Working in Australia V2, All About working in Australia

Soony
post Aug 8 2016, 04:44 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(z21j @ Aug 8 2016, 01:04 PM)
To share practical experience, after 3 months in Melb (from Sg), I still cannot adapt.
> Life here too relax, no career goal in life (Asians not easy to get promoted in my organization). 
> Everything here are expensive. Stay at home the cheapest but that's defeat the purpose of coming here.

Here are my everyday questions:
1. Should I waste my $10k (costs incurred for Aus PR application) and go back SG? Should I stay two years to extend another 5 yrs PR, by compromise my inner feeling now?
2. Resign within 3 months, reflect good on me?
3. I'm 27 this year. Too early to settle down in Aus?

I have no answer to the above. Those who has yet to come, think properly. Study here is not the same as work.
As long as you are earning in Australia, spending capacity although is higher than SG, your earning power should be higher as well. Unless the company you work with employs you at the minimum rate.

I would definitely suggest staying on, look for new opportunities elsewhere. Bigger companies tends not to have the Asian ceiling.

Having a few years of experience in my POV would always be beneficial if you plan to go back to Malaysia or Singapore in the near future.

Oh and I'm 26 this year and loving the work life balance. =) Did short secondments (3 stints) to Singapore and it was hell packed and no life.

Soony
post Aug 8 2016, 10:38 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Aug 8 2016, 08:42 PM)
Are you sure "spending capacity" is higher than Singapore? SGD is about 1 to 1 with AUD. In my limited experience, taxes, food/groceries and day to day expenses tend to be slightly higher in Australia.
Yes it's because of higher earned income despite the taxes? Daily expenses are higher but median income is also way higher.
Soony
post Aug 9 2016, 07:33 AM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(alwayshappy @ Aug 8 2016, 10:43 PM)
I reckon the take home pay will be about the same. The median income in Australia is higher but the tax rate is also higher.
True that. Though undeniably that Australia provides you with more work life balance. This gives you more time to develop yourself or spend more time with the family, or even take up a second job =D
Soony
post Aug 9 2016, 04:51 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(z21j @ Aug 9 2016, 07:57 AM)
I would say my annual income in SG was higher than annual income in Aus, partly because in Aus - here don't have AWS (13 month bonus) and most non-MNCs firm doesn't have variable bonus.
Also, there isn't any employer-contribution for super (CPF). 

I would say take home pay is about the same/ slightly lower for my case. Note: I held managerial position here so Im not under the "minimum wage category".
Have never work in Singapore full time before but comparing with my friends from Singapore in the same field, the annual salary is much higher even after tax. (Note: This is WA)

Though you are right, there is no 13 months bonus but what we do have is performance bonus. The super for me is contributed by my company, which is compulsory for full time employees. Though there is no employee contribution.
Soony
post Aug 9 2016, 04:55 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(selvenz @ Aug 9 2016, 08:04 AM)
It really depends if you are single or married and married with kids, all three will have different expectations here.

Single - Life here might not be what you expected if you are comparing with back home, going out , mamak etc

Married no kids - Life here can be interesting as you plant your roots , settle in with work and generally have each other to rely on.

Married with kids- Life here is the best, kids adapt quickly with schooling, security concerns are low . Your child's quality of life and experience will be at its peak. Never a dull day or weekend with tons of activities for both kids and adults.
I have not a single day of regret moving here. My kid walks to school just seeing how happy she is  is priceless compared to the sheltered life she had .

My wife does not clutch her purse or look over her shoulder when she walks day or night. This is priceless.

What we earn allows us to achieve our own goals a lot quicker, although tax is high i get to see my tax dollars being spent on essentials everyday. Good parks all over the place, public transportation etc. My kid goes to government school and i can tell you the facilities and staff are much much better then most private schools in KL.

I guess it all depends on what stage you are in life, status etc...migration is not for everyone and if you decide to take the plunge like the thousands yearly then give it your best and manage your expectations.
Excellent examples and pretty sure a lot of people would benefit from your experience.

I'm not yet married and definitely no kids for the moment but I love the extra time that I have which I have used it to improve and further develop myself. Also, one point being in Australia is I did manage to buy a property for myself which most of my peers in Malaysia and Singapore are still struggling with. Guess it's a plus point being here.

