Credit Cards Credit Card v19, Post/Ask general questions here, Please read post 1-3 before posting, tq
fruitie
Jan 13 2016, 11:03 PM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jan 13 2016, 10:50 PM) Posted by a forummer at kopitiam, a useful guidance on the going to be implemented pin thingy: http://www.cimbbank.com.my/content/dam/cim..._PAY_%20FAQ.pdfNow only I know if transactions below RM 250 do not require PIN, not sure if it's applicable to all cards or just CIMB. Hopefully can activate PIN for all amounts. This post has been edited by fruitie: Jan 13 2016, 11:04 PM
fruitie
Jan 13 2016, 11:39 PM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jan 13 2016, 11:08 PM) Yeah, same...i wanna key in PIN for any amount I key in all the time when I was in China regardless the amount. Really safer rather than PIN for certain amounts. Anyway, if today somebody picks up our card also can swipe it with no hassle.
fruitie
Jan 14 2016, 08:50 AM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(intrepidity85 @ Jan 14 2016, 08:30 AM) yes already include GST yet they say if u use credit card we will charge 6% .. if u use cash to pay.. then u dont have to pay for 6% cc charge.. any idea whats this all about? That's the so-called credit card surcharge lo. The % varies according to shops.
fruitie
Jan 14 2016, 01:33 PM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(alexwsk @ Jan 14 2016, 09:39 AM) it's contactless transactions below RM250 seems like a new standard - Wifi will be introduce to replace visa paywave, mastercard paypass or whatever they call it I find it dangerous. Heck, RM 250 is a lot for me.
fruitie
Jan 15 2016, 04:15 PM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(Nom-el @ Jan 15 2016, 03:21 PM) Is it possible to get a credit card from OCBC by pledging FD nowadays? Thanks. Anymore interesting cards from OCBC these days that worth FD pledge?
fruitie
Jan 16 2016, 02:46 PM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(Nom-el @ Jan 16 2016, 01:03 PM) Well, for GE policyholder, the OCBC GE card is quite good especially when you combine it with the OCBC 360 Account. I see. I also have the GE Plat which I hardly use except for my monthly insurance charged to this card.
fruitie
Jan 16 2016, 08:45 PM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(cCyyCc @ Jan 16 2016, 06:26 PM) Ms. Fruitie gotten your PayUnion card already? How was it? Was it widely accepted in Malaysia?  It's UnionPay.  Not yet, still in processing. Hmm, I only plan to use it in China because I can pay in RMB using my ICBC savings account as it has RM and RMB. Most of the malls in Malaysia accept but I still prefer to use other non UnionPay cards.
fruitie
Jan 16 2016, 09:59 PM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(intrepidity85 @ Jan 16 2016, 09:53 PM) very slow processing from ICBC.. i was told they need to send all documents to shanghai for processing.. will get verification calls from shanghai instead of malaysia I'm not sure, anyway I will follow up again next week.  Let's see what the guy will tell me.
fruitie
Jan 19 2016, 09:04 PM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(cCyyCc @ Jan 19 2016, 09:00 PM) Just submitted my application at ICBC KL today. Was told the it takes about a month for the card to reach the applicant from the day of application because the card will be send all the way from Hong Kong. The credit card application form given to me was a full color printed on glossy paper, kinda like those newly launched house development catalog  Not bad but only applications approved by end of this month will get free 2 years AF and gift voucher. I forgot to check my status.  Will check tomorrow.
fruitie
Jan 20 2016, 11:59 AM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(intrepidity85 @ Jan 19 2016, 09:33 PM) mine still pending.. haihz super duper slow processing And also cCyyCc, I just texted the officer and he told me my application has been rejected.  OK lo, no reason can be given, as usual and suggest me to re-apply again after 3 months. Luckily not something I die die want.
fruitie
Jan 20 2016, 01:34 PM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(intrepidity85 @ Jan 20 2016, 01:08 PM) hmm.. at least you have got status.. mine still pending.. latest update on monday.. officer say wait verification call from overseas number.. i was like...  today i called him again he say should be approved on next week cause he received some calls from HQ.. no idea how true is that I didn't receive any verification call.
