Rate my progress so far [progress upd. on 1stpost], Am I doing it correctly

TSWolger
post Feb 29 2016, 01:19 PM, updated 10y ago

292 posts

Please rate my progress. I'm a 35yo male, damn I'm old, bw is 76KG.

Started working out on mid September 2015 - so it is about 6 months. Using classic bodybuilding split, shoulder/bicep, chest/tricep, legs/back
I even tried to squat everyday but I pancit on the 5th day, now trying to squat every 2-3 days, squat heavy once a weak. Only do high bar back squat.

Main objective is mass and then strength.

Now I can do 80KG as working set for bench press - I stuck at 70KG for quite some time. I even changed to gym that has 2.5KG plate so I can properly overload my muscles and now can do 80KG at 8 reps with ease.

100KG deadlift as working set- I need to check my form, from my video recording I found out my shoulders are still round and my lower back is not flexible enough. Able to DL 110kg for 3-4 reps. Will revisit my DL form.

My concern is my overhead press, I only able to lift 50KG for 3-4 reps, I stuck at 40KG ful lworking set for like 3-4 months already, I did my OHP using push press by using legs to drive the weights up not even using the strictest form which is military press. I can do 52KG Arnold press using dumbbels though. Any idea on how to improve on this area?

Update on nutrition:[SIZE=7]
What I eat everyday. I do not track my calories though:
3 whole egss, milk with oat, wholemeal bread with peanut butter in the morning. Sometimes leftover food from previous night.

Lunch/dinner:Make sure eat lotsa chickean meat or fish/salmon, cherry tomatoes, grapes, green leafy vegetables, carrot etc if I cook my own meal. Local price for boneless breast chicken si around RM22 per 2 kilo which could last 10 days.

Nuts, some carbs, bihun eggs during teabreak - so I won't feel lethargic during my after work workout.

Fruits: kiwi, apples, grapes, banana, pears, sometimes avocado (too pricey for me)

3 whole egss, milk, bread peanut butter before bed time.

Supplements: 1 scoop of whey post workout with creatine. Used to have Blackmore fishoil, multivitamins, BCAA, pre-workout but not anymore and will get them when budget permits.

Update:

2016 May 20
OHP - Max 2 reps 60kg, working set 50kg
BP - Max 2 reps 85kg, working set 80kg
Squat - 1RM 105kg, working set 100kg
Deadlift Sumo- 1RM 120kg, working set 100kg

I recently just include arms superset on my chest and shoulder days to gain mass on my arms

My current programming, not fixed on certain day, still upper lower body split.
Day 1 - upper body - chest with tribi superset
Day 2 - lower body - deadlift
Day 3 - upper body - shoulder with tribi superset
Day 4 - lower body - squat
Day 5 - upper body - chest with tribi superset
Day 6 - lower body - deadlift
Day 7 - upper body - shoulder with tribi superset

so means that I hit same muscle groups every 4 days, arms every 2 days..
Yesterday was the first in long time I rested cos I was pretty much exhausted from my squat exercise..83 reps!

40kgx7
60kgx7
80kgx6
100kgx3
105kgx1
100kgx1
90kgx4
80kgx6 9 times

total 16 set.

Thanks to bodybuilding.com Bodyspace app, I can track my workout easily.

2016 May 20

Hit new PR of 90kgx1, 85kgx3 for my bench press yesterday

My short but intense chest workout.

Flat bench press.
60kgx10
80kgx5
80kgx5
85kgx3
90kgx1
80kgx5
80kgx5

Incline dumbbell press
60kgx6
60kgx6
60kgx6

2016 June 13
Hit new PR 95kg yesterday.

60kgx8
85kgx3
85kgx5
95kgx1
85kgx4
85kgx2
80kgx5

Incline dumbbell press
60kgx8
60kgx9
60kgx8
60kgx8

My previous shoulder workout able to hit 60kg repeatly strict military press.

40kgx10
50kgx8
60kgx4
55kgx6
55kgx6
55kgx6

Seated shoulder dumbbell press
60kgx7
60kgx7
60kgx7
60kgx4

OHP - Max 4 reps 60kg, working set 55kg
BP - 1RM 95kg, 85kg working set
Squat - 1RM 105kg, working set 100kg
Deadlift Sumo- 1RM 120kg, working set 110kg

2016 June 13
Smashed my OHP PR again 2x65kg yesterday

40kgx8
50kgx8
60kgx5
65kgx2
55kgx7
55kgx6

Last 2 days - achieved 110kg. My squat style has evolved into wide stance and low bar.
First time incorporating front squat.

