32 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

Insurance Talk V3, Anything and everything about insurance

lifebalance
post May 29 2016, 07:07 PM

Licensed Financial Planner & Financial Adviser's Rep.
10,162 posts

QUOTE(ragk @ May 29 2016, 07:05 PM)
Hi, im looking at this travel insurance
https://digital.axa.com.my/travel-insurance-malaysia#
So i just fill up the form, pay with credit card, everything are done? No document/agent contact require?
Yeap
lifebalance
post May 30 2016, 02:39 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(ocyrus @ May 30 2016, 02:35 PM)
Hi, I'm looking to meet up with an insurance agent this week for life and medical insurance. What are some of the questions I should ask her?
Probably anything that you don't understand ?

What are you looking for ?
lifebalance
post May 31 2016, 07:58 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(toobad @ May 31 2016, 07:46 PM)
Hi guys, question on car insurance.

What is the difference if we purchase directly from Allianz (through their tele-sales ppl) or we if purchase through their agents?

Any pros and cons?
Not sure how they operate but I think allianz still charge the same. The sales person who called or the agent you deal with still earns commission 10%
lifebalance
post Jun 1 2016, 04:07 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(Vingoh @ Jun 1 2016, 04:04 PM)
Hi, any prudential agent can quote me insurance plan ( medical card, life insurance, pa..)  with premium not more than rm300? Female, non smoker, 34 years old, housewife.
Coverage is very subjective. You should first get a life planner to evaluate your financial standing and then from there design a custom plan that is fit based on your financial evaluation.

lifebalance
post Jun 3 2016, 05:43 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(psyconutss @ Jun 3 2016, 05:38 PM)
Hi guys, would like some assistant with medical insurance.

There was another thread on Allianz Powerlink medical package, so just to cut to the chase are they good enough? Anyone can share any experience they had with this package? Are they purely medical insurance or a hybrid of medical and investment?

In the insurance market there is only standalone medical card or investment linked medical card. No matter how you package it this is the base.
lifebalance
post Jun 6 2016, 11:10 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(kagamistar @ Jun 6 2016, 10:26 AM)
Guys, please don't laught at me bcos I'm noob.

Just graduated last two months and still seeking for the job. Now I am 28y o , non smoker, healthy..just that i am still penganggur. But monthly i have my own income like 1500.. guess now it is time to get the life insurance for myself. Hence any recommendations for me to figure which insurance that may suit for me. Thanks
If 1500 per month. You can opt for standalone medical card first. Later can change to a better package once you get higher income. Maybe can add on a PA if you travel alot
lifebalance
post Jun 6 2016, 12:10 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(kagamistar @ Jun 6 2016, 11:46 AM)
Yep!! I read some posts from v1 if i'm not mistaken:find agent that really wants to enhance his/her career as insurance agent. Heard some chit chat from family members (big family i mean) gaduh because of issue on insurance agent recommendation. Thus, that's why i read from the discussions here and prefer to ask here. Alright jiuhwei! Thank you so much for the advice!
Choose agent also have to argue ... face palm
lifebalance
post Jun 6 2016, 04:19 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(vicentliew @ Jun 6 2016, 04:08 PM)
Hi guys, would like get some advises from you all.

Could anyone explain to me what is LIFELINK? I have committed one Lifelink under prudential, monthly premium is RM200.

Normally, this kind of policy can commit how many years? Does it worthy for long term?

If I terminate this policy after I had paid one year of premium (roughly RM2,400), how much i can claim back?

Thank you for you all advise.  confused.gif
Well I'm not sure about the detail about Lifelink but if it's an investment plan policy.

Investment policy plans nowadays run until 100 yr old so you're committing until 100 year old unless you choose to terminate earlier. Worthiness depends on how the plan cater to your need for coverage.

If you terminate the plan in your first year, most likely you'll be getting back only 10 - 20% of the amount you've paid.