fruitie
Jan 20 2016, 02:52 PM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(intrepidity85 @ Jan 20 2016, 02:41 PM) Straight rejected I guess but it's OK la. Not important for me. Next time I go China, wanna open one bank account there, easy for my Alipay reload. Nowadays all my transactions are paid by my China friends. Very paiseh.  Since I already have one ICBC UnionPay Debit Card, I think I can live without the credit card.
fruitie
Jan 20 2016, 06:34 PM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Jan 20 2016, 06:20 PM) Will High Debt Servicing Ratio (DSR) decrease your chances of getting an approval? Yes, DSR will. This post has been edited by fruitie: Jan 20 2016, 06:35 PM
fruitie
Jan 20 2016, 06:51 PM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Jan 20 2016, 06:38 PM) What is the allowable limit? I know every bank is different, sorry can't help much.
fruitie
Jan 21 2016, 04:27 PM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(eddievh @ Jan 21 2016, 04:09 PM) Someone told me 2017 cc need to key in pin at merchant machine then only can use. Really ar this news ? Yes, effective 1st Jan 2017.
fruitie
Jan 21 2016, 09:49 PM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 21 2016, 09:32 PM) Around midnight yesterday, as I was losing the deathly battle against my urge to chain smoke while starting on my draft copy of The Best Credit Cards in Malaysia - Episode III, I took a break and visited LYN. And our sweet and ever ready to assist MOD, fruitie, highlighted to me at Recommendation of Credit Cards Thread that one can now pay his/her PTPTN Education Loan with credit cards! Well, guess what, instead of continuing to draft my Top 10 Best Credit Card article, I spent the entire day wasting time researching and drafting an article on PTPTN loans. And I have just published my article titled Paying PTPTN Education Loan with Credit Cards. Besides telling you where you can pay your PTPTN loans with credit cards, the article has very little info that can assist most of you regulars here in respect to what card is the best for paying PTPTN loans. The article was written not only to give you an insight as to how you may be able to earn some FREE Pocket Money using credit cards to pay your PTPTN Education Loan; but to highlight that you can save more money by opting for a shorter duration to repay PTPTN loans. Click here to read my article titled Paying PTPTN Education Loans with Credit Cards.Anyway, not me la.  Good article, I will read it through now.  QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jan 21 2016, 09:46 PM) but i am the one who reported that can pay ptptn using CC  I already declared to him from the beginning, I just helped to find those posts for him.  Not I tried before.
fruitie
Jan 22 2016, 10:25 AM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 22 2016, 08:26 AM) CTOS I don't know but CCRIS from Bank Negara Malaysia. Go to BNM yourself, there will be terminals/PC where you insert your NRIC and you can then print your CCRIS report. I will have to find time to go to BNM to check out my CCRIS since my office is in KL Sentral and take KTM is just two stops away.  See if I'm hardworking to go today or next Friday.
fruitie
Jan 22 2016, 02:21 PM
Rise and Shine
Just went and printed my CCRIS report and saw the damned RHB card is still there and the highest limit of all banks. How can I get RHB remove this so that it won't show on my CCRIS? Should I scan a copy of CCRIS report to show to them? I don't think I should because this is considered confidential for me.
fruitie
Jan 22 2016, 02:43 PM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(intrepidity85 @ Jan 22 2016, 02:25 PM) maybe because of this icbc decline you? same like pb decline me using this reason? call their CS and report to BNM I can see ICBC is pending and assigned limit is RM 10k.  But I know it's already rejected. So should I straight send to BNM so that I don't need to print my CCRIS report again? My report is damn clean, all 0.
fruitie
Jan 22 2016, 03:31 PM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(intrepidity85 @ Jan 22 2016, 03:20 PM) mine too all 0 yes u should send to BNM .. only this way RHB will remove your plat from CCRIS record I still have the email I got from RHB that it is already removed from my CCRIS. Then I went and reinstated my card but with lower limit, however the limit shows the earlier higher limit I got when I first applied.