170 Pages « < 38 39 40 41 42 > » Bottom

Business MBA, Where's best to study MBA in Malaysia?

zazoo
post Aug 6 2008, 05:49 PM

QUOTE(chgchksg128 @ Jul 31 2008, 12:00 PM)
I get to know one of my fren who get his MBA from Japan has failed to get a decent job (he wish to consultation job or strategy management job)
He now work as an engineer as before he went Japan.
Changing field after MBA is not that easy. At least in Malaysia is very hard. The paid for MBA is no different of a bachelor holder in most company.
I think doing MBA part time is more safe, but wish to change a field like my friend, it is not easy....

What u guys think?
It really depends on which university he got his MBA in Japan. If his MBA is from either one of the followings, he should not have any problem getting an OK job:

1) International University of Japan
2) Waseda University
3) Hitotsubashi University
4) Ritsumeikan University

Even before they graduate, they would have been given a place in top multinationals in Tokyo.

Sometimes, too bad it is not only the place but the business school that counts....
chgchksg128
post Aug 6 2008, 09:13 PM

1,002 posts

he is not one of the 4.
He got the scholarships to do MBA in Japan but he come back...and not manage to get a job in Malaysia after 5 mths
littlewonder
post Aug 7 2008, 12:02 AM

28 posts

hello all.
i havent read the previous 39pages coz it's a lot.
just wanna ask something..
is it a normal feeling for those who took science related disciplne..suddenly feel like wanna do MBA ?eventho know nothing bout busness ..financial..management etc?
doing part time or full time? which one is better?

p/s: pharmacy student. still got 2 years to finish my course. already bosan
chgchksg128
post Aug 7 2008, 11:59 AM

1,002 posts

Added on August 5, 2008, 9:51 pmOn sunday I have attend a MBA preview form MSU, Management Science University which is formerly call PTPL
I found that this new MBA which is only about 2 yrs plus of their first batch is surprisingly exceed my expectations.
Besides normal lecture, they also encourage innovative teaching.
Encourage student think out of the box, they will have class outside the lecture hall, such as survey or activities in shopping complex.
They also build up their students networking recently.
What surprise me is
1. they teach u presentation skill beside the syllabus
2. teach u the manner when in western dining, business dining etc
3. teach u play golf (with minimal cost)

The founder of MSU MBA, is also former MMU MBA founder.
The classroom and facitilities INkLsentral, I have to said, is no more better than an ordinary tuition center.
However, this MUS at least not sell only teaching method of thename of MBA like the other public Uni MBA.
Is this MSU as good as it said in preview I am not sure, if someonestudy in MSU MBS, kindly share with us

chgchksg128
post Aug 7 2008, 12:00 PM

1,002 posts

MBA is design for non business student with no finace, mgm, business background...if u took BBA, u do master in management
Gary1981
post Aug 7 2008, 12:09 PM

1,610 posts

You must know what is your career direction in the future. Why you wants an MBA? Because the crowd make you think so or else? Ensure you utilise your MBA knowledge in future & if not why bother to take it.

MBA have no limits to any field background. As long you aint a bachelor degree holder, you are encourage & accepted. My class have engineer,finance,lawyer,businessman,doctor & etc....

Btw, as i know MBA only offer part time course....
jasperng
post Aug 7 2008, 02:28 PM

- Eminent Leader -
1,264 posts

QUOTE(chgchksg128 @ Aug 7 2008, 12:00 PM)
MBA is design for non business student with no finace, mgm, business background...if u took BBA, u do master in management
Erm what is BBA stands for ? ...Comparing MBa and master in management .. which 1 is better ? if im not wrong, you can oso choose to major in management for MBA right ? ..

