Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

celciuz
post Sep 15 2017, 01:26 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Sep 15 2017, 12:03 PM)
51 i tape...
means better to tape.

yes, factor uv coating. overtime it will turn yellowish and blurry.
What about chrome part btw?

On the side note, how do you guys detail the chrome part? Is it still using same polish and wax on it?
celciuz
post Sep 15 2017, 01:39 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(therain01 @ Sep 15 2017, 01:35 PM)
Polycarbonate car headlight comes with factory UV resistant coating. You might remove the coating unintentionally when you are polishing the car hood if you don't tape it.

I see some cars has hazy headlight over the edges of the headlight. This suggest the coating was removed when polishing the car hood.
I see cars like Myvi, usually have the top side of the head lamp turning hazy and yellow... coating worn out? only way to do it is to polish then apply another layer on it?

Meh gotta tape them up properly then.
celciuz
post Sep 18 2017, 12:25 AM

14,033 posts

Among the China brand snow lance for Karcher... which is the most recommended? CarPro? MJJC?

Also while googling, this PA appears a lot... is there a local retailer for this?

This post has been edited by celciuz: Sep 18 2017, 12:26 AM
celciuz
post Sep 18 2017, 03:18 PM

14,033 posts

For clear coat, won't those designed for paint work with the head lamp too?
celciuz
post Sep 18 2017, 11:38 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(manchin80 @ Sep 18 2017, 10:45 PM)
ask on behalf of Friend who recently just become Sonax reseller.

if there are DIY detailing class, anyone of you interest??
nod.gif if time and venue is right, I'm in! (oh and the fee pricing too).
celciuz
post Sep 20 2017, 12:00 PM

14,033 posts

What is the best way to clean the pads after usage? Some recommend to hand wash and wring dry (which some commented said this will cause the velcro to peel), some say to use pressure washer to spray and remove the residue (but some say will expand the interior structure) then some recommend use the bucket where you spin it...

So for DIY newbie like me, which would be the easiest and safest way to clean the pads? what sort of cleaner? Is it worth getting those like tool to agitate the residue? or those brush?
celciuz
post Sep 20 2017, 11:34 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(lkoky @ Sep 20 2017, 01:46 PM)
I just clean it using a normal plastic brush under running water... a bit of household soap.

Anyway, my damage from Lazada kawkaw sale... RM148 for Ult Wax, and RM98 for Fast Fin Wax (using maxis voucher code)
QUOTE(blurcase @ Sep 20 2017, 01:47 PM)
My own practice (in between polish cycles):
Peel pad from machine, wash with garden hose and squeeze to remove polish residue, fold pad and squeeze to remove excess water, put in between thick microfiber towel and lay on floor and punch it to get towel to absorb remaining water.

My own practice (end of detailing session):
Put into small laundry bag, throw into washing machine and use clothes detergent to wash it out.

From my experience, wringing/twisting pad is not good because of it can damage pad and the velcro easily. Similarly, wringing/twisting microfiber cloth also not good because it overstretches the cloth and eventually make it less absorbent over long time.

Just my 2 sen experience.
Thanks for the tips!

Yeah got to admit the towel tip you gave is hard to follow sad.gif Especially when drying up after a car wash... oh I miss using chamois =/ a bit regret buying the larger drying towel from Osren, should have went with the standard size instead.
celciuz
post Oct 4 2017, 07:57 AM

14,033 posts

Ordered MJJC foam lance from AliExpress, finally arrived yesterday rclxm9.gif this weekend can use this foam lance and Osren Nano wash hehehe. The Karcher Fj3 that came with my K4 Basic was not convenient, the container is only 0.3L ._. spray halfway need to top up soap.

Was told the Karcher is really bad compared to these China made ones, don't dare to pull trigger for those italy made ones haha, so much more expensive.

celciuz
post Oct 4 2017, 12:46 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(slk @ Oct 4 2017, 10:49 AM)
follow guide below to assemble

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V0HivU3V0uM
Thanks!

QUOTE(g88 @ Oct 4 2017, 10:58 AM)
my ex-colleague bought the same from Aliexpress. Less than 5 times use, it went kaput....i bet after few wash/setup you will find foam gun is better vs foam lance in ease of setup/time
Oh no, it spoilt so quickly? 😱 What was the issue? Clogged up?
celciuz
post Oct 4 2017, 02:46 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Oct 4 2017, 02:45 PM)
The built was poor and the inner mesh filter and clogged it
blink.gif wow ok... lets see how long mine would last... takkan really need to buy those Italy made ones :S.
celciuz
post Oct 9 2017, 09:54 AM

14,033 posts

How do you polish these tight areas on machine? Or is it better to do it using hand? I'm using DA 8mm from Osren. Which those areas kinds tight for the pads.

celciuz
post Oct 9 2017, 10:59 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Oct 9 2017, 10:51 AM)
If u have 3 inch polisher or smaller then can go into those places. Else just use hand polish.
How much does these 3" or smaller polishers goes for? Any recommendations I should be looking at? All I see so far are the branded ones like Rupes... don't have any china copy around?

