37 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Microsoft Windows 10 (V.2)

horns
post Mar 18 2016, 12:26 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(verdangilte @ Mar 17 2016, 09:40 PM)
guys....i need some quick help here..
my pc went to hang and freeze after 30 min ..its been occur after latest update..

i am thinking to reset this pc , but its that any way that i can reset the pc without delete all my files ?? alot of photo and movie in my C drive...
just in case, you should do a full data backup to an external storage first.

after that, do a refresh, not reset. be careful and choose to keep your personal files in the process.

http://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/4090-re...ndows-10-a.html

horns
post Mar 18 2016, 09:29 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(verdangilte @ Mar 18 2016, 08:55 AM)
arggg....70gb of my picture and my movie... bangwall.gif

win10 still dun have solution to settle auto update ?? except disable it by service ??
:/

next time you should move your save locations away from os partition. press win+i then choose system > storage to configure.

afaik there are some 'workarounds' (disabling by service is the most straight forward one; some others work on w10 pro edition only), but there is no official feature that can do this.

horns
post Mar 18 2016, 05:36 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(verdangilte @ Mar 18 2016, 04:47 PM)
i am dayummm frustrated due to my pc will hang suddenly and freeze at there until i unplug my power supply..

any idea to roll back the updated ? just need roll back to previous one is more than enough..
if system restore is enabled i guess you can do that. press win+x, choose system > advanced system settings > system protection.
horns
post Mar 18 2016, 11:35 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(verdangilte @ Mar 18 2016, 09:36 PM)
trIED uninstall some update ..see whether my freeze problem can settle or not...if not..force to clean install
good luck :/

horns
post Mar 21 2016, 09:00 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(verdangilte @ Mar 21 2016, 08:00 AM)
the problem solved by uninstall some window update...damyummm
Uh? Exactly which one? I have installed all updates none of them cause issues here. (The oldest machine that i have is like 4 years old)
horns
post Apr 6 2016, 08:58 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(verdangilte @ Apr 6 2016, 06:28 AM)
Damyummmm... problema occurs again
I notice tat my disc usage can easily go till 100%  .sometimes is the compressed memory, sometimes is my player for video , sometimes is window search... any idea on it ??

My fren suggest me just save all my video n my files to hdd n do a clean install..@@
You can try determine which software is causing heavy disk activities via task manager (use ctrl+shift+esc to call it out). Disable them if possible.

You can also try to disable as many system services as possible based on blackviper's list (blackviper.com). Test and check each service one at a time to make sure they don't give bad system effects to your computer. Also, use system optimizations in wise registry cleaner to apply some optimizations.

For w10, you should also check all sections in settings, and disable whatever that can potentially take up system resources, for instance, background activities by a list of apps. Some said disabling windows updates service can help, but i never disable it. I also run tools like shutup10 and dws to get rid of everything that i know i will never run.

If all the above didn't work, back things up and do a clean install, then reapply system optimizations. If it still doesn't work, use ssd as os drive (hdd as data drive) and start over. This last part was what i did for new laptops with mainstream cpu, 16gb of ram, running os on hdd. To me they were still slow after a clean install and system optimizations. I rather spend some money now to get ssd than sufferring forever.

For those who think, 'who dont know ssd can help? I just need to know what can be done for hdd-based systems', the truth is, you cannot do much. (The outcomes are of course depending on individual expectation. In my case it doesn't help much) For today's optimal user computing, imo you can save a lot of time and you can do alot more just by switching to ssd as os drive. (Even cheap value / entry level ssds can help because of its abundant iops)

horns
post Apr 6 2016, 09:02 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(langlang23456 @ Apr 6 2016, 08:33 AM)
sometimes i click on start button but no menu come up after many tries, so i shut down anyway.

then after boot up a message says cortana hangs/fails at startup and i'm forced to restart. if shut down and boot up i get the same thing, click on start menu nothing happen. must restart to restore start button.

how to solve this?
Try this?

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=79099518
horns
post Apr 6 2016, 01:48 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(aliesterfiend @ Apr 6 2016, 10:32 AM)
Just checking. If I add a new SSD and make it for OS, does my existing account usable ? Or is that consider a new rig which will need a new licence already ?

Can I install the new SSD and then clone the existing OS from my current HDD ?
Swapping hdd with ssd is ok, you dont need to do anything. It's when you change mobo that you need reactivation. If it's retail key, call ms for help. If it's oem key, changing mobo invalidates the key, so you need to get a new one.

Yes you can clone the os to new ssd.

