 1/8 of a turn and i applied very light pressure while applying and still this occurred =/

i guess the form applicator that comes with the wax isn't really good -.- i'm going to use the Meguiars applicator for my other parts and see if this problem happens.

thanks for your insight =D i thought for a minute that i "burned" the paint =(
The next time you top up the wax try to first apply with circular motion with medium pressure follow by horizontal and vertical motion at very light pressure. You should see the wax applied much more evenly and easier to buff off. Also avoid doing it when paint is hot.

Anyway, do you see the a white shade after 24 hours.?
therain01
post Oct 10 2016, 10:33 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(ipanTatum @ Oct 10 2016, 07:12 PM)
during waxing my car with Kit wax( isit any good?), i've accidently stain my bumper part which is black plastic with the wax.

now there's white stains all over the black plastic parts.

Any idea how to remove them?? cry.gif
Use high quality pencil eraser. If stain still there, use dish washing liquid/paste and rub it with applicator.
therain01
post Oct 10 2016, 10:41 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(flyt0thesky @ Oct 10 2016, 09:28 PM)
Anyone here using turtle wax super hard shell paste wax? Any comment or review on this wax? Thinking to get 1 to apply on my 3months old car.. no money to do coating yet, wax to tahan first.. Hehe.. then I also found out there are some light scratches and swirl marks should I polish it first or just leave it since it is not very obvious..
I don't really like turtle super hard shell paste wax. The kit wax which the user above you are using works better than turtle hard shell. Too much effort (hard to buff off) with very little durability on water beading.

therain01
post Oct 11 2016, 10:19 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(flyt0thesky @ Oct 11 2016, 09:59 PM)
Thinking to get kit metallic coat paste wax or turtle wax since both also sharing the same price tag and can get easily from Aeon..
Well if price is your concern or you are adventurous like me love to test new things, China wax is not bad. For less than RM20 you could get something decent. Look for something saying super hard wax. Easily available in brothers. Avoid getting China made all in one wax though.

If you like all in one, a good cheap cleaner wax is polymer sealant from permaglass.

Kit wax is all in one wax if I'm not mistaken, while turtle super hard is pure wax.
therain01
post Nov 16 2016, 05:36 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(milyk @ Nov 16 2016, 05:34 PM)
Recently it has been raining a lot. After each time it rains it is inconvenient for me to dry the car. I notice there are water spots. If I were to wash the car weekly, will I be able to remove the water spots before it is permanent on the car paint?
Yes very easy to be removed if you get your car wash weekly.
therain01
post Mar 27 2017, 12:39 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(Wind82 @ Mar 24 2017, 09:05 AM)
Hi all sifus,

I want to apply Fusso 12 months coat. Can I use Soft99 Meta Clean to clean my car prior to the coating?

From soft99 website, the soft99 meta clean is a liquid wax. Will the Fusso coat bond the wax instead of the car paint?

Thanks!
Fusso coat will stay in top of everything.
Try a little test where you leave some visible meta clean stain on the car paint then apply a layer of fusso coat. You will find that you won't be able to remove the meta clean leftover unless the fusso coat is removed by polisher or powder detergent.

Oh I forgot to say fusso coat won't stay in rough surface.

This post has been edited by therain01: Mar 27 2017, 12:42 AM
therain01
post Apr 16 2017, 11:50 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(pierrecool @ Apr 16 2017, 09:45 PM)
hi guys, i am newb in car detailing, getting a new white car soon and hopefully i can take care of it.

would like to know is it a good start with "Finish Kare 1000P Hi-Temp Paste Wax" for a new car?

my target is wont let it turn yellow in 3-5 years then i m happy d sweat.gif
Use very light abrasiveness cleaner wax would works better than pure wax, for example PG polymer sealant. Lightly buff when necessary.

therain01
post May 4 2017, 11:38 PM

256 posts

Wow you guys seems overkill or I'm just being cheap.

I use skil rotary cost about rm150, with 4"and 6"pad from aliexpress. I Use carplan/turtle polish whenever necessary. For maintenance I use Permaglass polymer sealant all in one wax every 1-3 months depending on weather and panel location.
therain01
post May 4 2017, 11:52 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ May 4 2017, 10:46 PM)
We need really clean the pad after each panel? I heard some member say just take off the pad, can wash with car shampoo, after this attach to DA and set speed to 6 to spin let the pad dry ?

Hope the DA isnt that hard to use , previously using BD kp600 so i think it will be work the same just 15mm DA clover will be more heavy and powerful
Use warm water to clean the pad if necessary. I normally don't wash the pad for every panel. I have been maintaining the car paint with cleaner wax so 1 pad is normally good for 1 car.

I found that the best way to clean the pad after use is by using laundry powder detergent. I'm not sure how would it damage those expensive poliahing/buffing pad, but for me the detergent does not kill my cheap pad, just yet.

therain01
post May 6 2017, 12:48 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ May 5 2017, 10:05 PM)
okey noted !!! 1 more question , can meg ultimate polish to polish head lamp and tail lamp?
Don't ever try anything abrasive on headlight. Headlight comes with factory UV coating. To remove any mark or stain, use cleaner without cutting ability.

You should only use something abrasive when your headlight has turned yellowish /oxidized. Or you are working on glass headlight, for example wira headlight.

