Battle of the +/- rm7k TVs, + Discussion on Sharp UE630X

AVFAN
post Mar 9 2016, 10:33 AM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(ericlai @ Mar 9 2016, 10:26 AM)
@AVFAV, voncrane, jdgobio Thanks for the input! hahah, i shall utilise more on my unifi 30. Most of the time, i wanted to watch a movie fast, so i go and download smaller file size movies =D

I tried installing kodi on the tv, however, i cant get DD or DTS through HDMI ARC to my AVR. I'm sure the movie file contain true HD audio. May i know what is the settings for it? I don wanna plug in optical cable just for the DD or DTS, there is enough cable running through my tv cabinet =D
the hdmi arc will not give dd/dts with kodi online streams.

neither will optical output.

same if playback hdd via kodi.

same if playing with any other player - mx, vlc...

as far as my testing goes, the dd/dts arc only works if u playback with tv native player.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Mar 9 2016, 10:34 AM
AVFAN
post Mar 9 2016, 12:11 PM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(ericlai @ Mar 9 2016, 11:02 AM)
@AVFAN Thanks for the reply, that is abit of a let down... Hopefully the marshmallow update will solve this problem =D i have yet to try the tv native player, will try tonight. Btw, i have switched to movie mode and play with the colour temperature settings, i was able to find my spot there.. haha, now watching movie is brighter now.. i have also turn on the advance contrast to standard, looks better, can see more details in dark scene.

Do you turn on film mode while watching movie? It looks nice for fast motion, at the same time it also make the movie looks fake =D Besides, i have tried 24p for movies, this tv can see judder quite clearly.
what is this film mode? where to activate it?
AVFAN
post Mar 9 2016, 12:14 PM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Mar 9 2016, 12:06 PM)
Well that sucks.. So even Netflix's DD isn't passed through HDMI-ARC or Toslink?  shocking.gif
netflix does, that's fine.

but not for kodi.

i think netflix is using the tv native player.

in tv info like android type, build etc., netflix version is inscribed in it - hence the certification, i suppose.
AVFAN
post Mar 9 2016, 02:48 PM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(ericlai @ Mar 9 2016, 12:26 PM)
Hi AVFAN, the film mode is activated by going through the following:
1. Press home button (android tv main page)
2. Scroll down to settings (gear icon)
3. Scroll down to tv setup
4. On the first column, select advance
5. There you will see film mode

I believe the film mode activate the motion thingy...like the Sony motion flow thingy
ah, that one... tried it before, unimpressed... biggrin.gif
AVFAN
post Mar 10 2016, 03:52 PM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(andrewlimkn @ Mar 10 2016, 11:57 AM)
I been reading that 4k is pointless as

1) you normally do not sit close enough or the size not big enough
2) there is not much 4k content now

I been watching 720p movies (as download sizes are smaller) on my PC so going HD is still upgrade for me
"hd" = 720p, 1080i and 1080p.

4K or UHD:

3840 pixels
4K UHD is a resolution of 3840 pixels × 2160 lines (8.3 megapixels, aspect ratio 16:9) and is one of the two resolutions of ultra high definition television targeted towards consumer television, the other being 8K UHD which is 7680 pixels × 4320 lines (33.2 megapixels).

a 4k TV is not worth it you play mainly DVD's, 720p and 1080i (astro and hypptv).

a 4k TV is very good if you play mainly BD (bluray discs), 1080p, 2160p and BDMV (40-50GB) videos. besides uhd4k videos, of course.

typically, a 4K tv comes with good upscaling, improves any video better than a standard HD TV in terms of details clarity and color vibrancy.

so, do choose correctly for now and the near future and within yr budget.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Mar 10 2016, 04:21 PM
AVFAN
post Mar 11 2016, 09:51 AM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(otromen77 @ Mar 11 2016, 08:48 AM)
My content Hyptv Unfi 30mbps .1080p,BRay and mkv's .
90x is full HD 1920x1080 but has 3D, limited internet features.
330x is a 4kTV 3840x2160; no 3D, no internet capability.
630x is a 4KTV; no 3D, full android/internet capability.

