13 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 >Bottom

LG OLED TV Discussion Thread, OLED TV

Convael
post May 21 2021, 07:47 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ May 21 2021, 04:17 PM)
I am a person who doesn't really care who is the messenger. I care more about the messages aka, the video he is showing.

Looking at his video, LG does have smoother motion. That is why I am asking, did he do anything to the Sony to make it look bad? Or did something to make the LG look good?
Except there are no messengers here , only trash cans.

You link us a trash bin and ask us why there are trash in it , what sort of answer do you expect ?

Someone who has been banned 5(?) or 7 times , received numerous warning from brand's PR , shunned by professionals in the industry has no credibity .
Don't feed the troll , don't even acknowledge it . Don't even attempt to understand why or how they are a troll .

Last but not least , try not to watch their videos . It is getting hilarious how youtube is recommending their videos beside tech channels nowadays .

This post has been edited by Convael: May 21 2021, 10:57 PM
Convael
post May 26 2021, 01:13 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(joeblow @ May 25 2021, 02:11 PM)
Australia LG already has the app in its WebOS. I think Malaysia LG can easily port over, just no confirmation on this. Maybe @convael has insider information?
I have asked them before , it is the same " Work in progress " reply .

LG has always been aggressive at getting streaming apps onto webOS , from the fundamental Netflix and Prime , to Aiqiyi , Twitch , HBO-GO [no max here] and AppleTV .

Disney is a bit more tricky this time because they didn't exactly part in good terms with Astro.

Astro Go was literally removed from webOS under their demand , yet they are the official distributor of Disney Hotstar app .

This post has been edited by Convael: May 26 2021, 02:31 PM
Convael
post Jun 29 2021, 12:43 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Jun 29 2021, 12:26 PM)
anyone gotten their paws on the 48" C1 already?

seems the price of RM5k is a pretty good entry price for an above average OLED TV

any features not available compared to the bigger size siblings? hmm.gif
It is the same , but 48" is a little too small to be a gaming TV .

For workstation and desktop gaming it is fantastic though .

Convael
post Jun 29 2021, 04:10 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Jun 29 2021, 02:47 PM)
yeah, in term of size is a bit small, it will be a downgrade from my existing 55", and I was gaming about 4 meters from the TV

if 55" just a bit expensive than this then it's a no brainer, but unfortunately 55" is about 60% more expensive at 8k now doh.gif
Just get the CX instead , more or less the same .

There was a 6/6 sale on 55 " CX for around 5.5k after cashback .
Convael
post Jul 2 2021, 01:55 PM

1,109 posts

Unfortunately no HDR or 4k anywhere in sight .
Not even the series .

They did however , tidy up some UIs compare to the India's version .

This post has been edited by Convael: Jul 2 2021, 01:58 PM
Convael
post Sep 22 2021, 02:37 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(Kahlamx @ Sep 22 2021, 01:54 PM)
ConvaelSSJBen

Do you think this thing is a waste of money or I should just let it be handled by a professional?

https://shopee.com.my/X-rite-i1Display-Pro-...d=0&position=-1

Feels like getting it just for my leisure time interest?
Depends on how often you are going to calibrate your display .

Display pro is sufficient if you are only planning to calibrate OLED displays and typical monitors , if you also plan to tinker around with modern LCD they have display pro plus which can measure up to 2000 nits + .

You can use Lightspace DPS or HCFR which is open source and free .

It is the best option at this price range until you are going into the professional field like spectromaster or Klein K10 which often cost way more than a flagship TV .

This post has been edited by Convael: Sep 22 2021, 02:48 PM
Convael
post Sep 23 2021, 09:52 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(deepan84 @ Sep 23 2021, 05:04 PM)
tumpang thread. anyone know where to buy genuine ori LG remote controller (UN7300)? most hardware shops don't carry it and online mostly OEM.
Try Wing Soon .
Convael
post Dec 17 2021, 04:13 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(lexanoir @ Dec 16 2021, 09:55 AM)

Finally Disney + App updated to 4K Hdr dolby Vision on LG oS liao !!
Can fully enjoy the content in 4k 😂
It is good news really , unfortunately there are still fairly limited selection of movies getting this treatment .

I've also noticed they have started to put in more languages of subtitles in recent TV shows / movies , another improvement I wish that will extend to older content .

This post has been edited by Convael: Dec 17 2021, 04:41 PM
Convael
post Dec 20 2021, 03:07 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Dec 20 2021, 08:39 AM)
Anyone with 1st hand experience with the LG OLEDA1 series with reference to 50Hz motion ie football, tennis?

I can't recall the last time I actually looked at a truely 50/60Hz display with sports.

The limitations on the brightness is well understood and it probably barely meets the 540nits HDR requirement but shd be enough for most casual viewing except for possibly fast moving sports, so looking for opinions on anyone using one.

