Need Help deciding, Better HS fan or Side Fan?

TSvassalle
post Dec 21 2006, 10:10 PM, updated 19y ago

610 posts

Guys,

Really need your help here. I have some sort of a temperature problem, my specs are as below:

Proc: e6300 (im kinda lucky coz this proc could run @ 3.2ghz at stock vcore, but..)
Mobo: gigabyte ds3
Heatsink: Thermaltake BigTyp 120 vx
Case: gigabyte aurora3d

@ 3200, my idle and load with case closed is 47c and 57c respectively
However, with case open, the temperature is 40c and 48c rclxub.gif

It really makes me wanna throw away the side panel! doh.gif

So, should I

a) get a better fan for my heatsink, maybe a silverstone f121 or something.. or
b) mod my side panel to include a maybe 12 cm fan?

Which one will yield the best result in bridging the gap between open and close case temperature?
which one is the more quieter option?

Hope you guys can help me out. Thanks in advance.

sHawTY
post Dec 21 2006, 10:24 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

Learn to open or post something in the right section...

This should not be here...

This should be either in the technical support or hardware question & answers section...
TSvassalle
post Dec 21 2006, 10:30 PM

610 posts

technical support or hardware q n a?

and i thought adding another fan to my side panel is modding my case? is it not?
stevenlee
post Dec 21 2006, 10:32 PM

look @ my Star *o* ...hoho
3,158 posts

@3200 with 57c is normal...cos u kinda oc very high....

u kinda lucky to get such a good proc whihc can oc so high at stock vcore
TSvassalle
post Dec 21 2006, 10:34 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(stevenlee @ Dec 21 2006, 10:32 PM)
@3200 with 57c is normal...cos u kinda oc very high....

u kinda lucky to get such a good proc whihc can oc so high at stock vcore
yeah.. but i just noticed that when i open my side panel, the temperature drops like 9c! Im sure there's a way for me to cut down on the difference.

Planning to add a blow hole on my side panel, just need to get some advice for the sifus on whether it would bring much difference to my setup.
mruzian
post Dec 21 2006, 11:11 PM

Androidify
744 posts

bro since the temp differs so much when u open
the side panel...i think ur casing airflow is bad

so instead of changing the hsf its better for u
to improve the airflow inside ur case

and i agreed on adding those side intake fan
i bet it will bring down those temp
and improve airflow inside ur case

p/s : make sure u hv the front intake and rear out oso tongue.gif
TSvassalle
post Dec 21 2006, 11:14 PM

610 posts

yeah.. my case has a 12 cm front intake, and 2 x 12 cm rear out.. its the stock fan that comes with the case, dont know about the cfm, but its not loud, which is good

would an intake fan be noisy?
and how much difference would it make?

This post has been edited by vassalle: Dec 21 2006, 11:29 PM
ynneb25
post Dec 21 2006, 11:32 PM

Does ur eye hurt? :P
708 posts

QUOTE(vassalle @ Dec 21 2006, 11:14 PM)
yeah.. my case has a 12 cm front intake, and 2 x 12 cm rear out.. its the stock fan that comes with the case, dont know about the cfm, but its not loud, which is good

just change all ur fans to coolermaster fans...problem solved...reasonable rpm and silence
ianho
post Dec 21 2006, 11:33 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

I nice fat 120mm side intake wud b looooooooooovely. Ure gfx card will love u for it too.
E-J@1
post Dec 22 2006, 12:23 AM

Capital Eâ„¢
2,603 posts

how bout ur cable management? are they messy? try tidy it up 1st, if no different, then better add another case fan lor, this cause by bad case air flow
ianho
post Dec 22 2006, 12:26 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(E-J@1 @ Dec 22 2006, 12:23 AM)
how bout ur cable management? are they messy? try tidy it up 1st, if no different, then better add another case fan lor, this cause by bad case air flow
Eh ure case is like Hurricane now lar. 4x120mm fans. 2 intake, 2 exhaust. Bad airflow? laugh.gif
E-J@1
post Dec 22 2006, 12:31 AM

Capital Eâ„¢
2,603 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Dec 22 2006, 12:26 AM)
Eh ure case is like Hurricane now lar. 4x120mm fans. 2 intake, 2 exhaust. Bad airflow?  laugh.gif
bad airflow? nope, in fact even better compared to my previous 3 cases, aahhh my Lian Li wub.gif btw, the temp drop 6-8c when i changed to Lian Li wub.gif cause of the better air flow thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by E-J@1: Dec 22 2006, 12:31 AM
TSvassalle
post Dec 22 2006, 12:32 AM

610 posts

well.. the cable is alright i guess. its kinda hard to hide the cable for my this case. The thing is, the case is quite huge! dont know why im having this problem.

Eh ure case is like Hurricane now lar. 4x120mm fans. 2 intake, 2 exhaust. Bad airflow?  laugh.gif
my case is like hurricane? if it is, im still okay with this hurricane. LoL

how much noise will a 12 cm side fan add to my case?

