6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

English more important now?

Havoc Knightmare
post Dec 30 2006, 03:34 AM

Invictus
1,205 posts

QUOTE(shamnemesis @ Dec 30 2006, 02:56 AM)
you must have a friend that speak english and practice yourself with english daily ,by the time your english will be improve , my frend went to english class but still not much different because you must learn to communicate with english from now on ,though it may be broken sometimes but improving alot , myself cannot speak english well when i was in school but abit better after worked and had to comminucate english
Very true. You can't improve a language unless you speak it regularly. Of course, your friends must correct you if you speak wrongly, or else it will be of no use.

Btw, shamnemesis, your sig should read "In the Kingdom of the Blind , the One Eyed man is the king". tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Havoc Knightmare: Dec 30 2006, 03:35 AM
CallMeMonkey
post Dec 30 2006, 04:05 AM

506 posts

i dont know if this is weird,but i often talk to myself in english. coz.. it is rather shameful for me to talk english to my other friend,later they will all think me weird coz suddenly talk english to them..lol
Loongy22
post Dec 30 2006, 11:53 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(Havoc Knightmare @ Dec 30 2006, 03:34 AM)
Very true. You can't improve a language unless you speak it regularly. Of course, your friends must correct you if you speak wrongly, or else it will be of no use.

Btw, shamnemesis, your sig should read "In the Kingdom of the Blind , the One Eyed man is the king".  tongue.gif
I think it should be "In the Kingdom of the Blind, the One-Eyed man is<remove 'the'> king.

Anyway, as others have said before this, get a fluent English speaking friend and talk to him frequently to improve your English and ask him to correct you if you speak it wrongly. If you can't, try to find some cousins or relatives that can speak it well and make it a point to speak to them as often as possible.

For getting a better vocabulary, read books and highlight the words that you dont understand.When you finish the chapter(or lets say 20-40 pages depending on the difficulty of the book) list down the words and their meanings in a book so you can refer back to them for the meaning of the words you have forgotten.

For me, I managed to find plenty of new words by reading stories written by neopets writers and other books including Lee Kuan Yew's biography my dad happened to have. *Stop laughing, I know this sounds silly*

Also, Google is your friend here. use the command,
define:(type in your word here)
or answers.com/(type in your word here) answers.com has something that can pronounce the word for you as well which is very useful.
Goliath764
post Dec 30 2006, 11:59 AM

The Lone Wolf
698 posts

Sing English song is a good way, at least for me. If you want to talk English in a good speed like those foreign ppl, rap song do help you I think. Watch English channel / movie without looking at the subtitle(or without subtitle at all) is another way. Read English fiction is good too, play games do help.

There are plenty of ways to improve and talk English daily is probably the best.
Dark Steno
post Dec 30 2006, 02:19 PM

baaaaaaa
4,567 posts

During my school years, my english was pretty good because I always playing PC games. tongue.gif I like to mimic those voices and an English dictionary was always by my side when playing them.
Lover
post Dec 30 2006, 04:40 PM

-H@TE FFKer-
1,852 posts

QUOTE(Dark Steno @ Dec 30 2006, 02:19 PM)
During my school years, my english was pretty good because I always playing PC games. tongue.gif I like to mimic those voices and an English dictionary was always by my side when playing them.
same... OXFORD Wordpower always by my side too... pno doubt dat playing games might improve our english.. hehe..
how to save a life
post Dec 30 2006, 04:52 PM

nayeon ♥♥♥♥♥
830 posts

take any engish short courses....my sister took it before entering matrix...the course is more to public speaking
Lover
post Dec 30 2006, 11:58 PM

-H@TE FFKer-
1,852 posts

QUOTE(how to save a life @ Dec 30 2006, 04:52 PM)
take any engish short courses....my sister took it before entering matrix...the course is more to public speaking
is it really useful and helpful? those short couse from language centre is costly man.. whistling.gif
exec
post Dec 31 2006, 01:42 AM

304 posts

A good way to improve spoken English may be to improve written English at the first place. From certain perspectives, writing English is much easier than speaking English.

You'll need more than just basic grammar knowledge to speak decent English. (You don't really need good grammar if you're going to speak lah-lah-lah English)

The problem with people who are not courageous to speak English to other people may just be that they're afraid of being looked at with queer eyes telling them that they're not saying good English. If you could get your grammar right, what fear should you have?
Dark Steno
post Dec 31 2006, 07:06 AM

baaaaaaa
4,567 posts

How you pronounce is not that bad actually. We could guess how a Russian might speak, daa? But the important thing is the grammar.
Baronic
post Dec 31 2006, 10:00 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

hail shamnemesis, we meet again...and again and again in every forum

QUOTE(exec @ Dec 31 2006, 01:42 AM)
A good way to improve spoken English may be to improve written English at the first place. From certain perspectives, writing English is much easier than speaking English.

You'll need more than just basic grammar knowledge to speak decent English. (You don't really need good grammar if you're going to speak lah-lah-lah English)

The problem with people who are not courageous to speak English to other people may just be that they're afraid of being looked at with queer eyes telling them that they're not saying good English. If you could get your grammar right, what fear should you have?
agree with u a bit there.

Start by reading a lot of story books.

