Home Gym Set up, Advice needed!

TStdled
post Jan 10 2016, 09:43 PM, updated 10y ago

61 posts

I'm looking to set up a home gym, I've got a spinning bike, now looking to get some free weights, barbell, bench etc. I don't want to spend a fortune on one of those all in one machine, just want to get basic stuff that I will use for arms, chest, squats etc. I saw this bench, which I think should do the job.

Can anyone give advice and where to buy this sort of stuff at good price?

This post has been edited by tdled: Jan 10 2016, 09:50 PM
Miracles
post Jan 11 2016, 12:18 AM

★ Detective /K ★
1,171 posts

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3822075

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...8605&hl=barbell

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...l=weight+plates

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...806&hl=home+gym

search the forum please, there are so many similar threads.

This post has been edited by Miracles: Jan 11 2016, 12:18 AM
buysellaccount
post Jan 11 2016, 08:52 AM

127 posts

a good adjustable bench will go for at least rm1.2k.

those rm300-400 one is shaky.

the bench press station you're looking at should cost you at the very least rm2k or more. usually more.

5cm hole weight plates cheapest goes for rm11/kg.

if you're getting them from fitness concept then x2 all the prices i mentioned.

here's someone you can call. i'm not affiliated with them, tak kenal at all.

https://www.facebook.com/AgymFitness

This post has been edited by buysellaccount: Jan 11 2016, 08:55 AM
VinluV
post Jan 11 2016, 08:54 AM

1,947 posts

Go and check out cash converter.
If there is one, it won't be fancy and brand new, but it gets the job done.
TStdled
post Jan 14 2016, 01:09 PM

61 posts

Thanks guys for some good suggestions and ideas!
helven
post May 27 2016, 11:55 AM

Doko Online
919 posts

QUOTE(Miracles @ Jan 11 2016, 12:18 AM)
I am searching for rigid olympic barbell, your link doesn't work mang
Miracles
post May 27 2016, 11:58 AM

★ Detective /K ★
1,171 posts

QUOTE(helven @ May 27 2016, 11:55 AM)
I am searching for rigid olympic barbell, your link doesn't work mang
oh mang. how did my link turned like that. Must be mobile ver.

You can try these guys. They sell Eleiko's

https://www.facebook.com/ZealfitMalaysia/

This post has been edited by Miracles: May 27 2016, 11:59 AM
helven
post May 27 2016, 01:17 PM

Doko Online
919 posts

QUOTE(Miracles @ May 27 2016, 11:58 AM)
oh mang. how did my link turned like that. Must be mobile ver.

You can try these guys. They sell Eleiko's

https://www.facebook.com/ZealfitMalaysia/
Eleiko's pricing looks steep, any alternatives? Only need bar that can sustain 150kg deadlifting at the moment.
Miracles
post May 27 2016, 02:22 PM

★ Detective /K ★
1,171 posts

QUOTE(helven @ May 27 2016, 01:17 PM)
Eleiko's pricing looks steep, any alternatives? Only need bar that can sustain 150kg deadlifting at the moment.
Well, Eleiko's stuff is world class brows.gif

Billion Network Sdn Bhd - 03-8068 3961
http://www.smartlife.com.my/

Catis (M) Sdn Bhd - 03-3168 3487
http://www.healthstream.com.my/

Dynamex Health & Gym - 03-8062 6850
http://www.dhgym.com.my/

F1 Recreation Sdn Bhd - 03-2022 2228
http://www.f1-recreation.com/

Universal Fitness & Leisure Sdn. Bhd. - 03-6275 9544
http://ufl.com.my/
https://www.facebook.com/UFL.page/

Olympic Sports & Fitness Sdn Bhd - 04-228 5080/81
http://www.olympicmas.com/

Tatt Seng Sporting Goods Sdn Bhd - 04-262 7850
http://www.rcl.com.my/ (Don't mistaken the site for badminton equipments only, look at the bottom)

Trend Masters Sdn Bhd - 03-5637 5737
http://www.fitnessequipment.com.my/

** Some sites are not up-to-date, please call to verify.
Amedion
post May 28 2016, 08:33 AM

It's a bird! No, it's a plane! No, it's star
3,377 posts

Bro, a lot of gym also using china barbell. I always bang 150kg~180kg no problem at all. More over i'm not the only one using it.

