6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Loyalty Cards Frequent Flyer and Traveler Loyalty Card, Air Miles and Hotel Discussion

dctravels
post Nov 9 2016, 11:04 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(db07mufan @ Nov 9 2016, 10:55 PM)
LH First Terminal !!
Rubber duckies, Porsche tarmac ride notworthy.gif
dctravels
post Nov 10 2016, 06:37 AM

222 posts

T-9. Here's what's coming.

The routing: KCH-SIN-BOM-DEL-DOH-BKK-KUL-KCH

The cabins:
MH J
SQ Suites
UK J (really looking forward to trying out Vistara)
QR J (787 Dreamliner)
QR F (is it good enough to warrant BKK-DOH-CDG?)

The lounges:
KCH MH Golden Lounge
SIN The Private Room
BOM GVK Lounge
DEL (Skipping)
DOH Al Safwa
BKK CX Lounge

I'll try to take more pictures and do a more in-depth review this time.
dctravels
post Nov 10 2016, 10:00 AM

222 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Nov 10 2016, 09:51 AM)
Don't forget the 99 euro Porsche 911 rental biggrin.gif
Of course you won't let me forget that! biggrin.gif

I need to step up my research on ways towards EY Apartments, EK and LH F redemptions. Treapoints - KF - Velocity way is there, so is purchasing miles etc. Tempted, but not for now. Maybe I'll do it after seeing your report!
dctravels
post Nov 10 2016, 10:03 AM

222 posts

QUOTE(JC_jun @ Nov 10 2016, 09:54 AM)
accor hotel, all 3 status card collected in 1 year.

[attachmentid=7997538]
Well done! Any status matching possibilities?

dctravels
post Nov 10 2016, 10:29 AM

222 posts

QUOTE(db07mufan @ Nov 10 2016, 10:11 AM)
QR J! Looking forward to my trip in January. I've only got Al Mourjan though not Al Safwa sad.gif

CX BKK Lounge is pretty neat, yummy pad thai. But gets a tad too crowded
Can easily get access to Al Safwa by including a regional "First Class" ticket in your itinerary.

Cool, will be sure to try the pad thai. We're arriving early in the morning around 7AM so hopefully it won't be too crowded then. BKK was a stopover that turned into a layover so I've got around 4 hours to kill at BKK.

This post has been edited by dctravels: Nov 10 2016, 10:31 AM
dctravels
post Nov 10 2016, 11:03 AM

222 posts

QUOTE(db07mufan @ Nov 10 2016, 10:40 AM)
Yeah, dropping by in CAI next June. Just to try Al Safwa, i hope the country doesn't collapses by then. Meanwhile Al Mourjan will do. Took MH785 a few weeks back, the lounge gets very very crowded after 9am, it's hard to even get a seat at the lounge area. Plenty of seats at the noodle bar. Breakfast menu is a bit meh, pad thai comes after 11am IIRC. Then again it's the best OW lounge in BKK, Sakura is a bit dated.
Yet to tick Egypt off the list. Should have done it some time ago. How long will you be there for?

Re CX Lounge: thanks for the heads-up buddy, will make sure I get to the lounge earlier then.

dctravels
post Nov 10 2016, 01:17 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(db07mufan @ Nov 10 2016, 01:02 PM)
Just 3 nights in CAI. Am just worried about the political status there again. Doesn't look good recently
I see. Same problem here. Pollution in New Delhi has skyrocketed. It's the most polluted city on earth right now.

We backed out of an Egypt to Israel "pilgrimage" tour (backdoor way for Malaysian atheists like myself to visit Jerusalem) many years back. Should have done it in hindsight when tourism was still vibrant there.

This post has been edited by dctravels: Nov 10 2016, 01:18 PM
dctravels
post Nov 10 2016, 02:30 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Nov 9 2016, 11:19 PM)
Enjoy the SQ suites!

LH F cost me 140k United miles plus another US$160 or so in taxes and close-in fees.
I read LH F only releases award seats for partner airlines 2 weeks out, is this correct?
dctravels
post Nov 16 2016, 06:36 AM

222 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Nov 16 2016, 12:30 AM)
I acted like a peasant and grabbed the leftover Rimowa amenity kits when the rest of the F passengers left leaving theirs behind. biggrin.gif
Well done, this peasant would have done the same thing. They are Rimowa after all.... lol
dctravels
post Nov 30 2016, 10:27 AM

222 posts

QUOTE(giggsyy @ Nov 29 2016, 10:38 PM)
I'm actually in the situation as you...haha...thinking of flying to the states but dunno which among the 3 is the best to park my points... how much easier is asiamiles to get the tickets instead of krisflyer?
Redeeming SQ to US is quite tough. I would think you will stand a better chance with CX. For Enrich, I have no experience redeeming Emirates flights so can't comment.

On a separate note, I've started posting my reviews on my recent trip to India/Qatar on my blog.