if into 3D, the choice is obvious.
if not into 3D and not into internet/android, 330x can be a decent choice.

if not into 3D but into android, 630x is the best choice.
if planning to get Netflix HD/UHD4K, 630x is the only choice.
1080p/BD/BDMV comes our v good with the 630x upscaling.

of course, the price/budget factor is also impt.
AVFAN
post Mar 11 2016, 09:56 AM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(otromen77 @ Mar 11 2016, 09:29 AM)
In terms of upscalling is the 4k panel much better than this LC6090X?
On the smart TV function is any better than Samsung or lg webOS? Is the PQ as good as Sharp Kuro?
Edited :
Got no intention to get new TV but last week my 10 years ol 32 Toshiba lcd tv died and make me thinking to upgrade. Financially I'm ok Coz I'm only taking short term installment only. I'm not investing f sup expensive TV just nice t o compliment my br.mkv and 1080p content
how do u play yr 1080p/mkv/BR files now?

ever used an android phone, tablet or box?
AVFAN
post Mar 11 2016, 10:04 AM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(otromen77 @ Mar 11 2016, 09:59 AM)
Currently using my pc. Mbp and also raspberry pi 2 running kodi steaming content my 8TB NAS
i see...

if u hv no plans to go android but keep to current, the 630x may not be put to good use.

and if just to replace 32" tv at lowest cost, why not consider a smaller size but same range as the 90x?
AVFAN
post Mar 11 2016, 10:10 AM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(yeo2007 @ Mar 11 2016, 10:05 AM)
I just got new Sharp 50 inch. Should i perform the software update now or there's no difference whether i do it or not?
i always update.

what model is this?
AVFAN
post Mar 11 2016, 10:29 AM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(yeo2007 @ Mar 11 2016, 10:19 AM)
Does that means it's also updating the firmware?  Should update everytime there things to update?
yes.

i would.

better to update everytime an update is available.

when the updates stop, u know they see no need for new firmware support... or see the tv as "obsolete"! biggrin.gif
AVFAN
post Mar 11 2016, 01:00 PM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(otromen77 @ Mar 11 2016, 11:53 AM)
OOps.. sorry on the Kuro's .. 
might going to checkup the LC50UE630X and LC58UE630X
ya, check them out. ue630x... 50, 58 or 65" are the same in terms of specs - they share the same manual.

below is my previous writeup, edited and reposted here:

after 8 weeks using this sharp lc50ue630x uhd 4k tv, let me summarize my experience with it:

.. good video quality; 1080p, bdmv, bluray, 4k videos - excellent.
.. good upscaling for 720p, 1080i videos
.. vibrant colors.
.. the android within is good - capable of doing any 2/16gb lollipop 5.1 can do.
.. the android within can take a good no. of apps, performance is no lower than any android box.
.. works very well with netflix hd/uhd4k even on wifi.
.. works well with iflix (iflix is all sd but when upscaled, very acceptable).
.. hypptv 1080i channels like bbc earth, travel & living, natgeopeople come out sharp and bright.
.. usb playback can handle all common formats incl mkv, m2ts.
.. toslink digital output is dts/dd capable.
.. a surprisingly cool tv, does not even get warm.

not so good:

.. somehow, i find the dark scenes a little too dark, the bright scenes a bit too bright. don't know if this is a characteristic of all 4k tv's..?
.. all hmdi's video setting is restricted to a choice of std, movie, pc, dynamic or dynamic fixed. u can change the variables in each set but that will apply to all hdmi's. this is not as good as previous models where u can change the variables in each setting for every hdmi input and save as user1, user2, etc.
.. all inputs and outputs incl hdmi, usb, optical, lan are at the back of tv, not side - access difficult for wall mounted cases.
.. usb playback native player is not too user friendly, sensitive, cannot detect files often. but can be overcome for the most part by playing back with kodi instead of the native player.

overall, i am very happy with the tv. wink.gif

AVFAN
post Mar 11 2016, 01:38 PM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(otromen77 @ Mar 11 2016, 01:25 PM)
It mean that u can install kodi on it?
yes.

because there is an android inside the tv, and it is a good one, u can do 2 things:

.. install android apps from tv's google play - netflix, kodi, es file explorer... >100 of them but not all useful. some are paid apps, incl games.

