We must learn to invest, bros,....
Working in Australia V2, All About working in Australia
Oct 9 2020, 03:54 PM
9,347 posts Joined: Aug 2010 |
We must learn to invest, bros,....
Oct 9 2020, 04:09 PM
QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 9 2020, 03:54 PM) QUOTE(Garysydney @ Oct 9 2020, 03:56 PM) A lot of would-be retirees are either putting off their retirement to accumulate more in their retirement assets. This is because the returns are getting really low - a return of 3-4%/yr would be considered very good nowadays. I was always banking i can get about 4%/yr on my retirement savings but now i have trimmed my expectations down to 2%/yr. Getting negative returns will very normal nowadays esp when the markets are so volatile. Hence,... my statement above, bro Gary,.... we need to start earlier,... starting early gives us an adequate amt of exposure and experience to dive into the proper investments that matched our needed returns and our risk profiles.One can't possibly turn into an 'expert' investor simply when the time comes to retire. If one is to think like this, he will be too nervous to retire in fear of running out of money. Again,... hence,... my statements in my captions below,.... |
Oct 9 2020, 05:04 PM
QUOTE(Garysydney @ Oct 9 2020, 04:47 PM) In Aust, i would say a lot of retirees are pretty savvy on investing (esp self-funded retirees) and a lot of them run their self-managed superfunds. For myself,.. I have always focussed first onto dividend stocks, and I must say this move has bode well for me,... of course, prior to taking this step, I have done all the researches needed and some simulations too prior to making this move. I have only recently started on Nasdaq counters, taking opportunity of the dip due to the pandemic.I am pretty savvy myself as my whole life has been concentrated around the stock market. The crucial thing is how conservative a person wants to be when he is fully retired. I used to be very gung-ho and have dumped most of my super money into high-risk international assets (heavily concentrated on Nasdaq stocks) - the pandemic caused me to become more conservative (which is a mistake now with hindsight as all my international assets would have regained all the losses if i had not switched them to a more conservative position). I am now in two minds whether to switch back to my original position (weighted heavily on Nasdaq stocks) as i am close to 60 now. It all boils down to risk vs rewards. Yes, it does boil down to risk vs rewards,... but I do insist that the odds favours more towards the person who starts early,... and who starts long before retirement age. Looks like you are that person. Today,... I am able to say I dare to retire, in spite of going through this pandemic, even with huge responsibilities of children and family on my hands. I am confident that with my investments,... money will never run out,... As a matter of fact,... investing IN A PANDEMIC has made me even more confident of being able to earn more compared against working in my profession. But,.. well,... that's me. EDited by adding : I thought I would like to add this point too. I suddenly realized that what the both of us reflected in the above are very useful,.. a comparison of our approaches to investing, both of us started early on in our lives and have amassed many years of investing prior to this pandemic appearing before us. How we view retiring moving forward is by-and-large,... really depends on how confident we are towards this endeavour of ours. Of course, the amt of responsibility plays a large part too,... the lower the responsibility and with the absence of children on our shoulders make a large difference, but the fact remains that if we view investments in its absoluteness, its success does impact our confidence towards retirement. This post has been edited by Hansel: Oct 9 2020, 05:15 PM |
Oct 9 2020, 05:42 PM
QUOTE(Garysydney @ Oct 9 2020, 05:19 PM) I was aiming for rm16k-18k/mth return on my retirement assets in Jan before the pandemic (figure does not include my wife's assets as she manages her own money). I am now only aiming for about rm12k/mth which i think should be quite achievable without me taking too much risks. I have never lived in Malaysia so i don't know how much my wife and i will need. My wife and i keep our finances separately (even though she always ask me to supplement her income). Bro Gary,... I'll give you some of my opinions and what I have experienced. After this pandemic, i have become a lot more frugal and i think i may not need rm12k/mth to live on in KL. My wife insists on living in her 3 bedder Mont Kiara condo while i was more insistent on living in my mum's terrace house in Bangsar Baru. We will just have to try it out and see how we settle down in KL after i retire. Many years ago, when I first started forumming in this forum (and in other forums too worldwide), I asked questions abt this amt and that amt and how to plan, how to apportion,... etc, etc,... things got really complicated,... and I decided to just do my best in investing and not to think too much. The key to the whole hulabaloo is to make sure the cashflow does not stop today and in the future. And this is what I have been working on throughout my investment life. I just go on day by day and the money keeps coming-in,.... I make sure I have enough knowledge abt the whole investment universe available before me, in order that I am able to convert over if ever an instrument that I'm currently using starts to dim out due to whatsoever reasons. Appreciated your sharing very much. |
Nov 5 2020, 03:46 PM
Bros,... the AUD dropped because the RBA lowered the OPR by 0.15% two days ago.
