cherroy
post Feb 15 2016, 09:33 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(riou666 @ Feb 14 2016, 09:31 PM)
Hi, I plan on investing oil and gas company. Anyone here have any idea on where I can have oil and gas news so I can have some idea on why it goes down or if it will ever goes up again.
O&G stocks have different segment, upstream, downstream, supporting operation, FPSO, drilling equipment etc, each segment is impacted in different way.

Even if oil price managed to recover, it doesn't mean all segment will be flourish again. As if oil price recovers due to huge production cut, it just means less drilling activities, and those rely heavily on this segment may not able to reap the benefit of higher oil price.

Somemore, if a O&G is under high leveraged one, it may not able to survive through the difficult period as well, even if oil price may recover in a much longer term future.

So must be selective, and study properly.

Just like 2008 financial crisis, some banks stocks share price now still less than 50% of its peak, even economy recovered and stock market indices is making historical high.
cherroy
post May 3 2016, 02:56 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ May 3 2016, 12:39 PM)
LOL the share price can not go any lower than 0.005, can they?
Going by that logic, buying warrants at that price, there can only go up smile.gif

Provided the maturity is months/years ahead, and that the mother share is not delisted.
But you can lose 100% of the 0.005... whistling.gif

A lot of time, if a share or warrant being traded at 0.005, the likelyhood outcome generally or mostly ended with "close shop" one. whistling.gif
cherroy
post May 31 2016, 05:00 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(mopster @ May 31 2016, 04:53 PM)
hmmm.. today's quite a big trading day...
big volume and big value... >6B
CIMB got >400,000 Q at sell during pre-closing price discovery time. shocking.gif

Same with Armada.

Which eventually done.

Very rare to sell such huge volume at last min.

I guess during pre-close there was about 100mil+ volume done during pre-close.
cherroy
post Jun 16 2016, 05:19 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(mopster @ Jun 16 2016, 02:25 PM)
CIMB Dividend-in-specie..
if i read it correctly, CIMB shareholders, including ikan bilis like me will be getting Niaga shares, right ?
Q will be.. how do they credit Niaga shares to me when I do not have a depository account in Indonesia ? how to trade ?
any Sifu able to give some input ? terima kasih/thank you.. : notworthy.gif notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Yalor, when I read the news time, I also puzzled.

But it is doable.
Just like currently we buy foreign shares, we don't open depository account in foreign countries, but via nominee account through local investment bank or securities firm that you use to trade or having a CDS account.

cherroy
post Jun 24 2016, 11:12 AM

25,802 posts

Really can't "fight" against the market tradition of "sell in May, go away"...

Bleeding severely across Asian.
Dj futures drop more than 500 points currently.
cherroy
post Jun 29 2016, 03:03 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(mopster @ Jun 28 2016, 07:38 PM)
laugh.gif  laugh.gif
nod.gif  nod.gif  nod.gif fully agree ~~
he'll most probably say "stocks are not screaming 'buy' yet" ... US super overvalued while EU is overvalued ... there's good opportunity in China ... wait for KLCI below 1,000 ...

some say he is the Warren Buffet of M'sia..
i think he is more like the 'Marc Faber' of M'sia.. bear bear bear bear since DJ 10k until today DJ 17k still bear...  laugh.gif
KLCI below 1000?
Wah, such a big call.
KLCI now at 1600, PER is about in mid teen number, dividend yield is about 2~3%, what is the basic to call it to drop below 1000.

I taught Warren Buffett is always bullish about equities market one, if not mistaken I never came across WB made any bearish call one, even during 2008 financial crisis.

Good opportunity in China?
Asked those had invested in China stocks or China related unit trust one over the last few years. whistling.gif
cherroy
post Jul 26 2016, 04:34 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Jul 26 2016, 01:31 PM)
What is this 'renounceable rights issue' and RCPS?? Can someone explain to me?
A right issue that shareholders can sell off in the market if doesn't wish to subscribe the right issue.
cherroy
post Aug 26 2016, 01:27 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(mopster @ Aug 25 2016, 10:02 PM)
http://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...bulous-50-list/

Batu Kawan in 2016 Forbes Asia’s fabulous 50 list

Excellent BKawan!
happpy~~~~ rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

hehehe can consider buying the other 49 Fabulous Companies  laugh.gif
I wonder why it is selected... confused.gif

BKawan's financial figure, bulk of it is coming from KLK.
But KLK is not in the list.
cherroy
post Sep 7 2016, 02:31 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Brico @ Sep 7 2016, 01:42 PM)
Hi , I am glad to see some familiar faces here. I need some understanding on Bursa terms. It is regarding the dividend declaration by Century. Whats the difference between Ex-date  and Entitlement date &Time.

Single Tier Cash Dividend 1.5 Sen
23 Aug 2016, 07:00
Entitlement Amt (RM/%) RM 0.015
Entitlement Date & Time 8 Sep 2016, 17:00
Year/Period Ending/Ended on 31 Dec 2016
Ex-Date 6 Sep 2016
Payment Date 22 Sep 2016
Entitlement Description Single Tier Cash Dividend of 1.5 sen per share
The company share registrar will identify the dividend entitled shareholder on 8 Sep.
Hence it is called entitlement date.

