Battle of the +/- rm7k TVs, + Discussion on Sharp UE630X

SUSjdgobio
post Mar 5 2016, 08:23 AM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Mar 4 2016, 11:15 PM)
Sure the Android TV OS is still in its early stages, however, that's not an excuse for Sharp shipping out a defective firmware. Especially since other devices like the Nvidia Shield TV box or Nexus player running Android TV, handle such issues properly.. As for Plex, it's nice and all, basically I prefer getting the full HD video and audio experience. Don't care much for network latency, transcoding, audio downmixing, PCM and extra decoding.
Depending on your media server, plex will be limited. My nas can't handle transcoding. So I only use it to stream. It's still quite slow to use plex on tv. It's a good option but limited by server/nas capability and the tv's own processor.

The interface and meta file download is awesome though.
SUSjdgobio
post Mar 5 2016, 08:28 AM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(susu_capbadak @ Mar 4 2016, 11:38 PM)
If like that I choose wrong tv liao haha, should have get samsung. When I started to research I was looking for lcd to do 3 main things, watch astro, watch youtube and play files from pendrive on that order
There is no perfect tv. You gain some and you lose some. I think your tv is good enough but has some shortcomings that can be worked around using the android tv.
SUSjdgobio
post Mar 5 2016, 05:16 PM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(gme @ Mar 5 2016, 04:29 PM)
how about 65 Samsung ju6000?price?
picture quality compare to sharp 65 630x?
tq sifu2
This is the most basic model. Pls avoid if you can. Go for 7 series and higher if you want samsung.

SUSjdgobio
post Mar 6 2016, 12:03 PM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(gme @ Mar 6 2016, 03:47 AM)
tq sifu..
so, 65 ju7500 vs 65 630x,which is the best for picture quality?
I'm plasma fan... cry.gif ...not like led tv before..
Then you will have to go for oled or high end leds like the JS9000. You may not be satisfied with mid end leds.
Anyway best for you to check yourself and fund out what looks good to you.
SUSjdgobio
post Mar 7 2016, 10:31 AM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 7 2016, 01:42 AM)
i got good news for you - i found a way to playback usb on the tv reliably! biggrin.gif

i spent a couple of hours reading anything i could find on the subject then tried a few things.

the answer is two fold:

.. DO NOT use usb1 (at the side, left) - i think this drive is usb3.0, blue in color, may be too sensitive to plug ins and outs, diff hdd's, etc. use one of the other 2 at the back which looks like usb2.0 to me.

.. DO NOT use native player. use... KODI! thumbup.gif just install direct from playstore, version jarvis 16.0.

you can then play with video->files->sdcard; the hdd folders will show. and if u r familiar with kodi, it's easy to navigate, get subs, etc.

i tried all 3 usb drives, tried Kodi, VLC, MX, ES file explorer. Kodi is by far, the best.

i never liked using kodi for usb playback on my boxes since the native players are easier to use and superior for hd audio pass thru. so, here, i finally get to use it that way! laugh.gif

one more thing - don't worry about usb extension cables. i tried it, no problem. and chances are it will be required since the usb2 and 3 ports are somewhat hidden at the back.
one thing clear to me now is this sharp ue630x... while the android inside is pretty good, the usb drive/player is poor. strange they try to stinge on that. anyway, glad there is an acceptable solution. wink.gif
That's good news and useful for future buyers smile.gif

I think tv manufacturers are moving towards the smart functions and are leaving the old USB playback via built-in media player behind. Even my Samsung JS7200's USB media player is mediocre compared to using DLNA servers and files supported is much less compared to DLNA. I guess using apps is the way to go and forget about using native players.
SUSjdgobio
post Mar 7 2016, 10:54 AM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(gme @ Mar 6 2016, 01:04 PM)
x cukup bajet bro... cry.gif
Have to compromise somewhere. I think there are good options in the mid-end with the Sharp 630X, Samsung JS7200 and Panasonic CX600 / CX700. The sharp has better black levels, the samsung & pana have WCG so the colours are amazing but they are both IPS so black levels are not so good. If your budget allows it the Sony X8500C is amazing but pricey (but cheaper than other Samsung & Sony high end LEDs).

In high-end LEDs it's all between Samsung & Sony now. But the price is so close to OLED that one might as well consider OLEDs. Mid-end there are more models to consider but with Philips & Toshiba not releasing new models for 2015, there is only Samsung, Panasonic & Sharp to consider. Sony all priced at a premium.

Did I miss out anything?