That being said, each country has its own benefits and downside. I do admit that I miss the night life and Nasi lemak!
Soony
post Aug 13 2016, 04:46 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Aug 13 2016, 01:26 PM)
Not too sure yet. We do looking to invest another property here but rental now is ganasai. Selling price is bad too.
My friend just bought 600k house and with another house in hand having hard time to rent out.

Now is the best time for 1st home buyers
Depending on where you are looking at, currently the market is good for negative gearing and to hold for capital. I can see a lot of new houses around my area going for rental at $600 a week. Ganasai, where got people can afford. Those in the $350 range leasing out like hot cakes.
Soony
post Aug 15 2016, 09:40 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(shazam7 @ Aug 15 2016, 08:47 PM)
That's right. The fees change every year as well depending on what gov deems as priority 1.
To get HECS you need citizenship. To get citizenship u need to live here few years.
Once u get HECS u can tell the kids they r responsible for their fees. So if they fail and hv to redo subjects it will come out of their own pocket.
And it is our responsibilities from taxes to contribute to them. I'm not saying it's bad but looking at my tax bill it just pinches me. (Have never work in Malaysia so I can't compare).

Soony
post Aug 19 2016, 10:34 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(underGr0und_8 @ Aug 19 2016, 12:21 PM)
Gents, any experience converting visa 457 to PR?

my visa 457 are already 2 years plus and plan to apply for PR.
Does your skillset qualify for either visa 189/190? For me as an example, I was 457 for a year which then I went to apply for 190 by myself then reimbursed by the company.
Soony
post Aug 30 2016, 07:39 AM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Aug 29 2016, 08:34 PM)
I've read quite a bit on people customizing their resumes and sending out as many job applications as possible, but very little on networking, volunteering etc. to expand your chances of actually getting a job.

Anyone?
Networking and volunteering are pretty important in the resume. This is true esp for smaller companies. Think if you are able to refer to the person's actual name rather than hiring manager, or even direct to the managers inbox rather than generic HR inbox.

Always make an impact and never forget to leave your name card with the person. Though the above is not true if you have a specific and niche skill that is sought after.
Soony
post Sep 3 2016, 08:35 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(jtsl9 @ Sep 3 2016, 06:35 PM)
My agent just called and informed that my PR has been granted. Now I am just waiting for them to send over the grant letter and go through the details
Congrats! One big moment in life achieved! Where are you heading to?
Soony
post Sep 5 2016, 03:06 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(xoxlifestyle100 @ Sep 5 2016, 02:53 PM)
alright! Thanks...
btw, am a fresh grad, and really contemplating on how soon should I go over to aussie IF (a very big IF) my visa is approved...? should i work here first for a while maybe 1-2 years then only head over? or should I just head over straight and start looking for job? or should I just keep applying for jobs in aussie while working here? I know job market is bad in aussie especially for us, not much job opportunity, and in order to manage expectations, I don't really mind any job actually... even if it is unrelated to what I have studied but of course, preferably related.

just some background, graduated from monash university (few months back), majoring in accounting, banking and finance and currently pursuing both my cpa (completed 1st paper) and cfa (level 1 candidate).
Is there any considerations of starting your career in Singapore first before considering the move elsewhere? Banking is not really a big thing in Australia comparing to Singapore and Hong Kong.

Also, with regards to any jobs not related to your field, that's what a lot of people say but after a year, that thinking changes. Be very careful and be clear with what you want to achieve in Australia. To be rich? This is not the place. For the kids, then you are getting somewhere.

Just my two cents worth.
Soony
post Sep 13 2016, 08:00 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Sep 13 2016, 03:41 PM)
very painful ar......... shocking.gif
Good money though.
Soony
post Sep 15 2016, 07:16 AM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(daylight_dancer @ Sep 14 2016, 08:26 PM)
Dont think you need to study for IELTS lah bro. Should be fine. Most Malaysians have issues with the speaking part, mostly because theyre way way too direct (one sentence answers).

I think I membebel too much though hahahaha.
Depends if he needs flat 7 or 8. If 7 probably don't have to prepare at all. Haha
Soony
post Sep 20 2016, 07:11 AM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(samo1390 @ Sep 19 2016, 01:44 PM)
Anyone here did the Assessment for Engineer Australia? I've received a response:

"Please provide a third party proof of employment. The documents requested should be from an organisation OTHER than your employer but it NEEDS to include the name of employing company. This can be tax or social security reports from the government or superannuation report from your fund.
From Malaysia the best option is an EFP report together with an official letter linking the company's EPF number with its name."