I ask one of the gym owner and he quoted me RM 280. Not sure the price now.
helven
post May 28 2016, 10:06 AM

Doko Online
919 posts

QUOTE(Amedion @ May 28 2016, 08:33 AM)
Bro, a lot of gym also using china barbell. I always bang 150kg~180kg no problem at all. More over i'm not the only one using it.

I ask one of the gym owner and he quoted me RM 280. Not sure the price now.
Buying from taobao through agent also cost around that, probably rm3xx. I read in China forum those ppl don't recommend buying from taobao, and don't buy those cost more than 600rmb. I gotta dig more info. checked cheapest Rogue bar cost about 1.6k shipped to malaysia.
rclsports
post Jul 23 2016, 04:14 PM

Anyone of you looking for home exercise bench. You can consider

http://www.11street.my/product/ProductDeta...?prdNo=18659565

Armesh
post Jul 23 2016, 06:42 PM

1,493 posts

You can just buy this type ones lar

http://www.lelong.com.my/1-2m-1-5m-1-8m-2-...7-01-Sale-I.htm

Seriously I think can easily hold 300kg (which you will almost never use anyway).
Armesh
post Jul 23 2016, 07:50 PM

1,493 posts

Rack with pulley: RM 2,350.00
http://www.lelong.com.my/fitness-gym-equip...7-02-Sale-P.htm

Dip bars
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zZ4dYBrjPbY

Bar: RM200

200Kg of weights: RM 1600
http://www.lelong.com.my/olympic-rubber-we...7-01-Sale-I.htm

RM 400 bench

Around RM 4550+ got lifetime home gym edy.

A price of a bike? Or 4 years of Fitness First Membership?

RM 4550 is New. Imagine if Secondhand stuff, can get 40% off.

This post has been edited by Armesh: Jul 23 2016, 08:36 PM
Amedion
post Jul 24 2016, 02:53 PM

3,377 posts

QUOTE(Armesh @ Jul 23 2016, 07:50 PM)
Rack  with pulley: RM 2,350.00

Dip bars

200Kg of weights:  RM 1600

RM 400 bench

So what you waiting for? You've been surveying for a year+ biggrin.gif
Armesh
post Jul 24 2016, 06:18 PM

1,493 posts

QUOTE(Amedion @ Jul 24 2016, 02:53 PM)
So what you waiting for? You've been surveying for a year+  biggrin.gif
I live with my parents. The house is SOOO PACKED there's no place for a small table also let alone a power rack.

Have to buy own apartment first. In a few years time...

Miracles
post Jul 25 2016, 09:18 AM

★ Detective /K ★
1,171 posts

Dip bars

RM 400 bench

Parking.

Too bad dont have my own place. ;c
ah_suknat
post Jul 25 2016, 10:46 AM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(helven @ May 28 2016, 02:06 AM)
Buying from taobao through agent also cost around that, probably rm3xx. I read in China forum those ppl don't recommend buying from taobao, and don't buy those cost more than 600rmb. I gotta dig more info. checked cheapest Rogue bar cost about 1.6k shipped to malaysia.
Have your item arrived?
helven
post Jul 25 2016, 12:01 PM

