51 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V11!

terence_nwb
post Jun 3 2016, 04:20 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(rurushu @ Jun 3 2016, 04:10 PM)
Hi Sifus,

I am here to ask in place of my cousin as his 10 year old Core2Duo machine just gave up on him.

Budget is RM5k.

CPU only, no need monitor and other peripherals.
No need for optical drive, would like to have SSD for the system drive and another HDD for storage.

The system will be used for running Adobe Illustrator, Photoshop CC, and some gaming.

Also wanted to ask if he can reuse the old HDD from the old PC which is using winXP, but as a slave in the new machine that might be using win7/10, is there any conflict?
thanks for reading.
May I know what games your cousin is playing? Is it heavy or just minor?

Old HDD can be transferred to new PC.
terence_nwb
post Jun 3 2016, 06:04 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(rurushu @ Jun 3 2016, 05:45 PM)
Hi, confirmed with him just now, he said no more playing games.
Can exclude the gaming requirement.

the old HDD with old winXP can be transferred to new PC as storage only without conflict? Or need to erase the winXP from the HDD first?
Format the old HDD before transferring to new PC is always recommended to avoid conflict, especially if you are coming from a very aged OS to modern OS (legacy boot vs UEFI boot).

Intel Core i7 6700 - RM 1305
Gigabyte H170-HD3 (D4) - RM 446
Corsair 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 256
Zotac GTX750Ti 2GB GDDR5 Single Fan - RM 489
Kingston SSDNow UV400 240GB SSD - RM 249
Seasonic M12II EVO 520W - RM 335
Tecware Alpha - RM 189

Total: RM 3269 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

Not sure if you need another HDD since you are going to transfer from old PC.

WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 215

An entry level dedicated GPU is included in the build list to enable smoother live preview playback in AI (need to enable in settings), I am not sure how much performance improvement the GTX750Ti can bring to your cousin since it is just slightly faster than the iGPU of 6700 (HD 530), the CUDA compute cores are pretty helpful in rendering though.

If you want to max out the budget, you can consider upgrading to a better GPU (GTX960 etc.) or jump straight to the upcoming i7 6800K (X99 platform).
terence_nwb
post Jun 6 2016, 02:31 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(rurushu @ Jun 6 2016, 01:42 PM)
thank you for the recommendation, I plan to get the recommended specs from Techview, may I know what other case type that is available from Techview that also provides good cooling?

Will also upgrade the GPU to GTX960.
The casing option is almost similar between Techview and ETech.

The main reason I choose Tecware Alpha is because of its price (< RM 200) and it comes with 2 front intake fans which can greatly improve the airflow, other casing within similar price range doesn't come with intake fan at all (or just 1).

terence_nwb
post Jun 6 2016, 04:08 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(DozeMeWithTea @ Jun 6 2016, 03:03 PM)
My budget: RM6,500

Need some advise on how to effectively build my computer.

[purpose] Gaming (dota2, diablo) and streaming and casually browsing

[Monitor] I really like the Dell u2515H. It has this thin bazel and I really liking it.

List:
INTEL CORE I7 6700

ASUS H170 PRO GAMING

Cryorig C1

G.SKILL AEGIS Series 2x8GB DDR4 2133mhz

Gigabyte GTX970 Xtreme DDR5 4GB

XIGMATEK SHOGUN 600W

INWIN 805 RED

SAMSUNG 850 EVO 120GB

WD 1TB Caviar Blue

DELL U2515H
TBH 6.5k budget for Dota 2 and Diablo is quite overkill sweat.gif

Why still spend so much for an obsoleted GTX970? You better off for GTX1070 since your budget can fit it.
terence_nwb
post Jun 6 2016, 04:11 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(crazydjrock @ Jun 6 2016, 03:17 PM)
Hi everyone!

I need some help on buying a new gaming rig.