EDIT: saw the reply already.. hehe. sorry

This post has been edited by vassalle: Dec 22 2006, 12:35 AM
E-J@1
post Dec 22 2006, 12:48 AM

Capital Eâ„¢
2,603 posts

QUOTE(vassalle @ Dec 22 2006, 12:32 AM)
well.. the cable is alright i guess. its kinda hard to hide the cable for my this case. The thing is, the case is quite huge! dont know why im having this problem.

eerrrr, u case like hurricane!!! unsure.gif

anyway, bout the noise depends on what case fan u wanna put lor... adding another one do increase the total dBa produce even it's a silent fan tongue.gif
ianho
post Dec 22 2006, 06:41 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(vassalle @ Dec 22 2006, 12:32 AM)

No lar I meant e-J@i's case lar. His case got 4x120mm fans like hurricane. laugh.gif
sniper on the roof
post Dec 22 2006, 10:25 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(vassalle @ Dec 21 2006, 11:14 PM)

At least show pic ler... or what case is it.

Personally I think it's very badly screwed up airflow.

Edit: Oopss...me bad. Aurora 3D..but show us the pic. Are you using side window or the mesh?

That's not airflow... airflow is having 2 fans and yet achieving case=~ambient temps.

Adding more and more fans is like shooting a mosquito with a squad of MG42 gunners.

This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: Dec 22 2006, 10:53 AM
j@y !!!
post Dec 22 2006, 10:50 AM

215 posts

after add a 120mm front panel fan, 1 80mm side panel fan & 2 80mm rear panel fan the temperature straight decrease 7 to 9c... is it good? but a bit noisy la doh.gif doh.gif

This post has been edited by j@y !!!: Dec 22 2006, 10:51 AM
TSvassalle
post Dec 22 2006, 11:39 AM

610 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Dec 22 2006, 10:25 AM)
At least show pic ler... or what case is it.

Personally I think it's very badly screwed up airflow.

Edit: Oopss...me bad. Aurora 3D..but show us the pic. Are you using side window or the mesh?
That's not airflow... airflow is having 2 fans and yet achieving case=~ambient temps.
Will take the picture later tonite once I get home. The cable management is so so la.. Compu-zone ppl pasangkan.. could be better, but I dont think the cables are the problem.

My guess is that the airflow problem is caused by the hd cage which is aligned towards the side panel (will show picture when I get back). So the intake fan airflow have to go through thouse swiss cheese holes..

BTW, Im using the side window. Didnt get the mesh.

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Dec 22 2006, 10:25 AM)
Adding more and more fans is like shooting a mosquito with a squad of MG42 gunners.

Err.. what else can i to increase the airflow besides adding in more fans? rclxub.gif tried googling for any mods that could be made to my case but couldnt find any. Just some ppl talking about the hd cage..
E-J@1
post Dec 22 2006, 11:58 AM

Capital Eâ„¢
2,603 posts

QUOTE(vassalle @ Dec 22 2006, 11:39 AM)
Err.. what else can i to increase the airflow besides adding in more fans?  rclxub.gif tried googling for any mods that could be made to my case but couldnt find any. Just some ppl talking about the hd cage..
can increase wat... instead add more fan u change the intake to 130cfm fan but noisy la biggrin.gif
SUSAllnGap
post Dec 22 2006, 12:02 PM

[ Modding with Passion(tm) ]
4,561 posts

QUOTE(vassalle @ Dec 22 2006, 11:39 AM)
Will take the picture later tonite once I get home. The cable management is so so la.. Compu-zone ppl pasangkan.. could be better, but I dont think the cables are the problem.

My guess is that the airflow problem is caused by the hd cage which is aligned towards the side panel (will show picture when I get back). So the intake fan airflow have to go through thouse swiss cheese holes..

BTW, Im using the side window. Didnt get the mesh.

Err.. what else can i to increase the airflow besides adding in more fans?  rclxub.gif tried googling for any mods that could be made to my case but couldnt find any. Just some ppl talking about the hd cage..
i've seen the casing itself, and yep the airflow is bad......

1x 120mm intake and 2x 120mm exhaust doesnt make the air flow good...

there's some detailed pics of the casing over here : http://www.bjorn3d.com/read.php?cID=810&pageID=1629

Problems :

- the stock fan is a low cfm fan
- the front 120mm fan doesnt suck in any cool air efficient coz the path is blocked by the HDD cage, front grill, and the worst part is the front filter that filter air.......
- just imagine you have got the same fan, 1 intake and 3 exhaust including the the 2x rear and the PSU, the casing is choking for fresh air dude.....

Solution :

- increase the intake capacity by adding a hole at the side panel, then make an air duct direct to your TT heatsink
- add a 120mm fan on the side panel, 2x 120mm better still...
- ask uncle ianho to make a big lubang on the base of the casing and install fan there...

hope that helps

over casing pics....see here, the HDD casing is blocking the airflow from the front intake

these are the pics of the intake fan.....
the blow side of the intake fan is blocked by the HDD cage, intake is blocked by the filter, and there duct from the front panel is also blocking the airflow.

rear part of the casing is okay because of the 2x 120mm intakes

usually i dont want to tembak here and there coz you know you spend so much on the casing, then someone say negative things about it......but if you're serious about the airflow problem, i hope you'll accept my suggestion.....k

This post has been edited by AllnGap: Dec 22 2006, 12:09 PM

0.0220sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 08:47 PM