18 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

sonotme
post Apr 8 2021, 01:16 PM

1,711 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Apr 8 2021, 09:22 AM)
Ahh yes. That was the missing step. Probably too excited to 'do something' to the car yesterday itself that I overlooked the clay/IPA wipe part before applying the Glaco.

Silly me. laugh.gif

Yup, you're right bro. Subsequently I didn't need to clay my previous car's glass areas anymore and just recoat the products and voila!

Wow, 4 months +! That's quite long.

I cannot tahan the shine fading especially if car is driven in very bad weather. The moment I see browning on the tyres I will recoat.

From my experience, very little products can last in our weather, except for the Meg's and Black2.

The others give insane wet shine look but doesn't last at all. I usually test other tyre shines on my wife's car cos my Black2 coating on the Myvi had hardened and pretty much rendered any subsequent products applied on it not being able to 'stick' thoroughly to the tyre sidewalls due to that hard coat in place.  sweat.gif
I usually just clean the rims & tyre and it shines back. Need to test my new tyre brush i got from shopee.

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 8 2021, 10:53 AM)
Despite the faded shine, it still is black/rubber color and brake dusts don't easily stick to the tire surface (or even if it does, a rain is more than enough to wash them away)
That said however, the rims will have horrendous brake dusts and my performance brake pads (600c rated) doesn't do it any favors.
It depends how much you can accept either tire clean rim full of brake dust having 2 tone/2 condition vs both tire and rims uniformly brake dust color laugh.gif

The Sonax wheel coating is well, weak.
Fortunately I gotten them on sale price.

I wonder what coating products on the market can deal with wheels getting 100-200c (brakes itself going >600c)
On serious Sepang track sessions, the plastic center wheel cap (mounting legs) can get melted and whole cap flies off laugh.gif
Meg shopee got sale this 12/4. Maybe got something there that may interest u..
sonotme
post Apr 8 2021, 06:49 PM

1,711 posts

QUOTE(FrogBlob @ Apr 8 2021, 04:14 PM)
Hi! I'm new to detailing stuff.
Planning on trying out Glaco products, but on shopee product pages, the instructions says to not apply on wet windshield as it would damage the surface, but what if it rains after applying?
Why will Glaco damage the surface if mix with water?

Also, does it matter if it is applied on my car with tint applied?
Probably coz glaco needs time to cure.
Tint is inside the car, glaco is outside. I dont think it affects
sonotme
post Apr 8 2021, 11:55 PM

1,711 posts

QUOTE(more2teayap @ Apr 8 2021, 09:19 PM)
could it be the wax is picking up the residue from the clay and leave it on your surface?
I also think maybe the buffing action makes the contaminants/dirt appear.. probably thats why they say better clay/ipa before putting on new wax?
sonotme
post Apr 9 2021, 03:03 AM

1,711 posts

Any recommendation for car dash & glass cleaner/protectant?
I saw turtlewax has this dash & trim..
sonotme
post Apr 9 2021, 04:25 PM

1,711 posts

QUOTE(harriss @ Apr 9 2021, 02:58 PM)

eh , just this then settle ady ?
when to apply wax?
I think what quazacolt meant was the cleaner wax already got wax. But of course fusso is better. Probably should clean off the cleaner wax and use paste wax instead. Or use a polisher without wax..
I also have this metaclean, asked here before too. Cleaner wax got its own wax..
sonotme
post Apr 9 2021, 05:30 PM

1,711 posts

QUOTE(harriss @ Apr 9 2021, 04:45 PM)
i see , can u recommend budget friendly compound for polishing ?

edit : will try Turtle Wax Premium Polishing Compound smile.gif

edit 2 : inb4 top up abit get Meguiar's G-17216 Ultimate Compound 473ml / 16 oz , better result summore  hmm.gif
Hmm.. im looking for polisher too. I also used metaclean previously but for old car (still testing)

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Apr 9 2021, 05:12 PM)
Invest in Meg's Ultimate Compound.

That should be all your need and not even needing Ultimate Polish.

Or...

Racun you a bit to go check out Osren's detailing range.

I bought NAO46 etc previously for use with the DA but I use it sparringly.
Osren's luminous polish is it good?
Or get Meg's UC & UP combo? I don't have DA, can only do by hand because staying at condo..
sonotme
post Apr 12 2021, 11:02 AM

1,711 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Apr 12 2021, 10:56 AM)
Got sell here ah or need to import?

brows.gif

Shopee cannot find ONR items anymore.

Anybody knows where I can stock up my ONR [either blue or green]?
ONR seller said will restock mid may..
Btw how do u normally clean wheel wells?
I tried using meg MPC + toilet bowl brush.
The toilet brush seems too hard but its a good length to reach behind the tyre.
sonotme
post Apr 12 2021, 11:26 AM

1,711 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Apr 12 2021, 11:15 AM)
Hmm, wheel wells and my rims are pretty much the least detailed part of my rides.

I just use garden hose blast any apparent dirt in the wheel wells and for the rims, I just use either sponge or old MF towel to wipe.

Thanks for the heads up on ONR availability.

It's either this or Osren's Rinseless Wash Pro then. If got chance might decide to visit Osren HQ again. brows.gif
Yesterday midnight osren shopee got discount (rm32) for rinseless.
Dangerous laa go osren HQ.. later end up spend more hahaha..

My tools for wheel rim n wells. Recommend to get the tyre brush from ADM.

I still cant get my pics to show vertical lol

This post has been edited by sonotme: Apr 12 2021, 11:31 AM

sonotme
post Apr 12 2021, 12:37 PM

1,711 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Apr 12 2021, 12:26 PM)
actually, is Osren's Rinseless Pro good?

i have been looking for a solution to ease my wipe down of those water beads on my car after rain and couldn't find any that i could really put my trust into.
Cheaper compared to ONR. I started pre-wash using rinseless and wipe it off with soaked rinseless.

