Fundsupermart.com v13, Merry X'mas and Happy 牛(bull!) Year

lukenn
post Jan 14 2016, 08:53 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 14 2016, 05:09 PM)
Yes. You're right. They never mentioned in b&w but you are buying and selling at RM1/unit. You tell me how is that not capital protected?

If is not why do you think the non-bumi quota is always sold out? If is not rm1/unit, you think got people want to put?

Anyway I feel ASX FP is a FD on steroid. One should have enough money in something safe FD/ASX/bond which can generate enough passive income for one's monthly expenses.
My - very determined - colleague managed to accumulated RM100,000 for her daughter ... in 1.5 months ... after 27 visits.

This post has been edited by lukenn: Jan 14 2016, 09:05 PM
lukenn
post Jan 14 2016, 09:05 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(ohcipala @ Jan 14 2016, 09:01 PM)
Rm100,000,000 or rm100,000?
oops RM100,000 ... corrected.

This post has been edited by lukenn: Jan 14 2016, 09:06 PM
lukenn
post Jan 16 2016, 02:25 AM

311 posts

QUOTE(OptimusStar @ Jan 16 2016, 01:39 AM)
CMF stands for what?
Cash Management Fund ... not to be mistaken for CFM.
lukenn
post Jan 16 2016, 02:40 AM

311 posts

QUOTE(tifosi @ Jan 16 2016, 02:31 AM)
Looks like alot of people are getting very tempted at the 0.5% sales charge. Don't get greedy of the 0.5%. Study a bit first before jumping in.
Sales charge ... save 1.5%
Market crash ... lose 2.0% rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
lukenn
post Jan 16 2016, 01:27 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(ohcipala @ Jan 16 2016, 01:22 PM)
Did they say why they are bullish on india?
I think I heard the story before. They will show a GDP per capita chart. Comparatively, once the GDP per capita goes above a certain amount the economies will boom.

And apparently India is almost there.

Something like that la, i think...

This post has been edited by lukenn: Jan 16 2016, 01:28 PM
lukenn
post Jan 17 2016, 03:27 AM

311 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Jan 17 2016, 12:33 AM)
this is more interesting....
"Shares literally climb a wall of worry over many years with numerous events dragging them down periodically, but with the trend ultimately rising".

Seven Reason Not to Get Too Concerned.......January 14, 2016
http://www.fundsupermart.com.hk/hk/main/ar...1/HK/Oliver.pdf
Step 1.
Liquidate all physical assets.

Step 2.
Liquidate all non equity assets.

Step 3.
Purchase equity assets with all proceeds.

Step 4.
Rent PO box for 99 years.

Step 5.
Divert all statements to PO box.

Step 6.
Throw away PO box key.

Step 7.
Grow rock hard gonads.

Step8.
Locate fountain of youth.

This post has been edited by lukenn: Jan 17 2016, 03:32 AM
lukenn
post Jan 17 2016, 03:40 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Jan 17 2016, 02:14 PM)
Hahaha. Excellent idea bro. But I got a problem with Step 8. I still haven't located it yet. I would be dead in 35 years before reaping the benefits from the long term investment.
If cannot follow ALL the steps then reading, the whole article is a waste of time liao. If age 59 portfolio peak, then age 60 portfolio -55% how ? Need to find that fountain !

But bescos angmoh from big time investment firm write still have to read lor.

This post has been edited by lukenn: Jan 17 2016, 03:42 PM
lukenn
post Jan 17 2016, 06:03 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Jan 17 2016, 02:08 PM)
Isn't this rear view mirror investing? It is like flipping a coin. 50/50 chance the RHB Smart Treasure fund will continue its sterling performance.

Sorry ah to the forumers here. I don't mean to be a party pooper.
QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 17 2016, 05:17 PM)
Majority of us are doing that. Similarly seen on Ponzi 1.0 and Ponzi 2.0 at here.
QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Jan 17 2016, 05:21 PM)
I agree. I am also in the same boat. Result? Ponzi 1 koyak. Ponzi 2 koyaking.  blink.gif
Itu buat pelaburan tengok bontot manyak manyak danger.