[B][Budget] RM4k

[Purpose] For gaming, and video editing

[Hardwares that will be re-use] Monitor, mouse, keyboard. (Just need the PC)

[Monitor resolution] 1920 X 1080

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Starcraft 2, sony vegas 13, Dota, Depth, L4D2, alien vs predator, rwby Grimm eclipse

[Personal preferences] Well, at least smoother gaming experience at 60fps

[Location] Selangor
Are you able to wait for few more weeks before building the rig? If yes then you will be able to board the latest RX 480 train, if cannot wait then you gonna settle with current gen hardware (soon to be last gen).
terence_nwb
post Jun 6 2016, 05:21 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(crazydjrock @ Jun 6 2016, 04:24 PM)
I am not in a rush to get it as I will be purchasing it on 25th June. When will the card be released? Is it worth the wait though?

So without the RX 480, what would be the equivalent for it?
The card is said to be released by end of this month, stock availability here remains to be unknown but by judging at Nvidia's counterpart, the new GTX1080 is available in Malaysia on the first day of launch so I guess AMD should be able to do this as well.

You can buy the rest of the parts first without GPU if RX 480 isn't out on 25th Jun, if you wish to buy all the parts together then you gonna settle with either GTX960/GTX970/R9 380/R9 390.

terence_nwb
post Jun 6 2016, 05:24 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(zulhisyamr @ Jun 6 2016, 04:31 PM)
Need help guys.

Budget: 2.2k

Purpose:gaming,movie,web surfing

*prefer intel processor
*worth or not if I buy dell online?
If it is an office rig then you can go for Dell pr-built OEM PC, since you mentioned "gaming" in your purpose, you better go for custom rig instead, usually Dell's offering for 2.2k so-called "gaming" rig is quite disappointing.

You are looking for complete PC (including monitor/KB/mouse/speaker) or just the rig?
terence_nwb
post Jun 6 2016, 05:26 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(DozeMeWithTea @ Jun 6 2016, 04:39 PM)
Hahaha. Thanks for the advise.

I actually plan to have a good solid computer to run roughly 5 years and I just want the best out of it.

Can you tell me how much GTX1070 and when will it be available?
GTX1070 FE pre-order price is RM 2299 and will be available in mid of Jun/end of Jun.

Non-reference (AIB) cards are estimated to be slightly cheaper, around RM 2100+/-.
terence_nwb
post Jun 6 2016, 05:37 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(zulhisyamr @ Jun 6 2016, 05:33 PM)
yup...budget can stretch 2.5k..
Your reply doesn't answer my question sweat.gif

I am asking if you are looking for complete set or just the rig.
terence_nwb
post Jun 6 2016, 09:54 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(crazydjrock @ Jun 6 2016, 05:40 PM)
Ah alright. How would my rig would be though? Not that sure what to spent on wisely with RM4k.
Another question, which one is having higher priority, gaming or video editing?

If gaming then I will pump more money on GPU, if video editing then I will go for i7 instead.
terence_nwb
post Jun 6 2016, 09:59 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(zulhisyamr @ Jun 6 2016, 06:26 PM)
just pc and monitor..
Intel Core i3 6098P - RM 443
Asus H110M-K - RM 273
Corsair 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 128
Zotac GTX950 2GB GDDR5 Single Fan - RM 629
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 215
FSP Hexa+ 450W - RM 166
Armageddon T1x - RM 85
BenQ GW2270 - RM 379

Total: RM 2318 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

terence_nwb
post Jun 6 2016, 10:18 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(crazydjrock @ Jun 6 2016, 10:08 PM)
Mostly gaming, video editing is just rendering from games that have been recorded
This is the build if you want to get all parts at one time.

Intel Core i5 6500 - RM 845
Gigabyte H170-HD3 (D4) - RM 446
Corsair 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 256
Sapphire R9 390 8GB GDDR5 Nitro - RM 1490
Kingston SSDNow UV400 120GB - RM 153
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 215
Seasonic M12II EVO 620W - RM 363
Tecware Alpha - RM 189

Total: RM 3957 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

If you want to wait for RX 480 then the build will be slightly different, this depends on the price of RX 480.

