4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

more2teayap
post Dec 30 2021, 09:23 PM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Dec 30 2021, 05:21 PM)
gawd damn that's deep  sad.gif did you get yours fixed?
Yup,touch up myself, not a great job but at least it covers up the bare metal.
more2teayap
post Jan 19 2022, 07:13 AM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(jeffboon97 @ Jan 17 2022, 07:38 PM)
Placed a booking for the brand new Mazda 3 and super excited to take care of the baby.

My main aim is to keep the car looking glossy and shine. I am also considering vinyl wrap.

I have many questions and want to seek some sifus here.

1) Should I do PPF film and put coating on top of the PPF film?

2) What's the go to brand for coating?

3) Should I be doing the coating myself?

4) How difficult is it to apply coating?

5) Coating > PPF > Coating?

6) Should I even consider Wax?

7) Should I consider vinyl wrap?

8) How do I protect vinyl wrap?
1. If you have the budget, sure. It should able to provide both glossiness and protection.

2. XPEL and Magnus Pro are some of the well known decent PPF

3. Not ideal IMO, because it require a clean environment, skill and infrared lighting to apply and harden coating. For maintenance top up though, you can do it with silica based spray.

4. Can be quite challenging (refer no.3) open air environment may cause dirt caught inside the coating layer and unevenness may happen if not well applied.

5. If you have the budget and want the ultimate glossiness and protection.

6. Coating are much more lasting compared to wax, wax are more easy to apply. but due to the high water beading characteristics of coating, watermarks may occur if the water stays too long on the surface.

7. Yes if you want to change your car color without respray

8. Hand/contactless washing

*I'm not an expert though, just replying based on what i know.
more2teayap
post Mar 4 2022, 07:03 AM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(ahchat @ Mar 2 2022, 08:29 PM)
hey guys, ive just got my car repainted last week, and im thinking of sending it for detailing, ceramic coating etc....but im not sure what to look for...seen a lot of these ceramic coating services in FB, and price kinda ngam for me arounf rm500-700...any suggestion what shop or services i shud get?
For ceramic coating, do ask for their warranty terms and condition (what is covered and what is not). Ceramic coating hydrophobic property may reduce as time goes, some detailer will offer free recoat during the warranty period, some give discount for recoat.

Besides do ask about their prep work before coating, will they do correction on your paint?
more2teayap
post Mar 5 2022, 01:25 AM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(ahchat @ Mar 5 2022, 12:32 AM)
paint correction?
yup, paint correction is about removing imperfections on the paint surface so that the coating can adhere better to the paint surface. Plus, if there are any micro scratches or dirt on the paint surface and ceramic coating applied on it without removing them, the scratches will get more obvious as ceramic coat tends to magnify them.

This post has been edited by more2teayap: Mar 5 2022, 01:25 AM
more2teayap
post Mar 11 2022, 10:14 PM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(gold member @ Mar 11 2022, 11:59 AM)
Hi, guys, can recommend a good glass ceramic coating? For glass & windows.

Cause just to share: like previously all the forumners have mentioned, not advisable to use RainX nor glaco's due to (If I am not wrong) these chemicals normally consists of silicone which means if continuous use, no problems but it happens when there is a gap or stop using. Deteriorated layer will cause wiper judders which can be worsen for windscreen.

That's why one paint shop asked me to look for glass ceramic coatings. I searched shopee and there are plenty of fake or useless products even sold thousands, don't know which one is the authentic one. Read from this forum that actually at certain price range, we can get the real thing already just don't know which one is which. Kindly enlighten. Thanks in advance!
Based on my experience with CeramicPro, their windscreen coating will lose its smoothness and hydrophobic properties faster than my other car that is using Turtle Wax Clearvue (2 months on CeramicPro vs 5 months on Turtlewax Clearvue), plus when the ceramic coat lose its properties you will able to see the wiping marks on the windshield and it will also judders.

But so far I had only used CeramicPro Coating so I can't say about other brands.

This post has been edited by more2teayap: Mar 11 2022, 10:14 PM
more2teayap
post Mar 20 2022, 09:41 AM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(jAsOs @ Mar 17 2022, 10:16 PM)
Does anyone have good car shampoo recommendation for white cars?
I'm using carpro reset for my platinum pearl white.
more2teayap
post Mar 23 2022, 06:27 PM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(wjie20 @ Mar 23 2022, 11:46 AM)
Hi all, I've been told to keep spray wax/quick detail and mircrofibre towel in my car in case of bird poop.
But my car has ceramic coating on it, would spray wax be advisable?

