6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Travel Travel to Japan V8, Discovery Japan Start Here

deodorant
post Mar 21 2016, 11:07 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Mar 21 2016, 08:41 PM)
Will there be any issue with immigration if I write the airbnb address at the arrival card..since they are expecting tourists to stay at a hotel address..or should I just write a hotel address and phone no? Will they question or check?

No, they won't question or check. Put hotel address also can, airbnb address also can.
deodorant
post Mar 22 2016, 07:54 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(big1 @ Mar 22 2016, 06:13 AM)
should i buy tokyo metro pass for 3 days, or just the suica/pasmo card is sufficient?

This is the ¥1,500 for 3 days, so ¥500 a day one right?

My personal opinion is always don't bother with this pass. My last trip I spent 5d in Tokyo, spending on Metro was around ¥2,000 only (the rest all on JR lines). So if you use metro pass you need to do a lot of pre-planning (e.g. purposely go out of your way to take metro instead of JR, purposely arrange lots of travel within those 3 days, etc) ... but even then how much do you save? IMO not worth the effort.
deodorant
post Mar 22 2016, 07:27 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(sin @ Mar 22 2016, 04:18 PM)
Early June, is there elsewhere that we can go for lavender field? Nagoya is a little bit far imho.

Nagoya is rm800 return (and 2 hrs train each way). Might be a bit pricey just to see some flowers. Can always skip and plan following years go Hokkaido to see.

This post has been edited by deodorant: Mar 22 2016, 09:47 PM
deodorant
post Mar 24 2016, 07:40 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(jackieatbtu @ Mar 23 2016, 09:23 PM)
Hi, planning to go Tokyo this August to experience summer there.

6th Aug - Ueno in the morning. Try to get lunch slot for Tsuta, michelin ramen.

... but why? Malaysia is summer all year round, why purposely go another country to experience the same weather? lol. My first trip to Tokyo was during summer (not by choice but by schedule constraints), it's hot and humid, walk everywhere also shirt damp from sweat, neck, arms all sticky. Not pleasant.

Tsuta keeps changing their system, but as far as I know the latest one is you have to turn up and queue way early in the morning to collect ticket and pay deposit, then go walk around, then only come back on the time slot that you have on your ticket. http://www.ramenadventures.com/2015/12/how...in-starred.html

Kyle Lee said...
Got here at 6:45am, already about 25 people in line ahead of me. Kazu gave out tickets at 7am. I was good for 12pm eating. Today was just another Thursday.

Good luck ramen seekers!

January 6, 2016 at 2:15 PM

Anthony Levchenko said...

I arrived today (Sunday Jan 24) at 7.45am and got the 1pm slot. I jumped in line at 12.50pm and was slurping by 1.30pm.

January 24, 2016 at 7:25 AM

This post has been edited by deodorant: Mar 24 2016, 07:44 AM
deodorant
post Mar 25 2016, 12:53 PM

5,691 posts

http://www.boredpanda.com/after-fukushima-...aign=BPFacebook

Interesting article, nice photos. Photographer got some ex residents of one of the towns near the plant that's still an off limits zone, and photographed them as if they were going on their daily lives.

This post has been edited by deodorant: Mar 25 2016, 12:54 PM
deodorant
post Mar 26 2016, 09:29 AM

5,691 posts

dex-brz to "save money" on that pass you need to really put a lot of effort into planning ie do a lot of travel on the 3 days and/or purposely reroute all your travel away from JR lines. Just FYI my last trip I spent around ¥1500 in 4 days on subway/metro in Tokyo (the rest of my travel was all on JR lines).

This post has been edited by deodorant: Mar 26 2016, 09:29 AM
deodorant
post Mar 27 2016, 04:33 PM

5,691 posts

milky.way depends partially whether you are driving or whether you depending on public transport, cos driving you can cover a lot more attractions in the area in a lot shorter time.

btw lavender peak season ends in like late July-early August.
deodorant
post Mar 29 2016, 09:15 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(key3hky @ Mar 28 2016, 10:20 PM)
1. Day to Day itinerary
2. Car rental
3. Lodgings
4. Place of Interest
5. Good food
6. Data Sim card. 

1, 3 and 4 go Japan Guide http://www.japan-guide.com/list/e1101.html and see what is interesting to you. Then go google maps and see driving directions and craft for yourself what is the best / most effective route to take. Then post here and let us critique.

Give you a hint, first timer normally just concentrate on the central/south-western area.

2. Check this website will agak agak give you prices. http://www.toyotarentacar.net/

5. Hokkaido Food Guide: Eight Foods you totally must eat in Hokkaido!http://look-see-eat.blogspot.sg/2015/10/ei...aido-japan.html (according to me who only go once lol).

6. http://www.globaladvancedcomm.com/pocketwifi.html I used premium wifi in Hokkaido, worked well.

This post has been edited by deodorant: Mar 29 2016, 09:15 AM
deodorant
post Mar 31 2016, 07:22 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(yujin86 @ Mar 30 2016, 09:17 PM)
Any suggestion for the itinerary below?
Day 1 western tokyo
Day 2 asakusa and odaiba, tokyo
Day 3 lake kawaguchiko
Day 4 hakone
Day 5 northern kyoto half day
Day 6 arashiyama, kyoto
Day 7 eastern kyoto
Day 8 back to tokyo

I presume you are first timer (otherwise you wouldn't ask whether you need JR Pass). If so, 8 days I wouldn't even bother going to Kansai (Kyoto/Osaka area) at all. Just Tokyo/Greater Tokyo can liao. Your this itinerary 2 days Tokyo is like you order a cup of cappucino and only sip the foam then throw away. (not to mention waste like 7 hours and rm1k travelling to kyoto and back).

