Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

more2teayap
post May 7 2021, 05:04 PM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(sonotme @ May 7 2021, 04:58 PM)
I think need to put top clear coat so that it looks better, no?
yes but the top clear coat is pain in the a** to apply based on my past experience, it will easily form a blob and the surface will not be even unless you sand it. So for now I just leave it as is without the top clear coat.
more2teayap
post May 10 2021, 09:15 AM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(RagingCandy @ May 9 2021, 12:25 PM)
Sharing my detailing... Applied "Soft99 Fusso Coat 12month" wax last week. Rains quite alot at my place since I waxed it. I rinsed my car with water after I drove it in the rain.Today performed a deep wash. Quite impressed with result of Fusso Coat. Hope it last long...

P/s: No coating.  Get kelentong b4.

I previously have a car that applied fusso coat 12 month too, the effect can last at least 10 months. But really difficult to apply the wax, it doesn't gives much extra shine and the default sponge applicator is quite hard.
more2teayap
post May 15 2021, 09:46 PM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ May 15 2021, 05:05 PM)
Anyone know whats this? seems very stubborn. is it tar? abit yellowish in colour.
Trying to diy before sending to detailling shop
[attachmentid=10879012]
Try clay it.
more2teayap
post May 16 2021, 05:15 PM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ May 16 2021, 12:49 PM)
sent to detailing shop. tried, APC, tar remover,polishing with cutting compound. all no use bye.gif

The spots are smtg like this but im not sure whether its rust or what. just a 6 month old car leh

https://www.nextzettusa.com/how-to-remove-y...s-on-car-paint/
Based on the shape, looks like it's some liquid, but ok lah, difficult stuffs let the pros handle. biggrin.gif
more2teayap
post Jun 3 2021, 07:46 AM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 3 2021, 01:37 AM)
thanks for the detailed reply bro notworthy.gif
definitely not aware that UMW delivers their car polished laugh.gif
AFAIK, depends on the dealer, some dealer will polish and wax before delivering, especially cars with white paint. but for mine, nope no polish no wax biggrin.gif

more2teayap
post Jun 3 2021, 10:37 AM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jun 3 2021, 08:23 AM)
Send to proper detailing center is added bonus, mine on the other hand... it was a horror when my salesman bring me to my car then I saw the worker using a "RAG" and also a bottle of AIO probably... zzz... habis my car came with showroom swirls.
Haha, yeah very normal, but then they have to do the initial wash at lowest cost possible to make it look better, because when the car arrive at the dealership the condition is less than ideal for car delivery, when I'm getting my car i saw some new unregistered car behind the shop, lots of black water streaks on the car body.
more2teayap
post Jun 3 2021, 02:40 PM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

Noticed there is some rusting going on in the engine bay area, decided to experiment with it.

Sanded the rusty area with 80 and 500grit sandpaper then paint it with touch up paint. Perodua didn't clearcoat this section probably because it wont be noticed since it's under the hood.

After 3 coats of touch up paint, wet sanded the paint with 800, 1000, 1500 and 3000 grit sandpaper. Pending to polish it up.

After sanding the rust and applied 3 coats touch up paint:

After sanding the paint:

This post has been edited by more2teayap: Jun 3 2021, 04:06 PM
more2teayap
post Jun 22 2021, 09:08 PM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(chaurous @ Jun 22 2021, 06:16 PM)
Hi sifu sifu sekalian,

I’m trying to remove the minor orange peel on my car by myself.

New Mazda 3  about 1 month old
Soul red

I’m contemplating between using Turtle Wax hybrid solutions ceramic polish or Osren Paintwork Polish all in one.

Do you think both of those using hand polish is able to remove the minor orange peel ?

Also open to other suggestion

Iinm for orange peel you'll need cutting compound instead of polish as it might be too fine to cut the imperfections of the clear coat faster. Doing it by hand will be a huge effort unless you have the time and patience to do it because after compound it you will need to polish it then apply sealant for protection.

This post has been edited by more2teayap: Jun 22 2021, 09:09 PM
more2teayap
post Jun 23 2021, 03:09 PM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(chaurous @ Jun 23 2021, 08:06 AM)
Thanks, any recommendation for the cutting compound and sealant ?
I think you can try checking out their perfect fifty compound
https://osren.com/product/professional-seri...l/perfect-fifty

or IGL's F1 compound
https://iglcoatings.com/products/ecoshine-compound-f1

if these compound doesn't work well for you then may need to opt for wet sanding with 3000 grit sandpaper.

Since your car is really new, sure you want to DIY? Soul Red is a really nice and expensive color to respray, why not let the pros properly do the paint correction?
more2teayap
post Jul 12 2021, 05:30 PM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jul 12 2021, 05:15 PM)
Honda paint is soft... and has a lot of orange peel unfortunately  sweat.gif
Same with my toyota, soft, thin and full of orange peel but can't expect too much for entry level brands biggrin.gif

Speaking of thin paint, last week went to tapau lunch on the way back a small rock from a construction flyover hit my front hood. cry.gif

Now working on touch up the chipped paint.

This post has been edited by more2teayap: Jul 12 2021, 05:31 PM
more2teayap
post Jul 12 2021, 06:20 PM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jul 12 2021, 05:53 PM)
I see your hood base color is black eh? Plastic kah, not metal meh.

Stone chips I got quite a few too sad.gif, sigh and karat too aiseh.
Oh that is just the initial damage pic without touch up yet. The black color is the primer iinm.. i just completed sanding the chipped part and applied the base coat, now waiting it for a day or 2 to dry before i apply the second pearlescent coat.

