5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Loyalty Cards Frequent Flyer and Traveler Loyalty Card, Air Miles and Hotel Discussion

knwong
post Jul 13 2022, 02:25 PM

3,559 posts

QUOTE(Toku @ Jul 13 2022, 01:11 PM)
Any SG card can beat M2P in terms of RM1 : 1KF? Aren't they mostly good in cash back?
I read it somewhere in the forum even foreign cards can't compete with M2P in terms of getting KF.
Even before COVID time, many cc in Singapore are able to offer 4 miles per dollar
knwong
post Jul 20 2022, 10:07 PM

3,559 posts

QUOTE(sadukarzz @ Jul 20 2022, 03:19 PM)
hmmmm i recently bought air tickets

i have to say, u really have to read the travel insurance fine print

for m2plat, which is covered by etiqa, the flight delay / luggage loss portion made me scratch my head

"This
benefit does not apply if the flight delay is in the Covered
Person’s Country of Residence."

so if i fly from malaysia means this is not applicable

in other words, it renders the insurance useless

=============

lounge access card essentially its for lounge access only

u can get sia plat, and keep it, use it when u fly or when the place u spend accepts amex but not grab

since sia plat is tied with maybank, ur spending can request to waive for the card AF (i bet its gonna come with conditions, but from personal experience not hard to achieve)

same goes for AEON big gold (spend 500 on grab, reload tng using grab) = done, for AF, swipe at parking lot every month = settle

HSBC, same, swipe in parking lot (visa sig need spend 1x every month consecutively for 12x month) = settle

the service tax rm25 i take it as subscribing fee for the banks cc, its per annum so i dont see too big of a deal there
Always get an enhanced travel insurance especially if you travel now is a nightmare everywhere. Dont rely solely on cc one

I for instance had my luggage delayed by 10 days late while travel back from UK last month. Initially thinking it’s lost forever.

knwong
post Aug 2 2022, 12:41 PM

3,559 posts

QUOTE(PoisonSoul @ Aug 2 2022, 12:24 PM)

Effective 1st September 2022
M2C = RM1.4 : 1 AirMile
M2GP = RM2.8 : 1 AirMile
40% increase
For M2C Premier only qualified spending that falls into 5X category can get RM1.4 : 1 AirMile

If not, it's RM7 = 1 Mile

Can switch to other better cards like Krisflyer Amex, CitiPM where you can get RM2.5 or RM4.5 to 1 AirMile respectively
knwong
post Sep 12 2022, 10:31 PM

3,559 posts

QUOTE(Drinho22 @ Sep 12 2022, 09:31 PM)
For that, this shall be the details.

The best card for overseas spend is UOB Visa Infinite Metal Card.

x8 for overseas spend, 4.5:1 redemption rate.

so RM 1 spent = 1.78 mile AM / KF / EM
The 3k annual fee waivable?
knwong
post Sep 12 2022, 11:23 PM

3,559 posts

QUOTE(charlesj @ Sep 12 2022, 11:18 PM)
Think of aum 3m first before thinking about af waiver
Got it

Even if I have it but all park elsewhere and trying to move then here makes no sense at all just for the sake of this card
knwong
post Sep 29 2022, 11:27 AM

3,559 posts

QUOTE(maiself @ Sep 29 2022, 11:11 AM)
The new CIMB Travel World Elite among 1 of the best conversion to Air Miles..

RM1 = 1 Air miles (Enrich, Flying Blue, Eva Air, Etihad Guest, BA Exec CLub, Turkish Airline)

RM1.50 = 1 Air Miles (QA Privilege Club, Emirates Skywards, Asia Miles)

RM2 = 1 Air Miles for Japan Airlines
How to apply for new customer?
knwong
post Sep 29 2022, 12:37 PM

3,559 posts

QUOTE(adurian @ Sep 29 2022, 12:15 PM)
annual fee seems quite steep for CIMB Travel World Elite
QUOTE(francis226 @ Sep 29 2022, 12:23 PM)
Are you refering to cimb enrich world elite? Checked on cimb website, it going to discon by 1st Jan 2023, didnt see any new replacement yet

for enrich world elite, RM1 = 1 miles points is for oversea spending, whereas local spending RM2 = 1 milespoint
https://www.cimb.com.my/en/personal/promoti...redit-card.html

If it comes with complimentary 4 nights hotel stay I think it's worth it if stay at expensive cities
knwong
post Nov 18 2022, 12:05 PM

3,559 posts

Just entered SATS Blossom at Changi T4. Not crowded, big open airy space and great choice of food and liquor
knwong
post Nov 19 2022, 06:05 AM

3,559 posts

QUOTE(peigeng @ Nov 19 2022, 05:53 AM)
which malaysia issued card allow to enter?
MBB VI
knwong
post May 19 2023, 07:28 PM

3,559 posts

QUOTE(Super2047 @ May 19 2023, 06:07 PM)
Hi, mind to share how to get the 5x if MU win a EPL? It's the day after MU win a EPL match or the day before?
No loophole if ever think of it. 5x on the same day they win. Usually match is after our midnight
knwong
post May 19 2023, 08:27 PM

3,559 posts

QUOTE(Super2047 @ May 19 2023, 07:42 PM)
Say if the game ended Malaysia time 11.30pm Saturday, so the spending throughout that entire Saturday got 5x?
Yes
knwong
post May 20 2023, 12:26 AM

3,559 posts

QUOTE(diversity @ May 20 2023, 12:13 AM)
Guys,

Recently one of my colleague told me he managed to redeem business class flight for him, his wife and child to go NZ. He said he only accumulated the points for a year or two. I asked how he did it because he's not a heavy spender or frequent flyer.

