Microsoft Windows 10 (V.2)

AlexisStarZ
post May 16 2017, 01:16 AM

320 posts

QUOTE(horns @ May 16 2017, 12:56 AM)
officially ms declared that w10 is unaffected; but god knows what's in v 2.0. this time there is no killswitch. that means it will keep on spreading :/

there is no need to turn all off, just disable or remove smb 1.0 to be sure (unless you need it for other purposes)

i don't need it so i just remove it from my systems for good.
I don't even know what is SMB, hence I don't need it
for safety I better temporary off it until this wannacry issue is completely gone laugh.gif
horns
post May 16 2017, 02:17 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(AlexisStarZ @ May 16 2017, 01:16 AM)
I don't even know what is SMB, hence I don't need it
for safety I better temporary off it until this wannacry issue is completely gone laugh.gif
it's the windows file sharing feature, but it's there to support old os like wxp.

note that by applying the patch it just close the vulnerability from getting exploited, but the ransomware still can run and infect a w10 system without the vulnerability.
AlexisStarZ
post May 16 2017, 04:29 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(horns @ May 16 2017, 02:17 AM)
it's the windows file sharing feature, but it's there to support old os like wxp.

note that by applying the patch it just close the vulnerability from getting exploited, but the ransomware still can run and infect a w10 system without the vulnerability.
ic, so is better to temporary to off that SMB 1st?
just to double confirmed, this is the one right ??
horns
post May 16 2017, 06:37 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(AlexisStarZ @ May 16 2017, 04:29 PM)
correct that's the one.

it's better safe than sorry. you can enable it anytime when you really need it.

AlexisStarZ
post May 16 2017, 06:58 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(horns @ May 16 2017, 06:37 PM)
correct that's the one.

it's better safe than sorry. you can enable it anytime when you really need it.
alright thanks temporary disable for both my desktop and laptop eventhough they are running windows 10
but just to be safe, saw Chinese newspaper article said that 2 companies in Malaysia already affected cry.gif
horns
post May 16 2017, 07:31 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(AlexisStarZ @ May 16 2017, 06:58 PM)
alright thanks temporary disable for both my desktop and laptop eventhough they are running windows 10
but just to be safe, saw Chinese newspaper article said that 2 companies in Malaysia already affected cry.gif
i suspect it's more than that. just be careful, do our own parts to prevent this from spreading further.

as an additional prevention, DO NOT CLICK THE 'YES' BUTTON ON UAC PROMPT! during the infection process, it was reported that the part that removes shadow copies by ransomware can be stopped if you DO NOT CLICK 'YES' WHEN UAC PROMPT IS SHOWN. this is valid for computers with uac turned on and shadow copies feature is active.
SUSg104
post May 16 2017, 08:41 PM

657 posts

Microsoft can use this excuse to force other users upgrade W10, but I really like W10 more than W7/W8.1!
laksamana
post May 16 2017, 08:43 PM

1,356 posts

W10 1703 here, the best / fastest / most efficient Windows ever ...
howszat
post May 16 2017, 08:49 PM

2,932 posts

QUOTE(laksamana @ May 16 2017, 08:43 PM)
W10 1703 here, the best / fastest / most efficient Windows ever ...

How to get from 1607 to 1703?

laksamana
post May 16 2017, 08:57 PM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ May 16 2017, 08:49 PM)
How to get from 1607 to 1703?
Make sure you have all the updates for 1607, including (very important) the update that asks you for Creators Update permissions. There will be a screen prompt for this.