I've provided EA form, Company Payslip and Company Reference Letter.

What else do they mean? Help please T^T
Is there a name in your bank statement saying what company has deposited money into your account? Like mine will have the company's name when they pay my monthly salary. Guess that's one way to prove it as well.
Soony
post Sep 21 2016, 07:48 AM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(captivesim @ Sep 21 2016, 07:39 AM)
Dear forum-er, i am still reading through the thread.

But to give me a head on, i want to ask if fresh grad PhD in Civil Engineering ( local IPTA)  can stand a chance for a job in Civil Engineering field, or college in any part of Australia. can straight apply?

Or still have to get 3-5  years local working experience and accredited and apply for migration route. 

or you have other option plz let me know while i read through all the comments above.

When you mention college, are you intending to further your studies? Then yes you will stand a chance.

But to come to Australia with a phd and no working experience, this would be near impossible to find a job. Esp when phd is deemed overqualified. Try working in Singapore for a few years then apply, the chances will be higher.
Soony
post Sep 23 2016, 07:45 AM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(shazam7 @ Sep 23 2016, 07:31 AM)
Er...not quite. 80K is only good for an engineer with couple years experience. (And if u convert to RM - but then RM is performing so poorly now...)
Starting pay is 60K.
Anyway dont forget that on a working visa, taxes are higher cos there is no tax relief...
Not pouring cold water...just laying down my thoughts.
Most of my peers started off in engineering @$50k-$60k. So I reckon that $80k is pretty good package already.

I still think taxing the working holiday visa people at full tax rate from the first dollar is encouraging people to get paid under the table. As most of the workforce here in F&B utilises working holiday visa people.
Soony
post Sep 30 2016, 07:47 AM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(Daveliew @ Sep 30 2016, 04:52 AM)
Guys, I noticed a selection for Sponsors in the assessment for Visa eligibility. I have relatives in Perth, WA. My aunt and her children, one of them are over the age of 18.

My understanding from reading the documents at https://www.border.gov.au/Forms/Documents/40.pdf. Is that a sponsor will help me in financial if I ever need it as to not burden the Aus Government.

What I worries though that will I burden my relative if I put their details down? Will it helps in getting a work easier in Australia? I have not confirmed with them on the sponsorship thingy as I plan to get more information before informing them of anything.

Or maybe..could they help me in getting a job in Australia?  whistling.gif
I believe they can't sponsor you PR but will only grant you a TR. It's no different from a graduate visa in simplistic terms.

Also in getting a job, most employers will prefer a PR over a TR, unless they know someone from the inside. Having said that, no harm coming over and give it a shot, while picking up other odd jobs in the meanwhile.

All the best!
Soony
post Oct 1 2016, 10:45 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(dangerminimouse @ Oct 1 2016, 05:03 PM)
Finance.

My friend, he is quite street smart, he would know how to write up a good cover letter and reply to selection criteria.

I know in Australia, they use more job recruiters.
Finance is not really the best in Australia, he would have succeed much better if he was in Singapore/Hong Kong.

All the best in the job hunting. It's not just street smart anymore in this dire economy, you would need much more than that.
Soony
post Oct 1 2016, 11:19 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(dangerminimouse @ Oct 1 2016, 11:10 PM)
Engineering also not so good in Australia.

For doctor, I am not sure why I got a doctor friend who migrated there, she didn't like the job environment, came back.

so what's good career in Australia?
Doubt there's a specific career in Australia that is prominent. Think of jobs that the aussies does not want to do (e.g. shift jobs), then you will have much better opportunities.

Personally I felt that as a fresh grad over here, the working environment might not be the best, too laid back.
Soony
post Oct 12 2016, 06:48 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(dangerminimouse @ Oct 12 2016, 05:46 PM)
I don't think so good for mid 30s. I mean those lucky ones lah, will be working same level as graduate level. Imagine 35 yo fella sitting in cubicle with 23 yo people same level and same pay.
Then again, you wouldn't mind since its a start right?

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.1813sec    1.03    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:13 AM