The OPR is NOW at 0.10%, and commitments by the RBA for lots of QE actions. Sorry, has not updated here,... Was updating my forecasts in my Whatsapp groups. Was updating live in my Whatsapp groups for the US Elections too. Edited by correcting a critical typo error above. Put 'not' instead of 'NOW'. This post has been edited by Hansel: Nov 5 2020, 03:47 PM |
Nov 10 2020, 04:21 AM
QUOTE(Garysydney @ Nov 5 2020, 05:17 PM) Looks like the Aussie dollar might strengthen further in the coming months. Yes,... news over the weekend and this morning from the US session seems to suggest that risk-on is back in play. A main contributor to this risk-on mood is the ann;t by Pfizer and Biontech last night that their vaccine tests have had a 90% success rate.Everyone seems more optimistic now that Biden looks set to be the next President. Weather last couple of weeks has been unseasonably cooler than usual in Sydney. I just hope that we will not get the ferocious bush fires of last year repeating again and hopefully it will be a mild summer. The AUD is a risk-on currency,... |
Jan 25 2021, 11:02 AM
QUOTE(Screen @ Jan 24 2021, 02:28 PM) Hi all, wanna ask about the chances of working and possibly settling down permanently in Australia (Melbourne specifically) in the near future. No harm starting something new, bro,.... however, there will always be new challenges and newer 'set of problems' in every new venture,... Currently working in the financial audit field with around 2 years+ of experience in one of the Big4 audit firms. Will be finishing my paper around mid this year (an Australian-NZ paper too - CAANZ) and will achieve 3 years experience around Q3 of this year. Don't mind getting demoted there as long as I don't start from right at the bottom (currently at senior associate level). Also don't mind to stay in the firm forever as the audit field is actually quite interesting if we take away the long working hours. Basically the family is trying to find a new environment to start off a new life, considering that we have family issues and also the perception of having not really bright prospects in Malaysia. Parents want the issues to end in their generation and not affect the kids. Singapore is not an option for us as we want to find somewhere with a less hectic pace of life (Aus/NZ will be the best) Been hearing some of my colleagues who are able to jump off to the branches in various parts of the world. Those who went Australia mostly went to Sydney, but I feel like I will like Melbourne more considering the perceived less hectic life there (and fooddddddd). Been considering NZ too (Auckland) but seems like the opportunities there will be less than Aus. Maybe NZ will be a retirement spot later on. Maybe someone from similar field can advice on when should I make the jump and the chances of it? On my part,.. the international taxation is my biggest hurdle if need to migrate to a country with worldwide tax issues, but this is a personal circumstance. Everybody has his/her own unique circumstances. Somebody here did say he did not have this problem,... then he has not appeared anymore in this forum. Actually,... today, it's good to try somewhere new besides here,... the virus has really uncovered so many weaknesses in this place. Aust seems to be managing well in this pandemic. Jmho, bro,.... |
Jan 25 2021, 12:56 PM
QUOTE(Garysydney @ Jan 25 2021, 11:18 AM) Yes - you are definitely right. There will be infections somewhere at one time or another,.. no ctry is exempted from this,... the secret is if a ctry is able to recover from this infection, and if a ctry is able to help the people and the economy while 'fighting' the infection. Australia seems to have been able to do both of the above (till now), as seen from the Melbourne infections last year and from the Northern Beach infections a few weeks ago.Aust has managed to control this pandemic very well and i feel fortunate to be living here. My wife and i regularly eat out (only 2 of us and not in a big group) in Chinatown and we feel very safe. NSW which is the 'dirtiest state' has recorded about 9-10 days (?) with 0 local infections. Definitely very fortunate to be living in Aust now - just hope we will not have to lockdown again. People are not encouraged to withdraw from their 'Super',... unlike what that is happening with people being 'allowed' to withdraw from their EPF here. These are the cracks that are beginning to appear,... I hoped Aust continues to thrive and to be safe. She does have other problems,... but against the biggest issue at hand today,... Aust seems to be coping well. Singapore is another,... but community cases seems to be rising again. China's cases are coming back too,... Just my global observations, due to my investment requirements... Edited : Corrected critical grammar errors which may distort the actual message to be delivered. This post has been edited by Hansel: Jan 25 2021, 01:00 PM |
