Working in Australia V2, All About working in Australia

Hansel
post May 7 2020, 03:07 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(Rand @ May 7 2020, 02:53 PM)
I had to call them to do it, but they happily updated my Australian number into their system as the receiving number for the TAC.
Ahh,... this is news,... tq. So, if you just log-in to their system via internet, you can't update your +61 number into the website, right ? You have to call them to input at their end for you.

But if you are to input a Msian number into the website, then it would be normal and can be done without calling them.
Hansel
post May 7 2020, 03:16 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(Rand @ May 7 2020, 03:07 PM)
I cannot quite remember as I got this done almost 5 years ago. I must have tried to input my aussie number into the website and failed before calling.

From then on I've always just called them first to get anything I need done.

Bear in mind that my experience is only for Standard Chartered Malaysia and HSBC, I don't know if the other banks allow this.
Ok,... tq bro,....
Hansel
post May 7 2020, 03:21 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ May 7 2020, 02:57 PM)
If you are living in Aust and you have a pre-pay like me (Digi), we need to make sure that the mobile number is still active when we are in Aust. I did a super long-life (cost rm38/yr?) and it gives me a year where the mobile account will remain active. My number is active until early Jan next year and i hope i can keep it active by topping rm100 for a 100-day extension if the borders are still not opened then.

I guess a lot of people here may not have a pre-pay and need not worry about their mobile number expiring.
Bro,... I guessed if you are not able to apply for a permanent normal line, then this is the only way to go. Do yuor best to ensure you can log in to a website in order to be able to make payments.

Otherwise, you need someone onsite to help you with this in Msia.

I am experiencing the same thing as you are experiencing now with my Canadian phone.
Hansel
post May 21 2020, 08:51 AM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(merchant9 @ May 20 2020, 08:50 PM)
We are considering to migrate to OZ via a migration agency but there is a mixed review of the few migration agencies in Malaysia.
As a PR in Aus, you will have to declare your international income and may be taxed accordingly. Whatever assets you have built-up in the rest of the world incl Msia, the income generated from here will be taxed accordingly by the Australia Taxation Office (ATO)...

If you buy properties (houses, motor vehicles, etc) or get involved in Aussie activities, there might be a Residence Test imposed by the ATO to determine if you are a Tax Resident. And if they determine you are one, then again, you will be taxed accordingly on your foreign income.

Please consider the above points before deciding if you truly wished to be an Australia PR or Citizen.
Hansel
post May 24 2020, 07:04 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(merchant9 @ May 23 2020, 09:35 PM)
So if we have rental income from MY, have to declare in OZ? We are pretty late in this thought so we are unsure if we will eventually buy any property there. Dare not think so far but eventually car will come first instead. Can you give an example of the tax for foreign income you mentioned?
QUOTE(Red_rustyjelly @ May 23 2020, 11:01 PM)
I have passive income as a director salary in KL,
But I stay and do freelance in Aussie.

I got taxed whatever money debited into my Aussie bank account. For example there was once I put in 5 digits of Aussie dollar to my aussie bank account, I got taxed.

Whatever money you received from ourseas bank to your Aussie bank will be taxed and queried by ATO.

Unless you are rich and super frequent travel from KL to Aussie and decided to bring cash. But I don't see this is a rational way to do it.
Yes,... 'in theory', you have to declare the rental income you collect in Msia or from anywhere in the world. If you have 'myGov', on page 2, there is a field you need to fill-in called : Foreign Income ?

I never got taxed nor queried for whatever I TT'ed to my bank account in Australia, though I have transferred over more than 5-digit. This is news to me. But I've always kept my ATO procedures very clean and up to date. I used a financial advisor when my family first landed there. Learnt some of the ropes from him.

Later-on, I realized, things are coming to the point where I need to 'reveal' to him my assets in other parts of the world and the funds I have. Then I learnt abt the Residency Test. So, I decided to do my own taxation instead.

I suspect there are many whistle-blowers in Aus,... just be alert... no need to reveal too much of yourselves....

Hansel
post May 24 2020, 07:14 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ May 24 2020, 02:34 PM)
Tax residency is different from immigration residency....

As long as you are in Australia for 183 days or more per tax year you are a tax resident... irrespective of visa used to enter.... so a 491 visa holder will normally be tax resident on entry on the visa....even if you visit as tourist many times staying more than 183 days, staying at the same address, you are a tax resident....

Although as tax resident, your Oz income is taxed lower, all your worldwide income is also subject to Oz tax.....
I'm afraid I beg to differ on the 183-day rule. Yes, it has always been the basic rule for many countries and tax regimes in this world.

But the ATO has mentioned very specifically that one can be treated as a Tax Resident using other criteria, and such criteria will be used in a Residency Test. If the Residency Test determines one is a Tax Resident, then taxable worldwide income comes into play !

A few of my investor friends kena this because their their families stay in Australia, of their children go to school in Australia or they have some properties in Australia.
Hansel
post May 25 2020, 02:02 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ May 24 2020, 09:32 PM)
i said if you stay 183 days or more in oz, you are a tax resident....which part of that don't you agree?....

i didn't say that's the ONLY test for being a tax resident....there's other criteria, eg superannuation, "resides", domicile tests....

but for the purpose of rand's comment about the tax status of a 491 visa holder who moves over to live and work, the 183 days rule automatically makes the migrant a tax resident...

p/s    in reality, even if you are only a foreign student, it is to your best interest to register with ato as a tax resident, as otherwise, all your income, including bank deposit interests and part time work will all be "taxed" at the top marginal rate, ie 50%....
I do not agree if you have just the first sentence on your posting (I bolded this in the above). And you had the first sentence only in your earlier posting.

BUT : if you had the second sentence above, or something along that sentence, then I would not have disagreed.

Simple.

I agree with your final paragraph. Hence, I have asked my children and wifey to register for the ATO TRN upon their landing. We will follow the rules of Australia for mutual benefits.

The moment one starts to WORK there and receives payment, we needed a closer look.
Hansel
post May 25 2020, 04:06 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ May 25 2020, 02:56 PM)
which part of my first statement do you not agree....?

I did NOT say you are NOT a tax resident if you stay less than 183 days....you assumed that?

My comment was in direct response to Rand's comment that 491 migrants are not tax resident....i merely used the 183 test to point out a migrant with a 5 year 491 visa IS a tax resident....i am well aware of the other tests, which are not applicable to a fresh 491 migrant...
I do not assume anything, I just took your sentences and read them at face value. I appreciated your clarification in your second para.
Hansel
post May 27 2020, 11:41 PM

9,347 posts

Just asking here : is it difficult for an overseas student who studied Years 7 till 12 inside the Australian Curriculum to enter a university such as The University of Melbourne or another similar university ?

Do they look closely at the ATAR Scores ?
Hansel
post May 30 2020, 04:46 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ May 29 2020, 02:03 PM)
If at the time of application, the student is still an international student (ie not a pr or citizen), he/she will fall into the international student pool together with all others applying from outside Australia....which usually means a lower entry criteria compared to locals.....

If having completed year 12, then of course the only basis for selection is the atar rank, plus any other tests as mandated, depending on the course....
Thank you, Lim,.. emm,... what would the minimum ATAR score needed to enter, say,... the University of Melbounse,... or a similar class Uni, for Chemical Eng'g or Environmental Eng'g ? Would you know pls ?
Hansel
post Jun 1 2020, 01:43 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ May 30 2020, 09:51 PM)
professional courses in the "melbourne model" are all post graduate....so it's a 3(bachelor)+2(masters) programme....entry requirements are all available in the university website....

if you are paying full fees, cheaper just go to any other uni where it's undergraduate entry and only 4 years....
Appreciated your input,.. tq.
Hansel
post Jul 5 2020, 03:20 AM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(gallen83 @ Jul 1 2020, 09:48 AM)
I believe you need to do both. Check this website for more detail. https://www.vicroads.vic.gov.au/licences/re...verseas-drivers
QUOTE(Garysydney @ Jul 1 2020, 11:20 AM)
If you were in NSW (all states have their different driving laws), you will be required to sit everything over again, ie road rules and driving test again. If you were holding a Singaporean driver's license, from memory you can just convert directly to a NSW license without sitting anything.
Good morning,..

If you intend to drive in Aust for more than three months, you will need to sit for a highway code test at the Motor Vehicles Registry (MVR) Office. This test will be conducted on a PC inside a cubicle in which you will sit by yourself. There is a time limit for your to complete this test, and you will be required to have a number of right answers,.. I can't remember the number here,.. but my wife, and my kids did theirs with one try. I think you are allowed more than one try.

For the on=the=road, you will do the normal drive on the road with the examiner sitting beside you. You can use your own car if you wished to, and you will need to make an appointment with an examiner who will meet you at the MVR Office.

If you are holding an SG Driving Licence, you can convert over into an Aussie Driving Licence without the everything I said above, if your're holding a Msian DL, you'll have to do the above.

Above are quite standard if you intend to drive a normal private passenger car on a highway, but the rules are slightly different if you intend to ride a bike. I'm not too sure of all the rules for a bike,.. need to ask my boy....

Bear in mind if you intend to drive for motorsports, there are other things you will need to fulfill before you can bring your car onto the lapsprint circuit.

