Fundsupermart.com v13, Merry X'mas and Happy 牛(bull!) Year

xuzen
post Jan 25 2016, 08:53 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Jan 25 2016, 06:26 PM)
Yes and no smile.gif and a gamble is not a calculated risk smile.gif anyway how is this a calculated risk when track records mean nothing? if you invest in individual stock you can examine a lot of fundamentals, visit the business for a first-hand view, talk to the employees etc. That makes it a calculated risk. What is it about a mutual fund that makes it a calculated risk? there are no fundamentals to examine, it's just like saying, this jockey has a good track record, so I will bet on the horses that this jockey rides. That is gambling so how can this not be gambling? smile.gif
There are so many suara kuat type of error in argument with the above post.... I don't know where to start.

shakehead.gif shakehead.gif shakehead.gif

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Jan 25 2016, 09:05 PM
xuzen
post Jan 25 2016, 09:04 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jan 25 2016, 08:44 PM)
I have NEVER into stock investing...
just reading from the above posts.....just wondering if I have RM 100k to invest into lets say Maybank or NEstle.....will they let me have a look to analyse their operations?
No need be a investor also can analyse their operation.... just go to their website >> investor relation >> download annual report >> read their audited financial statement.

Xuzen

xuzen
post Jan 25 2016, 09:17 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Jan 25 2016, 09:06 PM)
is that how the FM of lets say Kenanga do the stock picking?
Are you asking me? I am not form Kenanga lar... you confuse me with the other CON-Sultan lar!

BTW, why don't ask Ms Lee Sook Yee wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif herself?

Xuzen
xuzen
post Jan 26 2016, 02:58 PM

4,436 posts

FSM is a fund distributor. Think of it like Tesco... they put all the products there, you choose the best butter, the best bread, the best milk yourself. Whether that brand of butter is better or the other one better, it is not the job of Tesco to advise you per se.

The unpredictability aka as risk is what gives above risk free rate return (lay person will consider FD as risk free rate). In the absence of risk / unpredictability, you get sub-inflationary return.

Yes, it is contentious. But my point is to show "proof" such scenario is real! No, I would not make promises. If I am a financial advisor, it is not industry standard to provide guarantee.

Just for info, there are structured products in the regulated market that promises fixed return with capital protection. But bear in mind their return is no where near 20%. Mid to low single digit return is more likely. This again bring forth the argument, reducing risk reduces the return as well. You want to win big, you need to risk it... Rule 101 of Finance: There is no free lunch.

For the purpose of discussion again, I would like to ask those who "play" or invest or trade in stock market, I am sure most of you are very well verse with return; but are you able to quantified your risk i.e., calculate your standard-deviation?

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Jan 26 2016, 03:05 PM
xuzen
post Jan 26 2016, 03:08 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Jan 26 2016, 11:39 AM)
I find it quite entertaining reading the posts from last night.  Especially the debate between stock investing and unit trust investing and which is more superior. Duh???

My 2 cents view being a layman investor. I assume  we are investing with a mid to long term horizon (i.e. 3 years and above) and not doing day trading. In the long run, we will make money in a falling market and not in a rising market. It is more dangerous to invest in a rising market rather than investing in a falling market. Does this make sense to you?

IMHO, the key here is staying power, investing consistently and doing at least annual portfolio re-balancing. If we need the money which we had invested into FSM within one year to pay for our wedding dinner, down payment for our house, etc. then we should yank out ALL the money now. This is because we are using the wrong investment tool.

As one author wrote, "If we are investing in unit trusts without having any emergency fund, then our investment decision will depend on the weather. If it rains heavily and our roof is leaking, we will take the money out from our unit trust investment to repair the roof".

Let itu Penjaga Van invest in a falling market....

I prefer to ride the wave and latch on the upwards momentum.

