7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Working in Australia V2, All About working in Australia

Hansel
post Jun 10 2021, 03:36 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Jun 10 2021, 01:32 PM)
You have done pretty well with two kids in University. Are your kids living together in Sydney? It must cost you a bomb to have these kids in Sydney.

I think with the way Malaysia is going, a lot of people will be looking to migrate - you can see it is very obvious that Chinese have no future here anymore. I am retired now with quite substantial retirement assets but i really feel for those with less financial resources. Very sad indeed. I think it is good for you to help your nephew go overseas. You are in deed a good uncle indeed  smile.gif
Yeah quite expensive without taking the exchange rate into consideration,... thing is I have three vehicles and one 650cc bike there used by them,.. The boy stays in Hurstville where there is Asian food nearby,... the girl stays in Canberra.

I guessed,... staying in Msia needs a lot of adjustments, especially with the Kerajaan,...

Hoping to meet you one day, bro Gary,...
Hansel
post Jun 17 2021, 03:31 PM

9,347 posts

I don't know, bros,... but I think it depends also on the earning power of the kid. My younger one is doing architecture+civil eng'g,... wouldn't his income be able to afford a property in Sydney or Melbourne later ? ... generally-speaking....
Hansel
post Jun 17 2021, 05:12 PM

9,347 posts

Tq bros, for your opinions,... Will prepare myself then,....
Hansel
post Jun 18 2021, 05:16 PM

9,347 posts

Tq for all the great inputs and advice, bros,... tqvm,....

This post has been edited by Hansel: Jun 18 2021, 05:16 PM
Hansel
post Nov 19 2021, 05:31 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Nov 18 2021, 05:28 PM)
Hope you are aware that after 1 Jan 2022, there may be a 3% tax on incoming remittance for Msian residents.

Don't know how the govt is going to implement this - may have to send before 1 Jan 2022 to avoid this tax. Really affect people who have money overseas and regularly send money back to Msia.

Real bummer!!
Bro Gary,... if you are a non-resident,... and with an Aussie citizenship, you will not kena. So, no worries for you.

IRB only wants to hentam Malaysians. Sorry for the pun.

Foreigners can remit in without issue.
Hansel
post Nov 19 2021, 05:38 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Nov 18 2021, 07:57 PM)
I think everyone is waiting for more details to come out.

I have already transferred more than rm1mil over the past 8 months (transferred with CBA to MBB with rates between 2.98 and 3.17). Can only do A$50k max each time and fees from CBA was A$22 each time via telegraphic transfer and Maybank deposits the money in my acct in less than 1 hour with tt. I was not intending to transfer more starting from 2022 but you never know when we might need more ringgit - maybe a very attractive investment opportunity might come by.

I have been following https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3524728/+200

Really terrible news even though 3% may not be a huge sum. Any form of tax is repulsive and despicable!!
Bro,... you have to find a way to generate Ringgit income with the Ringgit that you have inside Msia now. Then,... with that Ringgit generated, you don't have to transmit funds back to Msia anymore in case you fail the pemastautin test and 'you turn out to be' a resident, or they 'make you a resident'...... just sayin',..... tax authorities can do anything.
Hansel
post Nov 19 2021, 06:12 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Nov 19 2021, 05:50 PM)
Hello Hansel, thank you for your reply.

If for some reason, lhdn classifies me as a tax resident of Msia, are you inferring that i have to pay the 3% for the money that i currently have in my name? I would have thought that it is only after Jan 1 2022 that the 3% ruling applies for funds sent after that date and that any money that is already in Msia will not be taxed. Isn't that your understanding?

Thanks very much for your input. I may have to engage a tax specialist as i have quite a lot of ringgit in my name. A bit concerned about this 3% tax now with Jan1 2022 fast approaching.
Whatever you have in Msia currently will NOT be taxed. No worries there.

No need to engage a tax consultant,... tell you something,... the tax consultants are also blurr now,... they're publishing articles based on what I/we write here,... biggrin.gif then they add some salt and peppar on top to make things look more like its their own work. Their guesses are as good as our guesses on what will LHDN do next year.

