Japanese Vinyl and Figures V12, 2D Waifu in 3D

TSEXkurogane
post Mar 3 2016, 05:37 PM, updated 6y ago

1,715 posts

Anime Figures (アニメのフィギュア)
Figure collecting and the otaku come hand in hand. In fact, figure collecting has been called the otaku’s “drug of choice.” The hobby as a whole can be quite overwhelming to the new comer with so many different brands, models, and sometimes outrageous prices. It can be a lot to take and at times will scare off those interested.

Why Collect Anime Figures?
Collecting as a hobby in general is nothing new. People collect all sorts of things, be it the classics like stamps and baseball cards or the more odd choices out there. Anime figure collecting can really be seen as a supplement to a love of anime and manga, because the characters portrayed in the figures are almost always from anime and manga. This is really where the appeal comes for many. Figures are a way to take your favorite characters off of the 2D screen or page and put them right in front of you. Individual figures can be appealing because of their detail, general style or mixture of both.

Hot Figures of 2018

********************************************************************************************************************************************

Guide to buying figures on Taobao

Differentiating genuine and bootlegs. The sellers are quite honest about them, it's up to you to read and understand item description.

Certificate of Authenticity

Taobao seller ranking system

This post has been edited by EXkurogane: Jan 27 2018, 01:04 PM
TSEXkurogane
post Mar 3 2016, 08:54 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(WingNut @ Mar 3 2016, 06:12 PM)
hahaha... same here. but her kaki terangkat like that a bit hmm...

anyway, here's why skytube/alphamax is still my manufacturer of choice:

nsfw

wub.gif
well the issue with skutube figures is most of them have the same faces, that same Tony artwork face
that's why i only go for the ones i like. It's almost like 1 single person cosplaying many different characters
TSEXkurogane
post Mar 6 2016, 10:02 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(ylchew77 @ Mar 6 2016, 04:07 PM)
can i ask this one can order oledy? where to order?

If can order ady i cry lor

No idea how long have to wait. It can be up to years sometimes. Only one will be ready enough to go on preorder every few months.
TSEXkurogane
post Mar 7 2016, 05:25 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(heretic6 @ Mar 7 2016, 04:03 PM)
Hey guys, there's an official distributor for Good Smile Company in Malaysia now! Do visit and Like the page for updates and MSRPs smile.gif

https://www.facebook.com/Good-Smile-Malaysia-590896887662719
Damn, i need to tag them whenever i come up with a new figure photography project

But why are they posting Kaiyodo stuff and selling diosaurs rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by EXkurogane: Mar 7 2016, 05:31 PM
TSEXkurogane
post Mar 7 2016, 05:36 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(heretic6 @ Mar 7 2016, 05:33 PM)
Haha apparently Good Smile Company Japan doesn't distribute GSC stuff. They distribute products from many other manufacturers too smile.gif
I know that FREEing, GIFT, Max Factory, Native, Aniplex, Phat Company, Wave, Penguin Parade are all under GSC. But I didnt know Kaiyodo is distributed by GSC.

Native is actually a division of Max Factory (just like Skytube is to Alphamax), just that it seems like GSC wants to be PG13 instead of 18SX so it seems like there are no obvious connections between the two on the surface.
TSEXkurogane
post Mar 7 2016, 06:16 PM

1,715 posts

Now i get it. KC is Knight Connection. They are known to be an 'official distributor' of GSC's products here but i still dont get it. Being an official distributor their pricing is still higher than what some local and smaller shops offer us.

Seasoned collectors will probably not give a rat's ass about their existence and source what they want directly from Japan. Even with EMS shipping, EMS, not RSAL, the total amount is still lesser and cheaper. As for avoiding taxes, that's not really hard to pull off.
TSEXkurogane
post Mar 10 2016, 12:45 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(Exiled_Gundam @ Mar 10 2016, 09:28 AM)
Appealed dy, hence why I posted. And yes she was referring to me.
Oh, so u are a malay/muslim. They might have used that fact against you rclxub.gif
TSEXkurogane
post Mar 10 2016, 03:48 PM

