Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

VeeJay
post Jul 31 2017, 10:19 PM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Jul 30 2017, 01:49 AM)
Mmm, I have personal preference towards Meguiars and Carpro right now, but do feel free to try other products also. smile.gif
Erm, doesnt it make more sense to use Glo AFTER polish? Could remove polish oils all at one go. Just me 2 sen, hehe
I started off using hand polish/wax, hence prior to polishing, I prefer all grease and dirt are removed, hence the polishing pad remains reasonably clean and the next step becomes easy.

There is no right or wrong, just individual preference smile.gif

QUOTE(gfwong @ Jul 30 2017, 02:16 PM)
Thanks for reading. With spray wax after every wash on any sealants, I think it might be possible to drag to 4-5 months. But if one is really particular a 3-4 months resealing should be good.
yup, I suspect the same, with maintenance they could last long
VeeJay
post Jul 31 2017, 11:50 PM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Jul 31 2017, 11:22 PM)
Yes, price for 1 gallon. Just update that I read somewhere online that Cartec Wheel Cleaner can dilut 1:1.
Ah I see. U dont clay prior to polish?
I hardly clay my car....maybe once yearly.
It all depends on how smooth and glossy your car is, if both are ok, to me, I dont feel there is a necessity to clay.

Normally when I buy a car, thats when I clay it, just did mine in March.
When the surface contamination is not high, dont really feel needs claying...thats just me
VeeJay
post Aug 1 2017, 08:42 PM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(zheilwane @ Aug 1 2017, 08:37 PM)
any1 used auto reel hose like this before?

Currently using manual reel hose and find it kinda annoying and messy
Gettin lazy ya?!! hahaha I used that more than 10 years ago while in US...hmm whats the question?

Its handy and reliable...so no worry there smile.gif
Not sure if its available here locally?!

This post has been edited by VeeJay: Aug 1 2017, 08:42 PM
VeeJay
post Aug 1 2017, 08:46 PM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Aug 1 2017, 07:00 PM)
but how often do you polish?
was wondering if you would polish over a not-so-gritty paint?
3-4 months once. And I use tar remover after the first wash.

BTW here is my new baby, bought on March/April

This post has been edited by VeeJay: Aug 1 2017, 08:47 PM
VeeJay
post Aug 1 2017, 11:42 PM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Aug 1 2017, 10:55 PM)
So prior to polishing do you clay it?
lol...I'm getting Deja Vu smile.gif

refer to previous page; post number #2499
VeeJay
post Aug 4 2017, 07:01 PM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Aug 4 2017, 05:38 PM)
Erm, no car soap or shampoo? Thats not really washing, is it?
it may not be shampooing but its still washing ...lol

btw just to share...my long time ago story...i used to own a wira 1.6...owned it for 13yrs...(including my dad before that...me 8 yrs)....my b ro used it as tarmag racing during the initial ownership...3 yrs in a row 3rd placing

hence too much sentiment on it...during my ownership...changed the color to orange...i could easily say i was one of the first to paint it Orange Lamborghini...and this was back in 2004/5...after 2007/8 ...i saw there was many orange on the road.

So back then it was a head turner...the painter...first time trial, hence he gave me discounted price for the paint job rm4k else it would be rm8k.....he repainted 3 times to get the desired color...took about 2.5 months in an out the workshop.

the paint guy told me not to use any coating...or shampoo...just plain water wash with micro fiber sponge...or use glo/soap power.

till the day i sold...the paint was brand new...every shop and buyer who visit didnt believe it was an old paint.

the guy told me the key is the top clear coat...good quality ones are expensive hardly used in msia, unless for those luxury cars.
VeeJay
post Aug 4 2017, 11:00 PM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Aug 4 2017, 09:02 PM)
By that I believe he meant using a hard clearcoat rather than soft one. Hard clearcoats are definitely not cheap, I once got my regular painter and repair guy show me German hard clearcoat, RM200 1 can, probably enough to cover give or take a quarter of the car maybe. The advantage to hard clearcoat is that it usually is quite resistant to regular wash swirls and scratches, the disadvantage is scratches are harder to remove generally.
QUOTE(N33d @ Aug 4 2017, 09:12 PM)
second what blurcase said
i believe it is a hard CC that managed to retain its ori condition after so many years
just like things with hard property eg. glass/diamond/sapphire.. never get old.
yup, it was euro clearcoat.
VeeJay
post Aug 6 2017, 08:45 PM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(ic3rock @ Aug 2 2017, 01:03 AM)
May I know the model of the polisher and also pricing? Plan to get 1 too...
'
sorry..was buzy....its Skil 9080, cant remember exact price, but was around RM320, with wool pad, orange pad, they gave 2 other pad as add on.