Also, If i were to take MBA in US universities, will it be full time or part time since you said MBa only able for part time..
chgchksg128
post Aug 7 2008, 02:53 PM

1,002 posts

BBA..Bachelor Business adminstration

MBA got full time and part time..mostly ppl study MBA in oversea full time..part time i am not sure
jasperng
post Aug 7 2008, 02:59 PM

- Eminent Leader -
1,264 posts

Izzit advisable to take Master in Finance after a engineering degree in oversea then work for few years and continue to study for MBA part time?....

zazoo
post Aug 7 2008, 03:15 PM

QUOTE(littlewonder @ Aug 7 2008, 12:02 AM)
hello all.
i havent read the previous 39pages coz it's a lot.
just wanna ask something..
is it a normal feeling for those who took science related disciplne..suddenly feel like wanna do MBA ?eventho know nothing bout busness ..financial..management etc?
doing part time or full time? which one is better?

p/s: pharmacy student. still got 2 years to finish my course. already bosan
Planning is always good but planning too far ahead even before you finish your 1st degree, that seems too far to comprehend now. Better to finish your pharmaceutical course first. Then come out to work for a few years b4 going back to business school. You might change your mind after that. Also, postgraduate courses are evolving now. Maybe, a MBA is not so interesting anymore in the near future as you could end up taking MSc in Pharmaceutical Business.... smile.gif

Added on August 7, 2008, 3:23 pm
QUOTE(chgchksg128 @ Aug 6 2008, 09:13 PM)
he is not one of the 4.
He got the scholarships to do MBA in Japan but he come back...and not manage to get a job in Malaysia after 5 mths
Well, his competitive advantage is his Japanese language and the understanding of Japanese business culture. Now that is a very niche group network. I mean network of multinationals that comprised of people that worked inside there. If he is looking for a job, be it Malaysia or elsewhere, he will stand a great chance in overseas Japanese subsidiaries. Otherwise, his MBA will not help much.

This post has been edited by zazoo: Aug 7 2008, 03:23 PM
Gary1981
post Aug 7 2008, 04:10 PM

1,610 posts

Agreed with Zazoo. Finish you upcoming 2 years course & get working experience then only consider what career path you desire. I took my MBA only after 6 years of working....
jasperng
post Aug 7 2008, 04:24 PM

- Eminent Leader -
1,264 posts

anyhow you need to have workign experience to take MBA right ? ... i mean those prestigious MBA ..
littlewonder
post Aug 7 2008, 05:02 PM

28 posts

oh ok.thanx ..smile.gif
Gary1981
post Aug 8 2008, 10:57 AM

1,610 posts

Dont put it at point of diffrentiation view of quality. Put it what is you afford limit for you to take a MBA course. Before i choose the segi MBA, i had UM MBA(RM15k), VU sunway & Segi (RM35k) & Manchester MBA(RM100k), my budget permits me to go for RM35k, so i choose SEGI. Besides also the location travel is the factor also. To me, every of them has their own advantages no matter local or non local.
zazoo
post Aug 8 2008, 01:04 PM

I'm looking to pusue an eMBA from an OK university. Anyone knows about good Executive MBAs in town?
zazoo
post Aug 8 2008, 01:11 PM

QUOTE(jasperng @ Aug 7 2008, 04:24 PM)
anyhow you need to have workign experience to take MBA right ?  ... i mean those prestigious MBA ..
I would assumed the prestigious MBAs that you are talking about are well known business schools, which are also accredited by international quality assurance institutions, ie- AMBA, AACSB or EQUIS.

The answer is yes for AMBA accredited universities and no for AACSB or EQUIS but some well known biz schools still require you to have work experience because it enabled you to fully participate and share your ideas.

This post has been edited by zazoo: Aug 8 2008, 01:13 PM
farscope
post Aug 8 2008, 05:38 PM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(chgchksg128 @ Aug 7 2008, 11:59 AM)
Added on August 5, 2008, 9:51 pmOn sunday I have attend a MBA preview form MSU, Management Science University which is formerly call PTPL
I found that this new MBA which is only about 2 yrs plus of their first batch is surprisingly exceed my expectations.
Besides normal lecture, they also encourage innovative teaching.
Encourage student think out of the box, they will have class outside the lecture hall, such as survey or activities in shopping complex.
They also build up their students networking recently.
What surprise me is
1. they teach u presentation skill beside the syllabus
2. teach u the manner when in western dining, business dining etc
3. teach u play golf (with minimal cost)

The founder of MSU MBA, is also former MMU MBA founder.
The classroom and facitilities INkLsentral, I have to said, is no more better than an ordinary tuition center.
However, this MUS at least not sell only teaching method of thename of MBA like the other public Uni MBA.
Is this MSU as good as it said in preview I am not sure, if someonestudy in MSU MBS, kindly share with us
i tot MSU sudah mau runtuh? dunno wat management prob or financial prob.. dunno.. anyone??