I didn't but only because I choose to neglect it .
I simply don't think it is worth checking out , at all.

At best it is a severely watered down , downgraded version of C1 .

What makes it worse is it isn't actually that much cheaper than the B / C series or even last year models .

Doesn't mean I don't know anything about the TV , the A1 series is not only subpar in terms of HDR performance , it is also more prone to fickering and other screen problems than others .
You also will not be getting the same frequency of firmware updates as the C and G series .

With people reporting how the screen looks more blurry than usual , which is understandable as they also have to downgrade the pixel shifting time by 300% .

Unless you 've found a crazy cheap deal , the C1 or even CX from last year are no brainer .

This post has been edited by Convael: Dec 20 2021, 03:19 PM
Convael
post Dec 27 2021, 03:16 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Dec 27 2021, 01:38 PM)
Guys, I saw OLED65A1PTA which is below 7k range for a 65" brand new. I've tried to search for a review of this unit here but seems like no people seen this unit before? Care to comment what are the possible drawbacks for such cheap 65" OLED unit?
Because its the A series ?

This post has been edited by Convael: Dec 27 2021, 03:16 PM
Convael
post Dec 27 2021, 03:25 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(Kahlamx @ Dec 21 2021, 12:06 PM)
I have just clocked in 214 hours, (started using only since 23/10) of watching (Netflix, native youtube app and ps5) on my 65 CX. Now I see banding/darker gradient on the left side of screen (my left side).

These past few nights I have been watching a lot of SDR contents with OLED light at 45 and isf dark and switch back and forth between youtube app (the left side of the menu has darker black/gray then the content on the right side). I wonder if this causes this?

I ran the greyscale test at 5% - 15% and the band is quite noticeable. The darker/thicker band is appearing exactly at where the youtube app menu changes gradient at the menu to content area. I know I shouldn't run pixel refresher manually unless I clock in like say 1500-2000 hours.

The band is quite visible also especially movie panning shots.

Updated: Played HDR movies for 4 hours straight and let the TV ran the compensation cycle on standby seem to reduce the banding by a bit. After looking at other panels uniformity online mine is not that bad. 😀
This is actually quite common among the OLED displays .

The Pixel composition are made of organics , which is why it is ever changing .

After 200 hours of watching , there will be some changes to the pixels .
Any kind of black cloudings , uneven brightness and screen uniformity should improve however slightly .

In the process it will make the darker spots (which will take longer time to " fade " ) stood out a little more .

Add in another 200 hours , or 2000 hours the screen should improve quite dramatically .

Again because of the self emissive nature , 5% on the OLED is actually equals to roughly 1% from typical LCD . Which also explains why you tend to witness more issues in these very dim shades of gray .
But they are not commonly used in movies or TV shows .

I have learn to not actively look for these flaws unless it is completely blocking your vision , else you are just going to keep scratching your head , pestering LG to change panels and to what ends ?

Your next panel is not guaranteed to be better and you can keep doing that but overall the process is tedious .

This post has been edited by Convael: Dec 27 2021, 03:27 PM
Convael
post Dec 28 2021, 12:56 AM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(Kahlamx @ Dec 27 2021, 06:45 PM)
Yes Convael, I totally understood what you are saying about the nature of OLED panel, banding and uniformity, it's more or less a lottery I reckon. The banding actually reduced a lot after I consistently played HDR movies only this past few days. Previously the banding was quite visible even at up to greyscale 35-40%. Now it's more or less within 15%-10% range.

My problem is this now, please see below. If there are only like 2-3 dead pixels around the edges, I am totally fine with it cause it will not affect my viewing for movies and even gaming with full screen. But the dead pixels are quite a lot and considering I have only used it for 200+ hours and I normally baby my stuff.

**For new OLED buyers, I am not trying to discourage you from buying an OLED Tv. This is just part and parcel of any OLED/LED display of any brands. My next TV will still be an LG/Sony OLED.
You should ask for replacement if possible , that is quite a lot of dots .

Convael
post Jan 4 2022, 04:47 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jan 4 2022, 02:34 PM)
97 " is insane , imagine to be able to have a screen as big as projector but with unprecedented , OLED picture quality .

Convael
post Feb 17 2022, 12:53 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Feb 17 2022, 09:17 AM)
LG C2 42 & 48 price out according to Vincent (HDTV) and same price for both, nani!?
Nothing you should be freaking out of .

AFAIK , due to the overwhelming response from 48 " C1 last year , 48 " C2 will continue to be the priority of LG MY in 2022 .

No 42 " C2 planned in MY atm .
Convael
post Feb 23 2022, 06:24 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Feb 23 2022, 03:11 PM)
55" C1 @ RM7799 with free shipping

good deal?  to buy or not to buy hmm.gif

Was planning to wait for C2 hmm.gif
We are almost a year in , RM7800 is too high of an asking price .