It's not advisable to simply cancel a policy as it's a long term commitment. If your policy is still new and the policy has yet to be delivered to you, you have 15 days free-look period to re-think about your policy.
lifebalance
post Jun 6 2016, 05:03 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(vicentliew @ Jun 6 2016, 05:00 PM)
Thank you for your advise.

During I purchased these policy, the agent told me the suitable time for termination will be 4 and 5 years. Is it reliability?

Does this kind of policy will lost the premium in short term? Because I tracked the unit of value only RM900, which net loss roughly RM1,500 compared the premium i paid.

Highly appreciated your advise.

Thank you.  :thumbsup:
Wah first time I heard an agent advise to terminate the policy 5 years later while selling a new one...

It will definitely lose money in the short term. It's a long term plan, if you cancel now then like you said will get back very little money.
lifebalance
post Jun 7 2016, 04:12 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(Freedom15 @ Jun 7 2016, 04:02 PM)
All sifus here, I am just curious, can we claim from medical insurance when doing medical checkup?
Nope, Medical Check Up is considered as personal health check, unless it leads to the doctor requiring you to be hospitalize after the check up
lifebalance
post Jun 10 2016, 06:30 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(TechMy @ Jun 10 2016, 05:47 PM)
Great Eastern ILP Review  rclxm9.gif
I would like to have an Open Case study to see if there's any Great Eastern Agent would like to provide free Review and Explanation for policy attached.
Below is My Policy, which i adjust to my preference.

Prefer to have more info about each of the Benefits and what does it really cover???
Such as what is Great Income Rider (mean i sick liao got income?)

What is IL Premium Waiver Extra Rider (i paying rm3.54 monthly, rm37,320 means i sick liao then noneed to pay anything after... but i didn't know it is rm3.54 so high before purchasing... maybe need to cancel this one, add back when i am over 50 years old  doh.gif )

As any explanation here would be big plus to other buyers (who see) to purchase Great Eastern ILP. Thanks!!

Any advice from knowledgeable Great Eastern agent is highly appreciated, because insurance is quite complicated for me.
Is my adjustment like that okay?  hmm.gif
Noneed PM, let's have open discussions. Thank you very much~!

Thanks again..  laugh.gif
Such as what is Great Income Rider (mean i sick liao got income?)
- Provides yearly cash income should disability occur to the life assured.

What is IL Premium Waiver Extra Rider (i paying rm3.54 monthly, rm37,320 means i sick liao then noneed to pay anything after... but i didn't know it is rm3.54 so high before purchasing... maybe need to cancel this one, add back when i am over 50 years old  doh.gif )
- Waiver of premium is in the event of Total Permanent Disability or Critical Illness, your premium is waived until X amount of years depending on rider benefit

This post has been edited by lifebalance: Jun 10 2016, 06:30 PM
lifebalance
post Jun 11 2016, 09:00 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(aijiet @ Jun 11 2016, 03:19 AM)
May I know which company? AIA or Alliance?
Guaranteed renewal without any changes to the policy?

Interested to get medical plan for my parents, aged 59 n 61 yrs old.
He's referring the above as AIA
lifebalance
post Jun 11 2016, 04:10 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(Tun Mahathir @ Jun 11 2016, 03:57 PM)
I've been jobless (well I do some side business to sustain myself) for half a year now, recently my ex colleague invited me to join him as insurance agent. His aunt, which is also an insurance agent registered me for the exam under her employer which is AIA and even offered to bear the exam fees for me first. No contracts or even verbal agreement have been set though, I am honestly still unsure which company I should apply for when I passed the exam.