TIA
For me, I just keep a premixed water with car shampoo in a spray bottle.
more2teayap
post Mar 24 2022, 05:36 PM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(wjie20 @ Mar 24 2022, 09:57 AM)
Oh yeah, thank you. But sorry if I have mistaken, wouldn't spray wax be more lubricating to remove bird poop?

Also, another question, is it true that we can put Cerakote graphene spray over ceramic coating?
I remember seeing someone saying can but I can't find that post anymore.
In my mind car shampoo is for cleaning dirt so i guess it should be fine as long its well soaked.

Yeah cerakote or any SiO2 spray as a top up spray should works fine if your ceramic coat effect fades. I used CarPro Reload as top up until my next visit for maintenance recoat.
more2teayap
post Mar 25 2022, 03:09 PM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

Another roadtrip another stonechip.

Not a perfect touchup but should be good enough to prevent rusting. biggrin.gif
more2teayap
post May 31 2022, 10:10 AM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(Mysagavvt @ May 16 2022, 07:34 AM)
How do u remove those streaks running down from the door handles? I wash my car at least once a week and it's still there..... Polished off the stains bit they reappear again after a few days..... This has been a problem with my saga since I got it new in December last year.... Anyone experienced this?
QUOTE(minizian @ May 30 2022, 02:59 PM)
This is the same for me too, I cant really do crazy thing since it is ceramic coated.

But i do wash with two bucket + mitts each week or two.

I am seriously considering buying a blower to make drying easier instead depending on the water absorbing driyer
I think the main issue is there are trapped dust hiding inside the gap/grooves behind the car handle. Personally I'll try to lift the car handle and try to brush off the dust using soft detailing brush while washing the car and also try to dry it off by dabbing microfiber cloth on the inside while lifting the handle.

If able to have a blower that would ease the drying job, but if the trapped dust are not cleaned off, after rain may have the same issue too.
more2teayap
post May 31 2022, 10:59 AM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(shinjay @ May 31 2022, 10:14 AM)
I have friends 2-3months already kena, so still thinking my white car should I go for full front PPF + coating?
or just full car coating.
Personally I wouldn't go for PPF on white cars, I tried approaching Ceramic Pro regarding their Magnus Pro PPF on my white car and they too doesn't recommend PPF on white cars as it will turn yellowish in time.

Do bear in mind if you are planning to go with PPF, go with reputable brands at least. But from what I understand PPF too is not a permanent protection, PPF will degrade in time and may crack/peel so its advisable to have them change it periodically before it happens as removing a cracked/peeled PPF is really a tough job, any mistake done during the removal may cause damage to the paint.

more2teayap
post Aug 4 2022, 01:02 PM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(quebix @ Aug 2 2022, 02:56 PM)
hi guys, noob here.
anybody has experience with Ceramic Pro products?
their PPF, coating and tinted is ok or not?

I got their gold package, overall I'm quite satisfied with them. Their pricing is definitely on the higher side, but considering their good after sales service, imo its worth it. So far my car had been recoated 4 times FOC (during warranty period), no complaints. biggrin.gif
more2teayap
post Aug 29 2022, 01:48 PM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Aug 27 2022, 03:55 PM)
Would like to know why I’m not able to get the same level of shine for my passenger seat no matter how much leather conditioner i apply? It feels hard and dry compared to driver seat.

Armorall brand.

[attachmentid=11238707]
[attachmentid=11238709]
Did you clean the surface properly before applying the conditioner? if there are dirt, it may block the conditioner to penetrates into the leather.
more2teayap
post Sep 23 2022, 08:19 AM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(kimi0148 @ Sep 23 2022, 07:27 AM)
Guys, new Axia Blue or Silver color better for easy maintenance? Thanks sifus
Color won't make it easier to maintain, but silver could blend in with the dirt and minor scratches much more easier, making them less obvious to the eye. I got a midnight blue, dust and minor swirl scratches are easily spotted.

This post has been edited by more2teayap: Sep 23 2022, 08:20 AM
more2teayap
post Oct 6 2022, 09:49 AM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(Haruharu37 @ Oct 5 2022, 12:55 PM)
Hi guys, going to finish my 4 liters carpro elixir soon, thinking to buy back the same or change to other brand.

Any recommendation for better quick detailer/ topper for my ceramic coated white car for weekly car wash routine application?