Jan 25 2021, 01:35 PM
QUOTE(Garysydney @ Jan 25 2021, 01:28 PM) Definitely agree with your analysis. Tq again for all your sharings, bro Gary,... I'm glad my family in Sydney and Canberra....I suspect we will have cases 'suddenly' appear like in the case of the Northern Beaches - it is important where cases start appearing, the number of infections are brought under control without needing to resort to 'lockdowns'. Once number of infections are rising, it is very difficult to control. One thing i must say with Sydneysiders is they behave very well. Just before the Northern Beaches flare-up, everyone was feeling comfortable with eating out and restaurants were full with dine-ins. Once the Northern Beaches cases started appearing, everyone stayed home and restaurants were empty - i must admit my wife and i were very naughty and we continued to eat out (though not with other friends). At the moment, all my retiree folks are eating out but only with household members and not with friends yet. Maybe if we get another couple of months of zero new cases, we may start eating out with friends again |
Feb 24 2021, 12:38 PM
Feb 25 2021, 02:06 PM
Feb 27 2021, 12:28 AM
QUOTE(Garysydney @ Feb 26 2021, 09:00 AM) Okay - thanks for the comments. I think the AUD will strengthen again, bro,... just hold-on to it and don't convert yet. And try to convert at the moneychanger in Msia,... Sydney is very safe at the moment (at least that is how i feel) - we can go anywhere and walk around without that feeling of 'fear' that you get when numbers are high. Bloody Aussie dollar - down again this morning together with the stock market. I am getting my payout soon (in a couple of weeks) and i was going to transfer to Msia (ringgit) as the Aussie has been so strong!! I have been talking to my relatives on the phone and it seems like you guys in Msia are quite comfortable going out most of the times - Msians seem to accept this virus without much fear or apprehension. Aussies tend to be much more careful (and obedient). Don't TT over from NAB or any of the banks.... |
Mar 1 2021, 01:45 AM
QUOTE(Garysydney @ Feb 27 2021, 03:29 AM) Good morning Hansel, when the rate is good (like when it was 2 days ago) it is probably advisable to change more. Two days ago, it was at 3.23 (mid-rate). Now it is at 3.127 (mid-rate). a big 10c difference. It is easy to carry A$10k/person when traveling but i am needing to change a lot more than that so i may have to use telegraphic transfer. Also now with international travel so difficult (need to quarantine and passengers get bumped off flights), it may be difficult to carry more cash to change at money changers - a lot of things have changed since Covid. If i were to leave Aust, i don't know when i will be able to return to Aust as flying in/out is so troublesome!! QUOTE(Garysydney @ Feb 27 2021, 03:38 AM) Aust govt wants to play it safe by restricting movement in/out of Aust. We as PRs of Aust cannot leave the country without having a 'valid' reason. So ridiculous - we are basically locked in!! Now i have to apply to DFAT just to leave Aust when i want to go back to KL to retire. This decision to stop residents of Aust from leaving will be reviewed again in March next month. I honestly hope they will not extend this ban when it is reviewed. Good morning, Gary,.. tqvm for your great inputs. I think now is not a good time to migrate into Msia, bro,... Let things settle down first,... get your vaccine shots in Australia first. I believe Msia has a long way before she is able to ctrl the infections successfully, even with the rollout of vaccines.With the rollout of the vaccine, let's hope that new infection rates will come down round the world. A totally new world we live in today with Covid!! |
Mar 3 2021, 06:33 PM
QUOTE(Garysydney @ Mar 2 2021, 05:04 PM) I suspect my turn (age 59) will not be till July earliest this year. There is currently a slight delay in the rollout of the vaccine. Govt estimates everyone will be vaccinated by Sept/Oct at the latest. Gentlemen,.. all the inputs above are valuable and are highly appreciated - thank you. I'd like to ask : is there an app or a website in Australia whereby we can register to take the shots ?From what i gather Aust govt is rolling out Pfizer and Astrazeneca and according to the news, we will not be told which one will be used when we go for the vaccine. There is so much talk that people who fly in future will have to be vaccinated before they are allowed to fly. Don't know what to think of this. |