There were sellers dropping the model below RM6000 during 12/12 shopee sales last year .
Convael
post Mar 29 2022, 07:08 AM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(clemllk @ Mar 29 2022, 12:14 AM)
yeah I don't play games on the tv so I didnt see the need for it, just that the nits might be too low
120hz refresh rate is just for playing games ? Since when ?
Convael
post Mar 29 2022, 02:49 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Mar 29 2022, 07:34 AM)
if watch movies drama etc, where got 120hz? he is buying it as a TV anyway.
You really don't understand , do you ?

It is not the 120hz that matters , it is the native higher refresh rate .

60 hz TV would have to go through additional step to conform TV 's native refresh rate to 48 , 72 , usually the latter for Modern TVs . This will eventually weigh down on the already inferior CPU on A1 , which is also why people often experience sluggishness on UI during movie session .
60hz tv has significantly slower pixel transition time , which also means more blurriness and ghosting from motion - heavy scenes . They are also unable to remove judders from 24p movies that come from 60hz source , such as the TV boxes .

This post has been edited by Convael: Mar 29 2022, 03:02 PM
Convael
post Apr 6 2022, 03:13 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Apr 6 2022, 06:19 AM)
https://www.whathifi.com/us/news/some-42-in...lder-panel-type

Wow this LG is also conning ppl, advertise new panel, but when sell give mix old panel.
How is this " conning " ?

They have already told the public 42" C2 will not be having the same brightness rating as the larger sizes awhile ago , Evo panels or not .

That means the biggest reason to upgrade to EVO panel has become moot .

Plus the 42" WRGB OLED fab is new , which also means the yield from 42" fab is relatively lower than the more matured larger sizes , in several country 42"C2 is actually priced as the same as 48 " .

This is not rocket science , what is so hard to understand ?

This post has been edited by Convael: Apr 6 2022, 03:18 PM
Convael
post Apr 13 2022, 02:38 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(sigheart @ Apr 11 2022, 06:35 PM)
I am in the same situation as you but for different reasons.....

I am so close to pulling the trigger on a 65 G1 or A90J due to the really attractive price reductions recently, but I am more concerned about QD OLED.

Scared I get buyer's remorse since I only upgrade my TV every 5-6 years.

Currently waiting for reviews for QD OLED sets before deciding. Think reviews should pop up soon for the Samsung S95B and we should be able to have a rough idea of how good the Sony A95K will be as well.

Depending on how great QD OLED is, might stick to my trusty 2016 65 Samsung KS9000 for another year and get a QD OLED set this time next year at reduced prices instead.
Question , how do you know we are getting QD-OLED TV anytime soon ?
[ we are not ]

my trusty 2016 65 Samsung KS9000

Really ? ohmy.gif

a 300- 500 nits EDGE-LIT TV pretending to be competent in the likes of Legendary X93/x94E and Z9D dry.gif

This post has been edited by Convael: Apr 13 2022, 02:50 PM
Convael
post Apr 15 2022, 05:36 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(toytoy @ Apr 14 2022, 06:24 PM)
Welcome to the club. I also just got my 55" end of March.
I follow settings from YT also. RTings and HDTVTest is a good source.

Can take the summary below from QuantumTV for reference but some ppl from Reddit said he's not legit or something. Anyway just for reference.

Oh why thank you , I had a great laugh .

Calibrating a display , requires a source of reference .

In this case where is he getting the reference ?

These are just generic settings , so common that every TV channel is providing them nowadays . That is not calibrating .
Also the fact that he has to tell people to turn " Dynamic tone mapping " off in Dolby Vision doh.gif

We always use 2.4 for SDR , because that is the most reliable way for 1D and 3D LUT to generate consistent color gradation across all luminance range .
Effect is more obvious in the recent TV because of added precision point from 3D LUT in 2018 / 19 / 20 / 21 OLED models . [ The A , B series are excluded ]

People tend to raise it to 2.2 doesn't mean it is optimal , it is just that our vision become progressively weaker at picking out errors and mismatch in a brighter room , thus interference from ambient lights .
Gamers also like to do that because they want to see more in darker side in competitive scenes .

As for the color balance , You don't need to follow his settings if you have a working Ipad , or a Nintendo Switch ( surprise ) .
Play a full screen white pattern on the youtube app , get the full screen white on your TV to look as close as possible.

From my experience , these little gadgets are extremely accurate in colors which came as a surprise to me .
Back in the days , when we didn't have all these tablets and didn't have any tools , we were resorted to using a piece of A4 Paper .

Again , don't call that calibrating . That is just trying to make the screen as accurate as possible according to the limits of your eye sight .

This post has been edited by Convael: Apr 15 2022, 08:26 PM

13 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 >Top

0.1186sec    1.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 10:30 PM