Better touch up before it karat :x

This post has been edited by more2teayap: Jul 12 2021, 06:21 PM
more2teayap
post Jul 13 2021, 07:07 AM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jul 12 2021, 06:43 PM)
My stone chips always expose the bare metal haih, damn stones at highway especially.
yeah same here, if you zoom in on the photo i uploaded can see some silver metal exposed within the black spot, today gonna apply there pearlescent coat on it, hopefully all goes well, tricoat paint really troublesome to touch up sad.gif
more2teayap
post Jul 13 2021, 07:17 PM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(ZzZzz... @ Jul 13 2021, 03:54 PM)
speaking of stone chips, how u guys deal with it?

1) Paint Repair Kit
2) Paint Protection Film
3) Avoid Driving near to infront vehicle (especially truck, lorry)
4) Repaint the car after few year

etc....
For me, 1, 3 and maybe 4? biggrin.gif

As mine is just a Yaris, I personally don't think that PPF would be a good investment plus the detailer where I get my ceramic coating also doesn't recommends PPF as the film may turns yellow in time.

This post has been edited by more2teayap: Jul 13 2021, 07:18 PM
more2teayap
post Jul 16 2021, 10:52 AM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(sk41 @ Jul 16 2021, 09:47 AM)
for entry level like me, will products such as
meguairs 3-in-1 wax
osren all-in-one polish
does the same job with meguairs UC & UP? to remove minor scratches at body
Need to try only can know for sure, because it really depends on how deep the scratch goes, the differences between compound and polish is the abrasive in the liquid.

Think of it like sandpaper, compound is like lower grit sandpaper, higher abrasive while polish is a finer sandpaper. So the idea behind using compound first then only polish is basically like wood work, you want to use a low grit sandpaper to sand off the unevenness on the surface fast, then slowly move up to finer grit sandpaper to achieve smooth surface. If you have the time and patience, polish alone might work too for very fine scratches but it will take you alot time effort and probably need to use alot of the polishing liquid.

Most scratch remover will have even higher abrasive liquid to cut the clear coat/paint faster so that can even out the scratches faster too, some scratch remover kits even includes sandpapers.

This post has been edited by more2teayap: Jul 16 2021, 10:56 AM
more2teayap
post Jul 29 2021, 03:10 PM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(Scissorshand @ Jul 28 2021, 02:22 PM)
So bought this to try out on plastic trim both interior and external of the car. Tried it on beemer especially the interior hard plastic trim. The thing about this conti, the hard plastic tends to melt and feel sticky overtime. This product worked wonder! Now it no longer feels sticky 😕 and it is smooth as hell! Hope it lasts 😁😁😁
I got this too, still waiting for it to arrive.. Previously bought IGL Dash but noticed it easily fade when contact with water, quite surprised it's priced at RM34 for a branded ceramic coating and it even comes with a precoat cleaner, should have sapu a few more. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by more2teayap: Jul 29 2021, 03:12 PM
more2teayap
post Aug 3 2021, 02:29 PM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(jonlee @ Aug 2 2021, 04:32 PM)
Hi guys,
Got my new ride and I sent it for car wash, then I found out my B pillar (the piano black soft plastic) are covered in swirls, any idea how to remove this safely?
Meguiars Polish or Swirl X? Using applicator pads only , thanks guys.
I got some scratches on my side window sun visor, used osren polish on microfiber cloth and polish with finger, works fine
more2teayap
post Aug 4 2021, 10:02 AM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(ZzZzz... @ Aug 3 2021, 08:48 PM)
Just done clay.
And realize after clay it even more worse, the paint get minor scratch.
I follow proper step to keep the paint and clay as lube as possible.

And ya. I bought the 3m clay from Shopee. Not sure is it fake.

Looks like the last resort is to polish the car.

Heart paint, just a month old car.
Same here I bought the 3M clay but not sure fake or not, but it's feels weird, hard to tear and feels really rough. It's my first time using clay so I got no idea how those expensive ones like.

I used alot of soap for lubrication while claying too, but still it still leave scratches after done I think it's either not enough lubrication, i applied too much pressure or there are too many contamination on the clay. So yeah after clay, just polish to regain the shine.
more2teayap
post Aug 4 2021, 02:00 PM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(ZzZzz... @ Aug 4 2021, 10:05 AM)
car paint able to remove swirl and marring by polish/ compound

how about headlight/ tail light/ frame around windows?
I don't clay plastic parts, as they are too soft and easily scratched but should able to use polish to do on plastic surface too, maybe you can try on a small area first.
more2teayap
post Dec 28 2021, 08:10 PM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(naTTan @ Dec 25 2021, 05:25 PM)
Sorry can i ask after coating applied, what syampoo should i get? Panning to do 2 bucket wash.
Ideally shampoo without containing wax, the wax may interfere the performance of the coating. At least that is what i experienced with turtle wax zip wax shampoo on my coated car.

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Dec 27 2021, 10:54 PM)
[attachmentid=11065140]

does anyone know what "layer" is this "white base" in the car paint composition?

got hit by a big arse rock this morning, kicked up by the tires from a car in front of me. if there is no danger of developing rust then i'll just leave it at it is until it is time for a complete touch up.
From the picture it seems that white spot might be just the clear coat being chipped.
more2teayap
post Dec 30 2021, 02:07 PM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Dec 29 2021, 05:34 PM)
if it's just the clear coat that is being off then nothing to worry, what i fear is that the chip could be deeper or near the bare metal =(
It's abit hard to judge from the picture, but if its really deep, you'll probably will see its primer/undercoat or even bare metal.

Here's mine circle in red, got hit by a big rock on highway. You can really see the exposed metal in the middle of the darkgrey undercoat

This post has been edited by more2teayap: Dec 30 2021, 02:08 PM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0497sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:04 AM