Will do a SQ Suites vs QR F comparison towards the end. Those interested can start reading here:
dctravels
post Dec 4 2016, 03:32 PM

222 posts

BrandNewStart, as discussedI am ok with a meet-up either online or offline. Online whatsapp group should be good. Let me know. For those interested, please click the link for the article, thanks!

dctravels
post Dec 10 2016, 12:08 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(db07mufan @ Dec 5 2016, 01:24 AM)
Whatsapp group would be a good start .
QUOTE(tishaban @ Dec 9 2016, 07:28 PM)
I'm game, ping me if you ever start the whatsapp or do an offline meet.
I'm in, I'll message bro genxyz via FB soon.

QUOTE(puddited @ Dec 9 2016, 02:43 PM)
I am not very familiar with starwood. mind explaining how does it work?
Excellent overview here.

dctravels
post Dec 13 2016, 10:38 AM

222 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Dec 13 2016, 09:18 AM)
Finally got mine

rclxms.gif
dctravels
post Dec 18 2016, 03:59 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(nestahng @ Dec 12 2016, 07:35 AM)
Count me in too smile.gif
QUOTE(ksc_3688 @ Dec 15 2016, 11:56 AM)
Hi bro. Would love to join the WhatsApp group. Do let me know once you start it. Looking forwards.  rclxms.gif
QUOTE(giggsyy @ Dec 18 2016, 08:55 AM)
Same here!
Since the group was created by BrandNewStart I leave it to him? You guys can PM him accordingly.
dctravels
post Jan 1 2017, 08:43 AM

222 posts

QUOTE(digidigi @ Dec 31 2016, 03:23 PM)
hi guys, if I have around 1m treat points from 2 card premier and another 200k KF miles, which airline and FFP I should look for if I want to redeem 2 round trip first class to New York, up to one year booking ahead is fine for me, of course earlier is better, thanks for help.
QUOTE(tishaban @ Jan 1 2017, 07:25 AM)
SQ Suites is notoriously hard to get but definitely doable a year out.
Seeing you've got 200k KF already it seems SQ is the only choice for you but the problem as tishaban has pointed out, SIN-JFK is VERY HARD to get. You will be lucky to get ONE Suites Saver, let alone TWO. Booking 355 days in advance doesn't help much either for this route in my experience. You can't even waitlist for Saver on most dates! SQ's YQ fees are very high as well. Let us know how you go.

Happy New Year everybody!
dctravels
post Jan 1 2017, 11:32 AM

222 posts

QUOTE(db07mufan @ Jan 1 2017, 11:28 AM)
I know, but there is no blanket 'ONEWORLD REDEMPTION' term per se. Asiamiles has Oneworld Multicarrier Award ticket (is this what he meant?) that requires you calling CS to book your ticket. That requires 2 carriers at least one being CX.

BAEC is a oneworld partner and partner redemptions using Avios can be done online. If he could be more specific, we can help him out better.
I think he's referring to Enrich "oneworld redemption":
http://www.malaysiaairlines.com/my/en/enri...r-airlines.html

dctravels
post Jan 2 2017, 07:59 AM

222 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Jan 1 2017, 12:10 PM)
Thanks guys. Yes, I am referring to OneWorld through Enrich. Just wondering comparing this with redemption via Asia Miles for CX first class to US, which one is better value for money? Ie requires less miles
Asia Miles require 220k miles for CX F return to US. Enrich requires 264k miles. Actually you can just get the figures from the charts. confused.gif
dctravels
post Jan 2 2017, 09:52 AM

222 posts

QUOTE(yewlaiselangau @ Jan 2 2017, 09:14 AM)
Thank you for advise, sifu. Since using direct redemption require more miles eg. 110000 for business class, so i am thinking to redeem through Multi-carrier redemption on oneworld member airlines since only require 70,000 if i above said is workable. How about if I redeem kuching to Kuala lumpur using Mas and kuala lumpur to tokyo using Japan airlines, is it workable for multi-carrier redemption?? Really need the advise. Thank you.
Greetings from a fellow Kuchingnite!

Are you planning to use Asia Miles or Enrich? I only have experience with Asia Miles and from the above, you should be able to to do multi-carrier redemption, provided there's award seats available for your dates.
dctravels
post Jan 4 2017, 12:19 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(herc @ Jan 4 2017, 11:05 AM)
OT: Went in The Pier at HKIA yesterday... so nice of it, wife say layover 10 hours no problem laugh.gif
Good to hear! We've got a few hours and am planning to convince the gang to make the trek to the Pier.
dctravels
post Jan 4 2017, 02:50 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(herc @ Jan 4 2017, 02:36 PM)
Walking from reception to the last area, the relaxation lounge took u 5~8mins d
Not surprising, at over 35,000 square feet the place is huge biggrin.gif

Where are you off to/coming back from?

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0245sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled