QUOTE(rjb123 @ Dec 4 2015, 09:49 AM)
Does the threading for the grub screws extend the entire width of the post?
LYN OFFICIAL VAPING THREAD V30, - 30th Anniversary #VapeSmart
Dec 4 2015, 10:41 AM
2,399 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
Dec 4 2015, 11:01 AM
QUOTE(rjb123 @ Dec 4 2015, 10:44 AM) The grub screw size seemed fine, will have a look in more detail when I get back inside Ah..it's not the size of the grub screws I was asking about , but rather the threading (holes, if u will) for said screws; was wondering if they go through the width of the post (eg you can screw in the screw and it keeps going and comes out the other side because the threading goes right through), or has that flaw been fixed. Got a different charger arriving today, should be able to capacity test some of the questionable 18650s And please do post the results of your capacity tests. I've got 2 of the shiny joenida HG2's in my mod right now, and the rate of drop in battery level still appears to be similar to my older matte wrap ones. Still no reply from LG Chem on my questions; I doubt they'll bother to answer them. |
Dec 4 2015, 11:35 AM
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Thanks for that! Wonder what they were thinking...do they love ppl clipping the wires and/or stretching coils? The screw thread holes of the velocity deck (on a velocity rda) do not go all the way through. I'll wait n see if there's yet another "upgrade" to the v3 Crius...or a v4 then. So your HE4's are 4-5g lighter...hmm. One of the probs with LG Chem's spec sheets is they only state the max weight of batteries, no minimum weight. |
Dec 4 2015, 12:07 PM
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « I didn't give any comment on the shiny joenida HG2's till after 4 cycles (if I recall correctly...it was at least 4 times vaping till the mod flashed low battery, and then charging them). But I think it's good if you measure the discharge starting at the first cycle , then u can see if there's any improvement/degradation on subsequent cycles. I suggest you let them rest a few hours between charge/discharge cycles, to be on the safe side. Yes..a 10% diff in weight is big. Hopefully that doesn't translate to a 10% or worse drop in run-times. Some times I feel that end-users are subject too much to the vagaries and whims of manufacturers. LG Chem's statement of only max weights gives them an "out" should different batches be much lighter, and counterfeiters will clap their hands in glee at that. |
Dec 4 2015, 03:11 PM
QUOTE(rjb123 @ Dec 4 2015, 12:12 PM) Test should be fair as all cells are new and at their first cycle - at least the 25R is a known genuine cell so that gives me a starting point to see how accurate the output is. They're only being charged and discharged at 1A so I'm not too concerned at that rate about letting them cool down inbetween. Anyway, I don't need any of these 4 immediately so can pair them up and run them through all the same tests and see what the results are. In the past Sony had responded to some end users when they had questions, but it wasn't a commonplace thing. And you're right...the mfgs would not be too bothered with end-user queries. Ah well...we pays our monies and we takes our chances. Main problem with the 18650s we use are that none of them are really meant for consumer resale in the first place, hence I doubt manufacturers would really give any response to end users Earlier on when you mentioned a similar prob with the Aromamizer clipping wires, I forgot to mention that I saw on Steam Crave's website in red letters "No Drilling-through problem now". I guess they chose to stop tapping all the way through the post, which is what they should have done in the first place. Their RTDA always interested me...but I just didn't really like the stretchy band AFC and so didn't get one. Anyways, you're busy with work and I don't want to distract u too much, so I'll patiently wait for yr evaluation of the HE4's...I had been thinking of getting 6 pairs of those, but am in no hurry. |
Dec 4 2015, 09:35 PM
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « I'm not an expert, but FWIW, I snapped a pic of some of my HG2 batts. I got the same boxes as u did from joenida. Pictured below are 3 pairs of HG2's. Leftmost and rightmost pairs were from a vape shop @ RM40 each. Center pair with slightly different color wrapper which is shiny is from joenida, and the anodes looks similar the one u got from alexng. ![]() This post has been edited by andyng38: Dec 4 2015, 09:38 PM |