Hope my explanations above helps,...
Hansel
post Jul 5 2020, 08:10 AM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Jul 5 2020, 06:24 AM)
Good to know this  thumbup.gif

I came over to Sydney in Jan 1981 and converted my driver's license (and motorbike) to a NSW license. In those days you could just convert straight away without sitting for anything. They give you a paper license with no photo on it - this means anyone could use your license. That was Sydney when i first arrived.

I was a student then and went on to buy a motorbike for A$450 (slightly used 100cc Honda) to go to Uni - fell off the bike a couple of times within 3 months and my mom decided that it was too dangerous to ride in Sydney so she bought me a second hand Toyota Corolla (4 years old) from a private seller. Learnt my first lesson living in Sydney from buying this car as the car had been written off and this backyard repairer had done a cheap repair (a lot of things like that was happening in those days) and then sold it to a sucker (like me!!). I paid A$3,200 for the car then and only found out that the car was unroadworthy when i had a minor prang (cost me another A$1900 to have it rectified). Nowadays there still are a lot of these backyard repairers but the law has become a lot stricter now to re-birth a written off car.
Tq Gary,...

What I heard of in the streets was in the earlier days, Msian DLs could be converted into te Aussie DL without tests. But this was subsequently stopped due to the Msian DL being suspected and proven to have been tampered with,... and there were fakes around. That's what I heard,...

We have two cars and a bike there,... bought my wife a Ford and my boy a Miata and a bike. The Miata has been modified thoroughly for stability and turning ratio for speed and drifting,.. sometimes it's a pain to do these modifications because there is a ruling that modified vehicles needed to undergo a roadworthiness test every year before they allow you to go for lapsprints and for being on-the-road.

But,... well,... since I can afford it,.. I'd let my boy enjoy these things in life. He likes motorsports. Let him start early in life,...

He got through his DL in Driving in the beginning of this year (can't remember,...) but I know he just got through his riding test this week. He has a 'P' for Riding now,... and if everything is fine, his 'P' will be converted into a full license in one-year's time. Sometimes, I'm a bit confused too,... I saw him riding around on his bike before he got his 'P' but he was not allowed to carry someone behind him. I heard they use the alphabets 'RR' for the riding license. Msia uses B, B1, B2 and B3.

Since I do not have an official job in Aust with payslips, I need to pay for all these vehicles and fees with cash. Expenses are high,... but well,.. I wouldn't trade these experiences with the family and kids for anything in life. Certainly not for more money.

Just sharing a bit of the lifestyle with my family there. I do appreciate all of your advice earlier.
Hansel
post Jul 5 2020, 08:44 AM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Jul 5 2020, 08:39 AM)
Nice that you share your story.

In 1981 when i converted my rider's license, they gave me a full rider's license in NSW eventhough i only have a B2 rider license in Malaysia. Each time i renew my NSW license (5 year renewal), both license (car and bike) gets renewed eventhough i had never ridden a bike since 1981.

Looks like your boy loves fast cars - in Aust cars are a lot cheaper (to buy) but maintenance is expensive. I am now past 58 so i tend to go for reliable cars - i used to have an old 2000 CRV (my sister had it since new and doesn't need it any longer so sold to me cheaply about 9 years ago) but Honda Australia bought all the CRVs back recently (first generation 1998-2001 CRVs) in Australia and gave me A$3,650 as compensation. Apparently, that model had the faulty Takata airbag and the airbag killed someone in Sydney a few years back. As i will probably only need a car for at most another 12-18 months (before my trial retirement in KL), i bought a 2012 Toytota Corolla - Toyota is my favourite brand. I had a new (top of the range) Camry 3 litre in 1996 and it lasted me 16 years which is the best car that i have driven ( it used the same engine as the Lexus).
Tq again Gary for your narrative.

On a side note : do you think it would be easier to apply for a place in, say the UNSW for the coming financial year with all these pandemics around ? And what sort of ATAR score would he need ?

Hoping you don't mind me asking these questions,...
Hansel
post Jul 5 2020, 09:16 AM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Jul 5 2020, 09:04 AM)
I suspect there will be a lot less PRC students in 2021 so the ATAR scores will probably drop. It is probably very hard to determine (at this stage) how much the ATAR scores might drop by as more places will be offered to local students.

I work in the largest University in Sydney and we are expecting PRC students to drop in huge numbers come 2021. Universities are all struggling financially and we have all been briefed (by the VC) that if the PRC student numbers drop next year, there will be redundancies. I am now hanging out for a voluntary redundancy as i will get quite a good payout for 30 years service.
Congrats on the substantial payout that yuo might be getting if things out that way,... either way, you win, if things return to normal, you get to continue enjoying a cushy job, otherwise, you get a big windfall,... but,.. emm,... after the windfall, yu need to face the challenge of finding something cushy to do again,...