.. allow "unknown" apps, install own apps (download from pc, copy from others...). these apps or apks work in any android. i already have most android apps in my other android box, so i just put IFLIX and a few small ones in the tv for fast easy access - mainly int'l tv stations channels.

if u r ready to venture into androids, there is an exciting world waiting for you.

the android in the tv works the same way as in an android box, may work better for certain apps due to "sharp certification", e.g. NETFLIX. but... when u buy a box, seller pre-install many apps for u whereas in the tv, u need to DIY.

can read this android box thread:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3126605/+1460

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Mar 11 2016, 01:48 PM
AVFAN
post Mar 12 2016, 02:23 PM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(susu_capbadak @ Mar 12 2016, 12:43 PM)
So my conclusion is ( i could be wrong) the tv should be able to read all HDD produced recently.  But i only tested with Kingston and WD, other brand might produce different result  laugh.gif haha
yep, i understand what u experienced, not unlike my own. biggrin.gif

if no choice, u will have to use it that way.

i have two other boxes connected to tv that can playback, so i'm ok.

conclusion - yes, there is work for sharp to do about the usb playback and native player.

AVFAN
post Mar 13 2016, 07:23 PM

24,456 posts

something i just discovered, hope it will help those who have ue630x and using android boxes 4k capable for playback.

for some hd videos (i have yet to determine the actual specs of these), you notice some "jerks" at certain scenes when playing back with certain boxes.

i am not sure of the reason but i think the 4k tv engine is sensitive to the input of some devices.

i have noticed some 1080p/bdmv videos gettng that if u set the box to "auto" or 1080p 60hz - the highest attainable in non-4k devices.

for this tv, u need to set the box, if available, to 2160p 24hz - that will give u the smoothest video display.

i watched a full length bdmv movie today this way, did not notice any "jerk" anymore. wink.gif

if u have never noticed anything of that sort, ignore this post! tongue.gif

AVFAN
post Mar 13 2016, 09:45 PM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(HL2712 @ Mar 13 2016, 08:18 PM)
Hi guys,
been reading reviews/blogs to understand the 24fps judder issue.

Have it got anything to do with the refreshing rate of the TV. say 120hz (multiple of 24) will have no issue playing 24fps movies, but 60hz will have issue and will need the smoothing feature to smoothen it out? (am I just talking nonsense here? apologies if i just did)

http://www.rtings.com/tv/tests/movies/judder/24p

in this list of TVs reviewed by the website, it happens that those judder free tvs have 120hz refreshing rate.

sifus here been mentioning/recommending samsung tvs too but i thought those mostly have the judder issue?

need guidance from sifu sekalian.

thanks.
rather complex issue, it seems...

there are 3 things to consider: 1. the video, 2. the device (player) and 3. tv.

given a certain video, would it not also depend on the setting of the device as output to the tv?

for this ue630x tv (the subject of this thread), i have see judder only in two scenarios so far:

.. 1080p 24hz video->player set to 1080p 50hz->uhd tv
this will be solved when player set to 2160p 24/30hz or 1080p 60Hz.