Doko Online
919 posts

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Jul 25 2016, 10:46 AM)
Have your item arrived?
Yup, I've posted the pic last 2 months some where in the forum, not sure where, there are a lot of home gym/squat rack thread, I couldn't find it.
ah_suknat
post Jul 25 2016, 12:18 PM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(helven @ Jul 25 2016, 04:01 AM)
Yup, I've posted the pic last 2 months some where in the forum, not sure where, there are a lot of home gym/squat rack thread, I couldn't find it.
I mean the one you ordered from taobao, lots of them..arent you just ordered like one month ago?
GameFr3ak
post Jul 25 2016, 08:02 PM

3,849 posts

Dip bars

RM 400 bench

the bar is shit though. Max load 120kg... put more and it'll bend
helven
post Jul 26 2016, 12:30 AM

Doko Online
919 posts

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Jul 25 2016, 12:18 PM)
I mean the one you ordered from taobao, lots of them..arent you just ordered like one month ago?
Yup. Takes 1 month to reach
helven
post Jul 31 2016, 10:27 PM

Doko Online
919 posts

Built my flat bench yesterday

Step by step here:
http://imgur.com/a/zhBRm

Took me 6 hours and RM60 for the woods, RM3 for screw.
It is not tough if you have the power tools, I don't have much, screw the screws with handscrew driver ouch

Reason why I built flat bench instead of adjustable:
1. It is easier to build, I already have adjustable bench which is sufficient for my incline bench
2. More sturdy for flat bench press.

This post has been edited by helven: Jul 31 2016, 10:35 PM
toman88
post Aug 1 2016, 02:51 PM

42 posts

give a look!!! good n trusted brand
remember buy cheap,buy twice !
http://zealfit.com.my

helven
post Aug 1 2016, 03:07 PM

Doko Online
919 posts

QUOTE(toman88 @ Aug 1 2016, 02:51 PM)
give a look!!! good n trusted brand
remember buy cheap,buy twice !
http://zealfit.com.my
So exp, how to buy? confused.gif
toman88
post Aug 1 2016, 03:13 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(helven @ Aug 1 2016, 03:07 PM)
So exp, how to buy? :confused:
hahahaha..buy it,cry once
buy china,cry many.n of coz..they come with lifetime warranty (well,some item of it)

This post has been edited by toman88: Aug 1 2016, 03:16 PM
Amedion
post Aug 1 2016, 03:28 PM

3,377 posts

QUOTE(toman88 @ Aug 1 2016, 03:13 PM)
hahahaha..buy it,cry once
buy china,cry many.n of coz..they come with lifetime warranty (well,some item of it)
Well with that price i can open own gym already and make some money for maintenance.

I actually interested on the barbell but look at the price...
toman88
post Aug 1 2016, 03:42 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(Amedion @ Aug 1 2016, 03:28 PM)
Well with that price i can open own gym already and make some money for maintenance.

I actually interested on the barbell but look at the price...
haha..bar dia mahal.kot..tp okey laa lifetime warranty..bengkok kasi claim
Armesh
post Aug 1 2016, 03:48 PM

1,493 posts

If you're not a super hardcore powerlifter/juicehead/ego lifter and train in 5~12 rep range for lifetime. Most you all will hardly be touching 200kg on the bar ... ain't any 300 Ringgit bar gonna bend on that.
Amedion
post Aug 1 2016, 04:52 PM

3,377 posts

QUOTE(Armesh @ Aug 1 2016, 03:48 PM)
If you're not a super hardcore powerlifter/juicehead/ego lifter and train in 5~12 rep range for lifetime. Most you all will hardly be touching 200kg on the bar ... ain't any 300 Ringgit bar gonna bend on that.
Unfortunately china barbell is getting worse nowadays. Those RM 300 barbell will bend on 150kg.
Armesh
post Aug 1 2016, 05:29 PM

1,493 posts

QUOTE(Amedion @ Aug 1 2016, 04:52 PM)
Unfortunately china barbell is getting worse nowadays. Those RM 300 barbell will bend on 150kg.
LOL quality drop. So far the cheap bars in my gym dont feel a thing when I RDL with 100Kg on them. Pretty solid I think can hold 250Kg. Usually those China bars got say on Tabao website how much max it can hold (-50Kg to be safe lol). Wonder believable or not.
helven
post Aug 2 2016, 01:31 AM

Doko Online
919 posts

QUOTE(Armesh @ Aug 1 2016, 03:48 PM)
With your height, I think you can, within 5 years of hard training.