Then HDN also does not know how to execute their plans,... sure, sure,... everybody wants to be like Australia,... residential-based taxation system. But this system has bad repercussions too.

Hansel
post Jan 1 2022, 01:10 AM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(kagenn @ Dec 31 2021, 02:57 PM)
Had a few friends who take glee in trolling and doing things like creating alternate/dupe accounts is merely one of the many tools. People do all sorts of things for fun or attention, which are why some of these forumers react/behave this way. They've probably experienced it multiple times.
I can understand where they come from as I can be equally as cynical or distrustful (especially online where it's easy to hide behind a screen name). The above is the reason why I'm quite reluctant to join in some conversations unless they're serious or interesting enough.
You'll be able to find like-minded people and have a good conversation, but trolls will be everywhere - why waste your time trying to convince them?

Driving in KL is pretty stressful - try to time your driving when it's not peak hours and you should be alright. Let others overtake if they want to and just avoid the troublemakers as it'll be mostly a waste of time engaging with them. Gotta limit your generosity while driving or other drivers will take advantage of it. Gotta think it's as if you're driving in the Punchbowl/Bankstown.
Spend another year or two and it'll be fine - you'll be back in your element in no time. Just be more mindful of petty crime as it will not be going away (in my opinion, never going away). Take the Bankstown approach to things: don't keep valuables in car and always lock it either in/outside. Always keep an eye out for bikes with 2 male riders and pick pockets.
Motorcyclist are always right in accidents and always hide the handbag (especially the ones your wife likes). Makes me miss KL a lot less whenever I think about all my old encounters. My mum always locks the car doors immediately after dropping me off since childhood and I've been making fun of her ever since.. but that's the mentality we practice when living in KL.

Stay safe and Happy New Year all!
QUOTE(Garysydney @ Dec 31 2021, 03:56 PM)
Thanks for your advice.

Your advice rings true now that you bring it up. The drivers here are so different compared to drivers in the Eastern suburbs.

I have never used any social media before - /k is the one and only and i only discovered it by accident as i was trying to find retirement costs in KL. Now that i have been living here for more than half a year, all my worries about not having enough money to retire have all vanished. KL is a lot cheaper compared to Sydney. You have very good advice about trolls and people using /k for fun - i never thought people would create dupes just to troll. Well, i have just learnt something about social media but i honestly cannot comprehend trolls and how creating fake stories can be fun - maybe i am just born into the older generation and having no kids makes me unable to understand what the younger generation would do for fun.

Happy new year to you and thanks for your advice  notworthy.gif
Happy New Year, bros,...

Diff places have diff qualities and diff characteristics. This is one thing I always keep in mind,....
Hansel
post May 26 2022, 12:19 PM

9,347 posts

Thank you to all bros above for the good inputs. My children have been in Australia for a few years and stayed there over the pandemic season without returning to Msia.

One hs started working after getting her qualifications and is doing well in her work. I'm going to help her start her own practice soon.

Another is still doing an eng'g with architecture course in one of the so-called best and oldest Unis..

I learnt a lot by reading you guys' postings here.

But,... I guessed having kids is a different ballgame from being single or having a spouse without kids.

Just asking,..(edited),... emm, what do you guys think abt opening a civil eng'g practice in Australia ? Can one succeed ? Lots of human rights and workers' rights things there, I noticed,...

This post has been edited by Hansel: May 26 2022, 12:23 PM
Hansel
post May 26 2022, 12:25 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(Red_rustyjelly @ May 26 2022, 11:07 AM)
Have you tried to applied for RRV? I heard some just keep applying for 1 year RRV for the sake of keeping the visa every year.
Sorry to divert,... bros,.. if IC lost over there, still can apply for RRV ? I heard they would give you an Emergency Pass to come back to Msia.
Hansel
post May 26 2022, 03:33 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ May 26 2022, 01:37 PM)
Why do you need IC to apply for your rrv. It is the Aust Immigration jurisdication to give you the rrv so you don't need your IC. You just apply online and fill in the form - very simple as i have done it many times online (each time 5 year rrv).

