Amateur Radio User, Ham

TSearl-ku
post Jul 8 2008, 04:51 PM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(wshazi @ Jul 8 2008, 02:51 PM)
anybody know what kind of antenna have a high gain yet can be put indoor?
bro from my experience, any high gain antennas palced indoor wont flare very well ...

i had once ... just a slim jim, in the house ... transmit 25w ... i felt dizzy ... thats what i felt, seriously

so ur to ur own perception ... any antenna will actually work but just that those with too much gain, or too bulky not adviceable ... but rule of thumb ... VHF works with a window ... the line of sight window ... so antennas ... any sort of antennas best if you place it outside where there is a line of sight to ur destination

even though u are in a car trasmiting with a handie, with those rubber duckies or after-market ones ... try tx with the window up and down, see the diff ...
K1ngZ
post Jul 9 2008, 09:40 PM

118 posts

hi hi...today is a tiring day coz just finished 'naikkan' my base antenna..

using double zepp homebrew antenna..just a simple antenna..

here are some pictures for ur viewing pleasures...

double zepp homebrew antenna...

tiang antenna on the bumbung...

the tiang and the antenna..

tiang located outside...

the antenna already up..

a view from below...

TSearl-ku
post Jul 9 2008, 11:44 PM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(K1ngZ @ Jul 9 2008, 09:40 PM)
hi hi...today is a tiring day coz just finished 'naikkan' my base antenna..

using double zepp homebrew antenna..just a simple antenna..

here are some pictures for ur viewing pleasures...

its very nice i would say as the material u use ... all black ... u sprayed the pipe ar?

total cost is?

and with double zepp ... they say able to get at elast 5db on 2m and 10db gain on uhf

This post has been edited by earl-ku: Jul 9 2008, 11:45 PM
K1ngZ
post Jul 10 2008, 09:36 AM

118 posts

QUOTE(earl-ku @ Jul 9 2008, 11:44 PM)
its very nice i would say as the material u use ... all black ... u sprayed the pipe ar?

total cost is?

and with double zepp ... they say able to get at elast 5db on 2m and 10db gain on uhf
yup using pvc pipe sprayed all black....

the total cost i would say about RM 80 roughly...

yup it's a dualband antenna so now saving some money to get a dualbander hehehe...
TSearl-ku
post Jul 10 2008, 09:40 AM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(K1ngZ @ Jul 10 2008, 09:36 AM)
yup using pvc pipe sprayed all black....

the total cost i would say about RM 80 roughly...

yup it's a dualband antenna so now saving some money to get a dualbander hehehe...
kinda high off the ground ... bout 15m i would say ... location is? simplex to?

i will report u to the majlis perbandaran ... hahahahaha
K1ngZ
post Jul 10 2008, 09:47 AM

118 posts

QUOTE(earl-ku @ Jul 10 2008, 09:40 AM)
kinda high off the ground ... bout 15m i would say ... location is? simplex to?

i will report u to the majlis perbandaran ... hahahahaha
at first i want to to make it higher tapi the antenna nanti how to say...emm..bengkok if u get what i mean...if tak nak bagi bengkok have to ikat with guy wire..leceh plak..so i think for now is high enough laa..

location putrajaya..simplex using 5w last nite only to putrajaya..serdang..bangi...only...further than that belum try lagi...

report??...weii..dun laa..ur my fren..hehehe
TSearl-ku
post Jul 10 2008, 10:39 AM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(K1ngZ @ Jul 10 2008, 09:47 AM)
at first i want to to make it higher tapi the antenna nanti how to say...emm..bengkok if u get what i mean...if tak nak bagi bengkok have to ikat with guy wire..leceh plak..so i think for now is high enough laa..

location putrajaya..simplex using 5w last nite only to putrajaya..serdang..bangi...only...further than that belum try lagi...

report??...weii..dun laa..ur my fren..hehehe
can la, if ur base is good enough you can get another longer pole and hold it, go get a join or something and attach it and then get some steel wires and u can further strengthen it with some wall plugs ...

like this the pole on the right and the cables on the left all around ... 2 cables i think ...

joejoney
post Jul 10 2008, 04:09 PM

248 posts

waahhh.. nice double zepp u have there... biggrin.gif

i heard its have to come down and polish it.. to maintain the performance.. don't know laa.. hehe

its made from cooper rite?
K1ngZ
post Jul 11 2008, 10:26 AM

118 posts

QUOTE(joejoney @ Jul 10 2008, 04:09 PM)
waahhh.. nice double zepp u have there... biggrin.gif

i heard its have to come down and polish it.. to maintain the performance.. don't know laa.. hehe

its made from cooper rite?
polish it??..hehehe not sure la joe...maybe la kot...