Before due to the fact that whenever you hit the buy button in the market, the share is not immediately going into your CDS on that day, it will after about 2 days.

So one needs to buy the share before 6 Sep, in order the share being transferred into your CDS (where the company registrar identify the shareholders).
Hence the ex-date is set.

In nutshell,
just buy before 6 Sept (buy on 6 won't entitle) if want the dividend.
or can sell on 6 Sept, and still entitle the dividend.
Forget about the entitlement date.

cherroy
post Dec 8 2017, 12:19 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(iwubpreve @ Dec 8 2017, 07:55 AM)
not sure if this is good place to ask. let's say a share close at 1.00 yesterday. this morning right b4 the stock open at 9am, got buy queue 100 lot for 1.1 then got sell queue 100 lot at 0.9. so how it going to match?
Inconclusive, as it is still depends on other Q between 0.90 to 1.10

System will take the price that can result the most matchable transaction.
cherroy
post Dec 14 2017, 03:35 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(valan @ Dec 14 2017, 01:15 PM)
Hengyuan is like that, once up, it will shoot up.
Very difficult to buy when it's going up smile.gif
Actually, it is more easier to buy when uptrend.

Never buy a downtrend stock especially for trading purpose.

You got good chance to make a profit in a uptrend stock.
Chase high also never mind, as long as can sell higher, profit.
Today buy, next few days already profit.

Down trend stock, today buy, tomorrow plunge further, stuck like a crab already.

Above only applied for trading purpose.

While, long term investing is another story though.

Anyway, my view,
HY price should be more than Petron, as its earning and cashflow is more better than Petron.

But HY risk is about next year upgrading shutdown, and potential delay in introducing Euro4.
So I expect more run up until next year 1Q to 2Q. May be good to profit taking around that time.

Ps: vested interest in this stock, so potential bias view.

cherroy
post Dec 15 2017, 10:55 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Holiao909 @ Dec 14 2017, 06:06 PM)
Always interesting to hear your opinion on Hengyuan.

I think fundamentally, Petron should have a higher PE since its retail component sort of dampens the cyclic and somewhat volatile nature in the refinery business. But now that you mentioned it, on Hengyuan, despite its (already high) price, it still have potential to grow? Since its still trading in a significantly lower PE than Petron. Anyway, i assume you're holding on HRC, do you mind to share your price target?

On a second note, just purely for discussing. Have you got a chance to look at Serba Dinamik? I think looking at mid-term, it has strong earning visibility with many projects at hand. Fundamentally, still trading at a somewhat modest PE, maybe because it has not been able to show a consistent record of profits and growth.

I think, looking at the larger picture, the current oil price sort of benefit Serba Dinamik - O & M business. Since the current oil price does not encourage further exploration and development of new fields -  operators tend to squeeze more out of their mature fields -  which in turn tend to require more maintenance and workaround - fits nicely for Serba.
Yes, Petron deserved high PE rating due to it is at net cash position (no debt), and its retail business providing cushion on volatile earning of refining business, while HY still has debt to clear.

That's a reason why HY price is lagging compared to Petron.

HY -
1. 500~700 mil needs to be spent on upgrading process and downtime for upgrading may result a poor 2018 result overall. So it may not in position to give dividend as compared to Petron at least for near term.

Also in distant future Euro5 may be needed as well, so another upgrading spending may need in a more long term future.

2. After major upgrading, potential higher depreciation that drag down current profit figure.

3. It may need to pay tax soon, after clear up the tax loss accumulated on previous year. As current EPS number is without tax.

4. Crack spread may not stay at elevated forever.

Personally I would say there is still a little more room for upside until 2017 Q1 to Q2, whereby we may able to still good EPS number. By then, Rm16~18 should be fully valued.
PS: vested interest, view may be bias.

O&G -
I also received recommendation on Serba by IB/remiser, but I am not familiar with this stock.
May look it, not familiar, no comment.

I am more interested in Armada and Yinson, I preferred FPSO, has more visibly earning once the contract is secured as compared to contract works, that can be hard to predict.

cherroy
post May 11 2018, 09:48 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ May 11 2018, 09:34 AM)
Almost everybody is saying that the Malaysian market is goíng to plunge come next Monday. But I believe it will be short term. May be it is time to liquidate ASx and invest directly in KLSE. Any comment? What type of good stocks will plunge in panic but pick up in short term?
Likelyhood,
Probably plunge 2-3%, or even more.

A norm short term effect. Last time 2008, KLCI plunged more than 100 points just after election (when the result was out of market anticipation)
As market may anxiously wait if there is any new or change of policy, especially tackling the finance.

But it may present a good opportunity to pick up some quality stocks.

The important thing is, if the economy and finance are well taken care of, quality stocks always rise over the long term, which is the same all over the world.

This post has been edited by cherroy: May 11 2018, 10:02 AM
cherroy
post May 16 2018, 09:53 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(chshrang @ May 15 2018, 11:30 PM)
Hi everyone, I got a share tips from a friend:

A plantation share, Chinese company, there was internal problem affecting the reputation of the company, has just restructure.