Anyone wants to provide reviews for Xiaomi & Hisense which are the budget segment?

SUSjdgobio
post Mar 7 2016, 09:34 PM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 7 2016, 07:15 PM)
tested this... no good.

kodi 16.0 jarvis struggles with 4k over wifi on this tv. buffers a lot.

kodi can playback 4k files on tv's usb, no problem.
the fact that the tv can do netflix 4k over wifi and my other android box's native player can do 4k over wifi says kodi 16.0 jarvis is not ready for 4k wifi.
Try ethernet or powerline. Should work better than wifi.
SUSjdgobio
post Mar 8 2016, 09:50 AM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(gme @ Mar 8 2016, 03:53 AM)
tq so much bro for your good information...
only 4 model in my mind now,
-Samsung 60js7200
-Samsung 65ju7500
-sharp 58 or 65 630x
-sharp 65 330x
bro..is it this model have hdr or only 4k? blush.gif
what is different js vs ju Samsung model..
tq master..
just google sony website...
wow...sony s85c-4k hdr
anobody now the price for 65"..tq
Between those choices 60JS7200 has the best picture quality due to wide colour gamut and it is also HDR capable.

JS denotes SUHD model i.e. Samsung's moniker for Quantum dot (wide colour gamut /WCG) & HDR capable TVs.
JU is the normal UHD tv without wide colour and HDR.

One thing for sure is WCG & HDR makes a huge difference in picture quality based on what I have seen on my 55" JS7200. But due to limited sources for HDR video currently, you can't sample a lot of content. The HDR on higher end TVs and 2016 "UHD Premium" certified TVs are expected to be even better due to wider contrast but this will probably be very expensive.

For the Sony S85C, it's firmware has been upgraded to support minimum HDR same as X85C. These 2 models don't fully support HDR but I don't know what their limitations are. Not sure about the price for S model but X85C 65" is now availabel for 7.8k in Lazada.

In my opinion both the JS7200 & S85C/X85C are great mid-high end choices. Personally I like the Sony better overall due to natural colours, deeper blacks and Android TV but the Samsung is very similar in quality, cheaper and has more vivid colours. So in the end the JS7200 is more bang for buck.
SUSjdgobio
post Mar 8 2016, 06:11 PM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(andrewlimkn @ Mar 8 2016, 03:18 PM)
What do you think of the choice between the Samsung 60" J6200 and Sony 65" W850C?

Perhaps not really comparable but I have shortlisted down to these as I dont really need 4k. The Sony is much more expensive than the Samsung (average now is RM6.1k vs RM4.5k) for the mere increase of size. I think the Samsung picture quality is fine, just that the bezel is thicker and not so thin.
Between those 2 the Sony of course, but whether the price difference is worth it is another matter altogether.
Samsung no longer had high end 1080p for 2015 models. The J6200 is their top HD model but it is more of a mid-range TV.

The W850C is Sony's top HD model (I haven't seen a W9XXC although there is supposed to be one - so I am assuming here) and Sony had much more HD models in 2015.

Personally I will not buy a HD TV now unless the price is really good. On the other hand some may also think to get the best HD tv they can afford coz everyone is no longer selling these TVs. If you see Sony's 2016 line-up there are only 2 HD models and they are only available up to 48 inches. So the W850C is the best HD TV currently available (excluding Oled).

While the W850C is very good for a HD tv, it does not compare to even a mid-end 4K TV. 4K tvs are just awesome and for 6k+ you should be able to find a reasonably good one like the Sharp UE630X or Panasonic CX600.

This post has been edited by jdgobio: Mar 8 2016, 07:02 PM
SUSjdgobio
post Mar 8 2016, 06:29 PM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(ericlai @ Mar 8 2016, 03:27 PM)
Thanks guys! i always use the tv as a monitor in the living room, so i use PC mode. Hence, some of the settings like 'sharpness' is not available.

As for movies, i'm using Kodi from my pc to my pioneer AVR. Tested full hd Avatar yesterday, 20GB file. Picture quality is awesome. However, if u play those full hd video file around 1.4GB size, it will not look as sharp as my previous Sony full hd tv. Maybe the Sharp's 4K up scale engine is not working in PC mode? =D

Im using eco 1 now, i still find it bright at times. Eco 2 is too dim.

Besides, i also find 'red' color is more punchy than the other color with 630X.
Since you have a 4K tv now, you need to get bigger files which have higher resolution. 1.4GB is probably not even 720p. More like DVD resolution 720 x 576.