Online would be cheaper...checkout at lazada.
VeeJay
post Aug 7 2017, 04:41 PM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Aug 7 2017, 04:34 PM)
Haha, I wouldnt even send my car to detail in another state, whats more another country.  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
If free shipment, I dont mind sending to US/Canada...their interior detailing is just superb....
VeeJay
post Aug 7 2017, 09:33 PM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(CLian @ Aug 7 2017, 09:00 PM)
Hi, all. I need an urgent help here.

Two days ago, i tried polishing my car for the first time myself.
Unfortunately I let the polish liquid dry on my car for some time before watering it off.

Now there are many white line scars on my car.

Even the car wash person couldn't help me remove it.

Anybody has any solution?

Hmm interesting, i have never seen scars from overdried polish. Its normally easy to removed when it had dried up...more like powdery.

If you could share the picture, that would help us in our suggestions
VeeJay
post Aug 10 2017, 03:42 PM

3,852 posts

lol...A friend of mine used Osren Reblack on his dashboard and leather seat...he said very shinny...told him its wrong purpose...he said 2 days already all good bangwall.gif

Wonder whats the implication...
VeeJay
post Aug 11 2017, 07:12 PM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Aug 11 2017, 05:55 PM)
Everyday rain and barely got time to wash...
2 week's Dee haven't been washing car...
Last 2 weekend was mendung...so it was good for me smile.gif Rain came in later...which is fine
VeeJay
post Aug 18 2017, 01:23 AM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(b0rhui @ Aug 18 2017, 12:47 AM)
Thanks for going through my post and giving feedbacks accordingly!  notworthy.gif

In terms of efficiency in removing residues, does clay bar > clay cloth or they are the same?

In the instruction section of the wax it only says buff it out after haze appears which I did not notice. It's like dried powder bonded to the paint. What I did was sort-of "knuckle/scratch" it out with microfiber cloth. Was it over-dried?

I'll repeat the whole process again - clay and apply thinner layer of wax this time, two layers.

Would you suggest a good clay brand, and the polish cream with cerium oxide please? Osren glass polish abrasive cream? Planning to combine this cream with 3M microfine sanding sponge it should be fine right, since I don't have a DA

Also if a car is coated with ceramic pro coat can I clay and wax another 2 layers onto it?
I havent used clay cloth, but would be trying soon, since most of the reviews been good.

clay would only remove wax and sealants but not the ceramic coat, unless it is weakened towards end of life
VeeJay
post Aug 20 2017, 03:30 AM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(Xnet @ Aug 18 2017, 01:06 PM)
Question
Will coating prevent bird crap burns?
some reading material
https://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/hot-to...etch-paint.html

i guess it again depends on weather condition and type of coating one uses.

Coating like 9H, i think would provide a better protection.

VeeJay
post Aug 20 2017, 10:30 AM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Aug 20 2017, 09:19 AM)
1) maybe dirt from air trapped on rain droplets
2) exhaust fumes
lkoky adding on, check if there is/are any nearby

3) Factory that may have oil fumes
4) any restaurants nearby would also have oily fumes from their cooking
VeeJay
post Aug 25 2017, 11:51 AM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(N33d @ Aug 25 2017, 10:26 AM)
lol
2 gallons of meg xpress
i dont even know when i gonna finish my 1 gallon ocw.
buy another one or two more cars!!! rclxms.gif
VeeJay
post Sep 7 2017, 01:04 AM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(jyane @ Sep 6 2017, 03:43 PM)
I hope can see from the picture.
I may be wrong but from the picture, to me it looks like a soft paint, hence the scratches from stones, contamination, and washing.

maybe it was obvious previously until you performed your recent cleaning.

Start with gentle polishing and work slowly to remove them.
VeeJay
post Sep 8 2017, 04:12 PM

3,852 posts

jyane if I may suggest, another option that you could consider is getting the spoiler repainted. Its not gonna cost much probably in the range of 100-200 bucks.

Or you get a polishing shop, to just polish off the spoiler for you, since you dont have a machine, but thats gonna cost about the same price as painting, I guess
VeeJay
post Sep 15 2017, 02:01 PM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Sep 15 2017, 01:39 PM)
I see cars like Myvi, usually have the top side of the head lamp turning hazy and yellow... coating worn out? only way to do it is to polish then apply another layer on it?

Meh gotta tape them up properly then.
tape tape tape...once done cant be undone, its better to be safe biggrin.gif
VeeJay
post Sep 16 2017, 12:50 AM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Sep 15 2017, 11:58 PM)
Nope , repaint again few years ago.

Thanks , I search and look at Meguiars Interior but only found Meguiar's G13616 Quik Interior Detailer Cleaner but no stock at online selling.How much is the average price ?
You mean Carpro inside ? Carpro PERL is for type I think.
Both you mention , I can't find online , where do you bought them ?
There is also a question , which cleaning I should use to clean birds poop ? like dripping a few drops and wait for a few minute and using water spraying.Worry I scratch it when cleaning.
Merguairs?! there is LYN seller who has very competitive pricing...look it up at garage sale. havent bought from him, but did compared couple of times.

11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0518sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 02:07 AM