QUOTE(Armesh @ Aug 1 2016, 05:29 PM)
LOL quality drop. So far the cheap bars in my gym dont feel a thing when I RDL with 100Kg on them. Pretty solid I think can hold 250Kg. Usually those China bars  got say on Tabao website how much max it can hold (-50Kg to be safe lol). Wonder believable or not.
Let see how long my RM300 20kg olympic taobao bar can last
Amedion
post Aug 2 2016, 09:59 AM

3,377 posts

QUOTE(Armesh @ Aug 1 2016, 05:29 PM)
LOL quality drop. So far the cheap bars in my gym dont feel a thing when I RDL with 100Kg on them. Pretty solid I think can hold 250Kg. Usually those China bars  got say on Tabao website how much max it can hold (-50Kg to be safe lol). Wonder believable or not.
Depends. The gym i went 1-2 years ago all probably using old batch. Strong and solid.

New gym i went recently already bend. Maybe he got it from bad quality supplier. IDK.
GameFr3ak
post Aug 3 2016, 06:56 AM

3,849 posts

My gym has a proper 20kg bar (not sure what brand) and a lighter taobao-ish bar which is already a bit bent. I guess someone deadlifted with it lol
samydavis
post Aug 27 2016, 01:15 PM

Like H2O....
711 posts

QUOTE(helven @ Jul 31 2016, 10:27 PM)
Built my flat bench yesterday

Step by step here:
http://imgur.com/a/zhBRm

Took me 6 hours and RM60 for the woods, RM3 for screw.
It is not tough if you have the power tools, I don't have much, screw the screws with handscrew driver ouch

Reason why I built flat bench instead of adjustable:
1. It is easier to build, I already have adjustable bench which is sufficient for my incline bench
2. More sturdy for flat bench press.
Don't forget to fix up a very thick padded cushion for support.
Remember to get a good quality foam as this will support your back.
In Penang it cost about rm150.
samydavis
post Aug 27 2016, 02:38 PM

Like H2O....
711 posts

QUOTE(helven @ Aug 2 2016, 01:31 AM)
With your height, I think you can, within 5 years of hard training.
Let see how long my RM300 20kg olympic taobao bar can last
I don't quiet get the logic here.
If you're training alone at home,you do not need to get an Olympic bar.
Just get the normal 5ft or 6ft bar with screw collars is sufficient enough.

Most of you won't even hit 100kg on the bench press and if you do I'd advise that you do it in a gym with spotters(it's safer)

helven
post Aug 27 2016, 04:39 PM

Doko Online
919 posts

QUOTE(samydavis @ Aug 27 2016, 01:15 PM)
Don't forget to fix up a very thick padded cushion for support.
Remember to get a good quality foam as this will support your back.
In Penang it cost about rm150.
yup yup did that already, I feel with or without foam i same to me, personally I prefer thin foam for more stability

QUOTE(samydavis @ Aug 27 2016, 02:38 PM)

Most of you won't even hit 100kg on the bench press and if you do I'd advise that you do it in a gym with spotters(it's safer)
Explain what's the difference between training at home and training at gym? Besides the place is different? and whole bunch of sweat smell, crowds, plate and dumbell everywhere
Olympic bar is 20kg weight, it is easier to keep track of my progress,
What's the weight of the screw collars bar? how much it can hold before it gets perma bend and snap? I don't want to take the risk. I'm going to hit beyond 100kg deads which is very very normal and light, can those bar do that?