Front squat clean grip
40kgx8
60kgx6
60kg6

Back Squat
90kgx6
110kgx1
110kgx1
90kgx5
90kgx5
90kgx5
90kgx5

Back to front squat
60kgx6
60kgx7
60kgx6

Think I'll use front squat as my warm ups first.

OHP - Max 2 reps 65kg, max working set 60kg
BP - 1RM 95kg, 85kg working set
Back Squat - 1RM 110kg
Deadlift Sumo- 1RM 120kg, working set 110kg

2016 June 16
Yesterday, broke my sumo deadlift PR with a mixed grip - 130kg

Conventional deadlift
60kgx6
60kgx10

Sumo deadlift
90kgx8
110kgx5
130kgx1
110kgx5
115kgx3
100kgx5
100kgx5
100kgx5

This post has been edited by Wolger: Jun 16 2016, 11:48 AM
aanas22
post Feb 29 2016, 01:28 PM

45 posts

Why not u try bodyweight training instead? like freeletics. Im in week 7 currently. Lost 5KG so far
Babytiffy
post Feb 29 2016, 01:28 PM

170 posts

Well if you aiming for barbell press, it gonna take sometime, as empty bar its already 10-20kg. Try practicing tempo overhead press instead on lighter weights or try combining your overhead press with a super-set of any triceps workout to increase the density of your triceps strength.
unclemike
post Feb 29 2016, 03:57 PM

538 posts

OHP - practice is the key. My OHP used to suck big time. when I started, i could only do using an empty bar.

Try approaching OHP with more volume. 5x10 maybe? depending on your training split. get your form right. my OHP used to suck because my grip was too wide and I did not embrace my core at every rep. start with an empty bar again and progress slowly.

This post has been edited by unclemike: Feb 29 2016, 03:58 PM
Darshan
post Feb 29 2016, 10:55 PM

57 posts

When you OHP, do you have proper scapula and shoulder mobility? Pressing 52kg on dumbbells is quite heavy, I doubt you don't have the strength to push more than 60kgs, you should be able to do that weight with ease (even 1 RM). You will need to learn how to keep your core tight while pressing. Try to get more shoulder and scapula mobility work in before OHP

This post has been edited by Darshan: Feb 29 2016, 10:56 PM
Armesh
post Feb 29 2016, 11:05 PM

1,493 posts

Decent progress, better than the "skinny to buff" guy.

This post has been edited by Armesh: Feb 29 2016, 11:41 PM
TSWolger
post Mar 1 2016, 10:21 AM

292 posts

QUOTE(Babytiffy @ Feb 29 2016, 01:28 PM)
Well if you aiming for barbell press, it gonna take sometime, as empty bar its already 10-20kg. Try practicing tempo overhead press instead on lighter weights or try combining your overhead press with a super-set of any triceps workout to increase the density of your triceps strength.
Tempo workout, this is something new to me.

QUOTE(unclemike @ Feb 29 2016, 03:57 PM)
OHP - practice is the key. My OHP used to suck big time. when I started, i could only do using an empty bar.

Try approaching OHP with more volume. 5x10 maybe? depending on your training split. get your form right. my OHP used to suck because my grip was too wide and I did not embrace my core at every rep. start with an empty bar again and progress slowly.
I think my form is ok..shoulder width grip.

QUOTE(Darshan @ Feb 29 2016, 10:55 PM)
When you OHP, do you have proper scapula and shoulder mobility? Pressing 52kg on dumbbells is quite heavy, I doubt you don't have the strength to push more than 60kgs, you should be able to do that weight with ease (even 1 RM). You will need to learn how to keep your core tight while pressing. Try to get more shoulder and scapula mobility work in before OHP
Actually 52kg as in using 26kgx2 dumbbells..I could lift 65lbs dumbbells in my old gym before. It kinda sux when my new gym just found out only has 30kg dumbbell max. I could do 24kgx2 Arnold press but stop doing it as I'm afraid it will damage my shoulder.