Talk to friends in english, and even see english movies. Playing games with a lot of conversation involved can help also.

most effective by far, and i see so far noone mentioned : WRITE WRITW WRITE your own stories. Not only can it expand your imagination, you can build up confidence in speaking english in real life. U can write your own short stories, maybe your own version of final fantasy with u as the hero, or a fan fiction of your favourite video game, and then ask your friends with good english or anyone else to read. in addition to that, its a better hobby than lepaking lol
emiwy
post Dec 31 2006, 12:23 PM

103 posts

like what my English teacher used to say, though it sounds stupid, reading fairytales story books do help. because they use simple English. Read it more than once. You'll naturally catch the grammer and all. Then you can go on to newspaper all and blahblahblah VOILA!

of course, speaking if more regularly, helps too. and i do agree that, if you used to talk to your friends in Mandarin, it's a bit tad weird to speak English out of a sudden. Ask them to help, for you want to improve ;p

And don't be afraid to make mistakes, because we learn from mistakes.
Lover
post Dec 31 2006, 01:05 PM

-H@TE FFKer-
1,852 posts

QUOTE(emiwy @ Dec 31 2006, 12:23 PM)
like what my English teacher used to say, though it sounds stupid, reading fairytales story books do help. because they use simple English. Read it more than once. You'll naturally catch the grammer and all. Then you can go on to newspaper all and blahblahblah VOILA!

of course, speaking if more regularly, helps too. and i do agree that, if you used to talk to your friends in Mandarin, it's a bit tad weird to speak English out of a sudden. Ask them to help, for you want to improve ;p

And don't be afraid to make mistakes, because we learn from mistakes.
agree.. start wif those vocabulary and grammar dat easy to be understand 1st... do it step by step..
fyire
post Dec 31 2006, 01:57 PM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(sunshine88 @ Dec 30 2006, 02:12 AM)
sheeshh..I was just kidding...Dun take it so hard...But, of course not MOST people do think that they should marry a person just to improve the language,don't they?..it so..then it spells 'ridiculous'....

Ok..now i serious here...
The key factor in mastering a language is to maintain consistency.Once u dysfunction the application of a language for a period of time..then it is more likely u lost.After that, u gotta start from scratch again...English is no different..Read books,talk more in English, express yourself in forms of writings,competitions,tv..internet..
well, kidding or not kidding, that's not what I'm trying to say. My point is, do not fall for the common misconception that native English speakers all has got a good command of the language. Its rather interesting to take note of all the different slangs and so forth, but at the same time its also important to be able to tell what is slang and what is proper English.
Je$$ie
post Jan 5 2007, 11:56 AM

QUOTE(abc2005 @ Dec 27 2006, 01:20 AM)
Ahh... one more.
When you play video games, try not to skip over the plots and dialogues when the game proceeds. There's a lot of new words to be learned. I learnt a lot of vocab during the gameplay. biggrin.gif
thats pretty interesting view point.
what video games u play? cool.gif
Je$$ie
post Jan 5 2007, 12:05 PM

QUOTE(Lover @ Dec 31 2006, 01:28 AM)
is it really useful and helpful? those short couse from language centre is costly man.. whistling.gif
not really...some are affordable-worth the money
one that i suggest is this english course put up by UTAR (the one at PJ)
something on improving your proficiency in English....saw that in the newspaper advertisement laugh.gif ...for 12 weeks, got elementary, intermediate and advanced level....so need to take test...then they put you at the level u need 2 improve...

u can try lar..call the UTAR and check smile.gif

This post has been edited by Je$$ie: Jan 5 2007, 12:06 PM
limsk
post Jan 5 2007, 12:21 PM

62 posts

Given that English is the language of use (if not of choice) in the international community, it will always be important until they find something else.

Language is one of the best skills to master. You will never regret learning more languages. You've seen the Indian guy in the Astro ads? That guy is amazing - I've often wished I could speak so many languages fluently.

Je$$ie
post Jan 5 2007, 01:09 PM

QUOTE(limsk @ Jan 5 2007, 01:51 PM)
Given that English is the language of use (if not of choice) in the international community, it will always be important until they find something else.

Language is one of the best skills to master. You will never regret learning more languages. You've seen the Indian guy in the Astro ads? That guy is amazing - I've often wished I could speak so many languages fluently.
i guess that person has the flair for learning languages. i also wish i can speak japanese or french or spanish..... but till i am good or moderately good in one language mebe i will learn anotehr language icon_rolleyes.gif

modjojojo
post Jan 5 2007, 09:36 PM

235 posts

If u really wanna learn english, u've gotta constantly speak it. Mix around with english-speakers. And just as many other forumers say, listening isn't enough. I'm an indian (well, half) and i'm really interested in learning mandarin cos i mix mainly with the chinese crowd. I can understand words or short phrases but i'm not fluent enuf to hold conversation yet. But, whenever i can, if i wanna say something, i try to say it in Mandarin. Oh yes, you'll get laughed at, at first... Don't let it get to you. It's almost always from the guy frens (girls are more supportive hehe) but u know they're there to cheer u on!

Cheers mate!!
firedauz
post Jan 6 2007, 12:36 AM

Kopitiam Official Astronaut
876 posts

Yes, English is important now.
The more you spend time in this forum & meeting the people here in real-life in any of their gatherings, the better you'll be, even if some of them speaks broken English - it doesn't matter. What's important is having the confident to speak/read/write/understand.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0158sec    0.33    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 11:19 PM