Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

VeeJay
post Apr 5 2018, 10:21 PM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(vincent09 @ Apr 5 2018, 09:54 PM)
biggrin.gif  Yea o, forget nowadays got FB LoL  tongue.gif
just go directly to their place, and purchase, tell them you are LYN...they will show and explain each product you are interest....its better that way
VeeJay
post Apr 6 2018, 12:59 PM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(vincent09 @ Apr 6 2018, 12:56 AM)
OK I will pm them first, because also need standby the wallet LoL  biggrin.gif
yup...if you gonna buy a range of product, then better standby your cash cry.gif
VeeJay
post Apr 19 2018, 10:51 PM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Apr 19 2018, 12:16 PM)
To be honest. Paint protection film is a better protection compared to coating. But price also sky high
I was in the same impression, recently my bro-in-law did the film, and less than a week, there are some minor scratches...sign, without the film, i would have easily removed it with a polish/compound, with the film, nothing much can be done, its not that visible but under the right lighting condition it is. He spend 7k....i have lost the confidence on the film,...no doubt the installer willing to re-film

This post has been edited by VeeJay: Apr 19 2018, 10:51 PM
VeeJay
post Apr 20 2018, 12:02 AM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Apr 19 2018, 11:23 PM)
Hmm, the main question would be whether the scratches are on the film itself or underneath the film (meaning on the paint). As we are generally aware, whether coating or film, it is best to get the polishing to be as perfect as possible before application, else it will be a pain to remove the protection just to repolish.

If the scratch is on the film, then I personally think its okay because the film is doing its job of protecting the paint from scratches.
some are on the film and the one I was referring to earlier was on the paint.
VeeJay
post Apr 30 2018, 01:19 PM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Apr 30 2018, 10:41 AM)
How to prevent moisture from condensation?  shocking.gif  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
Car cover?! hmm.gif
VeeJay
post May 2 2018, 04:25 PM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(carbonfibre @ May 2 2018, 05:18 AM)
Sorry another question.

Hey guys I’m gonna pick up some compound and polishes for my DIY Project soon. I have a car with oxidized paint, swirl marks and what not. I bought a rotary as well. Since I haven’t bought the compound and polishes.

What are your recommendations ?

My purchase list was :

Menzerna Heavy Cut Compound 400
Menzerna Medium Cut Polish 2800
Menzerna Super Finish Plus 3800
Menzerna Sealing Wax Protection

Do advice !
some pictures, would be good to understand how bad are those?
VeeJay
post May 2 2018, 04:47 PM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ May 2 2018, 03:02 PM)
strange, i just applied "sealant" to my car 3 weeks ago. with frequent rain i'm not able to wash car until yesterday. it was so so so dirty with black strips like "tear drops" especially around door handle portion. why is it so? is it the sealant not doing proper job (I expecting rain droplets won't stick to paint surface thus is should be dry and clean even no need car wash).
Any protectant that we apply are basically for paint protection; means paint shininess and the look appears longer.

Since they are generally oil based, they are gonna attract dirt, the only way to keep it clean is to wash regularly....no choice there biggrin.gif
VeeJay
post May 21 2018, 07:47 PM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(eehs @ May 21 2018, 10:47 AM)
HI all,

I have 4 rust spots like this on my car paint.
What should I do to cover it? Possible with touch up paint ex: http://www.ezytouchup.com/store/ ?

Mate, easiest solution and workable until you send for a paint job, probably in a year or two or longer.

Get this product, I bought mine from US, been using it for more than 20yrs now, and it works like charm, not only on a vehicle but on my dumbbell weights as well and any other metal stuff like home grill, etc.

Its called Kurust from Hammeritte

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/HAMMERITE-KURUST...T-/331329581134

If I'm not mistaken I think I have seen it at Ace Hardware.

clean the rust, using wd40. Clean that area with soap. Then apply Kurust and let it dry. Just a drop is enough. I would use cotton bud, but make sure dont contaminate the bottle, so pour a small amount on a cap or any holder.

use cotton bud to spread it, let it dry, and I would reapply again after complete dry.

The next day, just paint it, you dont need primer or base coat.If you want longer lasting then you could use clear coat on top of your paint.

But if dont know how to paint, you gonna spoil the whole area.

Hence, on a safer side, just a touch up pen. Hope it helps

VeeJay
post May 23 2018, 03:19 PM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(jyane @ May 23 2018, 10:50 AM)
Hi all, how u clean dusty fabric cushion?  i think vacuum wont make them go away. other than vacuum how u guys clean your cushion? mine very dusty but i cant get rid of it.
Long time a go when I used to have fabric seats, I use the Fabric cleaner form spray and then brush it down, and then use vacuum cleaner to blow it of and then suck it down as well.

I think some time back I had posted the can. Probably later tonite will try to upload the picture...cant remember the actual name.
VeeJay
post May 26 2018, 04:44 PM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(therain01 @ May 26 2018, 03:18 PM)
Not using spray gun coz don't have enclosed area. Spray gun mist is a lot finer which it can't really stand the light windy condition. Need to clean up the mess now. It's all wet.
Envy you...its been more than 2 years since i stopped working on painting my car as well..sold it already (old Kia Optima)...new cars dare not sendiri paint...hahaha

its really fun though , learn thru alot as well, and patching as well. Do you do patch work as well using filler and fiber glass mat? Thats fun as well, especially the hardener and curing.

But those are fast drying, hope the rain didnt mess it up, else need to re-sand it. Do you also use clear coat to finish it?

PS: maybe its good to get awning for the front porch.

This post has been edited by VeeJay: May 26 2018, 04:45 PM
VeeJay
post May 30 2018, 08:55 PM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 30 2018, 09:55 AM)
Thanks! Will look into them, gonna look for one which I can mount on the wall... don't need to carry the entire reel around.
immaterial wall or ground, you still dont need to carry them. the hose if rolled up in the reel, hence you only pull the hose to the desired length.
VeeJay
post Jun 5 2018, 05:12 PM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Jun 5 2018, 05:05 PM)
Maybe an alternative to spinning the car around to blow off the water droplets is to have a leaf blower handy? Just a thought.
lol..probably vacuum blower would do. blink.gif

ANyways, I have many of my friends and relatives who had done coating, sad to say none of them are happy after 6mths, a year....for the price they could have easily maintained some other ways.

I may be biased, since I DIY, but I feel its just a waste of money.
VeeJay
post Jun 5 2018, 07:20 PM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(vindroid @ Jun 5 2018, 05:43 PM)
After 6 months, what is the condition of the coating? Still beading, glossy and no watermarks? Frequency of car wash after coating? What brand of coating
I cant generalize since most of them did it at different location, some personal choice, and some from SC vouchers.

Hence different polish shop has different results.

If you dont have the time or equipment, just go with basic clay/polish shop cost about 200-700 bucks. There after just maintain it well, wash once a week, apply wax or sealant periodically, would do, and much more satisfying.

One dont need machine to those, hand wax/sealant would do, just need to share like 30minutes of your time.

This post has been edited by VeeJay: Jun 5 2018, 08:13 PM
VeeJay
post Jun 16 2018, 06:46 PM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Jun 15 2018, 12:39 PM)
Ok, just wanna share something I discovered today.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7IozvwgAgBU
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E9NP0_nF2ak

The cleaning product, I'm not too convinced. It sounds like a fairly abrasive substance, but process wise doesnt sound that different from wetsanding. In my personal mind and opinion, spraying on a hazy surface perhaps doesnt make as much sense for me as well, as after wetsanding I can also polish it back to clarity prior to spraying.

However, the 2nd product, which is a headlight coating, is the interesting bit. I think on the last discussion we all had regarding ChrisFix's headlight restoration method, the main issue is finding that specific UV-resistant clear spray paint can locally. On top of that, based on the 2nd video (and more importantly its comments below), it seems that ChrisFix's method actually isnt as lasting as we would hope for.

This second product, Meguiars Headlight Coating, if I were to understand it correctly from the demo video, is actually a clear spray paint aerosol can as well. That's why in the demo video they covered the sides of the car paint with newspapers to prevent overspray. The more interesting bit is that this product is made by a big detailing company, so I believe it can be easily found locally.

For anyone keen to restore their headlights or have tried this product kit, please share your review or comments about it. Thanks.
Thanks...I havent tried Meguiars headlight restoration...should give it a try...hope local store has it

QUOTE(slk @ Jun 15 2018, 10:20 PM)
this is easier to use as you wont get overspray.
https://www.facebook.com/22ple/videos/86985...kyODM0MTg2NTcx/
hmmm I doubt it would last....I have many similar products; but it varies from 1 month to 4 months
VeeJay
post Jun 22 2018, 01:34 AM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(Swivlev @ Jun 21 2018, 12:24 AM)
Bro, this was exactly what i had in mind, ie a clay+sealant and/or wax job for my new car @ <RM1k followed by diy maintenance with Carpro reload, etc.

Do you know of any recommended shops that'l be able to do the first part above? Im in the Kota damansara/PJ area. Appreciate recommendations from other sifus too. Tx
I dont frequent to these shops, but if were to point to one, that would be
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3974870/all

But do not as mentioned earlier on the durability of coatings.
VeeJay
post Jun 26 2018, 12:13 AM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Jun 25 2018, 11:50 PM)
Based on my experience using a few different types of tyre shines over the years, I have not found one that can actually last for months. Some of them can last weeks at best.

However, also in my experience, I begin to notice that a tyre shine can last slightly longer if u wash your tyre well. I say this because in the past I only use normal car wash soap to wash my tyres and when I wipe them dry, my towel still turns black, which means car wash soap did little to remove the grime from the tyre itself. After I started using Superclean Degreaser (alkaline based cleaner) and brush the tyre, can really see the dirt coming out brown in colour. Once rinsed off can really see the original tyre semi-shine like from tyre shop. From there I apply tyre shine again, and it does last abit longer than usual.
agreed... and brown brush is good for tyre and mud guard washings.
VeeJay
post Jun 26 2018, 09:49 PM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(mt24 @ Jun 26 2018, 09:36 PM)
Dear sifus, what is the fist thing should i do after get the new car. Should i immediately apply coating?

I live in the apartment where that car will be parked at uncovered car parking spot. Any tips to preserve the car paint longer.
hmmmm first thing to do...get a car cover..as for car maintenance, there are many tips last 3-4 pages

and the first page

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/75541

VeeJay
post Jun 26 2018, 09:51 PM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Jun 26 2018, 05:38 PM)
looking good bro...ya those concave panels....need to change to smaller pads....gets tiring though...u had fun....thats the main thing thumbup.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
VeeJay
post Jun 28 2018, 06:43 PM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(vincent_on9 @ Jun 28 2018, 05:50 PM)
One week after application, nothing but just Meg's Ultimate Spray Wax  biggrin.gif

[attachmentid=9884391]
looks good...is that after washing or before washing...lol or rather during washing...since its only been a week thumbup.gif
VeeJay
post Jul 25 2018, 07:47 PM

3,852 posts

celciuz There are many filler products out there...those carried by Ace Hardware are pretty decent.

Below is one of that I have used many times previously. I used to have another 2 in tubers, it comes with separate hardener, but cant seem to fine it in my store

11 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0410sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:28 PM