Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

dwRK
post Mar 30 2016, 08:13 PM

the consummate chartist
6,227 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Mar 30 2016, 05:47 PM)
After 2 months
both look good. Did you do any BSD over ICE? that would be interesting.

When you're done with the test. Can you do a QD or IPA wipe to see which side attracted/embedded more dirt... Thanks.
aeiou228
post Mar 30 2016, 08:40 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Mar 30 2016, 08:13 PM)
both look good. Did you do any BSD over ICE? that would be interesting.

When you're done with the test. Can you do a QD or IPA wipe to see which side attracted/embedded more dirt... Thanks.
No I didn't, both ICE and BSD applied directly to the bare paint surface.
I have another car coated with the Sonax Polymer Netshield for the past 2 months. I will share the water beading picture next week for the forum to judge its durability.

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Mar 30 2016, 08:41 PM
dwRK
post Mar 31 2016, 07:51 AM

the consummate chartist
6,227 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Mar 30 2016, 08:40 PM)
No I didn't, both ICE and BSD applied directly to the bare paint surface.
I have another car coated with the Sonax Polymer Netshield for the past 2 months. I will share the water beading picture next week for the forum to judge its durability.
Well...these 3 are modern synthetics so should last quite a bit...they have great reputation for beading/durability anyway...

I tested an old wax rain hop vs extreme shield...durability and beading aside the wax attracted more dirt and is less easy to clean...so that was defining

The extreme shield is also tacky/grippy like BSD/PNS...I'm guessing it has comparable formulation and it's my plan to extend it with BSD

if you wish I can give you some extreme shield to test with PNS...
aeiou228
post Mar 31 2016, 07:00 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Mar 31 2016, 07:51 AM)
Well...these 3 are modern synthetics so should last quite a bit...they have great reputation for beading/durability anyway...

I tested an old wax rain hop vs extreme shield...durability and beading aside the wax attracted more dirt and is less easy to clean...so that was defining

The extreme shield is also tacky/grippy like BSD/PNS...I'm guessing it has comparable formulation and it's my plan to extend it with BSD

if you wish I can give you some extreme shield to test with PNS...
Sonax BSD and TW ICE Paste wax is super sleek and smooth. Can't even place my phone (with TPU back cover) on the hood. Easy to dust off and wipe dry.
Sonax Polymer Netshield on the other hand is tacky/grippy. I don't really like it. I will try to top up a layer of BSD or ICE on my next test and see how it feels.
derail
post Apr 6 2016, 11:09 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Mar 31 2016, 07:00 PM)
Sonax BSD and TW ICE Paste wax is super sleek and smooth. Can't even place my phone (with TPU back cover) on the hood. Easy to dust off and wipe dry.
Sonax Polymer Netshield on the other hand is tacky/grippy. I don't really like it. I will try to top up a layer of BSD or ICE on my next test and see how it feels.
Sonax BSD is not slippery or smooth compared to the commonly used waxes/sealants like Meguairs, FK, Collinite. It feels tacky by comparison.
JungWoo
post Apr 6 2016, 03:52 PM

1,043 posts

Hi sifus, can you please recommend glass coating shop around KV? thanks
JungWoo
post Apr 6 2016, 03:52 PM

1,043 posts

Hi sifus, can you please recommend glass coating shop around KV? thanks
aori67
post Apr 8 2016, 01:52 AM

finally manage to get my hands on a rotary buffer.

Below is my attempt at reducing orange peel on a repainted hood with a rotary buffer. Took me 1 hour just for half the hood. Can't continue as its almost 12 am. Better stop before the neighbor starts calling the police biggrin.gif

reflection of a lamp on the hood. Blurry

better reflection after paint correction

50/50, some light smearing which needs to be remove later on

under car park fluorescent light

attempting to shoot inside the car park with outdoor light

another attempt

final attempt before i went for lunch

Thanks for viewing.