.. 2160p 60hz video->player set to 2160p 24/30hz (60hz not available on my player)->uhd tv.
2160p 30hz video plays fine; 2160p 60hz video is rare, i believe... so it is not a real problem for now.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Mar 14 2016, 01:27 AM
AVFAN
post Mar 16 2016, 10:04 AM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Mar 16 2016, 12:58 AM)
One of the reasons why I'm giving the 4K industry a couple more years to gain traction before jumping in.. We'll see in, say 5 years...Tech can only get better..  smile.gif
actually, that also depends on when yr TV kaput! biggrin.gif
AVFAN
post Mar 16 2016, 04:16 PM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Mar 16 2016, 02:54 PM)
Hey.. Don't give the TV any ideas..  shakehead.gif .. Knocks on wood. biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
Yup.. I have to force myself to look away, if I have to walk past the display units..  smile.gif
well... just find some fault with the current tv! laugh.gif

ya, once yr eyes are hooked, no way going back. i now hardly watch at my other 6yr old lcd 1080p tv! find it too dull. biggrin.gif

having been thru it all, i would recommend anyone anytime to go for 4kTV if:

.. interested in netflix uhd/4k.
.. has a device/player that is 4k compliant 2160p 24/30hz.
.. playing mostly 1080p and bluray/bdmv videos.

for sharp ue630x owners:

i have been toying with various videos and various device playback settings. i came to the conclusion that this sharp ue630x tv delivers its best when device is set at 2160p 24hz - it is noticeable that the upscaling is best and the motion smoothest. so, if buying a device or box, get a 4k one to go with the TV!

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Mar 16 2016, 04:29 PM
AVFAN
post Mar 18 2016, 07:37 PM

24,456 posts

this movie, point break 2015 (a remake of point break 1991) is a good one to play on yr ue630x.

this movie has several awesome scenes of extreme sports:

Shooting took place in a total of 11 countries across four continents, using actual extreme sports stars and stuntmen.[17] Locations includes Austria, Italy, Switzerland, Berlin, France, Mexico, Venezuela, French Polynesia, India and the United States.[18][19] While the original film focused on just a few sports — primarily surfing — and used cranes and other Hollywood trickery to portray them, the new movie eschewed all of that, including green screens, and relied on real life practical stunts.[4] For the numerous stunts performed in the film, Core gather a group of the best snowboarders, free rock climbers, big wave surfers, high-speed motocross riders and wingsuit pilots in the world and filmed them, essentially, as actors.[7]

i had first watched a 12gb 1080p version on a fullhd tv.

then i rewatched the extreme sports scenes with a 35gb bdmv version on the ue630x. 2160p 24hz or 1080p 60hz both come out excellent.

always play the best stuff for the best equipment, a world of difference, enjoy! thumbup.gif

AVFAN
post Mar 18 2016, 10:54 PM

24,456 posts

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Apr 6 2016, 09:03 PM
AVFAN
post Mar 29 2016, 05:40 PM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(ericlai @ Mar 29 2016, 04:56 PM)
Hi guys, do you know what is the difference between our UE630X and UE1M other than the 3D feature?

I found out that the price for UE1M is cheaper than our 630X.
ue1m, not sold in malaysia, i think.

both ue1m and ue630x sold in singapore according to sharp-roxy sg:

https://sharp.com.sg/web/products/prodDetai...d=600&mode=Spec

looking at the specs of both models, the differences i can spot are:

ue1m vs ue630x

.. 3D vs no 3D
.. camera vs no camera
.. 3 hdmi vs 4 hdmi
.. 4 usb vs 3 usb
.. "app store" vs "google play store"
.. coaxial audio putput vs toslink audio output (and hdmi1 arc?)

and this probably explains why both ue1m and ue630x aren't that good with reading usb drives:

External HDD ready Only apply for some models: Samsung HX-M500TCB/G, HGST (TOURO), Imation IM300-1000

very close, very similar. choice will depend on whether u want 3D or not. price difference?

not sure if this is significant...

in the sharp malaysia website, ua330x which is also 4k has "4k master engine" ue630x has "4k master engine pro". this is not mentioned in the sharp sg site.

This is the top-of-the-line 65″ UE630X series with 4K/UHD resolution and their proprietary 4K Master Engine Pro chipset. The colors are immensely rich with deep reds and vivid greens – there’s a 14% improvement over their previous flagship 4K offering and you can visibly see the difference!
http://sixthseal.com/2015/09/the-new-sharp...oid-digital-tv/
This post has been edited by AVFAN: Mar 29 2016, 05:54 PM

26 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0652sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 01:00 PM