4K - 8.3 mil pixels
HD - 2.1 mil pixesl
720p - 922k pixels
DVD - 346k pixels

DVD resolution to 4K is 24 times more pixels. The TV cannot do wonders to upscale 24 times and compensate for details which are non-existent. You need at least 720p for it to look ok. 1080p should look great.

SUSjdgobio
post Mar 10 2016, 01:48 PM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(andrewlimkn @ Mar 10 2016, 11:57 AM)
I been reading that 4k is pointless as

1) you normally do not sit close enough or the size not big enough
2) there is not much 4k content now

I been watching 720p movies (as download sizes are smaller) on my PC so going HD is still upgrade for me
Rather than reading about it, why not check it out yourself and then decide? Let your eyes be the judge and if you see no difference then you have nothing to lose by foregoing 4K. Those of us here who have a good 4K tv will all vouch for the superior viewing experience of 4K Tvs.

On the distance, sitting nearer and getting a big TV is the new normal. If for some reason you can't sit nearer or can only have a small tv, then good for you coz you can then save money by not splashing it on a big 4K Tv.

On the content, yes there is not much content right now but your other 1080p content (provided it's high bitrate file / bluray disc) will look so amazing with details & colour you never realized was there before. And content will only increase from now onwards, do you want your brand new TV to downscale it to 1080p? Again it depends on whether you can see a difference in the first place. If you can't, just be happy that you don't need to waste money on a 4K tv like those who can see a difference.

Remember that when we are talking about a 4K Tv, we are talking about the whole package and not just about the resolution. The resolution by itself makes very minimal difference, but everything else makes a big enough difference. So if you are budget constrained to getting the entry level models, don't bother going 4K. Get at least a mid-level one or go for high end HD tv (whatever remains from prior years).

SUSjdgobio
post Mar 11 2016, 09:13 AM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(otromen77 @ Mar 11 2016, 08:48 AM)
Hi guys & sifu's

1st of all sorry if this post in wrong thread
Need some advice on choosing an entry level 4k tv or a high end FHD tv.
Saw this at Lazada at RM6288 (http://www.lazada.com.my/sharp-lc60le90x-quattron-pro-3d-internet-4k-ready-led-tv-60-inch-black-2337073.html)
Went to courts mamoth usj yasterday and saw Sharp LC60LE90X model selling for RM3900++ (after disc & its cash price )Need somne opinion on it.Saw other 4K tv selling in the range of near 5k above .
From my observation the PQ is superb and natural.Sound system also great and with alot of hdmi ports,Ethernet, wifi .dlna ,bluetooth and also its 3d.
In the specs sheet it shows Resolution 1,920 x 4 x 1,080 .Does it mean that it can upscale content to near 4K ?What doest it mean by 4k-ready ?
Anyone have experience with this model ?
BTW what is the price range for LC50UA330x and LC58UE630x ?
Im going for Court's installment plan .
My content Hyptv Unfi 30mbps .1080p,BRay and mkv's .

Your opinion/advise is much appreciated TQ
LE90X is not a 4K tv. It's only a FHD tv with some bullshit marketing about 4K ready. That being said, it's a reasonably good FHD tv with THX certification. If you are happy with the PQ, just get it and be happy. 3.9k for this TV is a good deal, a few months ago the cheapest I saw was 4.8k.

You can get the 58UE630X for 5k+ and the 65UE630X for 7k+
Better stay away from UA330X as it's an entry level model.

Edit:
I tried not to write this but I can't hold myself back. If you need to buy a TV on instalments, it means that you can't afford it. I know it sounds harsh but many people get into financial trouble by buying things that they don't need and can't afford. If you really want it, save money until you can afford buy it.

I don't know your financial situation and whether you really "need" a TV (coz the old one broke) or you just "want" it (coz it looks good). But I just want you to rethink the reasons properly before committing to this financial burden.

This post has been edited by jdgobio: Mar 11 2016, 09:22 AM
SUSjdgobio
post Mar 11 2016, 11:24 AM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(otromen77 @ Mar 11 2016, 09:29 AM)
In terms of upscalling is the 4k panel much better than this LC6090X?
On the smart TV function is any better than Samsung or lg webOS? Is the PQ as good as Sharp Kuro?
Edited :
Got no intention to get new TV but last week my 10 years ol 32 Toshiba lcd tv died and make me thinking to upgrade. Financially I'm ok Coz I'm only taking short term installment only. I'm not investing f sup expensive TV just nice t o compliment my br.mkv and 1080p content
You cannot compare upscaling capabilities of a HD tv against a 4K tv.
Kuro is from Pioneer not Sharp. And no, none of the TVs we are discussing are as good as the Kuros. Only Oleds are better than Kuros.

