11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

VeeJay
post Sep 18 2017, 01:39 PM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(manchin80 @ Sep 16 2017, 05:06 PM)
What do you think?
Boleh ah?
superb! looks really good.

What product/method do you use?
VeeJay
post Oct 24 2017, 01:56 PM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Oct 24 2017, 11:47 AM)
I usually "flatten" it with both palms when squeezing out the water from the foam though, but earlier I was folding it into half to press the water on... maybe that's why?  sweat.gif But I never did twist method to dry it before.
You should just spin it using your polishing machine, and then let it dry. Squeeze is fine, but dont fold or twist it
VeeJay
post Nov 9 2017, 12:38 AM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Nov 8 2017, 06:21 PM)
It still doesn't prevent from rain water and dirt.
Wanted to know between quality on car cover , some mention the plastic will stick on the car and some doesn't but I don't know which brand will be a better quality.
I hv one from brothers, its double layer with fiber padding. I think it was RM100++

Lazada has couple of them as well. Check them out
VeeJay
post Nov 9 2017, 05:08 PM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Nov 9 2017, 03:02 PM)
Agree on that point. Daily drivers pickup stuff on the road regularly, so to cover at end of day and reopen again creates potential for the loose dirt to scratch paint when placing cover on and removing.
Totally! if its a daily driving car, i wont close it with a cover. It also contaminates the cover with dirt and bound to sketch your car at some point
VeeJay
post Nov 20 2017, 09:53 PM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Nov 18 2017, 08:27 PM)
There are so many type of cover ,some even double later cotton ?
https://www.lazada.com.my/automotive-diy-ga...M&q=car%2Bcover
Kindly guide me which should I choose ?
This one is similar to mine (mine is bigger size, for SUV), using it for more than a year now...been lasting well

https://www.lazada.com.my/431-x-165-x-119-c...dO&ff=1&sc=E44M

VeeJay
post Nov 22 2017, 09:58 PM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Nov 22 2017, 06:34 PM)
Yeap, this is the Accord's steering but this doesn't look like scratches though, it look something like stains but it is not and i can be sure about this because i am very very particular with mess on my hand so I always clean my hand properly before gripping the steering wheel.

No matter what I do, it doesn't seem to go away.

Reminds me of something "dried up" -.-
did you try leather cleaner?

VeeJay
post Nov 26 2017, 09:54 PM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Nov 26 2017, 08:04 PM)
Thanks , I looks like those are high quality which cost > 1k for those material. But at lease i know the different .Thank you smile.gif

But , why it said something like cotton.Does it have cotton or just the image only ? a cotton inside or something else ?
the underlayer has cotton
VeeJay
post Nov 29 2017, 07:46 PM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Nov 29 2017, 07:23 PM)
But does it resistant again water ? later the cotton also soak with water.?
Technically speaking you should only use it when your car is clean (atleast thats how i use it...lol)

Hence the dirt only falls on top layer, and bottom is always clean.

I have only washed top layer while its covered on the car.

VeeJay
post Nov 30 2017, 04:28 PM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Nov 30 2017, 12:14 PM)
anyone break in, dent or scratch the car won't be visible until next opening of the cover  rclxms.gif  biggrin.gif
lol...true....but mine is parked in side of the house. I rotate my drive 2 weeks once.
VeeJay
post Dec 1 2017, 12:00 AM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Nov 30 2017, 07:14 PM)
INSIDE house or at car porch ? lol
QUOTE(alvinrenren @ Nov 30 2017, 10:10 PM)
Could be in House though 🤔. I know many Thai ppl park their car literally in the house at night.
semantics....do we really have to go there?!! wink.gif

in side ≠ inside rclxs0.gif

With daily rain, had been washing like twice a week...sigh, just too much muddy water on the car
VeeJay
post Dec 4 2017, 09:31 PM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(PeeEl @ Dec 4 2017, 08:52 PM)
Thanks. Nothing of that sort. Just that my car never had any detailing done before. Thought may be a good time to do it. BTW, what would be a fair price to pay for a simple spruce up?
not sure of market pricing; i think you could start a surveying from garage sales section.

But ensure, they clay, polish and wax. Number of coating depending on the pricing, I guess.
VeeJay
post Dec 9 2017, 08:11 PM

3,852 posts

Yup...its that time of the year....sweat sweat sweat!...lol not the heat but from grooming my car.

I have 3 cars to go. Started with my small baby.

3 hours of washing, claying, washing, cleaning, washing, compounding, washing

This post has been edited by VeeJay: Dec 9 2017, 08:14 PM
VeeJay
post Dec 10 2017, 10:03 AM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Dec 9 2017, 11:35 PM)
I'm still feeling lazy lol..
Is that a skil rotary polisher?

Also your house convenient, walk out got restaurant liao
I'm on long leave now! hahaha...and true.....yesterday had hokkien mee and satay!

Yup its Skil rotary

Oh ya, prior to using cutting foam pad, I used wool pad to do the initial cut as well; no the whole car, but selected area.

This post has been edited by VeeJay: Dec 10 2017, 10:03 AM
VeeJay
post Dec 11 2017, 01:01 AM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Dec 11 2017, 12:14 AM)
Seeking opinion with fellow enthusiasts and detailers here.
Been contemplating to get a pressure washer for some time,
had been using my friend's and now he wants it back

The one im getting would be an induction motor based with hose reel. So it will heavy an dimpractical to store in inside and drag it out everytime i wash my car.

Question: Do you leave your pressure washer outside your house - porch?
if no, what do you think chances of it getting stolen? Would you share the same concern if you owned one?
Hmmm it depends on, the area you live i, I guess. Mine is a portable Black&Decker PW1350 1400w

VeeJay
post Dec 11 2017, 01:49 AM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Dec 11 2017, 01:35 AM)
I've been using k2 (friend's) for 2 years.
I like it in a sense that I have more confidence that loose soil are removed thoroughly compared to garden hose.

Also on rims when I'm feeling lazy I'll just use brake dust cleaner and pressure wash it.

But I hate that I have to drag it up and down before and during wash. That 5 meter isn't long enough to cover all sides of my car.

Do you keep it in? Or leave it out?
lol...dare not keep it out....so its in my store room, I dont use it every wash, probably like once in a month or whenever I drive some muddy terrain.

My garden hose is plugged onto the pressure jet, so it can go up to 30m
VeeJay
post Dec 17 2017, 12:59 AM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Dec 16 2017, 10:54 PM)
How to remove water spots from trim and chrome part? What sort of product should I be looking at?
I use cleaner wax, and it works for me
VeeJay
post Dec 17 2017, 07:44 PM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Dec 17 2017, 07:21 PM)
If plastic with chrome finish... cannot do anything about it? I think its most likely plastic chrome finish :S.
as I mention earlier, try the cleaner wax, it has always worked for me, for my chrome plastics trims.

No harm in trying on yours, cleaner wax (i user meguiars) is gentle on plastics, abs, alike
VeeJay
post Jan 9 2018, 08:02 PM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(mcchin @ Jan 9 2018, 02:47 PM)
will do will do
there is also a seller here at LYN who I have seen carries good range and competitive pricing as well.

or you could visit USJ1 Meguairs store, they tend to have promotion now and then.
VeeJay
post Jan 10 2018, 11:27 PM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(konchy @ Jan 10 2018, 11:15 PM)
Thank you. I tried the dish wash method mentioned by douglas earlier. Seems to work quite well. If necessary,I'll  try the claybar method next time.
tar remover should do the job, and then do apply wax
VeeJay
post Jan 12 2018, 08:42 PM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(b0rhui @ Jan 12 2018, 08:39 PM)
Been busy. Haven't been back home so couldn't snap picture of all

Below is my new routine wash since I recently just got foam lance to add some fun! tongue.gif
[attachmentid=9507771]

Grit guard is S size so it fits normal bucket
sweet! you missed your cloth/microfiber/sponge?...in the shot smile.gif

mine is BlacknDecker

11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0854sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 12:44 AM