1,715 posts

Well, i use my University address lot for this reason
And i use my dad's tuition center as the address also, i slip in a fake student ID number beside by name hoping kastam would let things pass seeing it's student's stuff. My 17,300yen Black Heart was detained and opened mainly because of size of box and value, but kastam decided not to tax me since there's only 1 single item inside. I assume it could be because of my University address and student status.
TSEXkurogane
post Mar 18 2016, 08:07 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(St0rmFury @ Mar 18 2016, 12:19 PM)
Huh, what issues leh? Mine doesn't seem to have any.
First batch master race. The very first batch that came out back in year 2010 or 2011 (around those years) was simply perfection. The 2nd release 2 or 3 years later, which is the first re-release, had issues, including minor white paint inconsistency on the skirt underneath her skirt armor. Now the 2nd re-release, well, we'll see. I dont know about any leaning issues because i dont display some of my figures, even more so for Saber Lily, a prized figure of mine since own the first batch, not to mention now the weather is bloody hot.

For almost every figure I know of regardless of brand, first batch is slightly superior because of strict quality controls on a new product - it will determine the figure's fate in the aftermarket - too good and chances are it will go up; too bad and sales number + value will drop (especially when some collectors have a wait and see approach, waiting for user photos and reviews before buying). Though, I was considering to snatch another one since she's only 9900yen in amiami. I wouldnt have hesitated if yen is still 0.03-0.032 rate. sad.gif

This post has been edited by EXkurogane: Mar 18 2016, 08:08 PM
TSEXkurogane
post Mar 19 2016, 11:16 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(St0rmFury @ Mar 19 2016, 01:12 AM)
How do I check which batch is mine?
Well, all Saber lilies in the market now are the 2nd batch ones, if you can find one
The first batch one is totally gone from the market, i remember how it was sold out everywhere and there was a guy who messaged me and told me he is willing to pay me RM1200 if i sell mine, which i didnt sell. That was even before she got the first re-release.

If you bought yours between year 2009-2011, most likely yours is a first batch. I remember buying mine in year 2010
TSEXkurogane
post Mar 21 2016, 06:44 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(DaSaru @ Mar 21 2016, 04:43 PM)
idk if the "first batch is superior" is true since sometimes seller use that excuse to justify why their's are more expensive when they just wanna keep the scalpers price.
also should be later batches are better since any problem with the first batches should be known and fixed.

but it's just my opinion anyway. i don't really care about the value of my stuff so rerelease is no matter to me, or only matters if i missed the first release. tongue.gif
Ermm, this didnt came from seller's mouth, i have never had any seller telling me this kind of stuff before. It's from my personal experience. The same shyt happened to BRS original version, it was rereleased once and the 2nd batch one hair color a bit dfferent, it had bit too much blue in it. Im someone who can easily find faults even with kotobukiya's figures, not to mention Griffon or Chara-Ani, even the smallest flaws that GSC or Alter makes, i will notice it.
TSEXkurogane
post Mar 22 2016, 09:28 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(DaSaru @ Mar 21 2016, 08:29 PM)
that one probably not a flaw, but maybe a fix as maybe some complained the hair wasn't blue enough? or something different so people who bought first release also have something to buy the second one lol. anyway i don't think a company would purposely do something wrong that would affect sales.

i also easily find faults in figures.. i rarely find a figure to be perfect i will always find something to complain lol.

maybe i am bias with the case of rerelease as the one i got actually got improved upon. it was yamato's rei ayanami based on the shunya yamashita art. first release was badly sculpted, badly painted, and didn't follow the art (basically yamato quality since they were really bad back then). second release fixed the sculpt, better paint and had an extra part that wasn't available in the first one, and also cheaper than what you'll find the first one selling on the internet lol.
Yamato has never been good with quality for most of their releases, so probably they improved on it upon a re-release. The company has now been renamed as Arcadia and their figures are still meh from what i can see so far

Companies aren't doing anything on purpose, the issue here is priorities. Companies often focus on the quality of a product that is new. Some ppl wait until after release for reviews and verdict before buying them, creating a great first impression is important. Re-released products sometimes dont get equal attention on quality control. Regarding BRS's re-release being too blue isn't a defect, probably, but many people didnt like it, me included. And we dont like the fact that the consistency of a product isn't there.