She insists that I take up the offer of full time agent, explaining that there's a basic pay scale which differs based on targets. Though I have my doubts because I am still actively finding a job, so I was planning to start as part time first in case a job pops up and I can still keep doing insurance. I do understand the commitment that is needed even as a part timer even if without minimum targets, or else might as well get terminated right  wink.gif

Just sharing  laugh.gif
From the look of it, you're not so suitable to be an agent if you're not confident in this industry. Make up your mind before you even think about joining insurance industry.

lifebalance
post Jun 12 2016, 09:33 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(SGSuser @ Jun 12 2016, 09:26 PM)
are pceia & ceilli open book exams?
Ya it is
lifebalance
post Jun 13 2016, 12:03 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(cybersim2 @ Jun 13 2016, 11:54 AM)
Looking at AIA Investment link insurance. How to choose what fund to invest ?
Looking at medium + long term + medium risk above fund ?
Any recommendation ?
You may try

AIA Asian Debt Fund
AIA Balanced Fund
AIA Dana Progresif
AIA Eleven Plus Fund
PB Income Plus 2 Fund
PB Income Plus Fund
A-Dana Balanced

Otherwise kindly refer to https://www.aia.com.my/en/our-products/inve...nked-funds.html
lifebalance
post Jun 13 2016, 01:59 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(cybersim2 @ Jun 13 2016, 01:52 PM)
Thanks. How many fund shud I choose for initial setup ?
1 - 3, too many different funds will just make it too diversified.
lifebalance
post Jun 13 2016, 02:26 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(stp @ Jun 13 2016, 02:18 PM)
Hi all, i would like to get your advice on upgrading my current life insurance and medical card coverage. My profile are as follows:

1. 39 years old
2. Non-smoker
3. Non hazardous job (executive)
4. No previous serious medical conditions

How much would it cost to increase my life insurance coverage (100K to 500K) and medical card coverage (from 200K to 1M lifetime limit).

Is it cheaper to upgrade together as a package or separately? My current policy is under once package.

I'm just looking at other options other than my current policy. Thanks for the advice.
You may upgrade from existing policy or if you want variety then you can choose another insurance company.

There is no hard and fast rule on which is right or wrong.

Premium is more the less similar, most important is the agent you choose servicing you.
lifebalance
post Jun 13 2016, 04:32 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(stp @ Jun 13 2016, 04:18 PM)
Thanks lifebalance for your inputs.

Have any of your clients encountered this before - when their life policy and medical card was purchased earlier, there's no exclusions as the client was still healthy.

However, after a few years later when the client wants to upgrade, there is an exclusion imposed,as there has been a consultation with a clinical specialist. My case is a consultation with an ENT specialist on my sensitive nose (frequent sinus problems). However, no operations was conducted, as medical prescriptions was made to control the issue.

Can insurance companies have an exclusion on 'upper respiratory diseases and related' just based on this consultations? I find this an over-reaction (from a consumer's perspective).

Nope the insurance company can't do so unless you want to apply for an upgrade and you've declared of such condition. Otherwise the insurance company will honour the contract on the inception of the policy based on all health declaration.
lifebalance
post Jun 13 2016, 09:54 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(stp @ Jun 13 2016, 09:35 PM)
Thanks for your explanation.

Yup that's what happened. When I applied for an upgrade recently, I had to also inform my agent of my latest medical condition. As a result, the exclusion was added to the new proposal as I've informed about my current sensitive nose condition which requires a specialist consultation.

What I was surprised was the exclusion was for 'upper respiratory diseases and related', whose definition to me was very broad, despite my issue was my sensitive nose, which leads to occasional flu, urti and sinus.

This exclusion is now giving me doubts on whether I want to accept the new proposal, or to get another insurer's  opinion/quotation.

As my life policy is packaged with the medical card, and its been 8 years with cash value accumulated, i may just want to retain my current plan and look for another life policy and medical card without may exclusions from other insurers.
If you prefer, you may keep your current old medical card that doesn't include any exclusion and get a new one that covers everything except your sensitive nose condition.
lifebalance
post Jun 14 2016, 12:54 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(stp @ Jun 14 2016, 10:29 AM)
Thanks again for your views lifebalance. I'll most likely do this.
No problem. You're welcome

32 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.1004sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:09 AM