cybpsych
post Jan 6 2016, 03:02 PM

---------------------
65,266 posts

QUOTE(dannyw @ Jan 6 2016, 12:31 PM)
So means I just have to walk in to the Mach branch, then they need RM50 to open the Money Box, and right after, I just need IBG in money, and can choose the promo FD in the e-FD list?
dont get confused between HLB eFD and HLB MACH FD.

this two is managed separately in HLB Connect.

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jan 6 2016, 12:34 PM)
Yup. You'll have to open a Mach FD account, which can be done online on the HLB connect website.
Then you can start placing Mach FDs in that FD account.
cybpsych
post Jan 6 2016, 03:19 PM

---------------------
65,266 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 6 2016, 03:05 PM)
cybpsych let us know your MBB GIA-i interest for Dec month. Should be in few days time. I think it will be less by few cents (depending on your placement amt) as I mentioned earlier.  biggrin.gif
yeah, i've been tracking it very closely each month sweat.gif will update here later for comparison biggrin.gif
cybpsych
post Jan 7 2016, 07:11 AM

---------------------
65,266 posts

RHB 3-in-1 Prosperity Bundles [ RHB | T&Cs ]
4 January – 30 April 2016

With 3-in-1 Prosperity Bundles, you enjoy the best of Unit Trust, Fixed Deposit and CASA**.

This Year of the Monkey, good fortune is yours to enjoy with our 3-in-1 Prosperity Bundles of Unit Trust (UT), Fixed Deposit (FD) and CASA**. With 6 bundles to choose from, you will enjoy high interest rates of up to 12% p.a.* for FD when you invest in UT and make deposits into CASA**. Plus, you can bring home a Golden Monkey Figurine (24K Gold-plated) when you invest RM100,000 or more in UT. Invest, save and prosper with RHB Bank!

Only NEW funds are eligible for this campaign and the FD and CASA** amount deposited will be held for 1 month or 3 months from the date of placement, following the bundle type that is signed.

*Refer to charts for reward tiers. Terms & conditions apply. **CASA refers to RHB Current Account and Savings Account. ***To qualify for the rewards, the investment and deposits placement must be made in the ratio of 1.0 UT : 0.5 FD : 0.5 CASA.

Terms and conditions apply. For more information, please call 03-9206 8118 / 082-276 118, walk into any RHB Bank Branch today or log on to www.rhbgroup.com for the full set of terms and conditions.

Member of Perbadanan Insurans Deposit Malaysia. FD & CASA: Eligible for protection by PIDM. UT: Not insured by PIDM.

cybpsych
post Jan 7 2016, 07:20 AM

---------------------
65,266 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Jan 6 2016, 05:16 PM)
btw, the OCBC e-smartsaver is 3.9% now??

must deposit some money there every month also?
read http://www.ocbc.com.my/personal-banking/ac...promotions.html
cybpsych
post Jan 7 2016, 01:18 PM

---------------------
65,266 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jan 4 2016, 09:12 AM)
there are few ways for you to find out new/upcoming promos, if any:

1) read the pages in this topic. yes, read all if you want to know all. or do a quick [Search].

2) if no info found, wait for few more days for others to post updates in the forum. ppl voluntering updates here as and when they visited the bank (either for fd upliftment, other banking activities, or purely simply asking).

3) if cannot wait, try searching the bank's website. they could've silently update without us knowing, yet; or their update is slow (usually few days to weeks to get it published on website).

3) if still cannot wait, call or visit the bank yourself. Then you can share the updates here for others' reference.

rinse and repeat. that's how forumers here found out info and share with us.
QUOTE(Pinnacle1295 @ Jan 7 2016, 12:34 PM)
Hi!, any idea what's the promotional FD Rates (12-months) by OCBC, Public Bank & MayBank?

Correct me if I am wrong but I got the following rate from ringgitplus.com website but not sure whether they are the current promotional rates ...