I used to review figures in detail a lot; i still do it nowadays but i dont write lengthy reviews anymore - they are simplified. Over 5 years of reviewing figures, only 4 figures have gotten a 10 out of 10 score from me, i.e. it's both extraordinary and perfect at the same time. Maybe if im richer and buy more figures i might find more figures that deserve 10/10. The highest a Kotobukiya figure has scored in my records is only 7/10 (That includes Dark Angel olivia). Many of the best figures people told me about (i have some of them), they managed to get 8 to 9 points only at most, a very select few managing to get 9.5/10. That's how harsh I am.

QUOTE(WingNut @ Mar 22 2016, 10:44 AM)
so what was the difference between the first and second release for the saber lily that made the first release better?  hmm.gif
The first release was pretty much flawless. The re-released ones actually had minor paint job issues, of course, only on selected units (so, it's up to your luck) but apparent I saw enough complaints on forums and the net. I did personally see one with such defects, though it's barely visible unless u check in detail. Some of the flaws are underneath the armor or when you check her pantsu - some of them is underneath, on the white dress/skirt.

This post has been edited by EXkurogane: Mar 22 2016, 09:35 PM
TSEXkurogane
post Mar 23 2016, 07:23 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(Vivato @ Mar 23 2016, 03:12 AM)
My 1st release Saber Lily does have some minor defect hidden under the skirt.
I used to own one.

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...post&p=28969548
I suppose they were overlooked over the assumption no one is looking at those parts
Well, as i mentioned, most of the time it's due to luck.

QUOTE(DaSaru @ Mar 23 2016, 05:35 AM)
what four figures are those? not surprised a kotobukiya gets a 7/10 since they're just normal imo.
anyway still in my opinion that rereleases should at least be as good as the first release, unless they changed factory or such. (and also sometimes first release gets bonus as an incentive that rereleases won't have but that's another matter)
The 4 figures are Saber Lily Distant Avalon (GSC), Insane BRS (GSC), Tohsaka Rin (GSC), Mu-12 (Alter). I don't have the Mu-12, my friend lent me his unit and i went through the figure in detail enough. Following up, a 9.5/10, is Black Heart (Alter), and Ciel Alencon (GSC). Those scoring 9.0 are common - figures from Max Factory, Orchid Seed, Native, Skytube, all scored this high before. Well, remember that i reviewed the Saber Lily and Rin back in 2011-2012, these are pretty high standard figures in the past. In the past 2-3 years, only two figures managed 10/10. If a figure gets 8.0 and above, it already means it's worth buying one in my books.

Alter has a better reputation than GSC in general in terms of consistency, but most of their figures are not "hardcore" enough to earn a full 10/10. If a company can deliver an ultra detailed figure with a unique base without any flaws it scores the bonus points needed for a full score. A simple bikini/swimsuit figure with a plastic disc base, even though it's perfection, will not get a 10/10. One more thing is stability is a big factor in my judging. The figure's foot may have a shittonne of pegs but when u shake it, it wobbles, it loses points.
TSEXkurogane
post Mar 29 2016, 04:37 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(x-1o8-x @ Mar 29 2016, 01:51 PM)
come come get it biggrin.gif she's perfect
I have sold figures on myfigurecollection.net before, but you will need to be able to receive payments via Paypal.
I sold my MIB Saber Alter Vortigern (yes, it's not new) for USD$240 last October there to an American, that's over RM1000 - taking advantage of the weak RM. Malaysians wont pay this kind of money for figures but those western people will throw money when they really want something. The catch is shipping - Malaysia to USA is very expensive. RM120 for the first kg (and that's registered air parcel /SAL), for my case the buyer was willing to pay. A figure by Native, or anything rare enough, it probably will sell better on the international market.
TSEXkurogane
post Mar 29 2016, 04:52 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(dis0rd3h @ Mar 29 2016, 04:46 PM)
Don't give him any bright ideas now  tongue.gif .
In all seriousness, Kotone's one of the grails I am looking for now, and I do believe your price is very reasonable versus what I find on places like MFC or Mandarake even. I'll PM you and see if we can arrange something.
LOL, good luck
I bought Native's Cat Lap Milk from him before, that was quite some time ago already
TSEXkurogane
post Mar 30 2016, 01:46 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(x-1o8-x @ Mar 30 2016, 12:11 AM)
someone from US actually pm'ed me like few weeks ago and he seemed like he really wanted it, until he saw that the box is damaged and so he said he have to pass.
Well yea, some people do care about the condition of boxes - me not as much, if it's only slight dents.
TSEXkurogane
post Apr 1 2016, 10:39 AM