Like I always tell my peers, the comfy ones who have no financial worries,... that they have to find ways to keep their lives meaningful and purposeful. Having nothing that we like to do is a big suffer too. I wish you the best in this area.

Tq for your pointers in the above,.. As yuo probably can guess,... I'm just trying-out to help my boy here. He wants to be in Chemical Eng'g,... but this may change too... young people,...

My daughter is different, she prefers the Performing Arts, hence, this would be an entirely diff ballgame for me in order to be able to offer her guidance.

For the boy,... we have written to MIT and Harvard too,... recommended these to him after experiencing some post-grad courses in Harvard for the exposure though US Laws are quite different,...

Tq again, bro Gary,.... good talk this morning,...
Hansel
post Jul 8 2020, 11:28 AM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jul 7 2020, 10:29 PM)
there has been significant changes in tertiary education recently....more places for local students, removing of needing atar cutoffs, and increased fees for non-stem courses....

for hansel's children, being PRs, they will fall under domestic students....previously locals need higher qualifications then internationals....going forward, with a HUGE drop in international students, particularly prc, the australian government is trying to fill the places with locals, which will of course means more chances, and lower atars to enter....

but without increased funding, they are trying to increase uni income from increased fees for humanities courses.....
QUOTE(Garysydney @ Jul 8 2020, 06:11 AM)
A lot of academics in the Arts Faculty are now very worried about their jobs as a lot of them are on fixed term contracts (usually contracts ranging from 1 to 3 years). Due to costs saving measures, a lot of fixed term contract academics have been terminated due to lack of funds. Younger academics are feeling the crux of this recession as most of them are hoping for a 'career for life' job.

We used to have a lot of perks (like top of the range mobile phones and laptops) but there is a freeze on purchase of such items. We now need to purchase these and claim a tax deduction.
Thank you, gentlemen for your continuing input. This does help me and my children very much,... Best to yourselves and your kids too,....
Hansel
post Jul 27 2020, 11:12 AM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(kagenn @ Jul 27 2020, 09:31 AM)
Heya all, looks like this thread is quiet again.

I have a simple question, my visa renewal is coming up, and I understand that will change it to a RRV. In this case, will my existing visa requirements still apply?

I was state sponsored by NSW and therefore obliged to work in this state, though I'm thinking Brisbane might be a cheaper place to live in eventually.

Hope everyone is keeping safe with the current spike in covid cases.
Good to revive this thread,... been very helpful to me, tq to all bros here,...

Did you study in a uni in NSW, bro ?
Hansel
post Jul 27 2020, 01:34 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(kagenn @ Jul 27 2020, 12:55 PM)
Nope, I studied and graduated all the way in Msia. It was a bit too expensive for my family to afford me studying overseas.
Got it, thanks for the info fellas. Guess i'm done with my obligations to NSW, lol. I did hear from people that it'll be hard to renew the visa if I'm state sponsored but am not actively working there.

@Gary - Yeah, makes plenty of sense. I'm hoping to be able to go back next year for my brother's wedding, but probably will not go if I have to be quarantined in both countries (especially the 3k quarantine cost here).

The most recent case of the covid spread in NSW was in bankstown and also the rookwood cemetary, which is right next door to me.
Tq for your reply,... I was asking to see if it's more advantageous for one to study in a particular state if he intends to apply for sponsorship in that state. If, say,... one studies in UNSW and he chooses to apply for state sponsorship in, say, WA later on,... is it a negative ?
Hansel
post Jul 27 2020, 01:41 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Jul 27 2020, 01:33 PM)
Just got to be careful esp when you are in a crowd - i am in the high risk group (next birthday 59) so have to be extra careful. The world is in turmoil now with the virus making us change our normal ways of doing things. My wife doesn't allow me to go out much and i work from home so i have to keep happy all the time esp now it is winter (i hate winter!!) and life can become very depressing during winter.

I doubt you will be able to go anywhere until at least early next year. Even Qantas is not starting their international flights till end March next year so it is an indication of things to come.

I think for most of us keeping safe is the most important thing and if you still have a job, consider ourselves lucky as a lot of younger people have lost their income. Life is going to be different now with the virus and younger people may find their career path a rocky road ahead esp with the uncertainty that a vaccine may never be found icon_question.gif
Tq for these words, bro Gary,...

As for the vaccines, the world is racing now,... I have started to put bets into American vaccine companies,... I continue to carry hopes that a vaccine will certainly be found !
Hansel
post Jul 28 2020, 05:13 PM

9,347 posts

Tq for your replies, bros,... I'm keeping a close tab on vaccine news too,...

Will update on material infos,...

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0327sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:23 PM