4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Fundsupermart.com v13, Merry X'mas and Happy 牛(bull!) Year

dasecret
post Dec 29 2015, 05:31 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Dec 29 2015, 05:21 PM)
tu lah...

TQ very much... feel like a dumbo cry.gif
dasecret
post Dec 29 2015, 06:31 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Dec 29 2015, 06:25 PM)
You switched from what fund to what fund?
Pheim Asia Ex Japan Islamic to Pheim Income fund, thought want to learn from Vanguard's ninja trick to accumulate credits... turned out these credits cost me 1%

Pheim and RHB-OSK has switching fees
dasecret
post Dec 30 2015, 11:19 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Dec 30 2015, 11:10 AM)
As usual, Crystal Balls™ hates RHB Asian Total Return! tongue.gif
High correlation coefficient with Ponzi 2.0 ma...

Anyway, all these correlation stuffs sounded familiar to me but not exactly sure what it really includes... Now I know why, I studied them in ACCA last time sweat.gif Was clearing some old boxes from store room and found my notes... sei mou.. completely forgotten what I studied doh.gif

As to EI bond fund, is it such a great fund? If I judge from 6 months returns of 1.9%*2, the annualised return is 3.8% which is the same as CMF. I disregarded the one off recovery of previously impaired bond that caused 1 year return of 11.7%

I hold RHB Islamic bond... but it's riskier la, 20% on a single A rated bond sweat.gif
dasecret
post Dec 30 2015, 11:41 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Dec 30 2015, 11:31 AM)
u also ACCA? wub.gif

I failed my finance paper, I think I got 20%++ only. All those formulas baffle me tongue.gif  laugh.gif
Luckily the next sitting got ethics paper, I took that in lieu of finance paper to clear my exams. Ethics paper I scored >80% rclxms.gif

Dig back that FSM competitor CON-sultan post...mana ada highly correlated? whistling.gif

Nah ini dia. Only low-moderate correlation, quite close to 0

Opps... sounds like I'm older blush.gif I took under old regime so finance is mandatory. In fact, the last 3 papers I scored highest for finance....

Geng wor, professional level can score >80%... so at least Msia prize winner lor?

Hmm... when I tried on morningstar, I remember getting 60ish correlation between RHBATR and ponzi 2.0
dasecret
post Dec 30 2015, 12:01 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Dec 30 2015, 11:44 AM)
Aku ni akauntan scoring high for written questions but crappy for calculation questions. I was never meant to be a calculation guy blush.gif

Back to topic...

Refer to the chart...if u combo ATR + (Ponzi 1.0+Ponzi 2.0)/2, u get near zero
Correlation can average like that tak? tongue.gif
OT... accountants who r better at goreng-ing exams than counting... sounds like will be good at cooking books.... alarm bells going off hmm.gif

Anyway... of course cannot average like that la... I logged in to morningstar again, still show me 0.72

Need to ask your con-sultan how he get his numbers

dasecret
post Dec 30 2015, 12:12 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Dec 30 2015, 12:03 PM)
Those fancy charts and tables got from where? Morningstar?
Yup, register for a free account and you can set up a portfolio and x-ray it cool2.gif

Courtesy of vanguard... best discovery for the year ...
dasecret
post Dec 30 2015, 02:09 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(lukenn @ Dec 30 2015, 12:59 PM)
I'll show you how I didn't get my numbers.

[attachmentid=5655369]

But for you benefit, in MYR, your correlation table would look like this over the last 3yrs.

[attachmentid=5655374]
TQTQ blush.gif

So it's something free account can't do? Can't seem to find a button to change currency
dasecret
post Dec 30 2015, 02:20 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Dec 30 2015, 12:30 PM)
Ponzi 1.0 distribution is in!
But the Affin Hwang PRSs not yet... slow betul, somemore the distribution date is earlier, 8 Dec vs ponzi 1's 15 dec
dasecret
post Dec 30 2015, 02:22 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Dec 30 2015, 02:11 PM)
Just created a Morningstar account. Still learning to use it.
How to get the correlation table? I click the 'X-ray this Portfolio', but don't see it.
Do we need to enter purchase price, purchase date etc.?
After you x-ray it, the document has a pdf link at the top right corner, click that and a more detailed report would appear
dasecret
post Dec 30 2015, 03:22 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Dec 30 2015, 02:55 PM)
But according to the numbers presented by Con-Sultan™, the corr-coeff does change with diff currency used.

Xuzen
Con-sultan is going to start to charge us soon sweat.gif
dasecret
post Dec 31 2015, 02:16 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(lukenn @ Dec 31 2015, 01:48 PM)
If you're investing in MYR, use a MYR table, if USD, then USD table. Both tables can be used.