When I want to do something, I want to do it properly, not simply whack something in

This post has been edited by helven: Aug 27 2016, 04:41 PM
Armesh
post Aug 27 2016, 04:51 PM

1,493 posts

Power rack bars are 999999999999x better than dumbass spotters. 100Kg bench press is something easily achievable within 2 years of good consistent effort.
samydavis
post Aug 27 2016, 05:01 PM

Like H2O....
711 posts

QUOTE(helven @ Aug 27 2016, 04:39 PM)
yup yup did that already, I feel with or without foam i same to me, personally I prefer thin foam for more stability
Explain what's the difference between training at home and training at gym? Besides the place is different? and whole bunch of sweat smell, crowds, plate and dumbell everywhere
Olympic bar is 20kg weight, it is easier to keep track of my progress,
What's the weight of the screw collars bar? how much it can hold before it gets perma bend and snap? I don't want to take the risk. I'm going to hit beyond 100kg deads which is very very normal and light, can those bar do that?

When I want to do something, I want to do it properly, not simply whack something in
WOW!!! you say,"100kg (220lbs) is VERY VERY normal and LIGHT".

I've been lifting for 20years and owning a gym for 8years and I hardly see any casual or beginners lift 100kg which to you is very,very normal and light.

I'm sure you have a weighing scale right,check out how heavy is the screw collar bars,it's so easy.

i've bench 150kg on one of those 6ft collars bars and they have yet to snap on me.
For your information i've use all 5ft and 6ft bars for my gym and only one Olympic bar for power lifters.
and non for all the 8 years of use have they bend permanently or snap(God forbid)

And finally I'm here to provide some info as to what to get for a home gym,If you're really serious.....joined a gym.Until you do that you are simply whacking it in.

oh by the way,if you can afford it,they are gyms that don't have a bunch of smell or crowd or plate everywhere.
they practise gym etiquette ( check it out if you don't know what it means).

good luck on your bodybuilding quest

This post has been edited by samydavis: Aug 27 2016, 05:13 PM
samydavis
post Aug 27 2016, 05:24 PM

Like H2O....
711 posts

QUOTE(Armesh @ Aug 27 2016, 04:51 PM)
Power rack bars are 999999999999x better than dumbass spotters. 100Kg bench press is something easily achievable within 2 years of good consistent effort.
It's not polite to call people who spot you dumbass.In the first place I'm sure it was you who asked for their assistance right.Nobody who don't you would walk up to you and say "hi,I'll be your spotter" and even if they do,you can always say no.

to bench 100kg needs good work out planning,not good consistent effort.
Good consistent effort should be translated to consistent workout days.

Anyway it's easier said than done.

I'm curious how do you come about this equation of 100kg bench press in 2years? why not 1 year,6months or 3years.
What's your formula?

Armesh
post Aug 27 2016, 07:21 PM

1,493 posts

QUOTE(samydavis @ Aug 27 2016, 05:24 PM)
It's not polite to call people who spot you dumbass.In the first place I'm sure it was you who asked for their assistance right.Nobody who don't you would walk up to you and say "hi,I'll be your spotter" and even if they do,you can always say no.

to bench 100kg needs good work out planning,not good consistent effort.
Good consistent effort should be translated to consistent workout days.

Anyway it's easier said than done.

I'm curious how do you come about this equation of 100kg bench press in 2years? why not 1 year,6months or 3years.
What's your formula?
I never ever asked for spot in my life before. Not even once. 2 years is bout the average to get it.

This post has been edited by Armesh: Aug 27 2016, 07:31 PM
samydavis
post Aug 27 2016, 07:41 PM

Like H2O....
711 posts

QUOTE(Armesh @ Aug 27 2016, 07:21 PM)
I never ever asked for spot in my life before. Not even once. 2 years is bout the average to get it.
are you benching 100kg now or have you pass it already
SweetPuff
post Aug 27 2016, 10:56 PM

2,021 posts

If starting out, you might not need top of the line for everything. You can improve your equipment over time, depending on your preference, which may change.