Hope this helps
Sorry bro Gary,... I misunderstood. RRV is to return to Australia. I was carrying the impression earlier that RRV was to return to Msia. My kid lost his IC,.... errr,....can't renew passport ??!!??
Hansel
post May 26 2022, 04:05 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ May 26 2022, 03:44 PM)
Aiyoh.

You will need your IC to renew your Msian passport. You may need to get a temporary one from either the Melbourne or Canberra High Comm. May have to go through a lot of problem.
Yeah,.... biggrin.gif
Hansel
post May 26 2022, 04:07 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(Red_rustyjelly @ May 26 2022, 03:59 PM)
My friend was in an Alumni of his previous Uni, apparently a lot of people came back like you and never renewed. if it is for retirement then I would understand. they just let it expire without doing anything which some of them did.

But if it is still young I am thinking very wasteful. But per visa is AUD 410 per year renewal. assuming you have children and a spouse could go all the way up to thousands a year.

I am in my dilemma if I should renew it since my business expanded exponentially in the past 2 years. Like what will happen if i wanted to move again in maybe 10 years time when my kids grow up? Will it affect the application. since it was expired once.
Send your family out first,... send your children there to school,... send your wife there to look after them. Let them be there fulltime,... but of course, come back for holidays at times. You continue to earn your money here,... Everything needs money,....
Hansel
post Jun 14 2022, 02:15 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jun 13 2022, 10:25 PM)
Having a PR while not really staying also has it's problems....and if children are young, and not ready to move, doesn't make sense....that's why we gave up last time....
QUOTE(Garysydney @ Jun 14 2022, 02:55 AM)
A lot of my friends in the earlier days gave up their PR because they couldn't meet the 2 years stay after they graduated from Uni. It was very much easier to get our PR in the earlier days as well.

Nowadays the Aussie PR is a lot more desirable with the direction that Malaysia is heading (especially for the younger generations).
Following was my plan and things look to be turning out well today :-

I sent my children out when they were 13+ and 14+. It would be easier to assimilate if they started early. Today, they're doing okay,... I don't need to be there permanently with them, but I am ready to help them when they wished to start their own business and when they need to buy houses.

Hence, I don't need to apply for PR and don't need to try meet the two-out-of-five year requirement. We still have to earn a living in this place, and need to travel for our investment requirements. It's very challenging if we have to always think of complying with the PR process.

It's better to remain a non-PR for us older generation,... but at the same time, be able to stay in another country as a resident with houses and children there.
Hansel
post Jun 14 2022, 03:12 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Jun 14 2022, 02:33 PM)
Definitely agree with you about not needing PR when you are much older. The PR 2 year restriction is very prohibitive and restrictive.

I have nieces and nephews who went over to do their high school and was able to adapt quite well to life after graduating Uni in Sydney - they all are doing well and in good jobs so going there a little earlier was beneficial for them. The only problem with younger people nowadays is that parents may need to help children with the initial deposit to get them started in the housing market. Properties are so expensive in Melbourne and Sydney!!
Trying to think from the other govt's pov, I think,... the PR thing is supposed to make one stay there PERMANENTLY and NOT to encourage him to try squeeze thru the rules and still wanting to catch-hold of the PR-ship and of course, all the benefits that come with it.

Yeah,... when one is young, it is easier for one to adapt to the locals' behaviour, and to accept changes in the norms of the society that they were born into. I have friends whose children ended-up :-

1) rushing to return to their home countries after graduation,... waiting to go home.
2) staying there reluctantly becos couldn't adapt but still had to stay becos of some problems which prevented them from returning home.
3) cutting short their studies and just left for home in the middle of their course.

Of course, there are those who were to keen to leave the country after studying there,... and there are those too who go to a third country after graduating.

I am glad I could encourage mine well enough to 'succeed there'. My boy even ended up with an ATAR score of '91',... which,.. tho' not that high compared to some of his friends', but he took hard subjects like Physics, Chem, Specialist Maths and Methods Maths.