OCBC ...................... 4.3% (15-months)
Public Bank .............. 4.3% (12-months)
Maybank .................. 4.5% (12-months step-up from 4%~6%)

Thanks!
i dont think Post 1 & 2 of this topic is too hard to comprehend.
cybpsych
post Jan 7 2016, 01:31 PM

---------------------
65,266 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 7 2016, 01:28 PM)
You will be surprised how many people never read page 1 shocking.gif
either they genuinely dont know the wealth of information posted there (i.e. /k/ keyboard warrior, belasah first, research later) or plain lazy.

i'd, on the other hand, research first to reconfirm facts, before advise the forumer tongue.gif
cybpsych
post Jan 7 2016, 01:32 PM

---------------------
65,266 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Dec 31 2015, 08:34 AM)
here's the website and full T&Cs for HLB Festive FD: 6-month @ 4.50% p.a.

HLB | T&Cs (EN) | T&Cs (BM) | T&Cs (CN)

QUOTE(B4U @ Jan 7 2016, 01:26 PM)
understand that Hong Leong Bank Promo 6 mths 4.5 (fresh fund)
again, post 1 already gotten this. i requote my sharing above. nothing new.

give us CNY promo details biggrin.gif
cybpsych
post Jan 8 2016, 12:34 PM

---------------------
65,266 posts

Fixed Deposit (FD) NEW YEAR 3 MONTHS Campaign [ MBB | T&Cs ]
4 January 2016 - 31 January 2016

Month 1-2: 3.80% p.a. | Month 3: 4.50% p.a. | 4.03% p.a. effective rate | min RM25k

Available for placements made over the counter only. Customer must have a current or savings account with Maybank.
cybpsych
post Jan 9 2016, 04:02 PM

---------------------
65,266 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 6 2016, 03:05 PM)
cybpsych let us know your MBB GIA-i interest for Dec month. Should be in few days time. I think it will be less by few cents (depending on your placement amt) as I mentioned earlier.  biggrin.gif
got my 3rd month profit liao.

i gotten slightly higher than my calculation. month 3 EIR was calculated to be 3.9891% but actual was 3.9973% (based on 31 days over 365) laugh.gif previous month 1 was 4.0003% and month 2 was 4.0004%.

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jan 9 2016, 03:48 PM)
Guys. Still remember the gia by mbb? Hows the dividend for the first month? I forgot to follow up. I try to calculate but cant get the 4% pa.
been trying to tag you since first month liao. sweat.gif
cybpsych
post Jan 9 2016, 04:26 PM

---------------------
65,266 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Jan 9 2016, 04:24 PM)
how much does the extra 0.0003% worth in Ringgit?
kuaci value laugh.gif i put min fund only.
cybpsych
post Jan 9 2016, 04:48 PM

---------------------
65,266 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 9 2016, 04:37 PM)
As mentioned I calculated to be 3.998% based on 31 days over 365 days (simple calculation without taking into acct of 366 days this year).

But the other 2 months are pure 4%. But I did not really look to the 4th decimal point !  tongue.gif
hahah it's negligible for me anyway thumbup.gif the calculation is just for fun tongue.gif
cybpsych
post Jan 11 2016, 07:23 AM

---------------------
65,266 posts

QUOTE(ed1torz @ Jan 11 2016, 07:14 AM)
correct me since the calc differ due to probably some administration fees involved.

lets say I have a house loan setting at 4.3% based on current BLR (old loan) would it be feasible to take out the cash that I deposited to offset the interest and dumped it all to HLB as it's earning @ 4.5%?

thanks, im new to FD
a bit off topic, but i make this simpler to compare:

house loan @ 4.3% p.a. is over the total loan balance (fill in the blanks here, am sure about 5-6-digit amount, right?)

FD @ 4.5% p.a. (6 months only) is over a fixed amount (fill in the blanks here, how much you willing to put?)

u can guess interest gained from FD may not enough to offset house loan's interest. furthermore, HLB's FD rate is temporary promo rate. after 6 months tenure, u gonna hunt FD again, which maybe higher/lower rate.

this is just simple comparison. havent talked about flexi house loan or other investments. but generally, reducing house loan is still advantageous for long run.

read and search from Property Talk sub-forum here https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=SF&s=&f=154

there are some discussions similar as yours.
cybpsych
post Jan 13 2016, 11:59 AM

---------------------
65,266 posts

how easy to maintain Mach Money box?

if inactive >6mths, any reactivation/penalty fee? i didnt see any reactivation fee in t&c though. i see there's a reactivation button (pre-active) in HL Connect.

for money box feature, which one do u choose? 15 free ibg (rebate) with minimum average monthly balance of RM1,000? or Sky High Savings?