So far I have no complaint about the carpro elixir for biweekly application, and great water beading but I think the shine and slickness maybe can further improve if use other product instead.
so far i had used car pro reload and IGL enhancer, reload i only use like once every 3-6 months while IGL enhancer i use almost every after car wash as drying aid, it does give good shine and hydrophobic properties.

I had not used elixir so i can't really compare if enhancer/reload will give better gloss.

Other than enhancer and reload, maybe can look into IGL Premier and Gyeon Q2M Ceramic Detailer too.

This post has been edited by more2teayap: Oct 6 2022, 09:50 AM
more2teayap
post Oct 27 2022, 01:41 PM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(aurora97 @ Oct 25 2022, 09:17 AM)
Hellllooo sifu, need some advice here.

Condition:
Car less than 1 year old (less than 15K mileage). Hardly go under sun. The car colour is white orchid pearl. Currently using Pn39000W 3M car wash shampoo with combination of Quick Wax 39034.

Question:
Not sure if you can see from the picture. There are some very faint cloudy black stains that can't be washed a way. Can only see it if you are close enough.
[attachmentid=11288895][attachmentid=11288896]
Solution:
Any thoughts as to:
(i) what it is?
(ii) can I DIY at home, if yes, with what?

Final solution is to go polish.... zz

Thanks in advance notworthy.gif
It looks like stubborn stains from left over rainwater mixed with road grimes/tar that embedded to your clear coat.

Clay + Polishing should work, however in long run, it will cost you alot time and effort.

IMO try to wash your cash more often (at least once a week) and invest in decent wax and top up every now and then after washes to better repel water and dirts.
more2teayap
post Mar 28 2023, 02:47 PM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(msa9696 @ Mar 17 2023, 12:29 AM)
I think they didn't even mention a recoat, think didn't clearly answer my question during the maintenance, they just say will check and if any areas need improvement they just do some touch up. It's not free, it's RM 150 per maintenance, I believe those who mentioned free are those who will argue with them on the condition of the coating which probably Ceramic Pro agreed to maintain it for free.
Yes they clearly mentioned on the hydrophobic wearing off, and quickly clarified that don't trust car wash shop when they tell you without hydrophobic means no coating. I guess they faced many backlash from customer claiming that hydrophobic gone and complained about it, what's astonishing was them telling me that if that happened, I need to bring the car back and pay RM 150 for maintenance, despite their website clearly mentioned it's under warranty.

I haven't sent my car for wash yet, as it's less than 1 week out from coating. I've bought most of the necessary tools and yes bought Meguiar PH neutral shampoo. For now, I do plan to wash myself as I don't know which car wash shop I can trust. Even those RM 50 per wash also I don't think they're careful enough, but even so, RM 50 is too expensive. I think those RM 20+ one might not be pro enough, just my guest.
Whoa, Ceramic Pro now charges for top up? The last time I did my top up at KL branch is back around March last year, just send without questioning me too much and no charges at all.

After your wash did the hydrophobic effect return? dirt and oil film buildup does affect the effect. For my case, usually after a good wash the effect will return.
more2teayap
post Apr 3 2023, 02:19 PM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(msa9696 @ Mar 30 2023, 11:24 PM)
I only washed once so far, still have the effect, but I didn't really manage to compare to immediately after coating and now, since right after coating I kena very heavy rain already, but I feel like the hydrophobic effect like not really impressive, but then again, there's nothing for me to compare against so it's hard to judge.

This is mine after a year since the last time I sent for recoat, can see the rear fender and rear bumper had lost almost all its beading effect already but for rear and front door, it still held up quite well.

From my experience right after their coating service, if you touch the surface with your finger you will feel the surface is really smooth and sleek. After a around 1-2 months (4-8 washes later) the smoothness feel will be gone, but it still should able to bead and repel the water decently.
more2teayap
post Apr 10 2023, 09:39 AM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ Apr 8 2023, 11:57 PM)
Not sure if I would like to go for recoat since they seem to charge for recoating.

I think my side coat was totally gone as i can see water marking especially after heavy rain.
Maybe can call them up to clarify how much they will be charging first? if really RM150, for me I think I might settle with CarPro Reload first laugh.gif
more2teayap
post May 10 2023, 11:46 AM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(lihaurlim @ May 10 2023, 11:12 AM)
Didn’t know the grit guard for the pail is expensive 😟 omg
Another cheaper alternative, get multiple microfiber towels, use 1/2 microfiber towel to wash 1 panel.

This post has been edited by more2teayap: May 10 2023, 11:48 AM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0743sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:15 AM