Shoulder and scapula mobility - this is something new also. will find more about it.

Yesterday was my shoulder workout. I think my strength is increasing - able to do 2 full sets of 6 reps each for 50KG barbell OHP..but with a little tweak - my dominant right leg was slightly in front, with just little leg push compare to my previous OHP workout. 50Kg - 1 barbell with 15kg plates each side.

I only can do 3-4 reps if the weights are too heavy for me for all exercises...ya I know how to engage my core, glutes, diaphragmatic breathing - really helps a lot in my OHP, squat and deadlift.
TSWolger
post Mar 1 2016, 10:33 AM

292 posts

By right I should be able to lift more on my barbell OHP right as dumbbell push is much harder.
axtray
post Mar 1 2016, 10:54 AM

710 posts

QUOTE(Wolger @ Mar 1 2016, 10:33 AM)
By right I should be able to lift more on my barbell OHP right as dumbbell push is much harder.
Your Arnold press performed seated?

TSWolger
post Mar 1 2016, 11:05 AM

292 posts

QUOTE(axtray @ Mar 1 2016, 10:54 AM)
Your Arnold press performed seated?
Yes my dumbbell presses are all seated. Need to use my thighs to get them into starting position.
axtray
post Mar 1 2016, 02:11 PM

710 posts

QUOTE(Wolger @ Mar 1 2016, 11:05 AM)
Yes my dumbbell presses are all seated. Need to use my thighs to get them into starting position.
You can try the seated without any back support. If you can still push the same weight, then there's something wrong with your ohp technique.

unclemike
post Mar 1 2016, 05:24 PM

538 posts

QUOTE(Wolger @ Mar 1 2016, 10:21 AM)
Tempo workout, this is something new to me.
I think my form is ok..shoulder width grip.
Actually 52kg as in using 26kgx2 dumbbells..I could lift 65lbs dumbbells in my old gym before. It kinda sux when my new gym just found out only has 30kg dumbbell max. I could do 24kgx2 Arnold press but stop doing it as I'm afraid it will damage my shoulder.

Shoulder and scapula mobility - this is something new also. will find more about it.

Yesterday was my shoulder workout. I think my strength is increasing - able to do 2 full sets of 6 reps each for 50KG barbell OHP..but with a little tweak - my dominant right leg was slightly in front, with just little leg push compare to my previous OHP workout. 50Kg - 1 barbell with 15kg plates each side.

I only can do 3-4 reps if the weights are too heavy for me for all exercises...ya I know how to engage my core, glutes, diaphragmatic breathing - really helps a lot in my OHP, squat and deadlift.
Try axtray's method. usually without any back support, im not able to push the same weight with the same repetition for the seated shoulder press.
romalis51
post Mar 2 2016, 02:25 PM

94 posts

As said by masta arnold, if you can't do 9-12 reps per set, you need to lower your weight. I'm doing 60Kg overhead press now with 10 reps, but I was in your position before though, eager to lift more, as the surrounding will look at you. Ahaha. But then I realize it such a waste of energy. So maybe try to go 45Kg or 40Kg. If you can do more than 10 then you add some weight.
dave82
post Mar 3 2016, 02:59 PM

185 posts

QUOTE(Wolger @ Feb 29 2016, 01:19 PM)
Please rate my progress. I'm a 35yo male, damn I'm old, bw is 76KG.

Started working out on mid September 2015 - so it is about 6 months. Using classic bodybuilding split, shoulder/bicep, chest/tricep, legs/back
I even tried to squat everyday but I pancit on the 5th day, now trying to squat every 2-3 days, squat heavy once a weak. Only do high bar back squat.

Main objective is mass and then strength.

Now I can do 80KG as working set for bench press - I stuck at 70KG for quite some time. I even changed to gym that has 2.5KG plate so I can properly overload my muscles and now can do 80KG at 8 reps with ease.

100KG deadlift as working set- I need to check my form, from my video recording I found out my shoulders are still round and my lower back is not flexible enough. Able to DL 110kg for 3-4 reps. Will revisit my DL form.

