NETFLIX OFFICIALLY AVAILABLE IN MALAYSIA, Finally. No DNS needed

voncrane
post Jul 22 2020, 04:46 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(sonyman @ Jul 22 2020, 09:37 AM)
i know the TV resolution is 3840 x 2160, but i come to understand that if it is not in the list of the certificate you might not get full 4K

https://devices.netflix.com/en/recommendedtv/2018/

this the list. only 7500f

i just want to double confirm with the information if it is true here.
The list is inconclusive (they list personally verified & supported models) and as such, not every "certified" device actually gets listed on the website. Manufacturers push out models faster than Netflix web devs can update.. Well, that or more apt, they don't care so much to list it all. but rest assured that when you buy from the big TV brands and the app is available for install from their proprietary app store? Then yes, you will get full res as promised. What you may not get is best support from Netflix due to it not being listed on their website.

QUOTE(sonyman @ Jul 22 2020, 09:51 AM)
agree totally, plus netflix tech support is seriously well i think i will settle on my own.

so anyway, i only get 2160 resolution. probably thats about it.
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jul 22 2020, 09:54 AM)
2160p is 4K. Always took horizontal value.

For example

• SD is 720x480 and we call it 480p
  • HD is 1280x720 and we call it 720p
  • Full HD is 1920x1080 and we call it 1080p
  • 4K is 3840x2160 and we call it 2160p
  • 8K is 7680x4320 and we call it 4320p

Where P stand for progressive scan.

Most stream and physical format is p.
Only Live TV channel broadcast in i which stand for interlace.
I'm goign to be a tad technical here and point out that 4K =/= 3840 x 2160. That's actually "UHD". A consumer term that manufacturers conveniently dropped over the years, in favor of the more relatable term (read as makes them more money) 4K. True 4K, aptly described as 4K DCI (Digital Cinema Initiatives) is an industry standard and must be 4096 x 2160. So yes, millions of customers have been duped.. biggrin.gif .. But at least some manufacturers try to be more correct and list their displays as 4K UHD. This makes more sense IMO. Cuz the term UHD can also mean 8K...and thus it's more appropriate to label as 4K UHD or 8K UHD. versus just UHD or 4K when it's not actually true 4K. Lastly, I would think this is part of the reason that Netflix marks corresponding titles as "UHD" and not 4K..Not entirely just due to streaming compression.. That be the proper term. sweat.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
Andrewtst
post Jul 22 2020, 05:32 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,758 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jul 22 2020, 04:46 PM)
The list is inconclusive (they list personally verified & supported models) and as such, not every "certified" device actually gets listed on the website. Manufacturers push out models faster than Netflix web devs can update.. Well, that or more apt, they don't care so much to list it all. but rest assured that when you buy from the big TV brands and the app is available for install from their proprietary app store? Then yes, you will get full res as promised. What you may not get is best support from Netflix due to it not being listed on their website.
I'm goign to be a tad technical here and point out that 4K =/= 3840 x 2160. That's actually "UHD". A consumer term that manufacturers conveniently dropped over the years, in favor of the more relatable term (read as makes them more money) 4K. True 4K, aptly described as 4K DCI (Digital Cinema Initiatives) is an industry standard and must be 4096 x 2160. So yes, millions of customers have been duped..  biggrin.gif .. But at least some manufacturers try to be more correct and list their displays as 4K UHD. This makes more sense IMO. Cuz the term UHD can also mean 8K...and thus it's more appropriate to label as 4K UHD or 8K UHD. versus just UHD or 4K when it's not actually true 4K. Lastly, I would think this is part of the reason that Netflix marks corresponding titles as "UHD" and not 4K..Not entirely just due to streaming compression.. That be the proper term. sweat.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
I know that resolution is not true 4K but market already label it as 4K, everybody know it is call 4K. No need to be that specific I think.

To me UHD label is useless and meaningless. It just mean Ultra High Definition, cannot only put as UHD because that can't differentiate it is 4K or 8K.

If you ask me what is the most correct and not confuse, should just label it as 2160p which same as Full HD call as 1080p.