For home setup, I'd be hesitant to go for really heavy weights for safety reasons. Coz there might not be people around in the event some accidents happen.

The home equipment that I've never regretted over the years are the 16kg and 25kg kettlebells.
Armesh
post Aug 28 2016, 12:24 AM

1,493 posts

QUOTE(samydavis @ Aug 27 2016, 07:41 PM)
are you benching 100kg now or have you pass it already
Max is around 70kg now @ 66kg Bodyweight. Consistent training is around 1 year + if minus the setbacks I had. 70kg max cause i'm skeleton 66kg. Imagine if I bulk to 85kg? Will be very close to hitting 100kg edy. Seriously it's not that hard with day in day out consistent work.

QUOTE(SweetPuff @ Aug 27 2016, 10:56 PM)
If starting out, you might not need top of the line for everything. You can improve your equipment over time, depending on your preference, which may change.

For home setup, I'd be hesitant to go for really heavy weights for safety reasons. Coz there might not be people around in the event some accidents happen.

The home equipment that I've never regretted over the years are the 16kg and 25kg kettlebells.
That's why the No.1 essential home-gym equipment is a Power Rack.

This post has been edited by Armesh: Aug 28 2016, 12:31 AM
samydavis
post Aug 28 2016, 07:31 AM

Like H2O....
711 posts

QUOTE(Armesh @ Aug 28 2016, 12:24 AM)
Max is around 70kg now @ 66kg Bodyweight. Consistent training is around 1 year + if minus the setbacks I had. 70kg max cause i'm skeleton 66kg. Imagine if I bulk to 85kg? Will be very close to hitting 100kg edy. Seriously it's not that hard with day in day out consistent work.
very impressive bench for your body weight thumbsup.gif thumbsup.gif
samydavis
post Aug 28 2016, 01:32 PM

Like H2O....
711 posts

QUOTE(Armesh @ Aug 28 2016, 12:24 AM)
The power rack is a huge equipment,unless you have a large room only for your gym area than the power rack is not recommended.
it's basically professional gym equipment
helven
post Aug 28 2016, 01:38 PM

Doko Online
919 posts

QUOTE(samydavis @ Aug 27 2016, 05:01 PM)
WOW!!! you say,"100kg (220lbs) is VERY VERY normal and LIGHT".

I've been lifting for 20years and owning a gym for 8years and I hardly see any casual or beginners lift 100kg which to you is very,very normal and light.

I'm sure you have a weighing scale right,check out how heavy is the screw collar bars,it's so easy.

i've bench 150kg on one of those 6ft collars bars and they have yet to snap on me.
For your information i've use all 5ft and 6ft bars for my gym and only one Olympic bar for power lifters.
and non for all the 8 years of use have they bend permanently or snap(God forbid)

And finally I'm here to provide some info as to what to get for a home gym,If you're really serious.....joined a gym.Until you do that you are simply whacking it in.

oh by the way,if you can afford it,they are gyms that don't have a bunch of smell or crowd or plate everywhere.
they practise gym etiquette ( check it out if you don't know what it means).

good luck on your bodybuilding quest
Bro, read my reply properly, it is 100kg Deadlift. 100kg Deadlift is considered damn light man, even with my 60kg body weight I'm suppose to at least hit 2x of my body weight before start thinking about any powerlifting stuff. I'm not pushing my weight currently because I'm still practicing the technique.

And I moved from commercial gym to ghetto gym to home gym, I've been to many walk in gyms, and I clearly understand what I kind of environment I want which no doubt the environment affects my performance and no I don't like sweat smell, people slamming the weight on the floor, grunting, chit chatting, noisy environment. And I will occupy a squat rack for 1 hour simply to practice the technique, snap video and rethink what I'm doing wrong.
And I seriously don't like to ask "eh bro how many sets left" because I don't want to disturb people's concentration, or being asked "how many sets left" and I have to rush my sets for them, and end up these kids are doing pull up with the barbell hanging on the squat rack, how annoying!! ranting.gif

It is either I go on bb routine which needs more machines and variations, else I won't pay for gym.

