Credit Cards Credit Card v19, Post/Ask general questions here, Please read post 1-3 before posting, tq

victorywp
post Feb 21 2016, 09:00 AM

V.I.P
11,740 posts

QUOTE(turbopips @ Feb 21 2016, 08:39 AM)
May i know which credit card gives the best unlimited cash back for general purchase? Eg Paying for education fees of >RM10k per transaction, general retail purchase (non-groceries/department store)?
I have Watami - but its been maxed out.
Lately HLB essential also cuts its rate to 0.6%
OCBC is 1-1.2%/ but capped at RM1000.

Any recommendations? Thank you!
still essential 0.6% more worth for high spend unlimited.
ocbc second as after first 1k at 1% you still can get 0.5% subsequently unlimited.
watami after first 5k/quarter at 3% you still can get 0.4% subsequently unlimited.

This post has been edited by victorywp: Feb 21 2016, 09:07 AM
victorywp
post Feb 24 2016, 11:35 PM

V.I.P
11,740 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Feb 24 2016, 10:19 PM)
I booked a hotel at booking.com under 'book first, pay later' option. However, received sms alert that the full amount has been charged to my card. Is the notification just a formality but nothing is actually charged?
no, if it's charged means it's charged. do you use any cb link for the booking? for example, mastercard link, etc?
victorywp
post Feb 25 2016, 01:54 PM

V.I.P
11,740 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Feb 25 2016, 08:41 AM)
Cannot trust booking.com
did you use any shopback/milkadeal link? if yes, that could be the culprit... especially if it's a mastercard/visa link. they need to charge to your card to confirm your card before they could give you the cb.
victorywp
post Feb 25 2016, 05:03 PM

V.I.P
11,740 posts

QUOTE(fin307 @ Feb 25 2016, 04:55 PM)
em. sorry for the noob question, since it's my first time using cc.
can I use my cc at all merchants?
for example. I go to jusco to buy television,
can I use my citi card to pay ?

or it is based on what the merchants stated which can be used?

sorry again for the q
yes, all. unless amex/diners club/etc cards which are not as widely accepted as visa/master.
victorywp
post Feb 27 2016, 04:09 AM

V.I.P
11,740 posts

QUOTE(nitehawk @ Feb 26 2016, 01:45 PM)
I have the following cards:
1) M2C Amex and Visa
2) UOB One Card and VOX Visa
3) OCBC Great Eastern Platinum MasterCard
4) Hong Leong Essential Visa
5) MBB Ikhwan MasterCard
6) AEON Watami Visa
7) Alliance You:nique MasterCard
8) CIMB Cash Rebate Platinum MasterCard
9) Citibank Platinum Cash Back

Which is the best credit card to use when buying items from Paypal in
(a) Malaysia currency
(b) Foreign currency

Thanks!
seems like you already own all the best cashback cards! maybe you should try to get pbb vs next. nod.gif

a) vox
b) watami
victorywp
post Feb 27 2016, 08:31 PM

V.I.P
11,740 posts

QUOTE(edwardccg @ Feb 27 2016, 06:22 PM)
Hi, need some advice.
recently my mach CC and UOB VOX approved on Jan and Feb.

Since the watami rumor, I am thinking to get either younique or GE plat.
Do you think they will approve? or I better wait for few months then only apply younique or GE plat. How long do you suggest ?

I have around 2 years old GE policy, do you think it has higher chance to get the GE plat approve compare to younique?
3 months. but if you also already have many other cc than just mach and vox, your chances to get approved also will be lower, unless you have an increment of salary.
victorywp
post Mar 9 2016, 11:32 PM

V.I.P
11,740 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Mar 9 2016, 11:22 PM)
Guys, any credit card I can leverage with booking.com? I have both UOB VOX and CIMB CR which I supposed I will get 5% cash back for online transaction.

How about cards from other banks?

I also have Maybank, HLB, OCBC, AmBank, AEON and Citibank cards. Any promos?

I'll use it with Shopback to get RM 60 but would like to maximize it. laugh.gif
for booking.com? none of it useful lol... because you will only swipe your cc during your stay at the hotel. now they just use your cc to guarantee your room only. they will only charge to your cc if you did not turn up on that day.
victorywp
post Mar 10 2016, 12:31 AM

V.I.P
11,740 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Mar 9 2016, 11:42 PM)
I see. Got it. Then, hopefully my card can be accepted there. doh.gif
It is an isolated place in China. God bless me that time.

Then, how would Shopback know if I did stay there or not? Let's say if they can't accept card, I'm going to pay with cash.
when you stay there, the hotel will update to booking.com because booking.com get their commission from the hotel. if they are linked to booking.com, you can almost fully sure that the hotel will have a cc terminal.
victorywp
post Mar 10 2016, 11:36 AM

V.I.P
11,740 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Mar 10 2016, 10:17 AM)
Citibank has 8%?
Anyway, I will use Shopback for RM 60.
always cross check with milkadeal. sometimes either one offering higher rebate than the other, although usually they offer the same.
victorywp
post Mar 10 2016, 11:40 AM

V.I.P
11,740 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Mar 10 2016, 11:38 AM)
Got it. biggrin.gif

I thought of using online transactions cash back card for better rebate. laugh.gif
if you want to use online cb cc, then you have to go through agoda rather than booking.com. biggrin.gif
victorywp
post Mar 14 2016, 03:18 AM

V.I.P
11,740 posts

QUOTE(HarpArtist @ Mar 14 2016, 01:51 AM)
is there any difference between having visa or master? i already have amex and visa and am wondering whether there is any need to get a mastercard to cover all 3 ..so to speak.

also is there such thing as having too many cards?  laugh.gif
yes, certain promo only targeted for visa or mastercard.

as long as each of the card benefits you and you earn from it.
victorywp
post Mar 27 2016, 02:50 PM

V.I.P
11,740 posts

QUOTE(YoNGkw90 @ Mar 27 2016, 12:34 PM)
Hi, got a question here. Can i use tenancy agreement together with my payslips to apply for credit card? Do they accept tenancy agreement rental as income?
how the person pay his rental to you? if by bank transfer you may use your savings account statement to support your tenancy agreement.
victorywp
post Mar 31 2016, 01:34 AM

V.I.P
11,740 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Mar 31 2016, 01:15 AM)
My application been rejected. No reason given. However i think it's due to ptptn balance.

When can i reapply cc again? Maybank.
after 6 months. but if you think it's a mistake, you may just submit again.
victorywp
post Apr 1 2016, 01:43 AM

V.I.P
11,740 posts

QUOTE(mentalkronik @ Apr 1 2016, 12:52 AM)
you try to apply and someone will call you and say april fool. then they will intro you to apply for other types of card. whether you sign up or not, in the end they get all your personal information and they can sell to 3rd party. sekian, terima kasih.
victorywp
post Apr 5 2016, 01:23 AM

V.I.P
11,740 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Apr 5 2016, 12:46 AM)
Is there such a thing where if one transaction is not posted after a period of time, it will be voided? unsure.gif

Or there is no end date and merchant can post it after few months or one year later? unsure.gif
the latter. why?
victorywp
post Apr 5 2016, 12:27 PM

V.I.P
11,740 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Apr 5 2016, 10:12 AM)
sad.gif OK, there is a missing RM 500 that yet to be posted and already two months, I want to see if there is a possibility will be free money from banks. rolleyes.gif
Oh, then you have things to spend. laugh.gif
cancel your cc now and it will be free money lor. apply again in the future. rm500 leh. me bad uncle. lol...
victorywp
post Apr 5 2016, 01:42 PM

V.I.P
11,740 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Apr 5 2016, 01:16 PM)
It's Ikhwan. Once gone, difficult to get back. sad.gif
rm500 enough to fully cover your cb for 10 months! apply 6 months later lah. biggrin.gif
victorywp
post Apr 5 2016, 03:55 PM

V.I.P
11,740 posts

QUOTE(aromachong @ Apr 5 2016, 03:49 PM)
what is the maximum age for one to apply cc? i heard some banks 60? some 65? hmm..?
if they are self-employed or business owners still can.
victorywp
post Apr 5 2016, 04:57 PM

V.I.P
11,740 posts

QUOTE(aromachong @ Apr 5 2016, 04:16 PM)
i asked this because one of my client got his card approved @ 65 yrs old age though no record of any CCRIS .. but have house loan and fully paid back 10 yrs ago.. btw hes employed. haha.. quite surprise i'd say
maybe he is under contract? and he use his contract agreement to apply?
victorywp
post Apr 5 2016, 06:20 PM

V.I.P
11,740 posts

QUOTE(aromachong @ Apr 5 2016, 05:47 PM)
permanent .. not contract.. guess mostly because of age problem and clean CCRIS sheet showing no loan commitment thus low credit scoring, perhaps?
65 years old still holding a permanent job? what job is that? if that's the case for sure no issue to get a cc lol...

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0778sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:06 AM