Once that prompt comes out, then you can update to 1703.
AlexisStarZ
post May 16 2017, 11:34 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(horns @ May 16 2017, 07:31 PM)
i suspect it's more than that. just be careful, do our own parts to prevent this from spreading further.

as an additional prevention, DO NOT CLICK THE 'YES' BUTTON ON UAC PROMPT! during the infection process, it was reported that the part that removes shadow copies by ransomware can be stopped if you DO NOT CLICK 'YES' WHEN UAC PROMPT IS SHOWN. this is valid for computers with uac turned on and shadow copies feature is active.
ya keep apply windows update + don't surf any weird website + download pirated software / apps biggrin.gif
horns
post May 17 2017, 12:02 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(g104 @ May 16 2017, 08:41 PM)
Microsoft can use this excuse to force other users upgrade W10, but I really like W10 more than W7/W8.1!
haha that's not an impressive excuse tbh
horns
post May 17 2017, 12:15 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(AlexisStarZ @ May 16 2017, 11:34 PM)
ya keep apply windows update + don't surf any weird website + download pirated software / apps biggrin.gif
we have choices other than windows as os you know biggrin.gif
AlexisStarZ
post May 17 2017, 01:20 AM

320 posts

QUOTE(horns @ May 17 2017, 12:15 AM)
we have choices other than windows as os you know biggrin.gif
ya I know, which is Linux laugh.gif

but in my computer, I only got 1 partition for my ssd (which already installed windows 10)
is it possible to install Linux (Ubuntu) in ssd ? get used to ssd no way to turn back laugh.gif
StuartLee2015
post May 17 2017, 02:34 AM

1,221 posts

Omg, this WannaCry makes me very nervous and afraid.

I have disabled the File Sharing feature on Windows Feature list... Hope that at least safeguard my files a bit.

I use Windows 10 pro.... atm.
horns
post May 17 2017, 02:53 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(AlexisStarZ @ May 17 2017, 01:20 AM)
ya I know, which is Linux laugh.gif

but in my computer, I only got 1 partition for my ssd (which already installed windows 10)
is it possible to install Linux (Ubuntu) in ssd ? get used to ssd no way to turn back laugh.gif
you can still use linux with virtualbox.

horns
post May 17 2017, 03:05 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(StuartLee2015 @ May 17 2017, 02:34 AM)
Omg, this WannaCry makes me very nervous and afraid.

I have disabled the File Sharing feature on Windows Feature list... Hope that at least safeguard my files a bit.

I use Windows 10 pro.... atm.
here are the things i did:
1. patched the os;
2. uninstalled smbv1;
3. use windows firewall to block port 135-139, 455 (tcp and udp; you can do the same at your router too; mine is drop all except ports that i need);
4. running windows defender + emet (you can choose other av and anti-malware for this; just make sure they run in background, and updates are set to automatic);
5. uac and shadow copy turned on;
6. all files are backed up regularly to external storage. the storage is only turned on and connected to the machines when it's needed;
7. turn off autosync to my cloud storage lol

most importantly, just be careful for anything you do while you're online, and offline.

the current population of wcrypt:

it's this serious :/

edit: there is no need to worry too much if we practiced better computing habits, and do enough as prevention in case we're in trouble.

btw for those who use asus routers, make sure it's patched also. although not all bugs are closed, it's better than not applying latest patch at all.

This post has been edited by horns: May 17 2017, 03:27 AM
digitalifelesss
post May 18 2017, 03:07 AM

238 posts

I just gonna backup important stuff to another PC and unmounts the partition whistling.gif
Still so many people uses outdated W7 around...
greed road
post May 18 2017, 11:54 AM

178 posts

question, virus wannacry ni can spread via external / pendrive ke?

QUOTE(AlexisStarZ @ May 16 2017, 04:29 PM)
SMB is file sharing 1 computer to another right?
sorry, noob here.

QUOTE(AlexisStarZ @ May 16 2017, 11:34 PM)
sifu, download movie/tvseries or watching online safe ke? friends kept asking me (but i don't know).

noodlecore
post May 18 2017, 12:54 PM

56 posts

Well, disabling the SMBv1 feature will also make any of shared folders, mapped drives won't work at all. all the shared drives will get disconnected & unreachable.
It depends on how's ur requirement & usage. Just take a precaution here especially if u r in the organization or company environmental, it might be needed so by disabling it, u will unable to reach the file on the network.

159 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Top

0.0355sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:04 PM