The horizontal is what resolution is not important and this will be less confusing.

For 8K just label it as 4320p.

But probably due to this kind of label is difficult to remember, thus K labeling is out.

4K, 8K, probably future of 16K.
In true resolution or not is not important.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Jul 22 2020, 06:20 PM
voncrane
post Jul 25 2020, 03:32 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jul 22 2020, 05:32 PM)
I know that resolution is not true 4K but market already label it as 4K, everybody know it is call 4K. No need to be that specific I think.

To me UHD label is useless and meaningless. It just mean Ultra High Definition, cannot only put as UHD because that can't differentiate it is 4K or 8K.

If you ask me what is the most correct and not confuse, should just label it as 2160p which same as Full HD call as 1080p.

The horizontal is what resolution is not important and this will be less confusing.

For 8K just label it as 4320p.

But probably due to this kind of label is difficult to remember, thus K labeling is out.

4K, 8K, probably future of 16K.
In true resolution or not is not important.

Agree to disagree about it not being important. You reread my post to get why. I clearly mentioned that the appropriate terms should be 4K UHD, 8K UHD etc. Which some manufacturers are following. So no! Just like SD, HD, and FHD, the UHD acronym isn’t useless and meaningless, at least not to folks like myself in the industry. It’s just like how most CSUVs are called SUVs when in reality or at least technically, it’s an inaccurate representation for them, because from an engineering POV, they are not full fledged SUVs. Just because marketing folks were “smart” or most consumers “less smart” to tell the difference, does not detract from the proper meaning of a technical term and or it’s appropriate meaning.

This post has been edited by voncrane: Jul 25 2020, 03:33 AM
Andrewtst
post Jul 25 2020, 03:45 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,758 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jul 25 2020, 03:32 AM)
Agree to disagree about it not being important. You reread my post to get why. I clearly mentioned that the appropriate terms should be 4K UHD, 8K UHD etc. Which some manufacturers are following. So no! Just like SD, HD, and FHD, the UHD acronym isn’t useless and meaningless, at least not to folks like myself in the industry. It’s just like how most CSUVs are called SUVs when in reality or at least technically, it’s an inaccurate representation for them, because from an engineering POV, they are not full fledged SUVs. Just because marketing folks were “smart” or most consumers “less smart” to tell the difference, does not detract from the proper meaning of a technical term and or it’s appropriate meaning.
Ops, I must be half sleeping when reading your post, I didn't notice they is 4K before UHD or 8K before UHD, I though you write UHD only, Haha! Sorry sorry.

Agree with you then if put as 4K UHD and 8K UHD. smile.gif
voncrane
post Jul 25 2020, 03:53 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jul 25 2020, 03:45 AM)
Ops, I must be half sleeping when reading your post, I didn't notice they is 4K before UHD or 8K before UHD, I though you write UHD only, Haha! Sorry sorry.

Agree with you then if put as 4K UHD and 8K UHD. smile.gif
Almost 4am also.. You still awake... Go to sleep!. laugh.gif
Andrewtst
post Jul 25 2020, 03:55 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,758 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jul 25 2020, 03:53 AM)
Almost 4am also.. You still awake... Go to sleep!.  laugh.gif
Haha! oops, ok ok, sleeping soon. tongue.gif
GHOSTVIC
post Sep 5 2020, 07:17 PM

369 posts

How are you guys, let me share some of the interesting series i binge watched during MCO till now in NETFLIX MALAYSIA.
so you guys recommend me only the best series ya, do not want to waste time on useless...
hahahha... hope below list help you guys to narrow down the option.

