Rate my progress so far [progress upd. on 1stpost], Am I doing it correctly

Mr.7
post May 20 2016, 11:41 AM

1,242 posts

QUOTE(Wolger @ May 20 2016, 11:35 AM)
You are one strong guy. Does your total weight include the bar? or the plates only?
TSWolger
post May 20 2016, 11:57 AM

292 posts

QUOTE(Mr.7 @ May 20 2016, 11:41 AM)
You are one strong guy. Does your total weight include the bar? or the plates only?
Of course we include the bar ~20kg. Thanks not that strong, my target 2 plates bench 100kg.

I learnt that consistency is the key. to get consistency we need motivation..so see these improvement in numbers are a big motivator...so we need to track our worout...my weakest point now t is that I dun track that I eat, hope can improve in this area..I just make sure I eat a lot of eggs and meats lol..

And need volume to increase weight we can lift in subsequent workouts.

and actually my numbers are achievable in less than 1year..

start workout sept 2015 - heavy cardio and light lifiting to lose some fat first..
I only start signing with a gym on November 2015, started lifting seriously..
on Jan 2016 reprogram my training to squat and deadlift seriously..

green_algae
post May 20 2016, 06:55 PM

1,003 posts

Impressive,your progress is far better than mine.
Have you trained previously?
TSWolger
post May 20 2016, 07:33 PM

292 posts

QUOTE(green_algae @ May 20 2016, 06:55 PM)
Impressive,your progress is far better than mine.
Have you trained previously?
more than 12 years ago when in uni, then totally stopped..

but then was not proper, never deadlift, never squat lol..
TSWolger
post May 24 2016, 09:09 AM

292 posts

Hit new PR yesterday of 90kg bench press. I'm getting closer to 2 plates bench.

Lotsa dumbbell works and more volume is effective apart from improving your other upper body workout like lat, middle back, shoulder.
Pressing 30kg dumbbells which is the heaviest in my gym seems pretty easy for me right now.
Zelda85
post May 24 2016, 12:34 PM

695 posts

QUOTE(Wolger @ May 20 2016, 11:35 AM)
My Update so far. I think My strength is increasing. Slow but satisfying.

On bench press, now I can rep 80kg with ease, 4 sets of 5 reps.
Max 2 reps on 85kg.

Deadlift - 1RM 120 KG sumo style, recently just switched to sumo..I can rep 100KG with east...

OHP strict press only...max 2 reps 60kg smile.gif
I can rep 50kg with ease

Squat - high volume 80kg
105kg 1rm

when I look back at my log my lastsquat workout on wednesday...im shocked...I can squat a lot though..

40kgx7
60kgx7
80kgx6
100kgx3
105kgx1
100kgx1
90kgx4

80kgx6 - 9 times!!
My bench press stuck at 60 kg for a long time T_T
TSWolger
post May 24 2016, 01:03 PM

292 posts

QUOTE(Zelda85 @ May 24 2016, 12:34 PM)
I was like you smile.gif I found out most will plateau at this weight..

Increase your volume..more reps, more sets than previous workout..

and work more on your dumbbell press, tricpes lats, shoulders..bench press techniques(no leverage on wrist, bending bar to activate lats, lower back arch, leg drive)

Amedion
post May 24 2016, 01:21 PM

It's a bird! No, it's a plane! No, it's star
3,377 posts

QUOTE(Zelda85 @ May 24 2016, 12:34 PM)
All these exercises will plateau depending on your muscle mass & training.
If you're skinny guy then it will take years just to increase that few kilograms.
Ppl over 70kg lean muscle mass can easily hit 2 plates.
TSWolger
post Jun 13 2016, 12:46 PM

292 posts

I can feel my strength is increasing. Now I'm able to bench 85kgs easy, set new 1RM 95kg, 100kg within this month or next.

OHP strict - 60kgx4

Repping 110kg on sumo deadlifts - I can push beyond 120kg max - never really push hard..

And now it makes my squat and deadlift numbers totally off.

My another weakness is lack of back workouts lol...I do pullups in the morning at home on my upper body days - and sometimes pair lat pulldown or rows to lower body, chest or shoulder days
TSWolger
post Jun 13 2016, 01:18 PM

292 posts

QUOTE(unclemike @ Feb 29 2016, 03:57 PM)
OHP - practice is the key. My OHP used to suck big time. when I started, i could only do using an empty bar.

Try approaching OHP with more volume. 5x10 maybe? depending on your training split. get your form right. my OHP used to suck because my grip was too wide and I did not embrace my core at every rep. start with an empty bar again and progress slowly.
Not too wide or narrow of a grip, elbow pointing front, core and glutes too..

Ya all those major lifts are very technical, and the need to remember the cues, took me sometime to master, slow but satisfying smile.gif
TSWolger
post Jun 13 2016, 01:19 PM

292 posts

I've never done front squats. Will incorporate it in my programming.
TSWolger
post Jun 15 2016, 11:54 AM

292 posts

I didn't expect to get new PR for my OHP yesterday.
now is 65kgx2..cos I didn't have enough sleep o the prev night...

My back squat, seems I'm more conformable with low bar and very wide stance to achieve depth. Able to hit 110kg now.

My increasing numbers I think I can attribute it to nutrition where I cook myself for the past 2 months.

0.0154sec    0.47    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 10:11 PM