Perhaps U could contact CDC for the information. My guess would be that it's prob in the range of RM50-60k.
@tishaban,
Hmm... my aim on the MBA is to uhm.. well network yes and well look for a potential husband
Business MBA, Where's best to study MBA in Malaysia?
Jul 19 2010, 01:21 PM
13,495 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: KL, Malaysia |
@blaze_29,
Perhaps U could contact CDC for the information. My guess would be that it's prob in the range of RM50-60k. @tishaban, Hmm... my aim on the MBA is to uhm.. well network yes and well look for a potential husband |
Jul 21 2010, 11:30 AM
@tishaban,
Hmmm.. French sounds good but only cause I've a whole list of shopping to be fulfilled in that part of the world! *ahem ahem* When U back btw? I can't help thinking about Buzz cause... everyone's got new toys and I don't @DrPerak, Haf U any prior work experience or have U been a professional student all these time? Depending on your budget, there are a couple of not too bad MBAs around; Nottingham University, Manchester Business School - and these are all available here in KL... Hmm... dinner date with me? For *that*, U need to go check with @tishaban first This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Jul 21 2010, 03:29 PM |
Jul 22 2010, 10:58 AM
@alaskanbunny,
The MBS program is really just any other MBA; just that Sunway has positioned it as an MBA for Engineering Grads @DrPerak, @tishaban is and will always be my "dadda"; if he says I can go out with U then I can otherwise cannot so U got to go butter him up first Hmm perhaps it's time for U to start work, save up some $ and then decide if u want to pursue that MBA. Where in the world are U right now, btw? |
Oct 4 2010, 02:49 PM
@-K3N-,
Am not sure Y u picked UM's MBA; the last time I looked at the syllabus I found it was too academic; maybe U should check out if the syllabus has changed before deciding? @ProfessionalPhD, Er.. UM offering the best MBA? Well, accreditation here really doesn't mean the MBA is of no value; it's just not well.. accredited that's all; and if U don't intend to work in the public sector that shouldn't be a problem. |
Jun 30 2012, 12:47 AM
@TzeThon
Ask urself what areas of specialisation you want to go into and go into that. Your only disadvantage in doing an MBA is that you will have to start learning the academics and the basics of certain business terms... you will just need to put in more hours getting to know them since you weren't introduced to them when you did your Degree but hey, nothing is ever too tough This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Jun 30 2012, 12:49 AM |
Jun 30 2012, 12:53 AM
@deodorant,
It's been a long long long time now since you first started this thread - so did you go ahead with the EMBA programme?! Also for those who's intending to do an EMBA programme, it's totally different from that of an MBA; it's not as academic and really, what you learn is more from your peers than from the classes itself |
Jun 30 2012, 01:23 AM
@TzeThon,
Am sure you'll be fine; things will be new to you but hey think of it this way - you get your monies worth because you'll be learning new stuff [hence you learn more than your classmates with a Biz background!] Depending on which particular MBA you're enrolling for, I don't think you quite need to make the decision on your specialisation until maybe when you're at least half way done; perhaps you can check with the school. The first few subjects are usually "core" subjects in which everyone would need to go through regardless of which specialisation he/she chooses. PS: Which particular MBA are you looking at? Sorry, I've sort off retired from the local MBA scene so don't quite know what's going on. @BananaBoyBoy, Yes a lot of "new" MBA courses these days do not require work experience. However, experience tells me that you will probably benefit more when you have the work experience. If you notice, the very reputable and recognised MBAs out there [INSEAD, NYU-Stern, Kellogg, etc.] requires X years of work experience before you can even get accepted into their programmes. This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Jun 30 2012, 01:27 AM |
Jun 30 2012, 01:37 AM
@TzeThon,
I'm not sure if the UM MBA syllabus has changed; the last time I looked at it [which was probably like a decade or so ago!] I found it to be too academic.. how much is this UM MBA? Perhaps you could consider an MBA awarded by a local education institution? I was with a couple of friends earlier and we were just talking about education and someone mentioned that INTI is introducing an MBA program with dual award certification with University of Hertfordshire; sounded quite promising [I dunno how much it is though but it should definitely be cheaper than Sunway's one!] - maybe you could check it out? Well.. aside from cost, any other reason in choosing UM? What's your background anyways? Engineering? This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Jun 30 2012, 01:37 AM |