Price is changing almost everyday now due to unstable RM currency, ask here again when you are ready to buy the rig in the future for updated price and build.

terence_nwb
post Jun 7 2016, 08:34 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(saymyname @ Jun 6 2016, 11:40 PM)
hey!
how good is G4400 for gaming?
suitable GPU, nvidia & amd ?
G4400 is just en entry level processor, don't expect good performance on it, casual gaming is fine, but not CPU demanding one.

It can work with both Nvidia & AMD.
terence_nwb
post Jun 7 2016, 09:00 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(rockstar_ @ Jun 7 2016, 08:50 AM)
Hi

I'm looking for ITX gaming desktop, after few research i made this list:

Intel Core i5 6600K
Coolermaster Seidon 120V Plus (since this i5 doesn't have stock fan and ITX case is small for fan)
Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
8GB DDR4 RAM
Palit GTX970 Jetstream 4GB
Silverstone SX500-LG Modular
Coolermaster Elite 130
Samsung 850 Evo 250GB
Dell S2216H

Can you suggest any good replacement or is it good as it is? budget should not exceed rm6k.

TQVM
I don't recommend you to go with the obsoleted GTX970 anytime now, GTX1070 is pretty much in your hand already since your budget is healthy.

And you don't need SFX PSU for CM Elite 130, standard ATX PSU is fine, this helps to reduce the total cost.
terence_nwb
post Jun 7 2016, 11:10 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(zulhisyamr @ Jun 7 2016, 10:26 AM)
how much more do i need to add if i want to use i5 and ssd
If you would like to run games at higher settings, I suggest you to go for GTX960 instead of putting money on i5 + SSD.

If you really want to upgrade to i5 and SSD while keeping the GTX950, then you need at least RM 450+.
terence_nwb
post Jun 7 2016, 11:18 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(crazydjrock @ Jun 7 2016, 10:32 AM)
What would it be like if it is i7 and using an NVIDIA Card?
Intel Core i7 6700 - RM 1305
MSI B150M Pro-DH (D4) - RM 346
Corsair 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 128
MSI GTX970 4GB GDDR5 Tiger - RM 1373
Kingston SSDNow UV400 120GB - RM 153
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 215
Seasonic M12II EVO 620W - RM 363
Tecware Alpha - RM 189

Total: RM 4072 (ETech price inclusive of GST)
terence_nwb
post Jun 7 2016, 11:23 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(saymyname @ Jun 7 2016, 11:04 AM)
are open world games ok for this cpu? unsure 'bout your definition of casual games.
btw, i meant which gpu of amd & nvidia that won't be bottlenecked by g4400.
Open world games usually come with a huge map and lots of NPC/players, which means CPU will be the main factor, the G4400 will most likely to struggle at this type of games.

GTX750Ti/R7 370 is the border line for me if you want to use G4400, getting anything beyond them will most likely to create bottleneck.
terence_nwb
post Jun 7 2016, 12:17 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(MagnificM @ Jun 7 2016, 11:33 AM)
hey, is it compatible for a 2x4gb ram to pair with another 2x8gb ram ? so total will be 24gb ram right ?
Technically it should work, but if you are mixing different type of RAM (speed/latency/model), then there is always a chance that your mobo refuses to accept them.
terence_nwb
post Jun 7 2016, 12:18 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(elune84 @ Jun 7 2016, 11:38 AM)
Hi

Planning to get a gaming rig early of August, just wondering if a budget of RM 8000-8500 is sufficient for decent gaming rig for a ultra wide 1440p? Needs to include Wifi and Win 10 with CPU only. Still saving to reach the target smile.gif . Thanks.
Yes, more than enough.
terence_nwb
post Jun 7 2016, 02:07 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(MagnificM @ Jun 7 2016, 01:53 PM)
tqvm, so dual channel will be neglected then, it does not affect the performance ? so basically if I'm going to get another 16gb of ram, i should get the same type with the existing ram as stated at my signature ? combination of 4gb stick and 8gb stick will still compatible ?
Dual channel will still work (2 x 4GB + 2 x 8GB) because it works in pairs, just make sure you are install the same model in the correct slot (same color).

Getting similar type/model is always recommended.

51 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0610sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:31 AM