If you are not first timer then different story. JR pass is ¥29k. Kyoto-Tokyo ¥13.5k one way.

This post has been edited by deodorant: Mar 31 2016, 07:25 AM
deodorant
post Mar 31 2016, 08:13 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(yujin86 @ Mar 31 2016, 07:38 AM)
because tokyo is a big metropolitan to me, actually i more prefer kyoto...

in that case then why even bother with tokyo. just spend all 8 days in kansai.
deodorant
post Mar 31 2016, 06:39 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(shinoxun @ Mar 31 2016, 02:46 PM)
It will be just a Touch n Go to OSAKA as my wife insist must drop by at Osaka once for our trip.

Frankly this is one of the funniest things I ever heard in this thread lol. Put your foot down and tell your wife that an Osaka day trip makes no sense whatsoever. stick to Tokyo and come back to Kansai next year / next trip instead of doing such wuliao things doh.gif

(Or cut short Tokyo and spend at least a couple of days in Kansai)

sapora I agree with cloudwan0. 7 days just stay in Kansai, next trip only go Tokyo. Osaka 2d Kyoto 3d Nara/Kobe 2d just right.

This post has been edited by deodorant: Mar 31 2016, 06:49 PM
deodorant
post Apr 1 2016, 11:12 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(AlienDex @ Apr 1 2016, 10:03 AM)
Day3: 2/5
Stay in kutchan/ Niseko ( planned to experience ski/snowboard )
(untill 3/5 3-4pm and back Sapporo)

Just a comment on this. Are you a first timer / total newbie?
If yes, do you have someone in your traveling party who knows how to ski/snowboard and who will teach you?
If first timer + nobody to teach, make sure you sign up (and pay for) lessons otherwise you won't enjoy at all.
btw, IMO you need two full days to enjoy a ski/snowboard session.
deodorant
post May 11 2016, 05:46 PM

5,691 posts

iluvcalculus depends where are you planning to visit once you're done ski'ing. If you're touring hokkaido anyway then go niseko or Furano or rusutsu. If yore touring main island then go Nagano mountains - shika kogen, nozawa onsen, etc.

Anyway ski'ing everywhere in general is quite pricey cos of lift pass and ski gear rental. you won't really get "cheap" ski'ing. Make sure you budget at bare minimum 1 full day. First half day take lessons, 2nd half of the day can sendiri go up beginner slopes to enjoice on your own. If got time, extend to 2 days so that you can also enjoice ski'ing on the 2nd day. For beginners, any more than that a bit tricky cos your muscles would likely be worn out by end of 2nd day (depending on your fitness level of course)
deodorant
post May 14 2016, 12:05 PM

5,691 posts

http://en.rocketnews24.com/2016/05/10/10-t...finitely-visit/

[img]https://sociorocketnewsen.files.wordpress.com/2016/05/no-diet-10.jpg[img]
deodorant
post May 15 2016, 03:34 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(HMMaster @ May 15 2016, 09:25 AM)
I see... coz it is expensive, so wondering whether it worth to spend on it or not.

"Worth it" is a question only you yourself can answer. If the ryokan experience doesn't appeal to you then why bother spending the money?
deodorant
post May 16 2016, 11:24 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(aaronx130988 @ May 16 2016, 11:17 AM)
but i thought in tokyo area we can use jr pass...it cannot cover?

Within Tokyo, each train ride mostly around ¥170-200.
One way Shinkansen to Osaka around ¥14,000
JR Pass 7 days ¥29,000

Do the math.
deodorant
post May 17 2016, 11:41 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(ntdote @ May 17 2016, 09:11 PM)
To find out whether its worth it to DIY considering the amount of reading and research to be done and of coz the language barrier.

Frankly, I don't think cost should be your main consideration. Rather, it should be do you want to DIY (i.e. do all the hours and days of research, and then go there have to find your own way around, switch plans when things don't turn out properly, etc), or if you want to just outsource all that planning and hassle to a tour agency.
deodorant
post May 21 2016, 01:46 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(takadanicklagi @ May 21 2016, 08:07 AM)
some nice local souvenir.

well you can try ameyoko http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e3012.html

deodorant
post May 24 2016, 05:56 PM

5,691 posts

LeonTan DisneySea for sure, unless you wanna go take lots of photo with Disney character icon_idea.gif
deodorant
post May 29 2016, 12:19 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan0 @ May 27 2016, 05:34 PM)
what to eat with 1.2k, never spend so much on a meal before hmm.gif highest only take me about 800

Most expensive meal I've had is ¥25k/pax Kaiseki at Kyoto. Only reason I chose the place is cos the chef is one of the few ppl who appear on iron chef Japan and emerge victorious 😝

http://look-see-eat.blogspot.sg/2013/04/su...-iron-chef.html

midnightsunray go Hokkaido in autumn lo. Drive around view autumn leaf colours.

http://look-see-eat.blogspot.sg/2015/11/ho...rket-ramen.html

This post has been edited by deodorant: May 29 2016, 12:23 AM

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0589sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:31 AM