COMPLETED
1. MONEY HEIST - Season 1 to 4
2. NARCOS - season 1 to 3
3. STRANGER THINGS - season 1 to 3
4. NARCOS MEXICO - season 1 to 2
5. BREAKING BAD - season 1 to 5
5. ORANGE IS NEW BLACK - season 1 to 7
6. VAGABOND - season 1
7. ARTHDAL CHRONICLE - season 1
8. THE RAIN - season 1 to 2 , season 3 bored
9. THE WITCHER - season 1
10. QUEEN OF THE SOUTH - season 1 to 3
11. KINGDOM - season 1 to 2
12. FAUDA - season 1 to 2 completed, season 3 watching now
13. MESSIAH - season 1 completed
14. OZARKS - season 1 to 3 completed, another good show after breaking bad..
15. DARK - season 1 to 3, simply brain torturing series, really need to watch twice
16. STRANGERS FROM HELL - season 1 completed, korean damn its simply thrilled and makes felt like watching a movie.
17. THE KING ETERNAL MONARCH - season 1 completed, korean another good show.
18. HE IS PSYCHOMETRIC - season 1 completed, good show korean but bit draggy on romance part.
19. MEMORIES OF ALAMBRHA - season 1 completed, korean good fantasy series as well
20. GOBLIN - season 1 completed, korean draggy on romance
21. BODYGUARD - season 1 completed, good show
22. 13 reason why - season 1 freaking awesome, season 2,3,4 not good as 1.
23. GOOD PLACE - season 1 to 3, kind a good
24. YOU - season 1 to 2, season 1 interesting
25. PRISON BREAK - must watch, season 1 to season 5. 1st 2 season simply awesome
26. BLACK MIRROR - season 1 to 5, about 22 stand alone episodes not connected to each other. awesome.
27. LOVE DEATH ROBOTS - vol 1 short stand alone episodes, quite good
28. CURSED - season 1, watched because of 13 reason why fame sarah becker. not bad for a fantasy series.
29. ITAEWON CLASS - korean season 1, heart touching drama
30. BLACK - korean, season 1, interesting
31. BAD GUYS - korean, season 1, must watch
32. SENSE 8 - season 1 to 2, interesting to watch have to tolerate with adult contents
33. SACRED GAMES - interesting
34. DOCTOR PRISONER - korean season 1, interesting
35. ONE PUNCH MAN - 2 season quite addictive.
36. NEVER HAVE I EVER - 1 season, hilarious rom comedy.
37. UMBRELLA ACADEMY - 2 seasons
38. ATTACK ON TITANS - japanese anime 4 seasons really addicted.
39. GOOD GIRLS - season 1 and 2 - hilarious
40. THE ALIENIST - season 1 - quiet interesting about 19th century thriller.
41. LA REVOLUTION - season 1 - good show as well, the bgm makes me recall one of the series i watched before couldn't think of it.

WATCHING IN VERY VERY SLOW PACE
1. BLACKLIST - just on s1e8
2. HOMELAND - just on s1e6
3. LUCIFER - just on s1e3
4. PEAKY BLINDERS - just on s2e4
5. SHERLOCK - just on s1e2
6. SIX FLYING DRAGONS - korean
7. CHICAGO TYPE WRITER - korean
8. THE CROWN
9. STARTREK DISCOVERY

DISCONTINUED WATCHING
1. RESURRECTION ERTUGRUL after S1E5
2. THE PROTECTOR after S2E4
3. DESIGNATED SURVIVOR 60DAYS Korean after S1E7
4. EL CHAPO after S1E9
5. CALIPHATE
6. LOCKED UP
7. RISE OF EMPIRES OTTOMAN
8. THE LAST KINGDOM
9. THE OA
10. CURON after episode 3
11. VAMPIRE DIARIES after episode 2
12. STRANGER - korean, good show but subtitle pace so fast couldnt follow

MOVIES WATCHED IN NETFLIX, usually they broadcast old movies. Most of us already watched the movies before arrive in netflix.
below list of movies i never tried before, only watched in netflix

PROJECT POWER - boleh la
ÀLIVE - korean, bored i expectd like train to busan
12 STRONG - good
EXTRACTION - ok
365 days - mmmmm
SPECTRAL - nice
DEBT COLLECTOR 1 and 2
THE PLATFORM
BIRDBOX
BRIGHT
GANTZO - japanese good
BLEACH
HOTEL ARTEMIS
DEN OF THEIVES
BLOODSHOT - ok
THE PURGER - OK
THE CHASE - korean, good
STEEL RAIN - korean, good
FORGOTTEN - korean, good
26 YEARS - korean, good
PSYCHOKINESIS - korean, good
TIME TO HUNT - korean
THE HOST - korean
ILLANG THE WOLD BRIGADE - korean good
DOUBLE WORLD - mandarin, good
PANDORA - korean good
FANTASY ISLAND

This post has been edited by GHOSTVIC: Oct 20 2020, 08:44 PM
voncrane
post Sep 6 2020, 01:08 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(GHOSTVIC @ Sep 5 2020, 07:17 PM)
How are you guys, let me share some of the interesting series i binge watched during MCO till now in NETFLIX MALAYSIA.
so you guys recommend me only the best series ya, do not want to waste time on useless...
hahahha... hope below list help you guys to narrow down the option.

COMPLETED
1. MONEY HEIST - Season 1 to 4
2. NARCOS - season 1 to 3
3. STRANGER THINGS - season 1 to 3
4. NARCOS MEXICO - season 1 to 2
5. BREAKING BAD - season 1 to 5
5. ORANGE IS NEW BLACK - season 1 to 7
6. VAGABOND - season 1
7. ARTHDAL CHRONICLE - season 1
8. THE RAIN - season 1 to 2 , season 3 bored
9. THE WITCHER - season 1
10. QUEEN OF THE SOUTH - season 1 to 3
11. KINGDOM - season 1 to 2
12. FAUDA - season 1 to 2 completed, season 3 watching now
13. MESSIAH - season 1 completed
14. OZARKS - season 1 to 3 completed, another good show after breaking bad..
15. DARK - season 1 to 3, simply brain torturing series, really need to watch twice
16. STRANGERS FROM HELL - season 1 completed, korean damn its simply thrilled and makes felt like watching a movie.
17. THE KING ETERNAL MONARCH - season 1 completed, korean another good show.
18. HE IS PSYCHOMETRIC - season 1 completed, good show korean but bit draggy on romance part.
19. MEMORIES OF ALAMBRHA - season 1 completed, korean good fantasy series as well
20. GOBLIN - season 1 completed, korean draggy on romance
21. BODYGUARD - season 1 completed, good show
22. 13 reason why - season 1 freaking awesome, season 2,3,4 not good as 1.
23. GOOD PLACE - season 1 to 3, kind a good
24. YOU - season 1 to 2, season 1 interesting
25. PRISON BREAK - must watch, season 1 to season 5. 1st 2 season simply awesome
26. BLACK MIRROR - season 1 to 5, about 22 stand alone episodes not connected to each other. awesome.
27. LOVE DEATH ROBOTS - vol 1 short stand alone episodes, quite good
28. CURSED - season 1, watched because of 13 reason why fame sarah becker. not bad for a fantasy series.
29. ITAEWON CLASS - korean season 1, heart touching drama
30. BLACK - korean, season 1, interesting
31. BAD GUYS - korean, season 1, must watch
32. SENSE 8 - season 1 to 2, interesting to watch have to tolerate with adult contents
33. SACRED GAMES - interesting
34. DOCTOR PRISONER - korean season 1, interesting

WATCHING IN VERY VERY SLOW PACE
1. BLACKLIST - just on s1e8
2. HOMELAND - just on s1e6
3. LUCIFER - just on s1e3
4. PEAKY BLINDERS - just on s2e4
5. SHERLOCK - just on s1e2
6. SIX FLYING DRAGONS - korean
7. CHICAGO TYPE WRITER - korean
8. THE CROWN

DISCONTINUED WATCHING
1. RESURRECTION ERTUGRUL after S1E5
2. THE PROTECTOR after S2E4
3. DESIGNATED SURVIVOR 60DAYS Korean after S1E7
4. EL CHAPO after S1E9
5. CALIPHATE
6. LOCKED UP
7. RISE OF EMPIRES OTTOMAN
8. THE LAST KINGDOM
9. THE OA
10. CURON after episode 3
11. VAMPIRE DIARIES after episode 2
12. STRANGER - korean, good show but subtitle pace so fast couldnt follow

MOVIES WATCHED IN NETFLIX, usually they broadcast old movies. Most of us already watched the movies before arrive in netflix.
below list of movies i never tried before, only watched in netflix

PROJECT POWER - boleh la
12 STRONG - good
EXTRACTION - ok
365 days - mmmmm
SPECTRAL
THE PLATFORM
BIRDBOX
BRIGHT
BLEACH
HOTEL ARTEMIS
DEN OF THEIVES
BLOODSHOT - ok
THE PURGER - OK
THE CHASE - korean, good
STEEL RAIN - korean, good
FORGOTTEN - korean, good
26 YEARS - korean, good
PSYCHOKINESIS - korean, good
TIME TO HUNT - korean
THE HOST - korean
ILLANG THE WOLD BRIGADE - korean good
DOUBLE WORLD - mandarin, good
PANDORA - korean good

You already watch more than me liao.. how to recommend? laugh.gif

Edit... Yaaass, you haven’t seen “Umbrella Academy” yet.. Okay.. still in the lead.. Watch that.

This post has been edited by voncrane: Sep 6 2020, 01:11 PM
GHOSTVIC
post Sep 10 2020, 10:35 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Sep 6 2020, 01:08 PM)
You already watch more than me liao.. how to recommend?  laugh.gif

Edit... Yaaass, you haven’t seen “Umbrella Academy” yet.. Okay.. still in the lead.. Watch that.
Umbrella academy i watched 2 episode only, paused and went to other interesting series.
Now i completed ONE PUNCH MAN... damn about to get addicted season 2 ended.
I usually not in to anime but saitamaaaaaa simply awesome.
Season 3 in talk of making.. aishhh
Since nothing to watch now i back to whichever pending..

voncrane
post Sep 11 2020, 09:14 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(GHOSTVIC @ Sep 10 2020, 10:35 PM)
Umbrella academy i watched 2 episode only, paused and went to other interesting series.
Umbrella Academy takes awhile to grow on you. It’s not a mind blowing series but it’s good. Season 2 IMO is where the fun actually is.

I keep hearing about One Punch Man and how great it is. But I never watched it. Cuz I’m like... Hits you with one punch and you dead. Not much there.. sweat.gif .. But who knows.. Same with One Piece.. all say great great.. My Anime watched list includes the classics:
*DBZ
*Naruto
*Natuto Shippudden
*Boruto
*Bleach
*Attack on Titans

Just started S1E1 of the new Space series “Away” on Netflix. Halfway thru and I’m definitely interested. See how that plays out.. You can check it out too. But whatever you do, don’t go watching “The Last Days American Crime”. It’s horrible.. shakehead.gif shakehead.gif
GHOSTVIC
post Sep 12 2020, 12:05 AM

369 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Sep 11 2020, 09:14 PM)
Umbrella Academy takes awhile to grow on you. It’s not a mind blowing series but it’s good. Season 2 IMO is where the fun actually is.

I keep hearing about One Punch Man and how great it is. But I never watched it. Cuz I’m like... Hits you with one punch and you dead. Not much there.. sweat.gif .. But who knows.. Same with One Piece.. all say great great.. My Anime watched list includes the classics:
*DBZ
*Naruto
*Natuto Shippudden
*Boruto
*Bleach
*Attack on Titans

Just started S1E1 of the new Space series “Away” on Netflix. Halfway thru and I’m definitely interested. See how that plays out.. You can check it out too. But whatever you do, don’t go watching “The Last Days American Crime”. It’s horrible..  shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif
With ONE PUNCH MAN ya exactly i had the same feel like you bro. Imagine it took 4 years when i first saw the downloaded copy back then but ignored. Now i just binge watched it.
What made it best was saitama so humble with that much of power and seeking someone who can challenge him since he felt himself bored can kill anybody with single punch. Best part those characters come along with him , eventually will be amazed with his ability. Especially GENOSUUU..
Basically the plot gives so much of stress on ordinary heroes fight and lose with villains and there he comes end it with single punch. Hahaha.. but you will see few fights he does with more punches opponents are pretty tough.S3 looks like he will meet his craving if ever out.

I am watching UMBRELLA now kind a forcing myself since no other option. Lets see.

Andrewtst
post Sep 12 2020, 06:11 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,758 posts

QUOTE(GHOSTVIC @ Sep 10 2020, 10:35 PM)
You should continue the Umbrella Academy, a great show in Netflix.
Can't wait the release of Season 3.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Sep 12 2020, 06:15 AM
Andrewtst
post Sep 12 2020, 06:14 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,758 posts

*DBZ
*Naruto
*Natuto Shippudden
*Boruto
*Bleach
*Attack on Titans

Just started S1E1 of the new Space series “Away” on Netflix. Halfway thru and I’m definitely interested. See how that plays out.. You can check it out too. But whatever you do, don’t go watching “The Last Days American Crime”. It’s horrible..  shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif
QUOTE(GHOSTVIC @ Sep 12 2020, 12:05 AM)
With ONE PUNCH MAN ya exactly i had the same feel like you bro. Imagine it took 4 years when i first saw the downloaded copy back then but ignored. Now i just binge watched it.
What made it best was saitama so humble with that much of power and seeking someone who can challenge him since he felt himself bored can kill anybody with single punch. Best part those characters come along with him , eventually will be amazed with his ability. Especially GENOSUUU..
Basically the plot gives so much of stress on ordinary heroes fight and lose with villains and there he comes end it with single punch. Hahaha.. but you will see few fights he does with more punches opponents are pretty tough.S3 looks like he will meet his craving if ever out.

I am watching UMBRELLA now kind a forcing myself since no other option. Lets see.
One Punch Man - I love season 1, but season 2 I only watch 1/2 episode and stop. Haha! Suddently no mood to watch it, feel like show repeating like Money Heist I can't finish season 3 as it is freaking repeating the idea, bored. Haha!
GHOSTVIC
post Sep 22 2020, 12:09 AM

369 posts

*DBZ
*Naruto
*Natuto Shippudden
*Boruto
*Bleach
*Attack on Titans

Im done with UMBRELLA ACADEMY...somehow i dont feel much interest on this series. I just feet forced myself to complete it

But damn ATTACK ON TITAN seriously i got addicted, binge watched till 2 seasons 37 episodes completed in 3 days.
Hope next 2 season will be more interesting.
I like MIKASA very much so pretty and brave.. hahaha
Must watch guys, somehow i got addicted.

liquidsny
post Sep 22 2020, 04:53 AM

589 posts

Which vpn works with netflix or is this question not allowed here?
Cendol_Pulut90
post Sep 22 2020, 09:25 AM

260 posts

QUOTE(liquidsny @ Sep 22 2020, 04:53 AM)
Which vpn works with netflix or is this question not allowed here?
Many vpn works with netflix. Express vpn, nord vpn, surfshark.
liquidsny
post Sep 22 2020, 12:37 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(Cendol_Pulut90 @ Sep 22 2020, 09:25 AM)
Many vpn works with netflix. Express vpn, nord vpn, surfshark.
Will it work with android tv? Because last time i use tvbox with expressvpn and nord vpn it didnt work
Cendol_Pulut90
post Sep 22 2020, 02:08 PM

260 posts

QUOTE(liquidsny @ Sep 22 2020, 12:37 PM)
Will it work with android tv? Because last time i use tvbox with expressvpn and nord vpn it didnt work
I'm not sure on tv since i only watch on phone but express vpn not working netflix on tvbox ? That's weird. I thought express vpn is the best vpn for netflix.
GuyM
post Sep 22 2020, 03:50 PM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(liquidsny @ Sep 22 2020, 12:37 PM)
It does. Using expressvpn connected to LA1 server
ben3003
post Sep 22 2020, 05:17 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(GuyM @ Sep 22 2020, 03:50 PM)
It does. Using expressvpn connected to LA1 server
this one u use the android apps? becos i set my ac68u router vpn cannot one.

74 Pages « < 70 71 72 73 74 >Top

0.0162sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 10:59 AM