QUOTE(metaloid @ May 27 2016, 11:07 AM)
Can consider this as well for those thinking of Mi5. OS looks ok cause theres app drawer. http://www.lowyat.net/2016/105228/zte-anno...ss-than-rm2000/
looks good, but pretty pricey too. Reviews good on it?Xiaomi Mi5 Discussion, Xiaomi's new flagship
May 27 2016, 11:25 AM
449 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
QUOTE(metaloid @ May 27 2016, 11:07 AM) Can consider this as well for those thinking of Mi5. OS looks ok cause theres app drawer. http://www.lowyat.net/2016/105228/zte-anno...ss-than-rm2000/ looks good, but pretty pricey too. Reviews good on it? |
May 27 2016, 11:32 AM
6,986 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: E-Poh.../Pen-Nang.../Pee-Jay/S.Jaye |
QUOTE(metaloid @ May 27 2016, 11:07 AM) Can consider this as well for those thinking of Mi5. OS looks ok cause theres app drawer. http://www.lowyat.net/2016/105228/zte-anno...ss-than-rm2000/ yup saw this... but ZTE servie here ok or not... not familiar with this brand...QUOTE(Bugeca @ May 27 2016, 11:23 AM) Funny thing about China phones are they never bother to upgrade the Android as per Google 18 months update mandatory. If Google proceeds with listing out the bad manufacturers list, the top section surely will be filled by China brands. well that's what stopping me from buy Mi phones, of course the Stock UI consume too much RAM also... Just surf over MIUI Global site, you can see their game. well we can't do anything about that really coz they charge you cheap already so don expect too much lo... QUOTE(Tiaso @ May 27 2016, 11:25 AM) new leh.. they haven't mention when is the availability also... haha... wait wait... |
May 27 2016, 11:33 AM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
24,434 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
QUOTE(Bugeca @ May 27 2016, 11:23 AM) Funny thing about China phones are they never bother to upgrade the Android as per Google 18 months update mandatory. If Google proceeds with listing out the bad manufacturers list, the top section surely will be filled by China brands. AFAIK, xiaomi updates their phone frequently. But via OTA.Just surf over MIUI Global site, you can see their game. |
May 27 2016, 11:35 AM
6,986 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: E-Poh.../Pen-Nang.../Pee-Jay/S.Jaye |
May 27 2016, 11:41 AM
1,186 posts Joined: May 2009 |
QUOTE(michael9413 @ May 27 2016, 11:32 AM) yup saw this... but ZTE servie here ok or not... not familiar with this brand... Hahahah, no doubt Xiaomi and Meizu have a good hardware. It is like Samsung and HTC combined together. Mighty performance plus marvelous craftsmanship... but on the software side is so so. Yup, its hard to fit everything in USD399 bracket. Or adopt OnePlus startegy... balance out everything. On the par hardware + just in time OS version update.well that's what stopping me from buy Mi phones, of course the Stock UI consume too much RAM also... well we can't do anything about that really coz they charge you cheap already so don expect too much lo... new leh.. they haven't mention when is the availability also... haha... wait wait... Xiaomi and Meizu in IT world, their action best described as cover-up hahahah. New version of Android = new phone model. |
May 27 2016, 11:48 AM
1,186 posts Joined: May 2009 |
QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 27 2016, 11:33 AM) It is very easy to detect. Just look at old models like Mi4 and Mi4C, the previous is V7.1.2.0.KXDMICK and the latter is V7.3.1.0.LXKCNDD. Same major version of MIUI but one is Kit Kat the other is Lollipop. Nexus owner are familiar with these codes |
May 27 2016, 12:01 PM
1,972 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
QUOTE(Bugeca @ May 27 2016, 11:41 AM) Hahahah, no doubt Xiaomi and Meizu have a good hardware. It is like Samsung and HTC combined together. Mighty performance plus marvelous craftsmanship... but on the software side is so so. Yup, its hard to fit everything in USD399 bracket. Or adopt OnePlus startegy... balance out everything. On the par hardware + just in time OS version update. China brand phones are cheap but their OS is disappointing like Miui, Zui, Emui..all copying iOS without app drawer. Only Oneplus, Motorola i know uses close to stock.Xiaomi and Meizu in IT world, their action best described as cover-up hahahah. New version of Android = new phone model. |
May 27 2016, 12:03 PM
4,504 posts Joined: Oct 2013 |
QUOTE(Bugeca @ May 27 2016, 11:23 AM) Funny thing about China phones are they never bother to upgrade the Android as per Google 18 months update mandatory. If Google proceeds with listing out the bad manufacturers list, the top section surely will be filled by China brands. I think not apply to all china hp coz few got constant update especially china romJust surf over MIUI Global site, you can see their game. If global rom always slow update The prob with china rom is playstore will missing after update so we need to re-install |
May 27 2016, 12:03 PM
4,504 posts Joined: Oct 2013 |
QUOTE(metaloid @ May 27 2016, 12:01 PM) China brand phones are cheap but their OS is disappointing like Miui, Zui, Emui..all copying iOS without app drawer. Only Oneplus, Motorola i know uses close to stock. App drawer is small matter can solve with nova launcher...This post has been edited by sitescope: May 27 2016, 12:08 PM |
May 27 2016, 01:22 PM
1,291 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
The problem is not only about app drawer. In fact in term of look I find the China ROM is good.. functionality so so.