He replied that he could abuse the system by fabricating spending (such as the TNG reload in the past, he said he uses many apps). Just out of curiosity, does it make sense?

Sorry for potentially a very dumb question, but I'm a noob in this field. He said his business flight would've cost MYR80k for each person.
It’s known as manufactured spending. Not entirely free. Got to plan the right strategy and time to do all this. You need to weigh the risk

RM80k per pax I think your friend boasting there. Just go check airline website you’ll know
knwong
post Jul 25 2023, 12:39 PM

3,559 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jul 25 2023, 12:30 PM)
Just thought I'd share the power of funneling all your spending into KrisFlyer points. I have 2 cards which allow me to do KrisFlyer conversion, at no additional cost:

1. AMEX PPS card:

2. MayBank's Diamante Visa card:

And because I'm a PPS member, my KrisFlyer points never expire, and because I usually purchase the premium classes (Business or First/Suite) I wish to fly (as using redemption usually means I'm put on the waitlist, given the scarcity of seat availability on SQ flights post COVID), I've not really had a chance to use the points over the past 3 years. I've used a small fraction of the points to redeem flights back to Manila for my domestic helper (she goes home whenever we spend more than a month away in Sydney), but here's what nearly 3 years of funneling everything into KrisFlyer points, in addition to double points with AMEX PPS whenever I use that to purchase SQ premium class tickets, gets you:

(full disclosure, I paid for an overseas purchase of my Porsche cars in Sydney with my Diamante card, so that accounted for a huge chunk of KrisFlyer points. I also paid for all the white goods and renovations of the house in Sydney on either one of those cards, so those major/big ticket items really racked up the points more so than the usual montly spending would).

The trouble is, I don't know when would I ever get a chance to redeem those points - I don't want to lose my PPS status, so I keep purchasing SQ tickets with my AMEX cards, which gives me double the usual KrisFlyer points earned... it's a vicious cycle with no end!
Good problem you have there
knwong
post Jul 31 2023, 05:30 PM

3,559 posts

QUOTE(francis226 @ Jul 31 2023, 05:24 PM)
Didnt see your post asking about PP digital card. I use PP apps to enter lounge, easier to check the lounge list and locate them, and less card to carry.
There's one PP lounge in Sama-Sama Hotel KLIA...they ask for credit card to swipe...can't just show the digital PP app
knwong
post Jul 31 2023, 06:12 PM

3,559 posts

QUOTE(francis226 @ Jul 31 2023, 05:49 PM)
Thanks info, never check in this lounge yet. is this lounge good? usually go PPL first or PPL.
Haven't patron the lounge...it's an open lounge at the hotel lobby. Just so happen to pass by so I ask about it
knwong
post Aug 9 2023, 01:32 PM

3,559 posts

QUOTE(jerantut2011 @ Aug 9 2023, 01:30 PM)
Saw this from credit card group in Facebook.

The person must have been hugely disappointed as Enrich Saver seats are no longer available. Lesson to learn - Enrich promotions are sometimes a trap!
Krisflyer every month will have list of Savers promo...30% off. Worth it...
knwong
post Aug 9 2023, 01:46 PM

3,559 posts

QUOTE(BuKeYi @ Aug 9 2023, 01:34 PM)
ya, now I more towards on Krisflyer instead of Enrich
Too bad we don't many FFP option that our cc can transfer to...very very limited

This post has been edited by knwong: Aug 9 2023, 01:47 PM
knwong
post Aug 9 2023, 10:55 PM

3,559 posts

QUOTE(Zegoon681111 @ Aug 9 2023, 10:38 PM)
Do you have cimb TWE?

The FFP is quite good,better than m2p and amex  platinum
No I don’t. Of all the banks CIMB is one that I dislike the most. Always gave me banking problem. I’m avoiding them at all cost
knwong
post Oct 2 2023, 06:42 PM

3,559 posts

QUOTE(labtec @ Oct 2 2023, 06:15 PM)
UOB PRVI Miles Elite Card is pretty good for Miles collection

Oversea spending able to redeem 1.11 miles per RM1 based on my own calculation. Is my calculation correct?
This card Annual free RM600 cannot waive right?
knwong
post Dec 4 2023, 05:27 PM

3,559 posts

I noticed this thread predominantly discuss about credit card and air miles despite the topic also covers hotel and others

Anyone has success in claiming BRG successfully with Marriott? If yes, usually which site did you refer to? Planning for my Seoul trip next Feb but so far I check many 3rd party sites are not exactly cheaper

This post has been edited by knwong: Dec 4 2023, 05:37 PM

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.1065sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:43 AM