Xuzen
xuzen
post Jan 27 2016, 04:06 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Jan 27 2016, 03:47 PM)
too much ping pong with penjaga van I totally missed this. In stock trading, the risk is quantify by how many % of your stock account you want to put at risk per trade. Usually it range from 0.8% to 1.5%. The smaller the account size, the bigger percentage due to small account disadvantage. Example if your risk is $500 per trade and your stop lost is 25%, your trade size would be $2000. Based on analysis, usual target profit is 1.5x to 2x of risk (reward risk ratio) for a viable trade.
Let me try to understand this;

Let's say my capital out-lay is RM 10,000. If my stop lost is 25% i.e., RM 2,500.00 then I must make sure I have an upside potential of minimum RM 2,500.00 x 1.5 = RM 3,750.00. I.e., Then my target sell price is RM 10,000 + 3,750 = RM 13,750.00
If that counter do not have that potential, then don't buy. Is that it?

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Jan 27 2016, 04:20 PM
xuzen
post Jan 27 2016, 04:18 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Jan 27 2016, 10:33 AM)
hi guys.......... it's my 1st post in fsm thread in 2-3 years time.

i recently thinking of constructing a portfolio, apart from my current investment in stock. i want something more resilient and long term that I don't have to watch out for the next 5-10 years. or possibly for retirement purposes.

Method of my investment will be via RSP on monthly basis and via EPF contribution, i have never taken out any monies from my epf account before.

Currently I only have very insignificant amount invested in Kenanga Growth Fund, return of about 36% since invested 3 years ago.

Can any member(s) here shed some light of your insights on how can I go about doing it?

Goal is 30% (EPF + mandatory savings for retirement), so I will make up the remaining 7% minus PRS of 250 every month. which means I need to save pretty little only for such purpose.

question in mind is, what kind of funds should I go for? I would say the riskier funds, more to equity since time is on my side.

Also, i know nuts about asset allocation, can share with me on what do you think?

Thanks a bunch and happy midweek!

Edit: if i just invest in one, say Kenanga Growth Fund, do you think this is ok?
I will not tell you academic stuff... you can read it from the net, I want to tell you my story.

I) KGF is the perennial favourite for investors looking for exposure to M'sia stock. This cannot be denied. However, I did not choose Kenanga but went for Eastspring instead because Kenanga only have one star fund i.e. KGF. Their other EPF approved fund suxs! Remember that EPF-MIS UT can only invest in M'sia.

II) Please note that unlike normal cash injection, with EPF-MIS, you cannot switch inter-fund house, you can only do intra-fund house. That is why you not only need to choose the best fund, you need to choose the best fund house. There is sort of compromise you need to do.

III) I did my homework and I came to a conclusion that Eastspring Inv is the best fund house for ME! Eastspring may not have the best star-fund, it has a few good funds.

IV) As for asset allocation, use the most simple method; 100 - your current age = the % you should put your money in equity fund. Always do RSP, don't do lump sum.

That is all for now.

Xuzen

xuzen
post Jan 27 2016, 04:20 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jan 27 2016, 04:14 PM)
Typo error?
Yeah, typo error... already corrected. Thank you.

Xuzen
xuzen
post Jan 27 2016, 04:26 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Jan 27 2016, 01:37 PM)
One of the system one can use with the concept of buy high sell higher is using 50 SMA or even 100 SMA to make investment decision. I'm not saying I'm using this system but it is a possible system. Using your normal DCA ammo, when NAV drop below 50 SMA, you stop your DCA and reserve the ammo. The moment NAV went above 50 SMA, you lump sum invest your accumulated ammo and resume DCA again. Will you able to catch the bottom with this method? No, but that is not the objective because with regular DCA you unable to catch the bottom as well because nobody know when is bottom until you see uptrend again as represented by NAV cross above 50 SMA. The chart is available FOC from FSM. There are many more systems that can enhance return using variation of DCA/VCA/CDI methods.
And if the NAV does not cross the SMA and ding-dong along the way = no signal = no buy? = no accumulation? Money sit in FD earning sub-inflation return.

UT is never a tool for trading; it is for wealth accumulation lar!

Xuzen

xuzen
post Jan 28 2016, 07:43 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Jan 27 2016, 04:34 PM)
wow very insightful! thanks!

but on point 2, you can redeem the fund then repurchase another fund with another fund house right? i know, you have a 3 months restriction... etc... okay, noted! =)

also, on point 4, i don't get why is such formula, it's really my 1st time come across this.

Thanks for the info!
You do realized the paperwork involved right? For EPF-MIS, the are more paperwork involved. For me, not worth the extra effort!

Xuzen

xuzen
post Jan 28 2016, 07:48 PM

4,436 posts

KGF & ESISC are highly correlated to each other, if it up to me, I would choose only one. At the moment, ESISC has a better risk-reward performance.

Xuzen

xuzen
post Jan 28 2016, 07:58 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 28 2016, 03:50 PM)
Well, I don't mind getting rid of Big Cap China but not sure if dumping in Malaysia is the best decision?
I started accumulating China specific fund (manulife china & CIMB greater china) starting beginning of Qtr2-2015 and sold everything by end of Qtr3-2015. In total, I was invested in China for six months. Haven't touch them since then. Initially I made money from China, and the gain was amazing for UT! 5 -6 % per mth! But by end of Qtr3-2015, I lost about -8%.

I am glad I have not been back to China since I sold all of them!

Xuzen
xuzen
post Jan 28 2016, 08:00 PM

4,436 posts

[quote=IvanWong1989,Jan 28 2016, 07:54 PM]
[/spoiler]

KGF & ESISC are highly correlated to each other, if it up to me, I would choose only one. At the moment, ESISC has a better risk-reward performance.

Xuzen

[/quote]
KGF covers bigger fish, ESISC covers small fish right? *When I entered both that was my perspective*
Does this decreases corelation? blush.gif

[/quote]
It should be like this, but the numbers show otherwise.....

Xuzen
xuzen
post Jan 28 2016, 08:01 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Jan 28 2016, 08:00 PM)
Which fund u buy from eastspring?
Small cap of course!

xuzen
post Jan 29 2016, 08:35 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Jan 29 2016, 07:54 AM)
I also made an epf withdrawal to this fund.
Pandainya engkau!
xuzen
post Feb 1 2016, 01:50 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Jan 29 2016, 12:31 PM)
Boss Xuzen,

I have only one bond fund - Rhb ATRF.

Shall i consider Eastspring Inv bond fund? Or what other bond fund can i add into my portfolio?
I have said it before, my personal view is that Bond should act as a portfolio stabilizer. RHB-ATRF is behaving like a mixed asset / balanced fund behaviour, it has high return, but also check out its volatility. It is almost as high as a balanced fund. \

What is RHB-ATRF trying to be? If it is trying to be equity like, then it has lower return than an equity return.

To me, if you want to seek return, equity fund is the way to go.

My personal preference is Libra Asnita Bond. It behaves more like how a traditional bond fund would behave.... boring and stable. With bond you should expect it like dating a virgin 50 y/o woman who works for 30 years as a librarian in the same building and has never change job before.

Xuzen
xuzen
post Feb 3 2016, 12:23 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(lukenn @ Feb 3 2016, 12:20 AM)
Wow this thread is so quiet these days. It actually fell the 2nd page ...
I have just look at Hwang's monthly review and all sector: all indices are down... there is no where to hide. Only one asset class is in positive territory, i.e., GOLD.

With such duldrums and huldrums, where got mood to be chatty leh?

Sigh!

Xuzen
xuzen
post Feb 4 2016, 11:31 PM

4,436 posts

Those who only understand BM will be rural Pakcik & makcik. They are never FSM target customers. They are ASB & Tabung Haji's hard-core supporters!

This post has been edited by xuzen: Feb 4 2016, 11:34 PM
xuzen
post Feb 4 2016, 11:37 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Feb 4 2016, 11:32 PM)
in Borneo, u get many
many FSM customers or many ASB/TH customers?

Xuzen
xuzen
post Feb 4 2016, 11:48 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Feb 4 2016, 08:58 PM)
have faith in Ponzi 2.0

FSM Fund Choice: CIMB-Principal Asia Pacific Dynamic Income Fund [February 2016]
Why CIMB-Principal Asia Pacific Dynamic Income Fund?
http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...uary-2016--6775
I am maintaning my asset allocation of:

i) Asia-Pac xJp @ 32.5% by proxy of Ponzi 2.0

ii) Large Cap developed market @ 42.5% by proxy of Titan

iii) Bolehland exposure @ 25% by proxy of Eastspring Small Cap.

Xuzen

p/s In Ponzi 2.0 we trust!

This post has been edited by xuzen: Feb 4 2016, 11:49 PM

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0441sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:56 AM