Xiaomi Mi5 Discussion, Xiaomi's new flagship

Ramjade
post Mar 11 2016, 08:22 AM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(yvliew @ Mar 9 2016, 11:24 PM)
Don't u guys wish Mi5 had QHD screen instead? I wonder why did they go with FullHD only.. does the Pro version have QHD?
Nope. Is all marketing. Look at me. I have QHD. When in actual fact there's nothing on the market to support QHD. QHD = battery drain faster, price increase much more.

I would wish Mi5 is in the range of Rm700-rm800 like mi3. Mi5 at rm1500 is ~2x the price of mi3
Ramjade
post Mar 11 2016, 09:58 AM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Mar 11 2016, 09:44 AM)
i don hope it will around that range...
i'm more optimistic, i hope it will be below RM1.2k haha...
if Redmi Note3 SD version next month really ~RM800 for 3GB ram + 32GB version...
then it might be true... Mi5 could be around 1.5k after conversion...
Xiaomi is slowly increasing their price. The only good thing about xiaomi is the
1) low price
2) the ability to set alarm and let it ring even when phone is off
3) good battery life
4) decent camera

If they Increase it to Samsung/Sony price, not going to buy their product anymore. Look at their powerbank. Rm36 when launch. Now already RM59. Better get pineng. Cheaper and more or less same quality

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Mar 11 2016, 10:05 AM
Ramjade
post May 3 2016, 03:29 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(celicaizpower @ May 3 2016, 09:48 AM)
Hi Guys,

Still no new on when MI 5 is coming to MY? my current note 2 lags like hell dy... cannot tahan liao...
For phones, after buying, update the phone 2-3x max. Font update more. Then the phone won't lag.
Ramjade
post May 12 2016, 11:34 AM

24,431 posts

India also on sales. When is Malaysia's turn? sad.gif Hope by the time come to Malaysia, price drop to say rm12xx for 32GB.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: May 12 2016, 11:35 AM
Ramjade
post May 14 2016, 03:29 PM

24,431 posts

Samsung price is too high. Can buy a laptop already. Also their battery life cannot match xiaomi (based on Gsmarena).
I like 2 feature of MIUI not found in any ROMs :
(i) the ability to sound the alarm even though phone is off
(ii) able to schedule when to on/off the phone.
Ramjade
post May 19 2016, 02:38 PM

24,431 posts

If Mi5 is released in malaysia when mi6 is out, we can expect Mi5 to land on our shores next year only.
Ramjade
post May 21 2016, 11:45 AM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ May 20 2016, 12:12 PM)
wow... it cos 400+ for additional 32GB internal storage space...
BTW i think for MIUI 3GB is not sufficient to do a good Multitasking job behind...
i remember someone told me the system took 1.5G at start up...
so multitasking with a lot of apps might be a challenge...

look at Samsung S7/S7E which lags behind on Multitasking speed test with HTC 10 or others...
it clearly shows that if the system takes too many RAM on startup...

i think it really shows that Mi5 might be OTW here by June...
since all AP sellers drop their price already by now...
Mana ada drop price. Directd still selling at rm1699. Still bloody expensive. Guess I will buy next year when they drop the price further.
Ramjade
post May 22 2016, 12:35 AM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(tongaz86 @ May 22 2016, 12:05 AM)
Still the only option for cheap SD820 or did I miss other. Just wait SD823(overclock) out sure SD820 phone drop price kaw2.

Patience2
Waiting for next SD will be next year. sweat.gif
Ramjade
post May 22 2016, 08:21 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(dingding @ May 22 2016, 07:06 PM)
Ahh. I think most lelong merchants are trustworthy. My concern is more with the courier service, parcel loss, damage etc. They don't cover if the goods is damaged in the process of delivery or the parcel got lost somehow. I know the chances of that happening is probably not that high... But still. 2K is not a small number for me.... 

Anyway, I have made the purchase via lelong... The merchant will ship with GDex and I have paid 2% extra for GDex ELC to extend the coverage, in case of any mishap. Otherwise normal coverage is up to RM200 only...

Should receive item on Wednesday if all goes smoothly
How much did you pay?
Ramjade
post May 24 2016, 06:25 AM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(sitescope @ May 23 2016, 11:17 PM)
Flash global rom
Do you have the link?
Ramjade
post May 26 2016, 02:14 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(uncleben @ May 25 2016, 05:53 PM)
yup.. if not available in malaysia then 64gb is good enough maybe.. using 16gb nowdays not enough.. spotify alone uses 5gb of space..
WOW! your mi3 still uses miui? no issues on ram management?
My mother still uses mi3, and she didn't Update the phone. So no lag. Just as fast as first day unboxed. laugh.gif thumbup.gif
Ramjade
post May 26 2016, 03:00 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(Tiaso @ May 26 2016, 02:53 PM)
LOL i bought my Mi5 32gb. White one. Damm i love the build, very light and the sides looks similar to Note 5, the metal and curve. Will update more when I really try it.

LOL, if your mom doesn't play game it's okay, I face lag when play certain games.  biggrin.gif
I am not sure if android updates are like it's where each update will slow down your device.

She only use it for sms, WhatsApp, calls. My current android phone lags occasionally until I reboot it. Don't know why. rclxub.gif no games. Using it for WhatsApp, browsing, sms, calls, and taking pictures. Looking for official Mi5 to replace my existing phine. Hope it have black as white looks ugly plus the black line.vmad.gif mad.gif

Ramjade
post May 26 2016, 08:31 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(uncleben @ May 26 2016, 04:36 PM)
yup.. cyanogen is very gooding compare to miui.. plus the themes for cynogen is better to me than miui themes..
But it doesn't have the feature that I want. Able to on the phone even when you have off the phone or ring the alarm when the phone is off.
Ramjade
post May 27 2016, 09:43 AM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(Tiaso @ May 27 2016, 09:37 AM)
Somehow using global ROM, the battery is very consuming, 1.6gb RAM is consumed by MIUI. Maybe one of the reason is I on 4g the whole time. However, it's understandable that global ROM has been removed from MIUI website because its not stable, I guess I should flash back to MIUI China first. And one thing, the battery charging is superbly fast, though it's kinda hot when charging.

I tried using both my Mi3 and Mi5 camera in my room with low lighting. My Mi3 appear on my phone as pretty bright, but Mi5 more to yellowish, don't understand why.

Fingerprint scanner is fast and easy (though its not exactly convenient for the need to press the home button to activate it.). Phone is light and nicely curved, the sides design is similar to Note 5 though  biggrin.gif  White colour looks very nice and clean, hope i doesn't scratch it that soon though I already put a case on.

Overall, the phone is pretty good for me now. Take note that it's a budget phone to begin with, don't compare exactly with S7 or Iphone and you're all good.  rclxms.gif
I think because someone mentioned that miui will keep trying to connect to my server. Will need to disable it/sign out then the battery life will be good.
Ramjade
post May 27 2016, 11:33 AM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(Bugeca @ May 27 2016, 11:23 AM)
Funny thing about China phones are they never bother to upgrade the Android as per Google 18 months update mandatory. If Google proceeds with listing out the bad manufacturers list, the top section surely will be filled by China brands.

Just surf over MIUI Global site, you can see their game.
AFAIK, xiaomi updates their phone frequently. But via OTA.
Ramjade
post May 28 2016, 06:33 AM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ May 27 2016, 11:36 PM)
If Axon 7 selling in US. High chance of the things get unlockable BL and Custom ROM unlike Xiaomi forever cant sell in US, and have to rely on European/India developer.
biggrin.gif rclxms.gif
Well they can sell in US if they become less Appleish. But when will that be? laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Ramjade: May 28 2016, 01:45 PM
Ramjade
post May 28 2016, 06:51 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(Azureknight94 @ May 28 2016, 05:41 PM)
The current line of mi products aren't apple like tho. Not like a few years back. I think the only reason  they haven't expanded to the US is because of their manufacturing can't keep up? Always their flash sales stock gone within minutes especially in China. Now they expand to India and other regions. More money to be made over here before moving on to the US.
Very sure is apple. If they enter US, kena sue until they make a loss, it will be bad. So stay out of US first. tongue.gif
Ramjade
post May 31 2016, 07:48 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(aska123 @ May 31 2016, 07:39 PM)
actually did you guys think this phone is worth to buy ?
mi 5 pro 128 gb
No because you add SD card to the phone.Get the 32GB black. Then add in your own Sandisk Class 10 SD card. Value for money. rclxms.gif biggrin.gif
Ramjade
post May 31 2016, 08:09 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(metaloid @ May 31 2016, 08:06 PM)
Um no...mi5 no Sd card that's why have 3 storage options.
If you don't use dual sim, the other slot can function as sd card slot.
Ramjade
post May 31 2016, 08:20 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(aska123 @ May 31 2016, 08:17 PM)
actually i dont think mi 5 got sd card slot
My mistake.

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top