Dec 4 2015, 11:33 PM
QUOTE(syafiq0211 @ Dec 4 2015, 10:34 PM) Did the batteries you received last just about as long as RM40 HG2's from vape shops while using the same mod, atty, coils and juice? Mine do (seriously), and if they're fake, then I must say they're rather good fakes and damned worth the price QUOTE(iAwesome @ Dec 4 2015, 10:41 PM) If you wait long enough, maybe someone else will chime in and say, "You actually got bubble wrap from Joenida? Mine were wrapped in a paper napkin that looked slightly used." |
Dec 5 2015, 12:30 AM
Dec 5 2015, 01:43 AM
QUOTE(Andy0625 @ Dec 5 2015, 12:34 AM) In that case, there's a high possibility your battery might be a genuine one. The one I have, in matte wrap but flat top cap will show weak battery even just after a full charge. Bro..in all the posts where I had mentioned Joenida's HG2's, I've never called them genuine or fake nor have I even for a second thought of them as genuine or fake. I am strictly neutral on this because I really don't have the means to make such a call. And even tho this is non-serious kopitiam, I am dead-serious on this. I'm damned bored right now and still sleepless, so this may be a LONG posting When I first ripped open the package, opened the box, then opened the smaller white box and saw the glossy wrapper instead of the usual matte chocolate one, the first thought in my mind was "Waddafakisthissheetwhyisitshiny??!!". But then I remembered I had asked Joe to ensure the wrappers were not torn before he sent me the batts. One vape shop had tried to foist off several slightly torn HG2 @ RM45 each to me the week before. I refused it and walked off...and decided to try buying online instead. Had my friend's vape shop not run out of stock, I'd have probably bought from him. The last time I bought any batts online was in 2009 (and that batt was part of the e-cigarette set I got off Lelong). Screenshot of my request to Joe: Thinking that they may have rewrapped the batts cos the original wrappers were damaged (maybe he bought slightly damaged factory seconds hence the cheap price, I speculated), I decided to give them a chance and duly charged them up; it took like 15 or 20min to reach full charge for the first pair, and i think it was 30-35min for the 2nd pair. I used them in my ipv4s, and for the first 2 or 3 cycles, they had shorter run-times than my older matte wrap HG2's. After the 4th or 6th charging (I really can't remember), they lasted as long as my old HG2's. No venting, no heat issues...they just simply worked like the matte ones. Looking at Amco's photos in post#1904, the anode vent holes of my joenida HG2 are more like the ones on the batt he got from Alexng. And the anode vent holes of his joenida HG2 is way different from all the HG2's I have. I know not what to make of it and can only say that u pays yer monies, and u takes yer chances. Maybe I lucked out and got decent batts, or maybe my batts will stop working soon, I have no idea. Sidenote: In a past post I had mentioned that I was on the verge of cancelling an order from Joenida and requesting for a refund. I had spoken on the phone to someone from that organization (dunno if it was THE Joenida) last weekend. The conversation was polite and cordial on both sides but the extended delay in shipping made me want to cancel. Well the package finally arrived and I'm a happy camper. The item was for an elderly friend who needed help to buy online, so I purchased on his behalf. The smile on his face as I helped him open the package was the high point of my week |
Dec 5 2015, 02:18 AM
QUOTE(JimL @ Dec 5 2015, 01:55 AM) Joenida's shop's home page is usually in Malay (eg SALAM VAPERS*ADA BARANG YG MASUK POS, ADA BARANG YG TAK MASUK POS etc etc), so I assumed that was the better language to use for purposes of clarity in communication.I also spoke to that guy from Joenida on the phone using BM, even though his Chinese accent was very evident. Had he said å–‚? to me, I'd have switched to mandarin, or hokkien, or canto or whatever. I'm flexible, and I also see nothing wrong with malaysians using BM with each other, regardless of race. |
Dec 5 2015, 11:53 AM