My concern is my overhead press, I only able to lift 50KG for 3-4 reps, I stuck at 40KG ful lworking set for like 3-4 months already, I did my OHP using push press by using legs to drive the weights up not even using the strictest form which is military press. I can do 52KG Arnold press using dumbbels though. Any idea on how to improve on this area?
quite good progress if you were a newbie and doing this for 6 months.
GameFr3ak
post Mar 4 2016, 05:26 PM

3,849 posts

The rest of your lifts are oddly weak compared to your bench press numbers.
ah_suknat
post Mar 7 2016, 05:54 PM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(GameFr3ak @ Mar 4 2016, 09:26 AM)
Actually the fact is, most of the people have their very own "favorite" lift. Could be due to body leverage, forms, specific muscle strength etc.

I can hit 200+kg deadlift but cant strict press 80kg.
TSWolger
post Mar 8 2016, 03:28 PM

292 posts

QUOTE(axtray @ Mar 1 2016, 02:11 PM)
You can try the seated without any back support. If you can still push the same weight, then there's something wrong with your ohp technique.
Nope for seated can't push at all, but for standing 1 arm dumbbell push press I think I can.

QUOTE(romalis51 @ Mar 2 2016, 02:25 PM)
As said by masta arnold, if you can't do 9-12 reps per set, you need to lower your weight. I'm doing 60Kg overhead press now with 10 reps, but I was in your position before though, eager to lift more, as the surrounding will look at you. Ahaha. But then I realize it such a waste of energy. So maybe try to go 45Kg or 40Kg. If you can do more than 10 then you add some weight.
Ya I'll try this one. Maybe I should take it slow. I read it's all right if the heavy set's range is from 4 to 6. influenced by that 5x5 Stronglift programme...but if I do only 4-6 reps I'll make sure I will extend beyond the 3 set for one particular exercise.

But what about heavy compound exercises like deadlifts and squats? I thought it is norm to squat singles if go heavy.

It was too taxing for me to tighten my core for every rep, and all those big gulps for air.

I can do 100KG singles, 90KG 2 reps and 80KG for 7 reps and 8 reps for low bar back squat. I think I can perform better in low bar.
TSWolger
post Mar 8 2016, 03:33 PM

292 posts

QUOTE(GameFr3ak @ Mar 4 2016, 05:26 PM)
Ya definitely I still have long way to go...hope can bench 2 blue plates each side in 3 months...hope can achieve this.
Now put more effort on my squats and deadlift...will go hard cautiously, afraid of going to snap city.
GameFr3ak
post Mar 8 2016, 03:57 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(Wolger @ Mar 8 2016, 03:33 PM)
Ya definitely I still have long way to go...hope can bench 2 blue plates each side in 3 months...hope can achieve this.
Now put more effort on my squats and deadlift...will go hard cautiously, afraid of going to snap city.
Still strong as hell in my book. Keep it up man, mirin ur numbers
TSWolger
post May 20 2016, 11:35 AM

292 posts

My Update so far. I think My strength is increasing. Slow but satisfying.

On bench press, now I can rep 80kg with ease, 4 sets of 5 reps.
Max 2 reps on 85kg.

Deadlift - 1RM 120 KG sumo style, recently just switched to sumo..I can rep 100KG with east...

OHP strict press only...max 2 reps 60kg smile.gif
I can rep 50kg with ease

Squat - high volume 80kg
105kg 1rm

when I look back at my log my lastsquat workout on wednesday...im shocked...I can squat a lot though..

40kgx7
60kgx7
80kgx6
100kgx3
105kgx1
100kgx1
90kgx4

80kgx6 - 9 times!!

Mr.7
post May 20 2016, 11:41 AM

1,242 posts

QUOTE(Wolger @ May 20 2016, 11:35 AM)
You are one strong guy. Does your total weight include the bar? or the plates only?
TSWolger
post May 20 2016, 11:57 AM

292 posts

QUOTE(Mr.7 @ May 20 2016, 11:41 AM)
You are one strong guy. Does your total weight include the bar? or the plates only?
Of course we include the bar ~20kg. Thanks not that strong, my target 2 plates bench 100kg.

I learnt that consistency is the key. to get consistency we need motivation..so see these improvement in numbers are a big motivator...so we need to track our worout...my weakest point now t is that I dun track that I eat, hope can improve in this area..I just make sure I eat a lot of eggs and meats lol..