After rain, maybe use leaf blower instead? Hehehe
sonotme
post Apr 12 2021, 01:23 PM

1,711 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Apr 12 2021, 12:49 PM)
blush.gif i really REALLY did consider wanting to get a leaf blower but spending that amount of money just for this one purpose seems, wasteful, overkill as well.

i just want something that is portable that i can just chuck into the boot and then use it anywhere i find appropriate. i figured it would be too dramatic for me to whip out a leaf blower in a (let's say) parking lot of a shopping mall and then just blow away :haha:
How about waterless wash then?
I have one from purewax. Other brands also got (depends on budget).
But i usually use diluted rinseless coz its cheaper.

U wash/dry car in a parking lot of a shopping mall is also lebih2 hahaha
sonotme
post Apr 14 2021, 11:25 AM

1,711 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Apr 14 2021, 10:34 AM)
Haha battle scars from Sepang ah or touge? brows.gif

I can still see some 'lines' on my rear windscreen. That day I only clayed and IPA the whole front glass area to remove that oil patch.

I was thinking to use Glass Refresh but my screen ain't watermarked though so I kept it in the end.

Now it's raining cats & dogs every single evening so I just leave it as is first until the weekend when I have some time to do some TLC.
Raining everyday, can showcase water beading hehehe..
sonotme
post Apr 16 2021, 07:57 PM

1,711 posts

QUOTE(Scissorshand @ Apr 16 2021, 07:26 PM)
Is it norm to still have this stain despite coating? Of late it's been raining...
I also had this recently after raining. The stain water trap inside door handles and side mirror.. but subsequent rain, the stain didnt appear anymore. U better clean it quickly before it gets harder to remove
sonotme
post Apr 18 2021, 04:06 PM

1,711 posts

QUOTE(Scissorshand @ Apr 18 2021, 11:01 AM)
Well andrwss mentioned its been few years after applying and he's still satisfied with the $50 coat. I too started using cheap ass ceramic coat fro Aliexpress for few months and I'm satisfied with the outcome till now. Will surely observe especially when washing the cars weekly. I'd think the expensive ones are truly hyped up too much and pointless to invest if one does not maintain them
https://youtu.be/Gj9CRNHbLjk

Check out this youtube. He even has an excel spreadsheet..
sonotme
post Apr 20 2021, 04:04 PM

1,711 posts

QUOTE(prescott2006 @ Apr 20 2021, 03:43 PM)

Any idea to remove these stains from the windscreen?  hmm.gif Tried Sprayway glass cleaner but it does not work.
Soft99 glass refresh / igl delete. Need some acid i think.. glass cleaners usually are ph neutral
sonotme
post Apr 21 2021, 11:15 AM

1,711 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 21 2021, 01:32 AM)
that's great info! thanks for clarifying smile.gif
Check this video out:
He did a comparison..

https://youtu.be/jl1dWbsp8hQ
sonotme
post Apr 22 2021, 01:03 PM

1,711 posts

QUOTE(submergedx @ Apr 22 2021, 11:08 AM)
Hello car fans
Im trying to restore/maintenance my car's leather recently and im not sure which product to use
There's some minor cracks currently and it is enough for me to purchase Leather cleaner like Meguiar's? Or i need to use Leather dye or some sanding skills to make it looks nicer in this case?

Try turtlewax leather cleaner & conditioner. Cheaper than meguiars and can be found off the shelf. Try clean first and see if there is improvement
sonotme
post Apr 23 2021, 07:59 PM

1,711 posts

Anyone used rain x interior to prevent fogging at the windows?
sonotme
post Apr 24 2021, 01:21 AM

1,711 posts

QUOTE(znzn @ Apr 23 2021, 09:37 PM)
Hi. New to car detailing here, just got my new ride last week. Is there any guide for newbies like me? So far I learned that its best for us to wash car weekly and do waxing quarterly. Is there any recommended car care package (detergent, wax, cloth etc) for newbie to start learning? smile.gif
Living in condo (with no washbay) or landed? I would start with the basics for car wash & wax for beginner:

Can get most of the stuff at shopee/lazada
- microfibre cloths (MR.DIY/ACE Hardware), get alot if you're doing rinseless wash for condo. Make sure to get for drying too.
- wash mitt if landed
- car shampoo (osren, tupps, meguiars) depend on budget
- wheel cleaner (osren, meguiars, etc)
- spray wax (soft99 speed barrier, osren coatz, meguiars, turtlewax, etc) too many to choose from
- wheel brush (MR.DIY)

that's how I started early this year, then slowly I had more waxes, soft99 black black for tire shine, soft99 glaco for windscreen, etc..

kena racun by sifus here cry.gif
sonotme
post Apr 24 2021, 02:01 PM

1,711 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 24 2021, 10:34 AM)
nope, as in car vents and tints are more than sufficient to prevent any fogging.
my rear passenger windows gets fogged up but not the front.. but i wonder why. maybe i forgot to clean the rear passenger windows previously doh.gif
sonotme
post Apr 24 2021, 03:13 PM

1,711 posts

QUOTE(alex00w @ Apr 24 2021, 02:34 PM)
Soft99 black2 nice? how long can last? Still in wishlist together with Soft99 iron Terminator (if needed).
Nice.. bro woodentiger recommended..
Either soft99 black2 or meg endurance tire gel.

I'm actually using osren wheel cleaner + soft99 iron terminator.
I plan to try meguiar's ultimate all wheel once i have finish my iron terminator though
5.5 sale coming soon brows.gif brows.gif

18 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0593sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:23 AM