Most of the taim, itu investor start piling in when the fund sudah lama lari lembu. Then after that, it kemalang maut berlaku. Then they say its a scam.
How often this kemalangan berlaku ? Actually quite often. Imaging yous is the investers who is oways pick the top performer year after year.

But some of uols is the fixed inkam investor ... also terbabas

And some of theyols is the kommodity invester ... also same, terbabas like abbas

This post has been edited by lukenn: Jan 17 2016, 06:08 PM
lukenn
post Jan 18 2016, 01:01 AM

311 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Jan 17 2016, 10:58 PM)
biggrin.gif 2016 is either make it or burst.... sad.gif
"when the tide are gone...you will see me swim naked"  blink.gif
wanna try....
a locally back tested portfolio by "lukenn" at 10.92% CAGR on last 10 yrs (2004~2014) at 50% FI : 50% EQ
page# 37, post# 723
QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Jan 17 2016, 11:03 PM)
Thanks bro. I will have a look.
Everything will terbabas at some point.... And you'll never see it coming... Solution? Buy everything lor. The idea is to never take large losses. Going down is a lot easier than going up.

lukenn
post Jan 18 2016, 04:12 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Jan 18 2016, 02:45 PM)
All 18th. But sometimes morning and afternoon different price how
Most funds a priced end of day (forward pricing). Transactions before a certain time (for me it's 3pm) is transacted at the price published at 8pm.
lukenn
post Jan 18 2016, 04:15 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Jan 18 2016, 03:19 PM)
Not as simple as that.
Buy if you believe the value will rebound. But if you don't know, just do DCA.
Who knows there will be more discount next month...
Never read the Australian analyst report meh? Equities are bound to rise in the long run. Time to sell house, sell car, sell wife, sell dog and buy equities liao. Sai lang ! Confirm rich laio. Analyst using log scale OK? Not linear to show performance... Hahahahaha

This post has been edited by lukenn: Jan 18 2016, 04:17 PM
lukenn
post Jan 19 2016, 11:44 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jan 19 2016, 10:38 PM)
u mean your donation to the unfortunate girls working at massage parlours? brows.gif
There will be no happy ending to this ... rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
lukenn
post Jan 20 2016, 03:17 PM

311 posts

To break the monotony of buy/dont buy/top up/redeem/rebalance/fear/greed/promo/no promo/how come i didnt get discunted sales charge ....

Got this info today, somebody elses analysis / marketing : BIMB-Arabesque i Global Dividend Fund 1

Key features of the Fund

1) Earn income annually with a target income of 6% per annum in addition to capital growth.
2) Available in both RM and USD
3) Feeder fund to Arabesque Q 3.17 Systematic (“target fund”). The Fund can maintain a maximum 30% in Shariah-compliant liquid assets.
4) The target fund invests in Shariah-complaint global equities, and a maximum of 49% in Shariah-compliant liquid assets. Under exceptional or abnormal circumstance and for a short period of time, the target fund can be invested up to 100% in Shariah-compliant liquid assets.
5) The target fund’s portfolio consists of up to 100 global equities.
6) Top ranking fund against benchmark and global Shariah funds. A comparison of several global equity funds in Malaysia as compared to the target fund.

Fund strategy

In the target fund, a security will only be invested in only if it passes three levels of filter;

1) Suitability Analysis (filter from 77,000 global equities to 1,000 global equities)
2) Financial Analysis (filter to 300 global equities)
3) Momentum Analysis (filter to 100 global equities which will be invested by the target fund)

Some of the areas considered during the filtration process are sustainability performance based on ESG score, business activities screening for prohibited activities under Shariah law, financial statement analysis, risk/return profile, amongst others.

The investment portfolio will also go through daily optimization to ensure that invested securities meet the filtration criteria. This is done using Arabesque’s adaptive risk technology, part of the their risk management strategy.

This post has been edited by lukenn: Jan 20 2016, 03:20 PM
lukenn
post Jan 21 2016, 03:56 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Jan 20 2016, 06:42 PM)
Looks good.
Question - the performance largely correlate with the other funds and index albeit overperforming the rest; but in Oct-Dec, this fund seemed to have 'defy gravity' and continue to do well when others r not. What contributes to that?
- The chart is in MYR terms right? If in USD terms can compare with index at least? or with other USD funds available in say Singapore?

Petty question - how does one purchase USD funds in Malaysia? Would the fund house provide a daily exchange rate if I pay in RM? Or must pay USD by bank transfer in which I would lose out on bank selling rate?

Thanks  thumbup.gif
I can't be certain of specifics as I have not met then.
Here's what I gather
1. Charts are in MYR, so performance is effected by FX.
2. It's a quant fund that switches to cash when there's adverse volatility. Probably protected against some of the recent downside.
3. Alpha would be consistent if the base currency is the same.

If I answered the remainder of your question here I would be accused of all sorts of funny things. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by lukenn: Jan 21 2016, 03:58 PM
lukenn
post Jan 24 2016, 12:16 AM

311 posts

QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Jan 23 2016, 10:25 PM)
As some bros suggested , below is my portfolio. All bought at different times. Also top ups different times getting bigger and bigger. Some as new as 1 week, manu india and kenanga total return
QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Jan 24 2016, 12:08 AM)
Well once it went just above but after that lagging behind. My equity is around 80 per cent. Something is wrong I think. Have to talk to specialist on monday
You don't say in what proportion each fund is, so I equal weighted everything, and did a quick breakdown.

Based on data ye 2015.

Looks like what you'd expect if
1. equal weighted.
2. lump sum investment from day 1.
3. no rebalancing.

To me, it looks like
1. overweighted foreign holdings - heavy on APxJ.
2. overdiversifed to too many funds.
3. portfolio unbalanced.
4. FX exposure is a bit too high.
5. selected funds based solely on return/FSM recommendations.

If you're underperforming FD, you're doing something wrong.

This post has been edited by lukenn: Jan 24 2016, 12:25 AM
lukenn
post Jan 24 2016, 12:30 AM

311 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jan 24 2016, 12:25 AM)
hmm.gif from your simulation...what is the expected CAGR for this 5 yrs for that portfolio?
Sorry the graph is abit small. Direct screen cap.

9.19% ... but some funds weren't incepted yet, and is replaced by FD in prior performance.

This post has been edited by lukenn: Jan 24 2016, 12:31 AM
lukenn
post Jan 24 2016, 12:10 PM

311 posts

Since I posted my last graph last night, I have received quite a few messages asking for statistics, analysis and advice. While I do appreciate the you value my feedback, I cannot reply to everyone. The same with my earlier post with graphs etc, but this time with even more messages than before.

While I try to contribute to the forum the best I can, I cannot be expected to give timely personalized advice, education and hand holding. Please don't expect pin point accuracy, complete guidelines and an entire portfolio management strategy. I do this professionally for a living. To me that's work, and I'm compensated for it. What I contribute here is what I do in my free time, what I can comment about is what I see.

I really cannot understand and do not appreciate questions/statements like :
1. how can you guarantee the statistics are correct ?
2. can you honestly say that XXX strategy is better than what I'm doing now ?
3. you are wrong, xxx way of doing it is better, that why I do it.
4. ive used similar services to what your company offers, and they cheated me. but can you still help me anyway ?

If you have a 6/7 figure portfolio, I suspect that it is a significant part of your wealth. Please be mindful of what you're doing. I believe the contributors here are not trying to f@ck you over by giving you their RM0.02... We have nothing to gain/lose from it. Also we have no idea what your background, experience and financial statues is, much less your plan, needs and strategy.

The free advice I can give today is
1. market timing based on discounted FSM SC is not a strategy.
2. if you're asking for an evaluation, be ready to hear the bad news.
3. i'm not a mind reader or a fortune teller. if you find either let me know.

sekian, terima kasih. cool2.gif cool2.gif
lukenn
post Jan 24 2016, 12:15 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jan 24 2016, 07:49 AM)
not bad wor.. better than ASX!  tongue.gif
Yeah, but he said he was still under performing FD... blink.gif blink.gif
lukenn
post Jan 24 2016, 12:16 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Jan 24 2016, 12:14 PM)
this
don't terasa ok ? I just saw your post, and wasn't talking about you... biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
lukenn
post Jan 24 2016, 12:36 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Jan 24 2016, 12:20 PM)
ANyway if I just let it sail by with this portfolio should be ok kan. Seems very diversified already.
Urr.. If you like. But very tak balanced la. Either zero or hero.

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0374sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:23 PM