USD/MYR drop, v3
Showtime747
Jan 7 2016, 06:53 PM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 7 2016, 06:38 PM) Hope you don't mind me asking, how are you going to convert your money to USD, GBP? Are you going.to fly there and open an account there? You can open foreign currency accounts with the banks in malaysia. After that, you can buy/sell at bank rates, or use DCI to convert at spot rate I also have accounts in other countries. The malaysian branch of the banks helped me to open those overseas accounts so I don't need to fly there. But I think you have to have certain minimum amount to do that. After opening those accounts, you can transfer funds between those overseas account via internet/phone/email/fax/whatsapp depending on the banks' SOP
Hansel
Jan 7 2016, 06:53 PM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 7 2016, 06:47 PM) Well bnm reserves are not used or else we will see a decline in reserves. That is why we call it 'hidden hands'. And not intervention by the central bank. The funds to support the RM may or may not have come from BNM.
Showtime747
Jan 7 2016, 06:56 PM
QUOTE(Hansel @ Jan 7 2016, 06:40 PM) The Msian mkt is always like that,... always have hidden hands im play,... seldom following fundamentals. Anyway, I'm sure even 'hidden hands' will run out of bullets in the long run. Couldn't wait for them to finish their business RM should have breached 4.50 easily if everything go according to fundamentals
Ramjade
Jan 7 2016, 06:59 PM
QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Jan 7 2016, 06:53 PM) You can open foreign currency accounts with the banks in malaysia. After that, you can buy/sell at bank rates, or use DCI to convert at spot rate I also have accounts in other countries. The malaysian branch of the banks helped me to open those overseas accounts so I don't need to fly there. But I think you have to have certain minimum amount to do that. After opening those accounts, you can transfer funds between those overseas account via internet/phone/email/fax/whatsapp depending on the banks' SOP End of the day, if you are not rich, you cannot open those account in another country from Malaysia.  If opening a foreign account in malaysia, it still makes no difference as the money is still in malaysian bank. Looks like for not so rich people, the only hope is to fly there and open from there.  Rather than having a certain limit with certain banks. This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 7 2016, 07:00 PM
AVFAN
Jan 7 2016, 07:08 PM
QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Jan 7 2016, 06:34 PM) Old bird like you understand the whole picture But you can see in this thread there are many people still asking whether it is a good idea to convert their RM to forex. They find it hard to understand the gloomy future they are facing  Old birds do try hard to tell the birdlings.
prophetjul
Jan 7 2016, 07:10 PM
QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Jan 7 2016, 06:56 PM) Couldn't wait for them to finish their business RM should have breached 4.50 easily if everything go according to fundamentals Please don't. Let Aud sink to 0.65 first.....
AVFAN
Jan 7 2016, 07:14 PM
QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Jan 7 2016, 06:56 PM) Couldn't wait for them to finish their business RM should have breached 4.50 easily if everything go according to fundamentals The biz will never be finished. As long the crooks get the blind support, it will be the same or worse. I agree 4.50 will be the average for next 2 years; the fundamentals are getting weaker as more money and talent get chased out. When we get nearer to ge14 in 2018, there will be some manipulated movement attempted. But alas, small economies with little to show can't do much. This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jan 7 2016, 07:14 PM
Showtime747
Jan 7 2016, 07:22 PM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 7 2016, 06:59 PM) End of the day, if you are not rich, you cannot open those account in another country from Malaysia.  If opening a foreign account in malaysia, it still makes no difference as the money is still in malaysian bank. Looks like for not so rich people, the only hope is to fly there and open from there.  Rather than having a certain limit with certain banks. Use foreign banks in Malaysia as compromise. For small amount it is not worth the trouble to fly out of the country to open bank accounts. Anyway, I don't think the financial system in Malaysia will collapse. So banks in Malaysia are still safe.
KTCY
Jan 7 2016, 07:22 PM
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 7 2016, 03:58 PM) with crude at 32.20, i can almost assure u it will go back 4.4x by 5pm.  waiting for US market better
Showtime747
Jan 7 2016, 07:23 PM
QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jan 7 2016, 07:10 PM) Please don't. Let Aud sink to 0.65 first.....  You have SGD holdings so you no problem lah
Showtime747
Jan 7 2016, 07:25 PM
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 7 2016, 07:14 PM) The biz will never be finished. As long the crooks get the blind support, it will be the same or worse. I agree 4.50 will be the average for next 2 years; the fundamentals are getting weaker as more money and talent get chased out. When we get nearer to ge14 in 2018, there will be some manipulated movement attempted. But alas, small economies with little to show can't do much. Exactly. With the current development, it's just a matter of time RM will drop further.
Hansel
Jan 7 2016, 07:27 PM
QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jan 7 2016, 07:10 PM) Please don't. Let Aud sink to 0.65 first.....  Please don't ! I play the carry trade. The AUD must stay above 0.6900, at the very least,....
SUSWhoCaresMyName
Jan 7 2016, 07:27 PM

so china depreciate their currency again today, affect global currency.
Hansel
Jan 7 2016, 07:30 PM
QUOTE(WhoCaresMyName @ Jan 7 2016, 07:27 PM) so china depreciate their currency again today, affect global currency. More like affecting EM currencies,....
Ramjade
Jan 7 2016, 07:39 PM
QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Jan 7 2016, 07:22 PM) Use foreign banks in Malaysia as compromise. For small amount it is not worth the trouble to fly out of the country to open bank accounts. Anyway, I don't think the financial system in Malaysia will collapse. So banks in Malaysia are still safe. Banking system is the least of our worries. Imagine myr becomes as bad as rupiah. Heck, even rupiah outperform us.
@secret@
Jan 7 2016, 07:47 PM
Highlight: Bank Negara's foreign reserves fall 17.8% y-o-y to US$95.3b as at end-2015 | The Edge Markets
This post has been edited by @secret@: Jan 7 2016, 07:47 PM
nexona88
Jan 7 2016, 07:58 PM
QUOTE(@secret@ @ Jan 7 2016, 07:47 PM) Highlight: Bank Negara's foreign reserves fall 17.8% y-o-y to US$95.3b as at end-2015 | The Edge Markets very bad
Ramjade
Jan 7 2016, 08:49 PM
QUOTE(@secret@ @ Jan 7 2016, 07:47 PM) Highlight: Bank Negara's foreign reserves fall 17.8% y-o-y to US$95.3b as at end-2015 | The Edge Markets Hidden hands uses money from bnm? This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 7 2016, 08:49 PM
rsritharan
Jan 7 2016, 09:02 PM
QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jan 7 2016, 12:17 PM) If current market sentiment persists, Us$/myr likely to range 4.50 to 4.70. I like that - i hope USD gets to 4.7 to 5.0 range - about time for USD to regain strength!
Showtime747
Jan 7 2016, 09:39 PM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 7 2016, 07:39 PM) Banking system is the least of our worries. Imagine myr becomes as bad as rupiah. Heck, even rupiah outperform us. If you are not worried about malaysian banking system, why do you insist on opening a bank account overseas ?