11 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Japanese Vinyl and Figures V12, 2D Waifu in 3D

WingNut
post Sep 11 2017, 02:31 PM

QUOTE(Exiled_Gundam @ Sep 11 2017, 07:10 AM)
So far I know Nippon-Yasan and Mandarake Online did it; they will automatically do it for you, even though their policies said they don't provide underdeclaration facilities tongue.gif One bad part about underdeclaration, specifically applied to insured packages (like EMS) is if the package was lost in transit, you can claim only on the value you declared.
under-declaration pros: not tahan by customs/confiscated
under-declaration cons: cannot claim full value insurance

argument for under-declaration... ems packages hardly lost. higher likelihood of tax/confiscation by customs if no under-declaration whistling.gif

This post has been edited by WingNut: Sep 11 2017, 02:32 PM
WingNut
post Sep 11 2017, 02:57 PM

just realised that the boring girlfriend sofa series are made by different maufacturers? kato megumi is by aniplex and utaha kasumigaoka is by alphamax? confused.gif
WingNut
post Sep 11 2017, 04:13 PM

QUOTE(Exiled_Gundam @ Sep 11 2017, 03:06 PM)
Actually both manufactured by Alphamax. For megumi aniplex will sell it (alphamax sell utaha as a standard release)
so aniplex is just a marketing arm? hmm.gif
WingNut
post Sep 11 2017, 05:16 PM

QUOTE(Exiled_Gundam @ Sep 11 2017, 04:23 PM)
Aniplex is the distributor for the anime I think. Most probably they made contract with Alphamax to produce the Megumi figure, but the marketing and distribution of the said figurine will be handled by them. I think Aniplex chose to do that for Megumi most probably because she's the most popular character for the anime, and fans will not fret to spend money on her figurine tongue.gif Alphamax most probably receive normal license for Utaha.
thanks for the clarification, senpai! notworthy.gif

personally, i love utaha more... wub.gif

This post has been edited by WingNut: Sep 11 2017, 05:19 PM
WingNut
post Sep 12 2017, 12:29 AM

hehehe... lots of utaha fans here, eh?
WingNut
post Sep 13 2017, 10:05 AM

QUOTE(EXkurogane @ Sep 12 2017, 07:48 PM)
I ended up preordering that new Saeki Ai 18sx figure
fk me ...

I already have so many preorders to deal with
i'm already looking forward to your saeki dio brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
WingNut
post Sep 15 2017, 09:48 AM

QUOTE(ray123 @ Sep 15 2017, 02:33 AM)
I shouldn't have looked, now I feel I'm falling into a pit. It's like I've discovered a whole new world... An expensive world.
welcome to our world brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
WingNut
post Sep 15 2017, 10:22 AM

QUOTE(ray123 @ Sep 15 2017, 10:01 AM)
But it's still caveat emptor, right? Maybe that is why the bootleg market is flourishing.

On the other hand, some of the stuff I want don't even have bootlegs.
the bootleg market is always flourishing. until today still so many dvd/brd street peddlers around. personally i have had two bootlegs in my collection... not intentional. sellers tried to pass them off as genuine stuff... and tbh, they're not exactly value for money. the ones i got used a (cheaper?) different grade material that was stiff and brittle with parts snapping off fairly easily. i would consider myself a very careful person but even then the accessories (weapon) snapped... and she didn't quite stand right. as for the paint app, the dead giveaway is when the prints don't come together perfectly... like broken lines and stuff. i wouldn't recommend bootleg stuff, but hey... this is malaysia after all. we have a popular street dealing with counterfeit stuff! thumbsup.gif

This post has been edited by WingNut: Sep 15 2017, 10:22 AM
WingNut
post Sep 15 2017, 12:28 PM

QUOTE(ray123 @ Sep 15 2017, 10:27 AM)
Even bootleg stuff is pricey though (relatively). I see Figmas for USD15-25 on AliExpress and the negative reviews can be really negative. Perhaps the price is actually even lower, but jacked to secret include shipping (they advertise as Free Shipping). Otherwise how do they earn a profit...