Using the China ROM sometime google function also cannot access, currently in Miui you cannot have google on tap etc. Although they added some other function. My real concern is on security updates, I dont think any of the China ROM gives security update. Currently I on CM OPO also no security update. I really look forward to ZTE Axon7 but again if the price is right. I know I will not get the next Android. However knowing that its on S820 there might be active support for it on XDA. For other processor Kirin and Helio although they are on par in performance but further down the line if I decide to keep the phone longer then I will not have any updates. |
May 27 2016, 02:07 PM
1,972 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
QUOTE(biggie @ May 27 2016, 01:22 PM) I really look forward to ZTE Axon7 but again if the price is right. I know I will not get the next Android. However knowing that its on S820 there might be active support for it on XDA. For other processor Kirin and Helio although they are on par in performance but further down the line if I decide to keep the phone longer then I will not have any updates. One thing i notice for Xda support is that even though the phone uses Snapdragon like Mi5, if the phone isn't released in Europe or US (which most developers are from) there's no good development. |
May 27 2016, 04:14 PM
1,291 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Yes, just a quick look at ZTE Axon development section as XDA seems that the development is really sparse although Axon has been released in the US. Current Axon model bootloader also is locked.
So unless Axon 7 has better takeup with their new design I dont think there will not be any custom ROM development. Sad.. the hardware is really nice QUOTE(metaloid @ May 27 2016, 02:07 PM) Yes it's not the app drawer but its just one of the things china phones do to the OS copying iOS, besides heavily modified ui and non-existent firmware update. One thing i notice for Xda support is that even though the phone uses Snapdragon like Mi5, if the phone isn't released in Europe or US (which most developers are from) there's no good development. |
May 27 2016, 05:09 PM
449 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
oh ya I tested the so called Mi5 4-axis camera, apparently it's even more blur than i use 6s and Old nexus at the same time. Quite dissapointing, I'm not sure if it's because I used global rom which is bugged.
May 27 2016, 06:36 PM
120 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
May 27 2016, 11:36 PM
17,467 posts Joined: May 2008 From: Lazada |
If Axon 7 selling in US. High chance of the things get unlockable BL and Custom ROM unlike Xiaomi forever cant sell in US, and have to rely on European/India developer.
May 28 2016, 06:33 AM
QUOTE(NightFelix @ May 27 2016, 11:36 PM) If Axon 7 selling in US. High chance of the things get unlockable BL and Custom ROM unlike Xiaomi forever cant sell in US, and have to rely on European/India developer. Well they can sell in US if they become less Appleish. But when will that be? This post has been edited by Ramjade: May 28 2016, 01:45 PM |
May 28 2016, 05:41 PM
1,667 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 28 2016, 06:33 AM) The current line of mi products aren't apple like tho. Not like a few years back. I think the only reason they haven't expanded to the US is because of their manufacturing can't keep up? Always their flash sales stock gone within minutes especially in China. Now they expand to India and other regions. More money to be made over here before moving on to the US. |
May 28 2016, 06:51 PM
QUOTE(Azureknight94 @ May 28 2016, 05:41 PM) The current line of mi products aren't apple like tho. Not like a few years back. I think the only reason they haven't expanded to the US is because of their manufacturing can't keep up? Always their flash sales stock gone within minutes especially in China. Now they expand to India and other regions. More money to be made over here before moving on to the US. Very sure is apple. If they enter US, kena sue until they make a loss, it will be bad. So stay out of US first. |
May 30 2016, 11:39 AM
122 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
hi guys. proud owner of Mi5 128gb white color is here. damn cant get black color due to production issue on ceramic.
May 30 2016, 11:43 AM
120 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
| Change to: | 0.0738sec