Anyone has idea what share is this?
Better study the company financial in details before investing.

Relying on tips is not the way to go in stock market investing.

cherroy
post May 22 2018, 02:58 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(ragk @ May 22 2018, 11:24 AM)
Hi All,
Im new to stock trading, im reading on some Financial Report, trying to figure out the financial status of the company, im abit confuse btw Liability and Assets.

I compared YTL corp and YTL power, i realize 'Total Assets' and 'Total Equity and Liabilities' always has the same value? If they always has same value, how can i determine whether their financial status are on debt or good form?

And to get the debt ratio, i shud use Borrowing/Asset or Liability/Asset?
It is called balance sheet, so both must be balanced. biggrin.gif
Eg.
You borrow 1 mil to buy a house that value Rm1 mil
In the account.
Borrowing/liabilities is 1 mil
Asset 1 mil.
So both side will be always the same.

You want to know its total debt, then total up the current debt + long term debt.

Liabilities = current debt + long term debt + all the creditors.

Debt ratio is not the key, it is cashflow (especially operational) that sustain the debt that is most important.

Just like A buy a house 1 mil, debt is 1 mil, but every month earn 50k, the 1 mil debt is not a problem.

While B's debt is 100k, but B earn 1k per month, B is in serious debt problem.

cherroy
post May 22 2018, 05:09 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(ragk @ May 22 2018, 04:57 PM)
Thx for explain  biggrin.gif
So could i say Liability/Asset is not important?
Is 'Cash at the end of the Financial Period' is the total cash they holding at the period?
How much Cash/Debt ratio would be consider healthy?
No, they are important as well.

There is no such thing whatever ratio is healthy or unhealthy, it depends on individual company situation, particularly industry, debt maturity/tenure etc.

Yes, you can see it from the balance sheet as well.

There is no such thing see a few ratio, then already conclude something.
Eg.
Reit has little cash, because they will distribute most of profit made every quarter/semi-annual.
So they are not good?

cherroy
post Jun 5 2018, 04:41 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(chiongchiong888 @ Jun 4 2018, 06:48 PM)
Then basically their NAV serves no purpose? I thought it's like an insurance to us like if one day it got delisted then we can at least get some money back based on the NAV
NAV is not an insurance.
It just indicated based on the account book, the total asset worth with the company.

Asset worth can be wiped out if company make a loss, reduce in value etc.

cherroy
post Aug 13 2018, 10:23 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(junyin @ Aug 13 2018, 03:01 AM)
Hey guys, I want to ask about t+3 contra gain+loss. So I am currently using cash upfront account. If I were to buy and sell within t+3, I would not have to pay the stamp duty, broker fees and clearing fees at the end of the day is it? I will just collect or lose the difference between the share price right?

Because only after t+3, my name will be listed on the shareholders list right?

And if what I said above is correct, then why do we need to pay for intraday since it is within t+3?

Intraday is buying and selling same counter regardless of the number of units right?
The moment you make a transaction, it already appear in the CDS statement, disregard it is intraday or contra within T+3, hence you are the shareholder within the period when you hold the shares.

You will receive dividend as shareholder even your purchase is within T+3, or so called contra period.

Contra period is just the days before you need to pay up the shares to your broker house, or for cashfront account, they do not need to use your cash.

All transaction cost basically are the same across, except for intraday, that most broker houses do offer lower commission rate.
cherroy
post Aug 13 2018, 02:46 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(junyin @ Aug 13 2018, 11:52 AM)
Ohhhh, but I thought cash upfront only can buy using the amount of cash in our account? Because when I make a transaction, they will automatically make the changes in my account. And they will state there the trading limit.

So if it's not cash upfront account, it has to be share margin account to enjoy the benefits of t+3?

Is there a difference in fees if I make a transaction when the market opens or closes? Like before 9am and after 9am. Or this depends on my broker?

I did tried to find info on these, but it made me even more confused. 😣😣
Eg. You have cash upfront 10K, they will provide 10K trading limit.
Once you placed an buy order or transacted of 6K, the system will auto lower down the limit and left with 4K. (so that you won't able to overbuy)

But your cash account actually is still having 10K, and 6K will only debited on T+3.

No transaction will be taken place before and after market closes.
You may key in the order during market off time, but those order will only be executed once KLSE market opens for business.

There is no different when you key in the order, just the earliest you key in the order, you may ahead of queue order wait for execution.

cherroy
post Nov 30 2018, 10:57 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Derrick16 @ Nov 30 2018, 10:51 AM)
Hi, I'm new to CIMB itrade, may I know can we place a buy order at the price lower than TOP? I try to place buy order at a lower price but it shown cancel status in the order summary. Don't know what is the reason. Thanks.
Not familiar with itrade,

But generally, speak from other platform.
In the closing stage, from 4.50~5.00pm, no order except the TOP price will be accepted by the exchange.

For opening stage, you can place any price as long as not exceeding the trading limit imposed by the exchange.
How much lower you place the order?

11 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

1.3513sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:36 AM