QUOTE(langlang23456 @ Apr 6 2016, 12:54 PM)
thanks. other than this w10 is pretty smooth.
Did the fix work for you?
horns
post Apr 6 2016, 03:15 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(langlang23456 @ Apr 6 2016, 01:49 PM)
will try after work today. home laptop affected.
K good luck smile.gif hopefully it solve your issue.
horns
post Apr 7 2016, 11:29 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(stasio @ Apr 7 2016, 07:59 AM)
thanks, as always!

QUOTE(verdangilte @ Apr 7 2016, 09:49 AM)
tried ur way ...hope its wont freeze anymore...i uninstall my kaspersky as well...
normally the program that cause 100% disc usage is system and compressed memory
[attachmentid=6328439]
oh best of luck :/ my system and compressed memory is like 0% at all times (maybe it's because this computer has 32gb ram)
horns
post Apr 7 2016, 03:42 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(verdangilte @ Apr 7 2016, 03:20 PM)
32gb ram ?? holy...previously 4gb ram is more than enough for win7...nvr think to upgrade ..

but the weird is..my fren have exactly same lappy with me and using win10 as well. but he gt no problem at all
if it's good enough for you just don't bother about it. nowadays imo for optimal user experience (hence better productivity): 8gb is good for common use; 16gb for games; 32gb for work mostly (running few vms concurrently).

hm maybe the differences are not about hardware entirely, but software that were installed.
horns
post Apr 8 2016, 03:25 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(verdangilte @ Apr 7 2016, 11:52 PM)
yup...i bet that is the reason...did u have any idea how much a 4gb ram cost nowadays ?
for laptop ram it's about myr75 i think (ddr3 1600mhz). desktop ram should be cheaper.
horns
post Apr 8 2016, 09:11 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(verdangilte @ Apr 8 2016, 08:22 AM)
alright...will get my self another 4gb ram to see it can be solved
yes, hopefully.
horns
post Apr 8 2016, 02:39 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Apr 8 2016, 01:41 PM)
And yet i still using 8 gig 4 gaming laugh.gif
haha it's fine as long as everything is good for you.

btw ddr4 is getting cheaper these days. previously i got my ddr4 8gb stick like at myr 250+. now a ddr4 16gb stick is at similar price. i'm gonna push it to 128gb later biggrin.gif
horns
post Apr 8 2016, 08:37 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Apr 8 2016, 07:59 PM)
you sir are very nuts laugh.gif

4 me spending more on ram alone is crazy laugh.gif
It's for work not for fun :/ if I don't load vm's and ramdisk my ram is an excess.
horns
post Apr 10 2016, 05:14 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(kueks @ Apr 10 2016, 03:50 PM)
i cant install the windows 10 i dont know why

i click upgrade now... restart pc and nothing happens... 5-6 times dy

go to windows update manually to upgrade... same thing

i have 22 gb free space... shud be enough i guess?

even when i put a schedule to start upgrade at specific time like 2 pm... at 2 pm.. nothing happens =.=
i think the free space requirement is subjected to your existing installation in os drive (os+apps). if the free space is enough to house those, that means something in windows updates has gone bad. if that's the case, you can try http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows...-troubleshooter

you can also download w10 iso with media creation tool, make a bootable usb stick with it, and run setup.exe in the usb stick to upgrade. again this is subject to available free space. try use disk cleanup to free up more space.

horns
post Apr 12 2016, 10:27 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(sai86 @ Apr 12 2016, 11:02 AM)
so, yesterday night i reformat my pc with UEFI - GPT. everything done smoothly and quickly, but after 3rd/4th time restart pc, i came into Infinite Loop of Repair screen.

nothing i done can get me into the window......any advise? else,i'll just reformat it again but from googling, it point to window update/AMD driver and i'm afraid i'll just crash into this problem again after format.

and, how can i set in uefi to ignore other HDD/USB during boot-up so that it just check with SSD/boot disk?
experiencing slow POST - 1min+ before getting into bios or window logo = asus z97 gryphon
maybe you can go into bios and change gpu option to igpu and boot from there.

edit: as for the slow boot, i have no idea. maybe it's related to your gpu issue?

This post has been edited by horns: Apr 12 2016, 10:28 PM
horns
post Apr 13 2016, 12:08 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(sai86 @ Apr 12 2016, 10:48 PM)
i think its on the HDD side as the POST LED lit up at there. asking AsusMy for workaround  biggrin.gif
oh good luck smile.gif
horns
post Apr 27 2016, 09:09 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(stasio @ Apr 27 2016, 08:50 AM)
thanks for the news. looks like there are something to see in near future builds with less bugs smile.gif
horns
post May 9 2016, 09:21 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(engseng @ May 8 2016, 02:26 PM)
Will the Redstone ISO be ready before the July free upgrade period expires?
not sure. why not just do an upgrade to get the digital entitlement then revert if you want?

37 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0988sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:20 PM