This post has been edited by aori67: Apr 8 2016, 06:51 PM
douglas_tong
post Apr 8 2016, 12:22 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

Nice. Which rotary buffer you acquired?
and why can't continue after 12pm? If it is am I would understand. I sometimes use cleaner wax on my car for hours and did not receive any complaints...yet . hahaha
aori67
post Apr 8 2016, 06:50 PM

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Apr 8 2016, 12:22 PM)

Nice. Which rotary buffer you acquired?
and why can't continue after 12pm? If it is am I would understand. I sometimes use cleaner wax on my car for hours and did not receive any complaints...yet . hahaha
I got a Ken rotary. Can't justify paying for high end rotary when i am not doing it for business. The Ken have torque issue when pressure is applied. Have to increase the speed to compensate the lost of torque.

there is a typo there. sorry it was 12am and scare the noise might annoy my neighbor. laugh.gif

douglas_tong
post Apr 9 2016, 12:33 AM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(aori67 @ Apr 8 2016, 06:50 PM)
I got a Ken rotary. Can't justify paying for high end rotary when i am not doing it for business. The Ken have torque issue when pressure is applied. Have to increase the speed to compensate the lost of torque.

there is a typo there. sorry it was 12am and scare the noise might annoy my neighbor.  laugh.gif
Don't mind sharing what products you used?
Also type of paint? Just trying to understand a little more.

cky93
post Apr 9 2016, 08:35 PM

Soft99 product for sale..
Pm for detail if intrested.
THX
aeiou228
post Apr 9 2016, 11:03 PM

5,867 posts

Sonax Polymer Netshield durability test after 2.5 months.
Car parked under shade ( but not indoor) 90% of the time.
aori67
post Apr 10 2016, 09:40 AM

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Apr 9 2016, 12:33 AM)
Don't mind sharing what products you used?
Also type of paint? Just trying to understand a little more.
Osren perfect 50 + leveling foam pad
Osren NAO 46 + purple foam wool pad
Osren NAO 36 + polishing foam pad

This is a repainted metallic paint.
pekak07
post Apr 10 2016, 11:37 AM

112 posts

Guys need serious help...T_T

I tried applying some left over "supposing-ly" nano ceramic coating for the car, which I don't think has an expiry date, on top of my poor application skills, I now have streaks of uneven coating on my car hood.

*Prep work is done nicely, so it has nothing to do with impurities.

Noticed and immediately stopped what I was doing. Tried applying second layer aiming to fill gaps between streaks, not working.

What are my options.....car hood looks smudgy ugly streaky and all...T_T...Should not have tried to save some bucks.
aeiou228
post Apr 10 2016, 12:25 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(pekak07 @ Apr 10 2016, 11:37 AM)
Guys need serious help...T_T

I tried applying some left over "supposing-ly" nano ceramic coating for the car, which I don't think has an expiry date, on top of my poor application skills, I now have streaks of uneven coating on my car hood.

*Prep work is done nicely, so it has nothing to do with impurities.

Noticed and immediately stopped what I was doing. Tried applying second layer aiming to fill gaps between streaks, not working.

What are my options.....car hood looks smudgy ugly streaky and all...T_T...Should not have tried to save some bucks.
Polish it up as soon as possible rather then waiting for it to fully cured.
pekak07
post Apr 10 2016, 03:04 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Apr 10 2016, 12:25 PM)
Polish it up as soon as possible rather then waiting for it to fully cured.
Will try!!
aeiou228
post Apr 10 2016, 03:12 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(pekak07 @ Apr 10 2016, 03:04 PM)
Will try!!
Can share the picture of the "damage" to your car hood?
pekak07
post Apr 10 2016, 06:54 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Apr 10 2016, 03:12 PM)
Can share the picture of the "damage" to your car hood?
I will post up a pic when I can.

Anyway polishing isn't helping. I'm thinking of wet sanding now. Damn.
aeiou228
post Apr 10 2016, 07:00 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(pekak07 @ Apr 10 2016, 06:54 PM)
I will post up a pic when I can.

Anyway polishing isn't helping. I'm thinking of wet sanding now. Damn.
Wet sanding too abrasive ! Try rubbing compound first.

805 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0258sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:27 AM