Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

ZzZzz...
post Jan 27 2022, 06:10 PM

Art of Sleeping
1,787 posts

regarding for the water spot,
i got quick hack that easy accessible by everyone (especially we at pandemic)..

which is spray little amount of 'alcohol sanitizer' on MF, gently rub on water spot, then rinse it with water, repeat it part by part (avoid alcohol stay on the paint)

let's me know if it works for u guys...

ZzZzz...
post Feb 7 2022, 01:01 PM

Art of Sleeping
1,787 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Feb 7 2022, 09:13 AM)
i personally disagree that rain water is better, ESPECIALLY in the city center like KL.
polluted rain can easily be worse than filtered (those huge tanks placed outside that most households SHOULD have these days) tap water.
hmmm, maybe tap water with water filter may be a good investment hmm.gif
ZzZzz...
post Feb 14 2022, 11:58 AM

Art of Sleeping
1,787 posts

QUOTE(maggi @ Feb 14 2022, 11:42 AM)
this is my first time trying detailing, i have check a few detailers around pj subang. but surprisingly one detailer who is using sealant is more expensive than ceramic coat. and he excluded the wind shield and need extra charge for both headlamp and window( 4 side and 1 at the back).

the ceramic coat one can include whole car without separate additional charges.
may i know any recommendation or price range for standard ?
detailing using sealant spray?
u can DIY...

dont kena chop by detailing shop
ZzZzz...
post Mar 9 2022, 06:17 PM

Art of Sleeping
1,787 posts

QUOTE(acap_p @ Mar 9 2022, 02:22 PM)
I have a question on delete chrome either via wrap or rubber spray. will these void SC warranty in any way? when involve removing part like grille to spray/wrap them
i dont think cosmetic modification will void warranty
ZzZzz...
post Mar 24 2022, 07:10 PM

Art of Sleeping
1,787 posts

QUOTE(wjie20 @ Mar 23 2022, 11:46 AM)
Hi all, I've been told to keep spray wax/quick detail and mircrofibre towel in my car in case of bird poop.
But my car has ceramic coating on it, would spray wax be advisable?

TIA
bird poop issue?
some tissue with water and soak at bird poop...
until the bird poop is soft enough to remove
ZzZzz...
post Apr 8 2022, 07:35 AM

Art of Sleeping
1,787 posts

QUOTE(veron208 @ Apr 7 2022, 11:40 PM)
looking for affordable 2-in-1 wash & wax. been using osren wash and about to finish the bottle soon
parking for cheap 2in1 wash wax too
ZzZzz...
post Aug 22 2022, 07:42 AM

Art of Sleeping
1,787 posts

QUOTE(Scissorshand @ Aug 21 2022, 01:09 AM)
Yes, Turtle SnS 4 mths durability on this car parked outdoor 24/7
fantastic,

mind share how ur procedure apply SnS?
my SnS seems doesnt last long as urs
ZzZzz...
post Aug 22 2022, 08:37 AM

Art of Sleeping
1,787 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Aug 22 2022, 08:23 AM)
laugh.gif my SnS also don't last as long either, car is parked indoors at work, only outdoor after work and weekends. Lasts 3-4 weeks if I'm lucky. After that beading goes down the drain.
any other last long product can recommend?

my SnS going to finish soon, cant wait to try new product
ZzZzz...
post Aug 22 2022, 09:37 AM

Art of Sleeping
1,787 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Aug 22 2022, 09:04 AM)
So far I still think those apply on coating is more worth the time... I did my car 2 years ago, full detail with Osren Coatz 01. Then used maintenance sacrificial layer on top... originally can't really see the diff la. Every month top up, but eventually base layer koyak  laugh.gif can see the SnS only last 3-4 weeks.
coating sure last longer, but application time is longer as well.

looking something quick application and last long (around +- 3 month) ?

anyone try the famous meguiar hcw? any real life experience feedback?
ZzZzz...
post Aug 22 2022, 10:35 AM

Art of Sleeping
1,787 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Aug 22 2022, 10:15 AM)
HCW similar to SnS based on my experience.
i see, noted sifu

another catch my attention Cerakote Graphene Spray, did u happen to experience it?
ZzZzz...
post Aug 22 2022, 11:06 AM

Art of Sleeping
1,787 posts

QUOTE(MCO @ Aug 22 2022, 10:52 AM)
Did you use neutral ph shampoo to wash your car? 
mine already 2 months still doing well.
im using this
https://pgpermaglass.com/product/pg-polymer-wash-wax/
is pH neutral as per description

can last 2 months la, but can see the beading start going down at some part
ZzZzz...
post Aug 22 2022, 02:22 PM

Art of Sleeping
1,787 posts

QUOTE(bbhing98 @ Aug 22 2022, 12:21 PM)
Could you give a brief review on this car shampoo? Looking for something new to try as I recently finished using a cheapo car shampoo which is not really effective.

Also looking for suggestions for budget friendly car shampoo within the same price range as this
hahahaha, is cheap too...

wat effective u looking for? the wax?

i dont have proper tools (pressure washer) to wash my car, just normal water hose, with 1 bucket method, then towel dry
ZzZzz...
post Sep 5 2022, 07:34 AM

Art of Sleeping
1,787 posts

QUOTE(lilsparda @ Sep 4 2022, 11:43 PM)
For your time and the effort spend i think its around there . Can't rush the whole process else will miss some certain spots.

for me i guess around 1 and a half hours. washing alone i think around 45 mins - 50 mins for a X50. sedan slightly faster

1. setup (i bring out my storage box, assemble pressure washer, fill up two buckets of water
2. wheel wash individually using wheel cleaner and detailing brush to cover the whole rim. use cheap brush to clean tire wall
3. wash the whole car with car shampoo and hand mitt, rinsing after 1 panel but go through out the whole car at 1 go under shaded area. if kena sun then i will wash the area first and rinse off or leave it to the end depending on how hot the weather is
4. rinse off
5. dry the car with towel (buying the drying towel really help cut down my drying time using Microfiber towel)
6. change to clean MF towel to wife off water that is inside door/boot
7. light vacuum interior
8. packup (including rinsing the two bucket and wash mitt and hang them to dry)

last but not lease, apply tire shine after the tire have dried up noticeably. which is not included in the time frame above and store the box

now washing the car once or twice weekly and wife is saying that i spent too much time washing my car already  blush.gif

Things that i might consider doing in the future:
-pre treat the wheel with MPC
-scrub the wheel arch
-buy wheel brush to clean the inner rim (now cannot reach)
-snow foam the wheel for really clean action.
same, lol, around 1 and 1/2 hours,

not include vacuum and rim washing yet sad.gif
ZzZzz...
post Oct 21 2022, 02:08 PM

Art of Sleeping
1,787 posts

QUOTE(GuyM @ Oct 21 2022, 01:56 PM)
It’s been awhile since I’ve walked into Ace and today I discovered this Armorall Ceramic. Anyone tried this and what’s the gloss, smoothness and durability like? Claimed to lasts 100 washes🤔
wow, 100 washes really?

ZzZzz...
post Dec 28 2022, 03:23 PM

Art of Sleeping
1,787 posts

QUOTE(matrix88 @ Nov 14 2022, 01:41 PM)
Was. Very suprised, my car is usually waxed quite well, on Friday when I wash the car, it was still beading very nice.
Come Saturday morning, went out for few hours, parked under tree and it rained.
When collecting my car, many leaves on my car.
Suprised to see my car wax, rain x all degraded badly,
Used wiper few times then only the windscreen wiped area started to have beading and water fly off
Washed in the evening, noticed wax layer for whole car almost gone.
Could this be due to the tree saps or some chemical/contaminants in that area where I parked?
Anyone experienced this before?
i avoid parking my car under trees even on sunny day..
avoiding my baby from tree branches, leaves, bird poops, insects

i guess for ur case is due to acid rain/tree leaves may have some acidic content on it, just my 2 cent
ZzZzz...
post Dec 29 2022, 07:42 AM

Art of Sleeping
1,787 posts

QUOTE(Chyan @ Dec 28 2022, 04:46 PM)
I've realised one thing while having a coated car parked outside 24/7 recently.

Majority of wax/hybrid coatings are hydrophobic and beads. Running water through a hose aka "water drying" doesn't count. This is counter intuitive during the rainy months. Those beads will encapsulate road film/grime and the sun bakes it. My cleaner wax is depleting very very fast and it's also quite time consuming.

Now, my preference is to coat cars with sheeting properties. So far only Soft99 Hydro Flash Smooth Egg can provide that said benefit.
feel the pain of water beads encapsulate with dirty stuff...

how long does this SOft99 Hydro Flash last?
ZzZzz...
post Dec 29 2022, 11:41 AM

Art of Sleeping
1,787 posts

QUOTE(Chyan @ Dec 29 2022, 10:55 AM)
As the product name described, "smooth egg" feel.
Gloss level is just alright. Not outstanding like Autoglym Extra Gloss for example.
Longevity is mediocre (3 weeks). To be fair, it's hard to know whether it is depleted or not due to the sheeting properties.
You can only gauge by the feel of the paint.
But dirt and rain marks does adhere less to my paintjob. That alone is worthwhile.

I lurked around their non-existent English reviews by going thru Japanese sites and gained a few insights before purchasing. lol

thanks for info,
pm tepi ur purchase link plsss xD
ZzZzz...
post Jan 3 2023, 07:55 AM

Art of Sleeping
1,787 posts

QUOTE(matrix88 @ Jan 1 2023, 08:59 PM)
Wow, just saw the soft 99 smooth egg hydro flash, the bottle is damn small oh. Contain less than 1 can of coca-cola. Hahaha
hahaha, ikr
any alternative with Sheeting properties product that value for money?? hmmm
ZzZzz...
post Jan 9 2023, 01:39 PM

Art of Sleeping
1,787 posts

QUOTE(icebryanchan @ Jan 9 2023, 11:55 AM)
Hi all, if car is waxed or coated is it good to use soft99 shampoo?

I have been using Meguiars (which costs like 4x) of soft99 and wonder if there is any alternative ? or it is already the best ?
i think any budget car shampoo with neutral PH will do
ZzZzz...
post Jan 10 2023, 07:38 AM

Art of Sleeping
1,787 posts

QUOTE(dog999 @ Jan 10 2023, 07:05 AM)
My first shampoo Meguair Gold class , good but too pricy . There is better and cheaper options. Make sure buy wash and shine shampoo , dont buy wash and wax shampoo.
You dont need wax added shampoo for ceramic coated cars.
Best cleaning shampoo CarPro Reset, buy 1 liter if can better value  . 1 small cap can from bottle can mix with 3.5 liter/4liters water for bucket wash .

If u want cheaper alternative Can get GmTech High Foam shampoo 10liters from shopee at RM 55 . Best fruit fragrance smell and PH neutral .

I usually Prefoam my car using Gmtech high foam to soften the dirt and use Carpro reset as bucket wash . After that clean and dry use beadmaker/Gyeon Quick detailer to Boost gloss and as a sacrificial layer to protect my car coating . Like this my car ceramic coating last forever .  rclxm9.gif

Wash every week to minimize water spots . If kena rain usually i wash the next day or within 2/3 days. If baked with water spots within few days, better remove it with ClayTowel as soon.  Early prevention is better than polishing in future  :thumbsup: .
nice tips bro, bookmarked!

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0569sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 06:19 AM