Samsung's Tizen & LG's Webos are the best at the moment. Android TV has good potential but will have to wait & see how it develops. But all of them have pros & cons. None are perfect.

Noted on the financial part. Try to keep the instalmen period short and don't stretch yourself too far.

SUSjdgobio
post Mar 16 2016, 11:22 AM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(DannyOP @ Mar 16 2016, 12:06 AM)
A revisit to Harvey Norman today looking at various full HD and 4k tvs make me realise once you get used to 4k you will find 1080p look like SD. Looking at 65" Sony W850 again suddenly make me realise how big the pixels are. Glad I got the 4k instead of 1080p TV.
Yup, what has been seen cannot be unseen.
SUSjdgobio
post Mar 16 2016, 02:20 PM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(lateboomer @ Mar 16 2016, 02:05 PM)
But I think 4k tv not entirely float my boat. I went to Pavillon Harvey last Fri to catch a glimpse of 4k tv. I saw Samsung SUHD, but the demo vid showed the veges looked so greenish like florescent lit veges, and also the green apples. The red color is the worst, the parrot after enhancement just looked like florescent bird.

It is digital color I would say, very high contrast and bright, but very artificial and not natural. The only good demo is night sky and night scene with good contrast, or documentary type of videos like travelling and building sites, but for movies.

I stayed there for some time even to look at new 8k sharp tv, which was slightly better. I think the hardest part for super 4k is to get the human skin tone color right. I saw patches of skin tone here and there. I also felt long term viewing induce eye fatigue. This is just my opinion, I am minority I guess.
TVs in store are always set to torch mode (dynamic mode). You need to change it to Movie mode for you to see how the PQ is without the backlight turned to 100%. The colour looks different because you are now seeing colours which old TVs cannot reproduce but you feel they are fake coz the brightness is turned up. Get hold of the remote and change the picture mode. Always remember that TVs need to be calibrated to suit your eyes. Some like Dynamic mode and some like Natural and so on. Everyone's eye and perception of what looks good to them is different

The SUHD tv with HDR makes the pix look real like looking through a window. It is so close to reality that 3D doesn't make sense anymore and manufacturers are ditching it. But this is a still an LCD tv, so people who have had plasma TVs can see their flaws especially on motion handling.

SUSjdgobio
post Mar 16 2016, 04:06 PM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(lateboomer @ Mar 16 2016, 02:52 PM)
You raise a good valid point. But I don't think Harvey sale person is friendly enough to let me change the settings. So the only gauge is to go to expert house to have a look. For motion handling, as far as I know, this is plasma tv strong point. Are you saying SUHD tv handles motion very smooth for all videos and totally no motion blur?
HN sales people are much better than those in other retail outlets and significantly more knowledgeable than those salesmen elsewhere. But you still need to take what they say with a pinch of salt. They are "more" knowledgeable but if you do your research you can easily surpass that. Anyway, I have never had problems with requesting them to test the tv in other modes or play your own content.

You need to re-read what I said about motion handling - flaws means imperfections.
SUSjdgobio
post Mar 16 2016, 04:11 PM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(lateboomer @ Mar 16 2016, 03:09 PM)
I guess you are saying the other way, plasma Tv has better motion handling than SUHD tv since it is still LCD tv. Am I right? Then what tv can give very good motion handling? I am using plasma tv actually.
Yup, you got it.

Again, this is something you have to judge yourself. Some people never notice the motion blur even in very bad tvs or it doesn't bother them. Anyway, the mid to high end LCDs are quite good in terms of motion handling but ex-plasma users are a picky bunch smile.gif
SUSjdgobio
post Mar 16 2016, 04:13 PM

1,010 posts

Like voncrane mentioned, if you can afford it, go for Oled. Maybe the price for 65" have already come down to 15k now.
SUSjdgobio
post Mar 30 2016, 09:27 AM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 29 2016, 10:35 PM)
on PC... 1080p, 1440p OK. 2160p cannot...

should play on 4k android box players.
PC can play 2160p, but I suppose it depends on your graphic card/integrated graphic chip. I think the reason the file will not play is due to the uncommon file type.
SUSjdgobio
post Mar 30 2016, 09:42 AM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Mar 29 2016, 10:54 PM)
This pretty much sums up why...
That is so uncool of Panasonic to come up with such proprietary file/encoding formats. mad.gif

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0537sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:47 AM