Just make sure you know which is which.
Thanks!

Too bad no free MYR table.... brows.gif

dasecret
post Dec 31 2015, 02:20 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Dec 31 2015, 02:18 PM)
da'fuk! No cheap n easy?  I am a true blue Malaysian,  I demand everything to be mee maggi style: Cepat dimasak, sedap dimakan!

Xuzen
Not sure if our con-sultan regret coming to this thread... all the people in this thread same same one.... want free and good!
dasecret
post Jan 3 2016, 10:32 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(lukenn @ Jan 2 2016, 07:05 PM)
I'm not on the iFast platform. Are monthly returns available?
All the functionalities do not require you to be even have an account with fundsupermart. Try it
dasecret
post Jan 4 2016, 01:45 PM

1,498 posts

Wah.... free falling today

China fell 5.7% rclxub.gif
dasecret
post Jan 6 2016, 10:52 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jan 5 2016, 11:03 PM)
Who got more than 3 PRS funds?
Me... every year buy different fund blush.gif
Problem with looking at rear view mirror when investing
dasecret
post Jan 6 2016, 10:59 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 6 2016, 09:37 AM)
What I am saying is just buy PRS for max tax relief. Any balance dump into epf rather than buy a PRS.
You are looking at PRS too simplistically

I would look at it at each of its element

1. Employee contribution - compare against UTs; PRS with lock in, UT without - only differentiating factor is tax relief
So yes, contribute only up to RM3k per annum

2. Employer contribution - compare against EPF; both have lock in period
If you are self employed in a Sdn Bhd; or have some say on how HR deals with the additional employment benefit; ie company currently contribute more than 12% to EPF
I would recommend for the extra % to be contributed into PRS instead of EPF
Why?
- The additional % up to 7% would be tax deductible anyway, if contributed to EPF or PRS
- The employee does not have to pay sales charge to take out account 1 balances to invest in UTs
- The choice of PRS funds are not limited to Malaysia equity funds; you get asia pac funds as well
Cons - HR got more work to do as the employees might choose different funds in different fund house

Unfortunately PPA does not do a good job in (2) and therefore the AUM for PRS is still very low. Most banks and many MNCs contribute additional % to EPF as a staff perk. Most PRS equity funds would exceed 2.5% return or even EPF returns on a longer term basis
dasecret
post Jan 8 2016, 09:45 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Jan 7 2016, 04:29 PM)
When in doubt, broaden the battlefield. Currently I am running 4 separate FSM accounts.

(a) Primary Account - already topped up to the max $. No more fresh investment. Going to use VA every quarterly and reduce the equity exposure if necessary.

(b) Secondary Account No. 1 -  Same as above.

© Secondary Account No. 2 -  Using RSP.

(d) Secondary Account No. 3 -  Using RSP.

Let's see which account will perform better in the future.
I supposed each of your account would be designated for a different purpose right? I did thought of transferring my current individual account to 2 beneficiary accounts for my 2 kids; but what if 1 perform and 1 doesnt? sweat.gif
dasecret
post Jan 12 2016, 02:02 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Jan 12 2016, 01:47 PM)
i like reading this thread. More insights to learn compared to the ASB/ASW thread.

In that thread, if any guy successfully top up 1k into their account, 10 postings asking which bank/branch, which counter, what time, 1 trial or multiple trials, and another 10 postings congrat the guy well done, and why so lucky.

The quality of that thread very low.
I tried adding more flavors to that thread.... needless to say, I failed miserably sweat.gif
dasecret
post Jan 12 2016, 02:04 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jan 12 2016, 01:54 PM)
Checkers players VS Chess players - of courselar here more oomph..
Over there only "fixed income" and main tikam (can get/cannot get)
Here, asset allocation lar,
diversification via time, assets sub-assets lar,
fear vs greed check & controls (or leveraging on those) lar,
etc.  laugh.gif
Ahem, the asset allocation within the fund is 75% or more in equity ok...
But yes, not much difference with fund you go with in terms of returns

Even after multiple reminders most still think it's FD equivalent and capital guaranteed
dasecret
post Jan 12 2016, 05:46 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jan 12 2016, 05:06 PM)
Thanks for explaining....
in the end...is it capital protected in layman term?
how should I explain it to my children?

It looks like capital protected (bcos buy/sell at RM1) but it is actually not?...sound confusing.... rclxub.gif
Thanks to our government who wants to leverage on the people's money to prop up the share market but at the same time these people will not invest in anything that may lose money

Capital guaranteed is such a powerful term in behavioral finance; as soon as people hear that word, all logic goes out of the window cool2.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0373sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:19 AM