This post has been edited by helven: Aug 28 2016, 01:39 PM
helven
post Aug 28 2016, 01:43 PM

Doko Online
919 posts

Provided this person know what he's doing.

helven
post Aug 28 2016, 01:55 PM

Doko Online
919 posts

QUOTE(samydavis @ Aug 28 2016, 01:32 PM)
The power rack is a huge equipment,unless you have a large room only for your gym area than the power rack is not recommended.
it's basically  professional gym equipment
If I were to do it at home, I should still do it professionally am I right? Or at least do what professional did? I doubt paid gym is professional, I've been two with no squat rack, how hilarious, and one of them died after few years of business. And they advertise themselves they have a deadlift platform which looks nice in photo, but it is actually piece of cheap plywood on the floor, again how hilarious.
samydavis
post Aug 28 2016, 02:37 PM

Like H2O....
711 posts

QUOTE(helven @ Aug 28 2016, 01:55 PM)
If I were to do it at home, I should still do it professionally am I right? Or at least do what professional did? I doubt paid gym is professional, I've been two with no squat rack, how hilarious, and one of them died after few years of business. And they advertise themselves they have a deadlift platform which looks nice in photo, but it is actually piece of cheap plywood on the floor, again how hilarious.
Of course there are good gyms and there are bad gyms.
You are the customer......check it out properly before you join,Don't join first and than complain about how bad it is.
You said you joined a two gyms without squat rack and you said "how hilarious".
What I find hilarious is Why do you joined in the first place?

helven
post Aug 28 2016, 05:10 PM

Doko Online
919 posts

QUOTE(samydavis @ Aug 28 2016, 02:37 PM)
Of course there are good gyms and there are bad gyms.
You are the customer......check it out properly before you join,Don't join first and than complain about how bad it is.
You said you joined a two gyms without squat rack and you said "how hilarious".
What I find hilarious is Why do you joined in the first place?
walk in gym,it was few years back and I was inexperience during that time and never know squat rack does exist
mikehuan
post Sep 3 2016, 10:35 AM

6,160 posts

If you're gonna set up a home gym don't expect to deadlift heavy. It's just not practical at all. Noise will disturb your neighbors, well unless you don't care...

Plus setting up the platform is expensive. Unless you don't care as well, buy replacement tiles beforehand

God forbid you stay in an apartment or condo, then good luck with that lol

You're not gonna be able to deadlift silently the whole time. Sure, u can do hundreds of reps with controlled descent but it only takes one slip to break ur floor

U want proper home gym? For bodybuilder purists? Power rack, bouncy plates and platform. That will last a lifetime and u can whack as heavy as u want
Conscript78
post Sep 11 2016, 09:42 PM

48 posts

My home gym

samydavis
post Sep 11 2016, 11:42 PM

Like H2O....
711 posts

QUOTE(Conscript78 @ Sep 11 2016, 09:42 PM)
My home gym
sure it's not a store room? thumbsup.gif
heavensea
post Oct 9 2016, 06:38 PM

9,616 posts

Adjustable bench + many sets of dumbbell = you're good to go...
samydavis
post Oct 12 2016, 12:45 AM

Like H2O....
711 posts

QUOTE(heavensea @ Oct 9 2016, 06:38 PM)
Adjustable bench + many sets of dumbbell = you're good to go...
You're right,with just dumbells and an adjustable bench you can do literary the whole upper body workout.
heavensea
post Oct 12 2016, 01:01 AM

9,616 posts

QUOTE(samydavis @ Oct 12 2016, 12:45 AM)
You're right,with just dumbells and an adjustable bench you can do literary the whole upper body workout.
Yes, and leg day can go walk in gym 1 day lo.

0.0375sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 04:27 AM