Maybe it's because I don't understand the production process, but I find it difficult to see how the pricing is made for these toys (whether original or bootleg). From pictures, the Play Arts figures look nice but they seem to be double or triple the price I'm willing to pay for. Then again, maybe it's because I've never seen or held one yet, and in my mind I still see them as "toys" instead of "works of art".
careful there. the reason why the prices are high is simply because they want you to think it's genuine stuff. pricing it low will instantly trigger you. i learnt this the hard way... cry.gif
WingNut
post Sep 15 2017, 02:55 PM

QUOTE(ray123 @ Sep 15 2017, 12:51 PM)
Well, what's the ballpark for bootlegs? Figmas are as low as USD13 (without box), Play Arts Batman (Japanese armor) averages USD45, a 71cm Arthas on his Frozen Throne is USD2,500...
don't think i can answer this half as well as the senpais here, but i'd say between 30-50% off, perhaps? and they probably say it's as good as the original, top quality, first grade or something vague of that sort (or nothing at all) and usually use the official pics to sell their product. only way to stay safe is to buy from reputable retailers in japan, i guess happy.gif
WingNut
post Oct 2 2017, 12:14 AM

QUOTE(Kirino2012 @ Sep 28 2017, 05:53 PM)
hi

any1 self install ikea detolf before? 1 person

is it possible? any guide how-to? hmm.gif
can, but i think need one wall to support whilst installing. and u got to be very very careful the glass panels do not slip out from the grooves otherwise sure disaster.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BpPi2-WLdO8

This post has been edited by WingNut: Oct 2 2017, 09:21 AM
WingNut
post Oct 2 2017, 07:41 PM

QUOTE(skinny-dipper @ Oct 2 2017, 07:00 PM)
Can.. i done it before, but won't do it again.. hahaha.. better get one person help
agreed. i self-assembled three detolfs but really not recommended coz u gotto hope and pray the glass panels stay put ie the back stays up as u hold the two side panels in place.
WingNut
post Nov 27 2017, 09:46 AM

nice... although me thinks the primary light source should be from above? the berries shadow cast on the dress suggests that the primary lightsource is coming from the left of the camera?
WingNut
post Nov 28 2017, 10:13 AM

QUOTE(Ryutaro @ Nov 27 2017, 07:30 PM)
I hold the opposite opinion I think that the lighting should be more dim as heaven feel is actually a pretty sad arc (if I din remember wrongly)
it's not a differing opinion... my views is with regard to the angle of lighting, not its intensity. awesome dio though...
WingNut
post Nov 29 2017, 09:08 AM

QUOTE(EXkurogane @ Nov 28 2017, 10:35 PM)
The light above is indeed the brightest, following the law of nature where sunlight is brightest, but since this is a photography product, the laws of portrait photography should not be broken - background should not be brighter than the main subject (unless we are talking about intentional artistic effects such as making the main subject totally black/in shadow, with a bright background). So i raised the brightness of Sakura with fill lighting until it's just enough, as the main subject especially the face she should not  be too dark. The sides and corner are indeed made to be dark to make it seem like the light is only coming in from above.
don't get me wrong. exkurogane... i understand where you're coming from and it is indeed an awesome setup/photo. it's the berry shadow upon the skirt that gives the impression that the strongest light source is coming from somewhere to the left of the camera. would've been perfect without that shadow cast. then again, i'm no expert sweat.gif
WingNut
post Nov 29 2017, 09:12 AM

QUOTE(hayrol @ Nov 28 2017, 11:37 PM)
Great photo. The figure look pretty impressive, even it was prize figure.

It's been a while I'm visiting this thread.
Anyway, the pre-order figure began to killing my passion on this hobby. The sudden delay & wait really makes me think again to place my order.
Maybe I just wait & just buy at the time it will release, even it will be a bit expansive.

And none of new figure really attract me to buy them. sad.gif
i agree. it feels like nothing i want is anything short of a year's wait these days. that said, nothing much that i want either. not sure whether that's a good or bad thing though...
WingNut
post Dec 2 2017, 03:08 PM

any thoughts?
WingNut
post Jan 17 2018, 02:28 PM

QUOTE(Exiled_Gundam @ Jan 17 2018, 02:17 PM)
Lots of unopened though tongue.gif
hahaha... same here. just sumbat dalam almari. wanna bring pinyi out to play, though... sweat.gif
WingNut
post Jan 22 2018, 10:53 AM

QUOTE(EXkurogane @ Jan 19 2018, 09:57 PM)
I would say Native figures are the easiest to get past customs.
The box is very discreet, no windows, no illustrations, nothing. It looks like a pretty gift box with anything possible inside - a japanese tea set? a wooden sculpture? an antique clock? Something like that. A nice-looking gift box with only the figure/character's name on it. My Native Nurse Momoi has a huge red cross on it only while the entire box is pink (deluxe version; standard version is white).
that may be true in the past, but not really with their recent releases. the sonico box was huge with an equally huge pic of sonico and yes, it did have a window. lots of wasted air space with this release... and unnecessary shipment cost doh.gif
WingNut
post Jan 23 2018, 12:04 PM

yes! eriri to add to the sofa series! rclxm9.gif

NSFW

This post has been edited by WingNut: Jan 23 2018, 12:04 PM

11 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0880sec    0.92    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:22 AM