This post has been edited by farscope: Aug 8 2008, 05:39 PM
amir_iskandar
post Aug 8 2008, 07:12 PM

723 posts

QUOTE(boonboon @ Apr 5 2008, 06:59 PM)
Any comment for CeMBA from Wawasan Open University?
i want to know more about ceMBA too, it sound credible as being govern by The Commonwealth of Learning and has quite a number of international Uni partners. Plus, the fee is quite reasonable at ~16 K
TOts
post Aug 9 2008, 03:28 PM

15 posts

Hey guys / gals,

My own 2 cents. Only local MBAs worth pursuing are those offered by reputable foreign unis i.e. Manchester Business School, Nottingham and Strathclyde. All others are not worth it, everyone will be able to get such MBAs and it is not hard to get in. I have two examples:

Example 1:
Friend of mine did the UM MBA bout 4 years ago, when it was supposedly ranked as the best local MBA. They even required GMAT at the time, but the qualifying score was 400! This is not even enough to get considered for entry for a Top 100 MBA. According to him syllabus is outdated, and recruiters do not value it.

Example 2:
Another friend of mine has an MBA from MMU. Got a job in one of the largest local banks, and he is earning a grand RM 100 more than fresh grads. Totally not worth it if you ask me.

Therefore, my advice would be to save money and target the other 3 MBAs. Even then, these are not top tier, it would be better if you could actually go overseas, at least to Spore or Australia. Then you can consider INSEAD, AGSM, Melbourne Business School, NUS, SMU and others that have top tier programs.

Remember, always ask yourself, why are you getting an MBA. Is it to change career or to accelerate your current career path? If you are looking at getting into top tier companies, investment banks (Goldman Sachs, Merrill Lynch) or management consulting (Bain & Co, BCG, McKinsey), MBAs are a prerequisite and they rarely if ever, hire local MBAs. On the other hand, if you are looking just to get a fancy title at the back of your namecard, any local MBA will be fine biggrin.gif

My two main criteria that come into play when you decide on your choice of MBA:
1. Strength of current students / alumni network (IMO, if entry doesnt require GMAT, its not worth applying to)
2. Strength of recruitment and placement office / on campus recruitment
These two criteria will ensure that you get ROI on your MBA. And its obvious that no local MBA can provide these 2 services to satisfaction, and I have doubts about even the Top 3 foreign uni MBAs available locally. I have friends who have completed the local Nottingham MBA, and based on their feedback, its not strong in those two areas. The adage pennywise, pound foolish works here. Spend less on a cheaper MBA, but you wont reap the rewards, prob just an increment of 100 - 300 more than a fresh grad. Dont you wonder why people are willing to spend 50,000 euros on an INSEAD MBA that lasts 10 months?

Hope this all helps. As much as possible I have done my homework, and I have friends that are attending Wharton, INSEAD, Fuqua at Duke and NUS. As for myself, I have just got an offer to Melbourne Business School for a double Masters - MBA & Masters of Marketing. Not that prestigious I know, but it suits my needs, i.e. Top 15 worldwide for marketing and not too expensive.

If you have any questions on the journey to applying / choosing an MBA, let me know, will try to help.
TOts
post Aug 9 2008, 03:34 PM

15 posts

Actually, some top MBA schools like Harvard, Kelogg and INSEAD do take in students without work experience. However you have to be highly highly outstanding e.g. GPA 4.0 from an Ivy League, and prob some human rights activist or president of your local chapter of Greenpeace or some Olympic athlete. Therefore, there are exceptions, but you and I prob wouldn't qualify =)

BTW, if you are looking for a cost effective MBA, do check out Singapore Management University. They have a new MBA program that is apparently headed by an ex-INSEAD dean. Much better than NUS and NTU and a more affordable alternative to INSEAD. BTW, just a clarification, the Chicago GSB in Singapore, AFAIK, does not offer MBAs, only EMBAs. Therefore you prob need 10 years work experience to apply. I didnt apply to Singapore myself, although INSEAD was tempting, cos I hate living there tongue.gif

All the best MBA applicants!

170 Pages « < 38 39 40 41 42 > » Top

0.0151sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:12 PM