I think today,... in many parts of the world,... parents need to help their kids to start-off in life,... I hear this everywhere around me among my peers. The difference is,... how much is a parent able to help with, bearing in mind, the parents themselves too need to save up for their old age.
Hansel
post Jun 14 2022, 03:23 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Jun 14 2022, 02:55 AM)
Nowadays the Aussie PR is a lot more desirable with the direction that Malaysia is heading (especially for the younger generations).
Actually, bro,... for myself,... I don't really think Msia is that bad.

For one, the Msian gov't doesnt really prevent you from doing too many things in life.

They don't limit you from investing your money outside of Msia. They don't impose international tax.

They allow you to have two passports, tho' they say otherwise, but they don't enforce closely.

The tax rates here are not that high compared to many countries.

Mkt is inefficient because of racial segregation activities, hence, allowing everybody to be able to earn money.

Gov't enforcement actions are not too efficient,... there is goodness in this.

Hansel
post Jun 16 2022, 05:24 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jun 15 2022, 08:18 PM)
my business sector friends who came back all say the same....it's not a bad place to do business, for 2 of the points above....

everything can be "adjusted"....lol

and the intrinsic inefficiencies allow you to get ahead, and avoid the rules....lol lol
Yeah bro,......... thumbsup.gif thumbsup.gif

The tradeoff is : poor governance gives rise to poor currency. Hence, whatever one earns here is weaker when brought out to be spent in the outside world, and inflation rises strongly when the outside world starts changing.

To workaround the above 'negative consequence', one either works in a foreign country with a stronger currency, but when that happens that same person might be subjected to the 'efficient' govt.

Or,..... one earns the local currency and then sends the funds out to be invested in a foreign country,... earning the stronger foreign currency.
Hansel
post Jun 16 2022, 06:59 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Jun 16 2022, 06:16 PM)
Actually you can clearly project what will happen in the future - people living here will not have sufficient funds to live and have to resort to crime to justify their daily means.

I didn't know the culture in Malaysia very well as i have lived in Sydney too long having never worked in Msia at all. Coming back here and living here makes me realise how lucky i have been living in Sydney in my working years. I would never have got as far as i have living here in Msia. I am glad i migrated at a very age. I have the funds for a very comfortable retirement so can choose whether i want to live in Msia or return to Aust. I can see the future of the nons in this country is looking extremely bleak unless you are fortunate to be born in a wealthy family. Very sad to see this happen in this country.
Bro Gary,... Chinese adapt and prosper everywhere they go to. But,... that's just my thinking,.. still, having travelled vastly and having lived in different countries,... I'd think my observation shld be quite accurate.
Hansel
post Jul 15 2022, 11:19 AM

9,347 posts

Bros,... are the good high-level jobs locked-out from immigrants like us ? I know this is a very general question,... but I'll start with this,...
Hansel
post Jul 20 2022, 02:52 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(disco333 @ Jul 20 2022, 09:30 AM)
I don't think you are locked out but it will take more time than it would for a local to get to the same position and it's not because of racism or anything like that.

It's just because to get to the c-suite level, you require strong relationships. Your skills get you to upper management but to progress beyond that it's all about your ability to build professional relationships and for us coming from Malaysia our network is in a different country so it will take longer to develop that in a new environment.

For those born here, it's easier because it's their own culture and people so naturally you're going to build relationships more easily. In addition to that, they grew up here and as a result have a larger circle of influence. A circle they have been subconsciously building since they were kids. We are starting in our mid-20's sometimes 30's so it's going to take longer and it may not even happen.

But I'd say if you are a master of you skill, with out without relationships you'd be able to get to an upper management level which will pay you between AU$220k and AU$350k depending on your industry. To break the AU$500k and more mark though, you really need to build a professional network and broaden your circle of influence which like I mentioned above will take time because we are starting from a disadvantaged position.

The only way to break $500k otherwise is if you're a doctor or business owner. Otherwise you really need to work on building your network and influence to stand a chance.

My two cents.
I sent my two young ones there when they're 14 and 15,... in anticipation of the above matters. Have always reminded them abt the networking thing. Hoped things work out here. Thank you for your comments.

7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.2029sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:54 PM