48 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Home Defect Rectification Checklist, After vacant posession! Update With Pics

??!!
post Feb 27 2007, 05:24 PM

2,548 posts

QUOTE(stormchaser @ Feb 27 2007, 05:04 PM)
Shall we get the key first then only list out the defect to them.. or we should avoid getting the key before the defect fixed??
Actually, legal possession would have taken place when the notice to take possession is issued, notwithstanding whether purchasers take physical possession or not.

If dont take key, how are you gonna check on the property and file a list of the defects, leh?
TSaaronpang
post Feb 28 2007, 10:26 AM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

QUOTE(stormchaser @ Feb 27 2007, 05:04 PM)
Shall we get the key first then only list out the defect to them.. or we should avoid getting the key before the defect fixed??
??!! is right take the key first...

Usually the developer's representative will make an appointment to show you around the house, whilst you're there with the rep remember to ask for the defect rectification form.

Also there will be an inventory checklist that the representative will ask you to sign. In that form there will be a list of things such as the number of taps, electricity socket, kitchen sink, etc.

Go through the inventory list with the rep. and make sure everything is present, installed and accounted for in the house before signing the inventory list.

BTW if your unit is a house with gates bring along a few good padlocks (2 should suffice) so you can lock the front and back gate!

Also when you submit the defect list, the developer will ask you for a set of the house keys so the contractor can enter and fix the defects. I know most folks don't like to give away house keys but you can change the locks later and install metal grilles with additional padlocks.

Go spot check and visit your house regularly during this period.

Good luck and show lah some pics of your new house nod.gif
adrianocy
post Mar 6 2007, 04:07 PM

907 posts

MOD...can u move this into property talk sub-forum?? thanks
steven437
post Mar 6 2007, 04:49 PM

I'm crazy, do you?
2,079 posts

I was wondering is Ikhlas developer ok tongue.gif was thinking to get a unit at bayan ikhlas at serdang tongue.gif

any comment on that area arr??
adrianocy
post Mar 7 2007, 03:05 PM

907 posts

is there anybody has a complaint template to send to developer as the 1st Defect works period has lapsed after 30 days. now already 2 weeks late from the agreed 30 days
TSaaronpang
post Mar 7 2007, 04:46 PM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

QUOTE(adrianocy @ Mar 7 2007, 03:05 PM)
is there anybody has a complaint template to send to developer as the 1st Defect works period has lapsed after 30 days. now already 2 weeks late from the agreed 30 days
I don't think there is a template however you can write to your stakeholders requesting to withold releasing the final 2.5% stake to the developer.

This should get the developers attention... I'll try to draft one for you if it will help!

No promises but hopefully if I've got the time...
adrianocy
post Mar 7 2007, 04:48 PM

907 posts

thanks aaron...appreciate ur help
billytong
post Mar 7 2007, 05:59 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

QUOTE(adrianocy @ Mar 7 2007, 03:05 PM)

draft a formal letter or a ask your lawyer to write for you

The letter should indicates CLEARLY that the contractor has FAIL to fix your defects. Tell them your intention to fix the remaining defects with your own contractor after 14 days from this letter issued & will claim the cost from the stakeholder fund. tongue.gif

Normally after the letter you will see a few more Indons come to fix your house. brows.gif It is because it is always cheaper for the developer's contractor fix ur house than your own. biggrin.gif After all they do not want you to claim that fund with your expensive contractor.

This post has been edited by billytong: Mar 7 2007, 06:00 PM
TSaaronpang
post Mar 7 2007, 11:02 PM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

QUOTE(adrianocy @ Mar 7 2007, 04:48 PM)
thanks aaron...appreciate ur help
Hi adrianocy billytong is right just write a simple letter and threaten to fix it yourself. If ever the developer decides not to make good on the defects you can go ahead and get it fixed yourself.

You can find the sample letter I've promised here... I hope it helps!

This post has been edited by aaronpang: Mar 7 2007, 11:18 PM
adrianocy
post Mar 8 2007, 09:39 AM

907 posts

Thanks again Aaron & Billy. Both of u reli care.
??!!
post Mar 8 2007, 03:58 PM

2,548 posts

When developer has failed to attend to your defects within the stipulated time, purchaser has to put the developer on notice that you will carry out the works yourself if they fail to do so within another 14 days' grace You also have to include a quote of how much it will cost you. Ensure that this step is adhered to. I believe this is a proviso stipulated in the Act.

While taking this step, pl make sure that you have actually spoken to the developer and not their contractor. In practice, there's no reason for developer not to attend to defects rectifications. This is becoz, the contract amount paid to contractors includes defects warranty to match the period stipulated under the SPA. Many unhappy episodes happen becoz sometimes, purchasers complain to contractor (usually the sub-sub contractor's men) they see on site...and ended up with some merry-go-round finger pointing and unattended defects,

This post has been edited by ??!!: Mar 8 2007, 03:58 PM
ashburn98
post Mar 9 2007, 08:12 AM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

Stumbled upon this thread. Very helpful.
adrianocy
post Mar 28 2007, 03:43 PM

907 posts

last weekend i joint inspection wit the developer and da contractor, they miss out so many defects dint do. doh.gif
ends up need to fill in da defects form again.
stormchaser
post Mar 28 2007, 04:37 PM

love your neighbour, help serve society
594 posts

My defective list of 80 over items is fixed in 3 days.. i went to check myself lar... but they haven't call me to do inspection yet.. ahh... waiting waiting.. now have to wait for electricity..

Added:

And thanks aaronpang for the tips of rectifying defective in hse. I've done what u've taught...... thanks again..

This post has been edited by stormchaser: Mar 28 2007, 04:45 PM
jasontmh
post Mar 29 2007, 10:18 AM

77 posts

Sorry double post

This post has been edited by jasontmh: Mar 29 2007, 04:48 PM
jasontmh
post Mar 29 2007, 10:21 AM

77 posts

Ya, this thread very helpful. Not much defect on my house but my brothers' was quite bad. Crack, leak, patches etc. I've attached the pic rclxms.gif Can't wait to move in...

This post has been edited by jasontmh: Mar 29 2007, 04:50 PM

stormchaser
post Mar 29 2007, 12:21 PM

love your neighbour, help serve society
594 posts

Wow, nice hse, is it some where near anggerik? cheras? from taman connaught to taman bukit anggerik?
adrianocy
post Mar 29 2007, 01:26 PM

907 posts

jason. which one is urs and which one is ur bro's?
jasontmh
post Mar 29 2007, 04:43 PM

77 posts

Grey color is mine and the other is my brother. My brothers' house seems to have more cracks. Not that mine don't have but less... The houses are not in Kl they are in JB.Grey color is in Setia Indah and the other one is is Austin Perdana.
kuanhong
post May 23 2007, 04:41 PM

QUOTE(hackwire @ Jan 4 2007, 04:48 PM)
actually my alarm cost for all protection including grill and door cost not more than RM 1800. i add sensors for the roof as well..

i hack it and my house is fully protected with alarm now.at night i can switch on the roof sensor.

it detect movement and body heat.. my advise is to get the 360 degree sensor for the roof ...
mind to PM me the details of the security company that u engaged? is it reliable?

48 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0188sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:54 PM