English more important now?
Lover
Jan 6 2007, 12:52 AM
QUOTE(Je$$ie @ Jan 5 2007, 12:05 PM) not really...some are affordable-worth the money one that i suggest is this english course put up by UTAR (the one at PJ) something on improving your proficiency in English....saw that in the newspaper advertisement  ...for 12 weeks, got elementary, intermediate and advanced level....so need to take test...then they put you at the level u need 2 improve... u can try lar..call the UTAR and check  lol.. im studying at utar... but i don nid dat course la.. my fren got take but it seems like nt helpful..
Dark Steno
Jan 6 2007, 01:08 AM
baaaaaaa
QUOTE(firedauz @ Jan 6 2007, 12:36 AM) The more you spend time in this forum .... the better you'll be [...] I have to disagree. My English getting worse day by day.
kaiz3n
Jan 6 2007, 01:23 AM

QUOTE(Lover @ Dec 30 2006, 04:40 PM) same... OXFORD Wordpower always by my side too... pno doubt dat playing games might improve our english.. hehe.. playing max payne taught me new words and metaphors
fyire
Jan 6 2007, 01:47 AM
QUOTE(kaiz3n @ Jan 6 2007, 01:23 AM) playing max payne taught me new words and metaphors hehe cute  but anyways, as I had mentioned before in a previous post, such mataphors or phrases and so on right? Do take note of when its proper to use them, and when its improper to use them and so forth. Choosing the right words to be used at the right time is important too. In fact, even something that's considered as bad English such as the infamous 'lar' or 'lor' can come in pretty handy at times when you need to draw emphasis to a point that you're making. But just take care not to overdo it.
Je$$ie
Jan 6 2007, 09:12 AM
QUOTE(Lover @ Jan 6 2007, 02:22 AM) lol.. im studying at utar... but i don nid dat course la.. my fren got take but it seems like nt helpful..  serious? ur fren still cannot do well in english is it?
Je$$ie
Jan 6 2007, 09:16 AM
QUOTE(fyire @ Jan 6 2007, 03:17 AM) hehe cute  but anyways, as I had mentioned before in a previous post, such mataphors or phrases and so on right? Do take note of when its proper to use them, and when its improper to use them and so forth. Choosing the right words to be used at the right time is important too. In fact, even something that's considered as bad English such as the infamous 'lar' or 'lor' can come in pretty handy at times when you need to draw emphasis to a point that you're making. But just take care not to overdo it. i do agree with you. some words may sound okie in a computer game...but if applied in a real-situation, those words can be distorted. i guess learning language is sometimes done the hard way. now, all one needs is to converse more, not afraid to make mistakes, and also one more thing to remember, learning language and to be perfect in that language takes a long time and it is a daily learning experience.
LittleGhost
Jan 6 2007, 12:00 PM
QUOTE(Dark Steno @ Jan 6 2007, 01:08 AM) I have to disagree. My English getting worse day by day.  i agree. This forum definitely suck balls when it comes to English. My English is deteriorating ever since i visited this forum "frequently".
SUSDavid83
Jan 6 2007, 12:08 PM
The you can choose to leave ...
azarimy
Jan 6 2007, 06:47 PM
mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
i oways stren my EYES veryday readn staf ppl... written in LYN. normalli CAN faham... but oways x understnd coz ppl use weird spellg hor... summore ppl use icons ^^ i osso x faham huhu :-(. u learn englsh if refer LYN u die one! follow david83 said, choose leave, englsh can get better LOL.
kaiz3n
Jan 6 2007, 09:32 PM

QUOTE(fyire @ Jan 6 2007, 01:47 AM) hehe cute  but anyways, as I had mentioned before in a previous post, such mataphors or phrases and so on right? Do take note of when its proper to use them, and when its improper to use them and so forth. Choosing the right words to be used at the right time is important too. In fact, even something that's considered as bad English such as the infamous 'lar' or 'lor' can come in pretty handy at times when you need to draw emphasis to a point that you're making. But just take care not to overdo it. hahaah yeah of course you cant simply apply them. it has be to in accordance with the situation. you can't use the idiom "beat around the bush" when talking bout a gardener tending his garden right? of course, thats if theres no conversation involved.
europology
Jan 6 2007, 10:28 PM
QUOTE(azarimy @ Jan 6 2007, 06:47 PM) i oways stren my EYES veryday readn staf ppl... written in LYN. normalli CAN faham... but oways x understnd coz ppl use weird spellg hor... summore ppl use icons ^^ i osso x faham huhu :-(. u learn englsh if refer LYN u die one! follow david83 said, choose leave, englsh can get better LOL. no need to speak (ahem... type) in such way la... i'm sure u're forced to type that way here...
DreMAx
Jan 6 2007, 10:56 PM
English is certainly becoming more and more important towards the students in the country. For one reason i understand is that the government realized that learning certain subjects like Mathematics, Science, Physics, Chemistry and Biology in English very much important for further studies in colleges and universities.
Though, it was kinda shock to see on the news papers yesterday on The Star's MOE section, at the open channel column, the particular ministry can't even know how to use the present, past and future tense properly and we laugh at those Chinese direct translation in China, so on and so forth.
azarimy
Jan 6 2007, 11:22 PM
mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
QUOTE(europology @ Jan 6 2007, 10:28 PM) no need to speak (ahem... type) in such way la... i'm sure u're forced to type that way here...  alamak kantoi. i have to admit i dont even know how to write like that. it took me atleast 3 minutes to write those. must play MMORPG more! or else people will start calling me old man!
fyire
Jan 6 2007, 11:25 PM
QUOTE(azarimy @ Jan 6 2007, 06:47 PM) i oways stren my EYES veryday readn staf ppl... written in LYN. normalli CAN faham... but oways x understnd coz ppl use weird spellg hor... summore ppl use icons ^^ i osso x faham huhu :-(. u learn englsh if refer LYN u die one! follow david83 said, choose leave, englsh can get better LOL. OT here, but was wondering, how much time did u spent translating your normal written english to what u just written above?
europology
Jan 6 2007, 11:27 PM
he jz said 3 mins. read his post.
Lover
Jan 7 2007, 01:59 AM
QUOTE(LittleGhost @ Jan 6 2007, 12:00 PM) i agree. This forum definitely suck balls when it comes to English. My English is deteriorating ever since i visited this forum "frequently". y don u go to real world issue section.. i nid check dictionary for many words dat i read from there..
Havoc Knightmare
Jan 7 2007, 02:02 AM
QUOTE(Lover @ Jan 6 2007, 12:52 AM) lol.. im studying at utar... but i don nid dat course la.. my fren got take but it seems like nt helpful..  Hmm.. if you expect a short course to turn your friend into Shakespeare overnight that's a bit too much. QUOTE(europology @ Jan 6 2007, 10:28 PM) no need to speak (ahem... type) in such way la... i'm sure u're forced to type that way here...  Myb dts hs wy of drwng attntn 2 his pnt...? sorry bad in net lingo ^-^
Thedonbk
Jan 7 2007, 02:04 AM
today without english, you are going no where  everywhere its being used This post has been edited by Thedonbk: Jan 7 2007, 02:05 AM
ffrulz
Jan 7 2007, 02:04 AM
English is important now? You've got it wrong. English HAS been important since god knows when. It's just that the government thought that BM is much more important than English and now they are regretting it.
europology
Jan 7 2007, 03:07 AM
I oways think the gov is a fool for implementing BM as the language for maths and science. they shudn't hv done so. Look at SG. they've used and stressed on the importance of ENG since their independence. now they're leaping ahead of us in terms of tech and development even tho SG is a relatively young nation.