QUOTE(gnomemaster @ Dec 5 2015, 12:58 AM) u both got bubble wrap and box??! mine jz came with the single batt box, not even a plastic wrapper wrapping the btt like alex's Currently you are leading the field in the "Least Amount of Battery Packaging" category. If no one received their purchase in a plain envelope with no wrapper too, YOU WIN!! |
Dec 5 2015, 03:15 PM
QUOTE(mi-g @ Dec 5 2015, 01:57 PM) Aww....dun feel like that lah. Buy locally 3 units Evic VTC mini and hot-glue them together. You'll have your very own unique triple battery mod with 3 attys and 3 flavors of juice. The RX200 or DNA chip Reauleaux can never do that. You win liau!! |
Dec 5 2015, 07:18 PM
I look upon this thread with eyes anew
People are venting before fake batteries do! With KKM & sultan's vape destruction onus We vapers better get along cos All We got is US! |
Dec 6 2015, 01:32 AM
QUOTE(ekudz @ Dec 5 2015, 10:46 PM) any comments on vapefair kl? heard several complaints about parking .. ur lucky if get 1 .. thinking going there tomorrow night .. If u do go to the Vapefair, can u please take a look around and see if any juice vendors are selling kretek flavors? I'm just curious as to what's available. Thanks! QUOTE(syafiq0211 @ Dec 6 2015, 12:20 AM) hell no, last about 20-30 puffs only (if ure lucky) That is terrible! Am glad u got yr money back. BTW I'm assuming u made a typo, re: "lg gh2"; it's supposed to be LG HG2. I may have escaped a similar fate this time, but dumb luck doesn't last...so I think I'll just shelve my plan to get more spare batteries for the time being. |
Dec 6 2015, 01:30 PM
QUOTE(hallucinogen @ Dec 6 2015, 01:01 PM) Bro, u are using rx200? Did you feel the mod body warm when using? Mine is warm.. Well just a bit warm la.. But im just curious coz on my vtc mini i never feel it warm.. Plus i'm only caping at low wattage (currently 0.88ohm, 12watt only).. Wonder if i use more than 100watt, how hot could it be Anyone else using rx200? Please share experience ![]() |
Dec 6 2015, 02:13 PM
Dec 6 2015, 02:15 PM
Dec 6 2015, 04:46 PM
QUOTE(hallucinogen @ Dec 6 2015, 02:27 PM) No, I'm not using the rx200...yet! I really like the design, and despite it's size and weight, I want one! But I prefer to stay away from early production runs of any device; let them work out the bugs first and see if other flaws develop. |
Dec 6 2015, 11:33 PM
QUOTE(Andy0625 @ Dec 6 2015, 11:00 PM) Oh, the juice. I guess 30ml will barely last a week but that is if you're gonna use the quadruple coil all the time. A must to buy the dual coil rba head though, flavor is more intense compare to the single coil rba head. Go for it mate. Heads up: the dual o-rings at the mad hatter mini's base are very weak. One slight nudge and the body can go out of position or become detached entirely. Suggest u get slightly fatter o-rings from fasttech at the same time. The 2 original red o-rings are approx 17mm outer diameter and slightly under 1mm thickness. By the way, anyone interested to share ems shipping from fasttech or gearbest? I need my item fast and can't wait too long. I'm only buying all small items. http://www.gearbest.com/rebuildable-atomizers/pp_264016.html Original mini mad hatter only 9.80usd. http://www.gearbest.com/rebuildable-atomizers/pp_254111.html Original Wotofo Freakshow Mini RDA only 12.02usd. Suggest u try https://www.fasttech.com/products/0/1000643...garette-10-pack Those o-rings are 1.5mm thickness, so should make for a tighter fit. I'm making do with winding a bit of dental floss around the original o-rings |
Dec 7 2015, 12:21 AM
QUOTE(Andy0625 @ Dec 6 2015, 11:54 PM) Thanks for sharing Andy! It seems like we have pretty good taste on mods and tanks there. Bro..there are NO 0.5mm thickness o-rings used on the TFV4.You're probably referring to the 11mm outer diameter, 1mm thickness o-ring used at the RBA base and at the chimney: https://www.fasttech.com/products/0/1000643...garette-20-pack For the RBA base, I ended up using a 1.5mm thick o-ring. It's tougher and can better withstand the sharp edges in the base assembly (despite my efforts to sand them down slightly) than that flimsy useless piece of silicone crap which came with the coils/RBAs. It's a slightly tight fit, but it works very well. If u wish, u can try those 1mm o-rings from the spare parts shop. It beats waiting for the slow boat from China. If they're made of nitrile rubber, they should last you a long time. |
| Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic |
| Change to: | 0.0375sec
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:00 AM |