Jun 30 2012, 01:53 AM
@erwinlee,
The more relaxed the entry requirement, the more uhm... "less prestigious" the university.... And yes.. if U can afford to part with RM80-100k for an MBA, then go consider the Sunway Manchester MBA. Otherwise, maybe you can consider the Nottingham University MBA. Am not sure about the entry requirements but am sure both will need X years of work experience. In such instances, Google's your best friend |
Jun 30 2012, 09:13 AM
@Irzani,
I don't think the counsellor gave you the real view. I can't quite put it into words what the difference is between an MBA and EMBA. Also, I don't think there are any EMBA programs in Malaysia which I would recommend. Also, yes - you will definitely need work experience for an EMBA. --Added-- Actually, I just did a quick Google and the search came up with some EMBAs in Malaysia.. never heard of em though To give you an idea of what a "real EMBA", is check out:- Kellogg's EMBA. INSEAD - Global Executive MBA NYU Stern - EMBA Berlin School - EMBA Once you go through the above 4 pages, you'll probably have a better understanding of what an actual EMBA programme is about. This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Jun 30 2012, 09:21 AM |
Jul 1 2012, 02:02 PM
@gomadas,
The real learning that takes place in an EMBA is really with your peers and not in the classroom or the academics part... |
Jul 1 2012, 02:55 PM
@Blofeld,
I think the reason people perceive Malaysian's EMBA as lower quality is because well... we don't take the time and effort to promote it. Also, I think a lot of people don't understand or know what the real EMBA is. Over and above that, we really aren't known to have a great Education System! Honestly, MQA approvals are really, in my opinion not the best way to evaluate if the programme is good or bad, more so if one is working for the private sector since this MQA accreditation is only 'recognised' in the public sector. I'm totally with you on looking at the syllabi. This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Jul 1 2012, 02:59 PM |
Jul 1 2012, 11:32 PM
@gomadas,
It has nothing to do with opportunity of face time with your classmates. It's just different. My learning experience was totally different when I took my MBA and EMBA. |
Jul 1 2012, 11:33 PM
@TzeThon,
Y don't U check with Nottingham - but I think the fees might be double of what UM is asking for. |
Jul 2 2012, 09:34 AM
@TzeThon,
I know a couple of people who went through the Nottingham MBA; from what I hear, it's a pretty good programme so perhaps the $ is worth it? I also have a friend who went through the INSEAD EMBA - now, that was very expensive but I think he learnt a lot from it; haven't had a proper evaluation session with him but am sure he's going to speak very highly of it @1pinoq, I vaguely remember the name but don't know much about it, sorry! |
Jul 2 2012, 08:45 PM
@desreg2913,
I'm not surprised UCSI is coming up with a Blue Ocean Strategy MBA or whatever they want to call it; it's just commercialisation of something that they oredi have licensed to. As to whether it gives and brings value, I'm not sure - will need to see the syllabi before I can make that judgement. @DarkTemplar, Aiyah, all MBA the same lah.. classes in the evenings and weekends and filled with assignments. If U put ur mind to doing it, surely u can complete it @TzeThon, If you're really going to go back to school I suggest you also let your organisation know about your plan because you will have to get off work on time to get to classes... @OG_Robz, 5 Years managerial experience would mean your classmates are pretty hi-calibre.. I would consider that course if U asked me |
Jul 8 2012, 02:32 PM
@TzeThon,
To a certain extend it is true but perhaps you should still let your bosses know when you've enrolled because you won't be able to work late most times; it also helps in time management. I've been very fortunate to have had good bosses; twice when I went back to School, I had great support from my bosses - obviously, I put in extra time to ensure everything else is done. |
Apr 10 2013, 01:45 PM
@ariful_islam,
Am not quite into the local MBA scene but UoW (University of Wollongong) is definitely higher ranked than err the other MBAs around. Does Monash offer MBA? |
Apr 10 2013, 01:51 PM
@kamikraze,
I wouldn't say there's a "best" MBA school but yes, there's definitely a difference if you took your MBA from say, USQ/CSU/Victoria University vs if you took it from Stanford, Harvard, INSEAD, Northwestern, etc. |
Apr 11 2013, 11:43 AM
@kamikraze,
To add to what @nexus2238 has to say, other than Strathclyde, you can also look at Nottingham; well these are the more 'reputable' ones available locally. Don't ask me about cost though *gulps* |
| Change to: | 0.0261sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:16 PM |