Btw by hand... means using cloth right? or those foam applicator pad? If polishing... the applicator pad to polish?

This post has been edited by celciuz: Oct 9 2017, 11:26 AM
celciuz
post Oct 10 2017, 10:02 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Oct 9 2017, 12:00 PM)
Price wise I am not sure. Rupes have machines that can work 1”/2”/3” pads. There is another brand called Shinemate that also can work with small pads but only runs on rotary for 1”/2” if not mistaken. Shinemate is cheaper than Rupes.

By hand preferably also use foam pads. Using microfiber cloth to rub/polish is not impossible, but just need to be gentle.
I was googling around, this few models always popping up is the Rupes Mini, GG3 and Flex PE08. Haven't come across the Shinemate and think would be good to look at that instead since those brands that always appear are the expensive originals haha...

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Oct 10 2017, 09:42 AM)
I buy shinemate 3inch DA around rm600++ with pad, if without pad should be around rm500++

3mm DA is a must have, very convenience, civic all bumper can be polish
May I know which model is it? And got it locally or ordered from online?

Sigh, I was trying to polish using the Osren DAP8... can't get the edges or the bumper ._. too big already, so thinking to grab a smaller DA/Rotary.
celciuz
post Oct 12 2017, 12:21 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Oct 10 2017, 07:33 PM)
Shinemate only have 1 model of 3mm DA , u can contact this guys and he will send u whole range and price , he can ship to any place within malaysia hehe , so far the machin work very well
sad.gif tried to WhatsApp him but no reply, change number already maybe?
celciuz
post Oct 12 2017, 08:15 AM

14,033 posts

Looking for glass cleaner, anyone using the Meguair's G8224 Perfect Clarity Glass Cleaner?

Saw this deal twin pack for RM55, https://www.lazada.com.my/meguiar39s-g8224-...qJ&ff=1&sc=GX8D
celciuz
post Oct 23 2017, 09:35 PM

14,033 posts

Just noticed a tiny tear on my LC Polishing Force Disc 5.5", suspect on the method I used to remove it from the backing plate perhaps? I just peel it actually. Or is there a better way to do it while avoiding damage to the pad? Or is this actually normal sweat.gif

I'm quite new to machine actually, so these are my first few pads.

celciuz
post Oct 24 2017, 09:03 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Oct 23 2017, 11:38 PM)
Mmm, usually removing from backing plate may tear the velcro part, not the inner circle. Your tear in the inner circle could be from something else.

To remove pads safely from machine it is always recommended to catch the velcro part of the pad as early as possible so that the pull wont strain the glue between the pad and velcro.
What is the common causes for torn center portion of the pad? So I can avoid it nod.gif

Yeah I usually peel it off holding the velcro area instead of the foam itself, to avoid peeling the velcro off.
celciuz
post Oct 24 2017, 11:47 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Oct 24 2017, 10:19 AM)
Mmm, I wouldnt be too sure myself, cuz my pads dont have center holes. But if I were to guess, I think its just a wear and tear thing. Another possibility is if u wash the pad after use and use the twist method to dry it, then when it is twisted too extreme it may cause tear also.

Normally if tear were to happen due to machine handling mistakes it would occur more on the sides of the pad rather than the center.
I usually "flatten" it with both palms when squeezing out the water from the foam though, but earlier I was folding it into half to press the water on... maybe that's why? sweat.gif But I never did twist method to dry it before.
celciuz
post Nov 13 2017, 08:58 AM

14,033 posts

Last time I refuel... when I drive into that pump station I noticed some colored liquid on the floor (like rainbow when hit by light) but it didn't occur to me it was petrol on the floor... then when I pumped, it actually overflow.. think RM3-4 gone case there dry.gif. I guess that pump station overflows on most of the cars.
celciuz
post Nov 17 2017, 11:47 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Nov 16 2017, 05:06 PM)
Was wondering if anyone is interested in tt(teh tarik) session?

Meet up and exchange ideas and techniques on detailing
I'm interested if time is convenient as I'm from Melaka xD would love to learn from all the taikos here.

49 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0972sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:15 AM