1,715 posts

Figures for sale [WTS]

Alter 1/7 Nishikino Maki (swimsuit) RM24,649
Alter 1/8 Yagyu Gisen RM12,489
Alter 1/7 Lala Satalin Deviluke RM99,809
Alter 1/8 Kagekatsu Uesugi RM53,409
Alter 1/8 Matabei Gotou RM36,179
Alter 1/7 Asuka Jersey ver. RM37,049
Alter 1/7 Kasugano Sora China dress RM46,759
Alphamax 1/8 Angela Balzac RM29,899
Aquamarine 1/7 Saber Red RM 34,099
Good Smile 1/7 Kasumigaoka Utaha RM 28,179
Good Smile 1/8 Ciel Alencon RM89,369
Good Smile 1/8 Koujiro Frau RM32,889
Good Smile 1/8 Yuzuriha Inori RM23,679
Good Smile 1/7 Tohsaka Rin RM139,999
Kotobukiya 1/8 Akemi Homura RM11,249
Max Factory 1/6 Momo Velia Deviluke RM32,669
Max Factory 1/7 Sakurai Aoi RM47,159
Orchid Seed 1/6 Alleyne RM41,919
Orchid Seed 1/5 Sonico PKG RM38,139
Orchid Seed 1/6 Sonico Cheerleader RM34,829
Phat Company 1/8 Jougasaki Mika RM41,239
Phat Company 1/8 Kikuchi Makoto RM12,729
Skytube 1/6 Tougetsu Matsuri RM63,999

Reason for sale: Raising money for a new car to replace my 6 year old Proton Persona. I'm looking for a Lamborghini.
TSEXkurogane
post Apr 3 2016, 01:12 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(dis0rd3h @ Apr 3 2016, 12:05 PM)
Anyone notice Amiami's adult section prodcuts no longer state that customers can only purchase using credit card? Does this mean now we can use Paypal for adult goods?
Want adult goods go to J List la brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif

Maybe, because all you need to do is to declare the item a bit differently in paypal. I have bought, cough cough, onaholes whistling.gif , with paypal before. If other sellers can make it work, amiami should be able to.
TSEXkurogane
post Apr 7 2016, 11:09 AM

1,715 posts

I just got myself Gift's 1/4 Kashiwazaki Sena for RM376 including shipping (on offer), which is like dirt cheap.
After i receive her I'll try to sell her on the international market in brand new MISB condition. She costs 36,000-40,000yen new and 26,000yen preowned. I could easily slap a USD$250 price tag on her and it's still cheaper than every other ebay seller. hmm.gif I need to raise money for future preorders, i think it's worth the try.

This post has been edited by EXkurogane: Apr 7 2016, 11:10 AM
TSEXkurogane
post Apr 19 2016, 06:03 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(Azuma-kun @ Apr 18 2016, 03:38 PM)
Huh...Eriri is delayed to May. No notice from GSC, suddenly moved to May laugh.gif doh.gif
My April Orders:
Alter 1/7 Kurosaki Mea (To Love-ru Darkness) - delayed to May
GSC 1/7 Sawamura Spencer Eriri (Saekano) - delayed to May
Max Factory 1/7 Hestia (Danmachi) - delayed to June
Phat Company 1/7 Shiro (NGNL) - delayed to May
Skytube 1/6 Saeki Ai (Fault) - no updates yet
4 out of 5 orders delayed ady... rclxub.gif

Hestia is a friend's order, the rest are all mine

16 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0847sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled