> MacBook Pro Retina User Thread V2, All you can feedback here as well

Hanabi12
post Jan 9 2017, 08:05 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(terrytay2009 @ Jan 9 2017, 05:58 PM)
Dear all,

just got my MBP 2016. Wonder which usb c hub/dongle you guys are recommending now? I see alot in Amazon, but somehow can't find much in KL.

Need Usb 3.0 and HDMI together if possible.

Thanks!
Check this out..

https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/hypers...r-m/description
dreamthief
post Jan 9 2017, 09:27 PM

Banned
2,672 posts

the new macbook pro battery life been iffy, simple web browsing even, battery life goes down within 5-6 hours. Is it the same for anyone else?
tinkerbel
post Jan 10 2017, 01:45 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

Hanabi12
I forgot... who's the "Organiser" of our HyperDrive thingy? Was it you? Lol when is delivery expected? tongue.gif
alienxp03
post Jan 10 2017, 02:02 AM

202 posts

QUOTE(terrytay2009 @ Jan 9 2017, 06:58 PM)
Dear all,

just got my MBP 2016. Wonder which usb c hub/dongle you guys are recommending now? I see alot in Amazon, but somehow can't find much in KL.

Need Usb 3.0 and HDMI together if possible.

Thanks!
I'm using the one from Apple. Works great so far. Not cheap unfortunately. RM230+ I think, can't remember

http://www.apple.com/shop/product/MJ1K2AM/...ltiport-adapter
kevink82
post Jan 10 2017, 08:04 AM

1,134 posts

QUOTE(dreamthief @ Jan 9 2017, 09:27 PM)
the new macbook pro battery life been iffy, simple web browsing even, battery life goes down within 5-6 hours. Is it the same for anyone else?
R u on 15 inch or 13 inch?
Hanabi12
post Jan 10 2017, 09:17 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jan 10 2017, 01:45 AM)
Hanabi12
I forgot... who's the "Organiser" of our HyperDrive thingy?  Was it you? Lol when is delivery expected? tongue.gif
Yes, it's me. expected delivery in Feb 2017
takenaga
post Jan 10 2017, 10:23 AM

182 posts

QUOTE(Lotus1109 @ Jan 9 2017, 01:50 PM)
hihi!

wonder what monitor (if any) do you guys use for your macbook pro?

I need recommendations tongue.gif
24 - 27inch will do
Try look at Dell U2414H.

This post has been edited by takenaga: Jan 10 2017, 10:29 AM
ZenXL
post Jan 10 2017, 10:26 AM

Oh shi-
704 posts

I was wondering where to buy those marble/clear type of cover, anyone knows?
Lotus1109
post Jan 10 2017, 10:52 AM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(takenaga @ Jan 10 2017, 10:23 AM)
Try look at Dell U2414H.
thanks!

I was eyeing on it or u2515h smile.gif

maybe save abit more for 1440p!

btw noob question - you can charge your mbp 2016 using thunderbolt 3 / type c using monitor

can I do the same on thunderbolt 2?
dreamthief
post Jan 10 2017, 11:02 AM

Banned
2,672 posts

QUOTE(kevink82 @ Jan 10 2017, 08:04 AM)
R u on 15 inch or 13 inch?
13". Does it make much difference? I read both 15" and 13" can reach up to 10 hours.

This new macbook pro, first time ever battery performance isn't as good as previous models. Bit disappointed and not sure whether is it my unit.
terrytay2009
post Jan 10 2017, 11:10 AM

149 posts

QUOTE(Hanabi12 @ Jan 9 2017, 08:05 PM)
Thanks!! but I dont think I'm able to hold out till March. It's for work so USB and SD Card needs to settle first. Sigh why did I let myself into the dongle life.
kevink82
post Jan 10 2017, 11:14 AM

1,134 posts

QUOTE(dreamthief @ Jan 10 2017, 11:02 AM)
13". Does it make much difference? I read both 15" and 13" can reach up to 10 hours.

This new macbook pro, first time ever battery performance isn't as good as previous models. Bit disappointed and not sure whether is it my unit.
Usually about 8 hrs on the 13 inch touch bar, non touch bar base spec can reach 10 hrs since the battery is bigger and the cpu is 18w. How bright is ur screen??

And also 5-6 hrs just browsing web is a bit low is brightness is 50% try the latest beta or install instat to c how much power everything is using.
kappa500
post Jan 10 2017, 11:58 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(dreamthief @ Jan 9 2017, 09:27 PM)
What browser are you using ?
Last time also i have same problem if i use Chrome (especially when opening gmail and leave it there) , it somehow drain my battery out very fast and CPU FAN is on, macbook body hot.

Since i switch back to safari and i don't have such issue anymore.
Battery 100% use it from 9am and at 6pm still remain 25%. (macbook pro 2016 15inch)

If you frequent hear your macbook fan is running you might need to suspect the app such as , browser advertisement movie window is opened but didn't realise, some app keep reloading etc.

Hanabi12
post Jan 10 2017, 12:42 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(terrytay2009 @ Jan 10 2017, 11:10 AM)
Thanks!! but I dont think I'm able to hold out till March. It's for work so USB and SD Card needs to settle first. Sigh why did I let myself into the dongle life.
I am using my MBP 2015 as temporary dongle to airdrop everything i needed.
tinkerbel
post Jan 10 2017, 03:42 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

QUOTE(Hanabi12 @ Jan 10 2017, 09:17 AM)
Yes, it's me. expected delivery in Feb 2017
We didn't get upgraded to Jan delivery ah? Ah well.. oKies, will just have to wait biggrin.gif
Hanabi12
post Jan 10 2017, 05:20 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jan 10 2017, 03:42 PM)
We didn't get upgraded to Jan delivery ah? Ah well.. oKies, will just have to wait biggrin.gif
I only saw upgrade from Mar to Feb delivery. Never seen Jan delivery in their website.
tinkerbel
post Jan 10 2017, 07:12 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

QUOTE(Hanabi12 @ Jan 10 2017, 05:20 PM)
I only saw upgrade from Mar to Feb delivery. Never seen Jan delivery in their website.
Lol in anycase, it's already Jan.. will just wait lah. How are you enjoying your MBP?
Hanabi12
post Jan 10 2017, 08:58 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jan 10 2017, 07:12 PM)
Lol in anycase, it's already Jan.. will just wait lah.  How are you enjoying your MBP?
So far so good. Cannot really feel the difference of speed between model 2015 and 2016. One thing surprise me is I rarely see glitch or bug on this new MBP. Tot new model there might be some software optimisation needed.

Now just patiently waiting for the new dongle to come in order to save the hassle of airdropping every single file that I need to transfer.

What about u? Satisfy with the battery performance? Haha
dreamthief
post Jan 10 2017, 09:01 PM

Banned
2,672 posts

QUOTE(kevink82 @ Jan 10 2017, 11:14 AM)
Usually about 8 hrs on the 13 inch touch bar, non touch bar base spec can reach 10 hrs since the battery is bigger and the cpu is 18w. How bright is ur screen??

And also 5-6 hrs just browsing web is a bit low is brightness is 50% try the latest beta or install instat to c how much power everything is using.
QUOTE(kappa500 @ Jan 10 2017, 11:58 AM)
What browser are you using ?
Last time also i have same problem if i use Chrome (especially when opening gmail and leave it there) , it somehow drain my battery out very fast and CPU FAN is on, macbook body hot.

Since i switch back to safari and i don't have such issue anymore.
Battery 100% use it from 9am and at 6pm still remain 25%. (macbook pro 2016 15inch)

If you frequent hear your macbook fan is running you might need to suspect the app such as , browser advertisement movie window is opened but didn't realise, some app keep reloading etc.
Using chrome. All my settings, didn't change. Just out of the box, cause wanted to gauge battery life, performance and etc.

I do that for iPhones as well. Later only I will tweak and fine tune to what I need.

Probably now is due to using chrome the battery killer I guess. Let me see use Safari any difference.

Thanks both. Other forums too pro apple or anti. Asking honest question like this, get two extremes views. smile.gif
kevink82
post Jan 10 2017, 09:41 PM

1,134 posts

QUOTE(dreamthief @ Jan 10 2017, 09:01 PM)
Using chrome. All my settings, didn't change. Just out of the box, cause wanted to gauge battery life, performance and etc.

I do that for iPhones as well. Later only I will tweak and fine tune to what I need.

Probably now is due to using chrome the battery killer I guess. Let me see use Safari any difference.

Thanks both. Other forums too pro apple or anti. Asking honest question like this, get two extremes views. smile.gif
Well think of this way battery isn't as good as previous model but it charges much faster so I don't really mind.

101 Pages « < 97 98 99 100 101 >Top

0.0316sec    1.06    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 07:07 AM