Mar 21 2021, 10:58 PM
QUOTE(Garysydney @ Mar 20 2021, 02:01 PM) I have lived in Sydney for about 40 years now - never seen so much rain in my whole life in Sydney. Yes,... thank you for the update too, Gary,...Many places will be flooded in NSW today and the next few days. Supposed to go out for dinner in Chinatown tonight but with this rain being so crazy, my wife and i dare not even go out the front door |
Mar 29 2021, 12:09 AM
QUOTE(Garysydney @ Mar 27 2021, 06:04 AM) NSW is giving A$100 to be spent to revive businesses caught up in the Covid downturn Tq bro for informing,....https://www.news.com.au/travel/nsw-governme...ea7a13f49ef0c96 My wife and i got the 4 vouchers each worth A$25/voucher per person. Two vouchers each can be spent on restaurants. Most of the restaurants we go to are on the list of approved restaurants. Since retirees eat out a lot, this is a good thing for a cheapskate retiree like me |
Apr 16 2021, 09:21 PM
QUOTE(Garysydney @ Apr 12 2021, 10:01 AM) I was going to post this morning after i came back from morning walk to Coles but completely forgotten because my consolidation of the two super funds is finally happening today. I was so happy with the interest that the 2 super funds gave me from 15 March till now that i totally forgotten about posting - got A$21k for interest from the superfunds Congrats,... bro Gary,... Now back to the weather - it is 9.6 deg in Randwick when i started walking there. Bloody freezing!! I had to wear my winter track suits and it still felt a little cold! Lucky the sun was bright and shiny!! I bought a mid-sized Chanel for my wife last week and she is now asking for another Chanel bag after i told her about my super interest |
Jun 10 2021, 03:03 AM
I think fro our kids who intend to make Australia their home, FAMA suppport will have to come in for the first hse, and to pay down as large a downpayment as possible to help them start-off.
Jun 10 2021, 03:06 AM
QUOTE(Garysydney @ Jun 8 2021, 05:27 PM) The only problem is wage increments is only between one and two percent - a bigger wage increment is required to sustain house price growth. At the moment borrowing costs for housing is so low and this is causing a lot of people to go crazy borrowing to buy residential properties (together with the other factor FOMO (fear of missing out)). When the RBA decides the economy is heating-up and they need to ctrl this,... prbs will start because of rising interest rates.People who have not got onto the property market yet will find it even more harder now to get on. |
Jun 10 2021, 11:06 AM
QUOTE(Garysydney @ Jun 10 2021, 06:47 AM) Without help from FAMA, there is no way in hell the younger generation will be able to set foot on the property market. Tqvm bro Gary for your confirmation on my suspicions in the above. Guessed I will have to help my young ones since it is no fault of theirs from the start.I have a younger friend who is finishing his medical specialist training soon and even people like them are having difficulties accumulating the deposit required. These people will eventually end up being the top 1% earner in the country but the first step is so much harder nowadays compared to my time. Getting into Sydney or Melbourne market is the hardest. Yeah,... medically-trained specialists ending-up as 1% of top-earners in the ctry,... reminds me of that doc who talked a lot in this forum,.. proven eveyrthing he had or purported to have, showed his IELTS results not once but twice Must have met with a major accident or something along that line to suddenly shut him up abruptly,... Apologies for going offtrack,.. tq again, bro Gary,... Just sharing a bit here : my kids have settled down nicely in Sydney today, for now... one is in the arts, participating in the world championship soon in The USA and another scored above 90 for his ATAR. Doing a double major now in the UNSW. Tq again for much of your advice earlier,.... Thanking others too in this forum who have contributed to me and my kids' matters earlier,... Edited by adding : I have a nephew now who is keen to follow the footsteps of my kids,... do you think Australia is a good place to go to anymore after this, bros ? I'm thinking of helping my nephew too,... of perhaps send him to another ctry which is recovering well,... like The UK ? This nephew of mine is still young, just 13,... sending them out earlier is better,... this has been proven by my own kids who were sent out when they were 12 and 14+. This post has been edited by Hansel: Jun 10 2021, 11:11 AM kagenn liked this post
| Change to: | 0.1555sec
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:01 AM |