hey anybody got suggestion what kind of dualband rig that is affordable and realiable...icom??..yaesu??...motorola??
TSearl-ku
post Jul 11 2008, 11:13 AM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

2720 lo ...or 8800 8900 if budget is a lil more ...
hariz_ex5
post Jul 11 2008, 02:23 PM

59 posts

Cool toweer...BUT...bapak aku nyer antenna radio lagi tinggi 26 kaki....ader sape2 yang kenal

9M2AZ-AZIZ ...ayah aku.....
K1ngZ
post Jul 12 2008, 05:27 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(hariz_ex5 @ Jul 11 2008, 02:23 PM)
Cool toweer...BUT...bapak aku nyer antenna radio lagi tinggi 26 kaki....ader sape2 yang kenal

9M2AZ-AZIZ ...ayah aku.....
btw bro belum bole consider tower lagi la tu...

26 feet from where?...

where u frm??...
joejoney
post Jul 13 2008, 09:25 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(K1ngZ @ Jul 11 2008, 11:26 AM)
polish it??..hehehe not sure la joe...maybe la kot...

hey anybody got suggestion what kind of dualband rig that is affordable and realiable...icom??..yaesu??...motorola??
my suggestion.. FT8800R lorr... hehe biggrin.gif
K1ngZ
post Jul 14 2008, 08:22 AM

118 posts

QUOTE(joejoney @ Jul 13 2008, 09:25 PM)
my suggestion.. FT8800R lorr... hehe biggrin.gif
uh ok..what about FTM-10R?...what's the price now?
TSearl-ku
post Jul 14 2008, 09:22 AM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(K1ngZ @ Jul 14 2008, 08:22 AM)
uh ok..what about FTM-10R?...what's the price now?
FTM10R is dual band but no cross-repeating i guess ... 1.2 - 1.3k i heard ...
santacruzer
post Jul 14 2008, 10:46 AM

97 posts

8800 8900 are dual monitor rigs, 8800 have a slight edge due to memory management independently.

FTM10R good for in-car use especially at night where the 8800 and 8900 fails miserably. tongue.gif As base units take the 8800.
TSearl-ku
post Jul 14 2008, 10:50 AM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(santacruzer @ Jul 14 2008, 10:46 AM)
8800 8900 are dual monitor rigs, 8800 have a slight edge due to memory management independently.

FTM10R good for in-car use especially at night where the 8800 and 8900 fails miserably.  tongue.gif As base units take the 8800.
whats wrong with the unit being used at night?

the color display? lol ...

and yeah do i even need to include the fact that the 8800 and 8900 are able to monitor both channel uhf anf vhf simultaneously ...
santacruzer
post Jul 14 2008, 11:24 AM

97 posts

8800/8900 only lights up the LCD and none on the buttons. Given that some quick settings can be accessed thru the (Maroon color lighted) DTMF mic.
But when there is a need to access the front panel, no can do, worse if the right side radio is configured as "KEY 2".

And the fact Yaesu TradeMark Omni Glow LCD is wonderful but someone gone bonkers and outsource the manufacturing of the DTMF mic to china and its lighted up pinkish maroon led. vmad.gif
TSearl-ku
post Jul 14 2008, 11:26 AM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(santacruzer @ Jul 14 2008, 11:24 AM)
8800/8900 only lights up the LCD and none on the buttons. Given that some quick settings can be accessed thru the (Maroon color lighted) DTMF mic.
But when there is a need to access the front panel, no can do, worse if the right side radio is configured as "KEY 2".

And the fact Yaesu TradeMark Omni Glow LCD is wonderful but someone gone bonkers and outsource the manufacturing of the DTMF mic to china and its lighted up pinkish maroon led.  vmad.gif
hahahaha - but if you have used the radio long enough ... operation should be easy ...

but stick to the rule of thumb never operate any other device when u are driving ... phones, radio, cd player ... hahaha

but to me icom's ptt provides the best access to functionality without using any key on the unit itself ...
santacruzer
post Jul 14 2008, 04:11 PM

97 posts

Yeah thats the difference between Icom and Yaesu.
My take have always been that Icom are built by real users/engineers, function over form.
After more than a decade brand loyal to Yaesu, I might have to jump ship if Yaesu keeps letting their marketing/accountants decide their product line. whistling.gif

145 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Top

0.0248sec    1.01    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 10:55 AM