Tail light will be fine, you can apply anything on it. It does not comes with coatings.

therain01
post May 6 2017, 10:10 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ May 6 2017, 08:22 AM)
Thank for the explain, then i dont touch my head lamo and tail

but possible to polish then lamp to be swirl free? Because i saw my lamp got swirl mark 
Between meg liquiq wax vs soft99 kiwami, which actually give high gloss effect? I personally like meg liquiq wax bcoz it can apply all over surface without any white stain, and its so easy to apply and buff off
If you found swirl mark over the headlight someone might have already mess with it. I would suggest meguiars headlight protectant. It will cover up some very minor defect at the same time protect the headlight from UV. It is UV coating safe. Apply a little of the product and wipe it until almost dry. Don't let it stay dry without keep wiping otherwise cloudiness may form. Apply it once a month. 1 bottle should last you for years to come.

I can't say which wax has better gloss. Basically all wax and sealant gives mirror gloss finish and carnauba wax gives warm gloss finish as long as your paint is well prepared. I would take extra caution when using extremely hydrophobic soft 99 though. Try it on hood to see if it cause white shade under heat.
therain01
post May 6 2017, 01:07 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ May 6 2017, 10:58 AM)
I might try the meg head lamp restore out 
U are true, when a pply soft99 product have to give more caution and more care, while meg ULW just apply where ever u want without problem
Please take note I was suggesting headlight protectant and not restorer. Normally restorer is abrasive and use to deal with yellowish headlamp.
therain01
post May 6 2017, 08:38 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ May 6 2017, 04:26 PM)
oh lucky u tolding me , normally i just using liquiq wax to protect my tail lamp and head lamp , never try those headlight protectant , do they really make diff? because i read other forum mostly they using Meg ultimate liquiq wax for all surface of car to protect
Wax tend to stick on paint better than smooth plastic, acrylic, or polycarbonate. And we wouldn't know how effective is the UV inhabit in wax. Guess that's where the headlight protectant comes in.

The headlight's factory UV resistant coating would go away one day due to UV. Guess it wouldn't be a bad idea to protect the protective layer while you could.

BTW, there's no need to protect the tail light. Acrylic does not turn yellow due to UV.
therain01
post May 7 2017, 02:27 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ May 6 2017, 10:40 PM)
Okey dude thank for the explaint,  if for repair part, what should we taking care when doing polishing.
I think you mean repainted panel. Well for me no special care. The paint will not last as good as the factory original paint no matter how you take care of it. I might be wrong though, but it was my experience with many of the repainted car.
therain01
post May 21 2017, 12:34 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ May 20 2017, 07:07 PM)
Sifu , if they dont conpound, naybe after a year or 2 , the coating will completely off from paint? Or at the end stil need to compound
I believe if they don't send it for coating maintenance or remove the coating, white paint will eventually covered with dark gray shade which is not remove able from normal wash while black color car will result in light gray shade.

Car coating is one of the most successful con job in my opinion.

You can achieve the same result by using fusso coat 12 months or with some China brand wax name auto care sold in brothers for about rm10.

This post has been edited by therain01: May 21 2017, 12:42 AM
therain01
post May 25 2017, 02:40 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ May 24 2017, 11:57 PM)
The liquid i havent try yet, did u feel kilat2 and licin2 after apply the radiant 12?
I have a question actually guys , can i apply fusso 12 month as a sealant , then top the liquid wax ? As i know soft99 fusso isnt really make car shine
Always apply fusso last.

Use carnauba wax on white paint, single layer 2 layer up to you. Just make sure it is wipe clean and no residual and shade. Surface must be clean and smooth. For some reason, fusso coat like to stays on smooth paint. Wait for hours and make sure not under direct sunlight. At last apply a thin layer or fusso coat lightly, no rub, no machine. Don't leave the fusso coat for too long on the surface or you will have a hard time removing it. 5 mins or less is sufficient.

You now have a durable carnauba effect waxed white car, for at least 3 months for the top, and 6 months for the side.
therain01
post May 25 2017, 05:13 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ May 25 2017, 03:14 PM)
So u mean that apply liquid wax first, only go for fusso coat? I dont have carnauba wax, only have liquid and fusso for now
Well any wax would do indeed but would defeat the purpose.. I'm asking for carnauba wax because it is best to make the white color warmer hence better depth. The only downside with carnauba wax is durability. Applying a layer of fusso 12 on a layer of wax however prolong the effect.
therain01
post May 25 2017, 05:22 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(N33d @ May 25 2017, 03:54 PM)
Logically should be sealant which has better durability first then shiny thing last. A chain is as strong as it weakest link
Well you are right. When googling around we will find people advice to have a layer of sealant about twice a year and top up with carnauba wax every 2 weeks or less. Tiring huh?

The properties of fusso 12 months or similar water beading sealant act differently. I found that when they are dry on bare paint, they will still mix well with another Lyer of wax. Means that applying a layer of wax on a dry fusso 12 will remove the fusso effect (fusso is removed by wax I guess).

If applying a layer of fusso or similar on a cured wax, it does not really remove the wax but stays on top of it. You may try by leaving a fine strip of thin visible wax stain on paint, wait until it dry, then apply fusso 12. When fusso is properly cured, you won't be able to remove the wax stain with microfiber. You will need wax cleaner to do the job. I remember clay can't remove it too.
therain01
post May 25 2017, 07:06 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ May 25 2017, 05:25 PM)
Claying cant remove the fusso coat? By the way fusso or liquid wax normally have uv protection? Because my wife car is park under hot sun everyday, so have to get something more durable for her, while my car is alway park indoor
Claying does partially remove fusso layer. It will, however remove all the fusso layer if it is thin or melted. If the paint preparation is good and not dark color, fusso is fine under hot sun. Of course might need or might need not application monthly for the horizontal panel. My experience was it last for more than 3 months on a well prepared paint under hot sun, white paint of course.

As of UV protection, guess n33d explained to you clearly.
therain01
post Jun 4 2017, 03:47 PM

256 posts

Rotary ftw

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0335sec    0.20    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:19 AM