And need volume to increase weight we can lift in subsequent workouts.

and actually my numbers are achievable in less than 1year..

start workout sept 2015 - heavy cardio and light lifiting to lose some fat first..
I only start signing with a gym on November 2015, started lifting seriously..
on Jan 2016 reprogram my training to squat and deadlift seriously..

green_algae
post May 20 2016, 06:55 PM

1,003 posts

Impressive,your progress is far better than mine.
Have you trained previously?
TSWolger
post May 20 2016, 07:33 PM

292 posts

QUOTE(green_algae @ May 20 2016, 06:55 PM)
Impressive,your progress is far better than mine.
Have you trained previously?
more than 12 years ago when in uni, then totally stopped..

but then was not proper, never deadlift, never squat lol..
TSWolger
post May 24 2016, 09:09 AM

292 posts

Hit new PR yesterday of 90kg bench press. I'm getting closer to 2 plates bench.

Lotsa dumbbell works and more volume is effective apart from improving your other upper body workout like lat, middle back, shoulder.
Pressing 30kg dumbbells which is the heaviest in my gym seems pretty easy for me right now.
Zelda85
post May 24 2016, 12:34 PM

695 posts

QUOTE(Wolger @ May 20 2016, 11:35 AM)
My Update so far. I think My strength is increasing. Slow but satisfying.

On bench press, now I can rep 80kg with ease, 4 sets of 5 reps.
Max 2 reps on 85kg.

Deadlift - 1RM 120 KG sumo style, recently just switched to sumo..I can rep 100KG with east...

OHP strict press only...max 2 reps 60kg smile.gif
I can rep 50kg with ease

Squat - high volume 80kg
105kg 1rm

when I look back at my log my lastsquat workout on wednesday...im shocked...I can squat a lot though..

40kgx7
60kgx7
80kgx6
100kgx3
105kgx1
100kgx1
90kgx4

80kgx6 - 9 times!!
My bench press stuck at 60 kg for a long time T_T
TSWolger
post May 24 2016, 01:03 PM

292 posts

QUOTE(Zelda85 @ May 24 2016, 12:34 PM)
I was like you smile.gif I found out most will plateau at this weight..

Increase your volume..more reps, more sets than previous workout..

and work more on your dumbbell press, tricpes lats, shoulders..bench press techniques(no leverage on wrist, bending bar to activate lats, lower back arch, leg drive)

Amedion
post May 24 2016, 01:21 PM

It's a bird! No, it's a plane! No, it's star
3,377 posts

QUOTE(Zelda85 @ May 24 2016, 12:34 PM)
All these exercises will plateau depending on your muscle mass & training.
If you're skinny guy then it will take years just to increase that few kilograms.
Ppl over 70kg lean muscle mass can easily hit 2 plates.
TSWolger
post Jun 13 2016, 12:46 PM

292 posts

I can feel my strength is increasing. Now I'm able to bench 85kgs easy, set new 1RM 95kg, 100kg within this month or next.

OHP strict - 60kgx4

Repping 110kg on sumo deadlifts - I can push beyond 120kg max - never really push hard..

And now it makes my squat and deadlift numbers totally off.

My another weakness is lack of back workouts lol...I do pullups in the morning at home on my upper body days - and sometimes pair lat pulldown or rows to lower body, chest or shoulder days
TSWolger
post Jun 13 2016, 01:18 PM

292 posts

QUOTE(unclemike @ Feb 29 2016, 03:57 PM)

Not too wide or narrow of a grip, elbow pointing front, core and glutes too..

Ya all those major lifts are very technical, and the need to remember the cues, took me sometime to master, slow but satisfying smile.gif
TSWolger
post Jun 13 2016, 01:19 PM

292 posts

I've never done front squats. Will incorporate it in my programming.
TSWolger
post Jun 15 2016, 11:54 AM

292 posts

I didn't expect to get new PR for my OHP yesterday.
now is 65kgx2..cos I didn't have enough sleep o the prev night...

My back squat, seems I'm more conformable with low bar and very wide stance to achieve depth. Able to hit 110kg now.

My increasing numbers I think I can attribute it to nutrition where I cook myself for the past 2 months.

0.0233sec    0.53    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 10:05 PM