This post has been edited by cybpsych: Jan 13 2016, 12:00 PM
cybpsych
post Jan 13 2016, 02:08 PM

---------------------
65,266 posts

QUOTE(coolstore @ Jan 13 2016, 12:24 PM)
after 6 mths, how's the fd market become?

better go for 4.3 for 12mths or 4.5 for 6 mths then with uncertainty of 2nd half of 2016?
if ppl know the future, there wont be fd topic here.

everyone has different reasons to go for long or short tenure. up to your preference.
cybpsych
post Jan 13 2016, 04:53 PM

---------------------
65,266 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Jan 13 2016, 04:47 PM)
no reactivation fee, bro.
orite! thumbup.gif
cybpsych
post Jan 13 2016, 06:57 PM

---------------------
65,266 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ May 23 2015, 02:39 AM)
Only one cert one FD placement. Some banks are statement based. No cert to collect. I peronally prefer statement based coz bank charges for missing cert. Public bank charges RM10. HL staff told me HL bank charges more than RM10. Exact amount not sure. But HL bank Islamc FD is statement based.

You renew upon maturity not monthly. Most people here will not want to renew monthly because the rate will be board rate.
guys, my mom misplaced her PBB FD cert.

managed to dug out earlier post by gsc, as above.

to-date, does PBB still need the Cert to uplift the FD? is the policy still stand?

This post has been edited by cybpsych: Jan 13 2016, 07:01 PM
cybpsych
post Jan 13 2016, 07:00 PM

---------------------
65,266 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 13 2016, 04:59 PM)
The 6 mths must have activity is tighter than most banks 12 mth for SA. Not sure you read what I have mentioned when Top Flo asked about re-activation of her MACH acct.

I was lucky that after I clicked the reactivation online, then xfer'ed new fund, their CS called me. But Top Flo ended up has to visit the MACH branch to re-activate her acct. No reactivation fee involved.

I never used any of the features of Moneybox. Only one that I used is the placement of an FD last week after 6pm. So it is convenient in a way. biggrin.gif
thanks for the insight.

i've got 6 MBB Islamic eFD recurring every 3-months @ 3.30% p.a. Still considering to uplift all eFD in M2U (losing the interests) and transfer to Mach/Money Box for the 4.5% p.a. sweat.gif
cybpsych
post Jan 14 2016, 06:55 AM

---------------------
65,266 posts

QUOTE(~HL~ @ Jan 13 2016, 11:43 PM)
huh what did I do wrong ? cry.gif Please don't fire me sad.gif

Anyway guys, I'm still waiting for any 3 months tenure FD promo that has min 5% like HSBC did last year rclxms.gif
they are referrring to the other fella, the one that gave u all the numbs.

no issue for newbie asking questions, but if repetitively being "noob" but dont respect others, that's attitude problem.

as adele123 explained, all bank interests is based on p.a. (per annum) basis. so, dont have to drool over high interest number. always read the T&Cs.
cybpsych
post Jan 14 2016, 06:59 AM

---------------------
65,266 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 13 2016, 10:43 PM)
When I was his age (18 years old) I know that one will not get 3.x returns in a month for FD and I had no one to tell me that (I do not know how to calculate effective interest back then). Some more common sense will tell you getting 4.x%/month? Like that banks sure bankrupt already. Sometimes you need to be frank. biggrin.gif Anyway, better stop here before being OT.
u do know that u dont have to reply, right? keeping quiet is also a smart thing to do.

yet, you brag and later tell the rest to stop from OT??? doh.gif you keep doing that but still posting OT posts everywhere?? doh.gif geeezzzzz

cybpsych
post Jan 14 2016, 11:08 AM

---------------------
65,266 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Jan 14 2016, 10:58 AM)
Yes...PB is certificate based and it is still required. I have misplaced two certs and still couldn't find them. But PB still send the statement update quarterly.
thanks!

haizzz, gonna ask PBB directly on the "damage" to get a new cert or possiblity to uplift without cert.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.2642sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:10 AM